We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pride of AP!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ninnimamidi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ananthagiri Hill Resort
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Pride of AP!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Araku, is one place in AP which has the beauty to enhant the nature lovers. Contrary to the belief that AP doesnt have a great tourism infrastructure, this resort in Anantagiri is fabulously built! A breathtaking view points to neatly maintined rooms, it provides a great experience.

A group of 10 people, stayed here for 2 days and enjoyed every bit of it. The lcoation is superb with so many walkable trails all around. Our boss, an avid health freak, made us treak atleast 25 Kms in the surrounding hills and woods!

Being from AP, i always lament that AP doesnt have 'kingly' hill stations, which its rival states can proudly offer! Araku resort is a great respite and must visit for all the AP nature lovers. As one reviwer mentioned, be prepared to have No cell coverage except BSNL.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikranthVasireddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    14
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I visited this resort on 24-Jan-2013 with my wife. So the experience I had there is still very much alive. To be very precise the location of the resort and its scenic beauty had left me spellbound. Calmness prevails all around the resort which will make you feel like miles away of all sorts of daily cacophony. Apart form its beauty, room are quite spacious and of very good quality. Toilets are very clean and electronic apparatus like geyser, TV were working in good condition. Food are delicious and are served in real time. In my room telephone was dead and even after complaint was lodged nobody bothered to repair it. In balcony, light also not working. So, requesting visitors to check everything before enter into the room. From Ananthagiri I visited Borra Caves and Katiki Waterfalls. I hired car for this two place. The driver is a very nice person and very helpful in nature. If any one is interested then I can share his contact details. He'll provide a complete tour in budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BIBHAS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This resort exceeded my expectations. It is situated on the way from Vizag to Araku & arrives some 30Kms before Araku. As you enter the first thing you notice is the well maintained lawns & garden area. Once you come close to your room , you will be amazed by the beauty of the hills. Then comes the room, which is spacious & clean enough. We took an A/C room which i later thought might not be necessary for the temp. But the view u get from A/C rooms is v.good (Check the pics). The food & service is v.good but they don't have everything mentioned on the menu.

The women who took us to the room, asked if we want bamboo chicken which will be cooked in the village. It costs around Rs. 800 per Kg & u need to order it at lunch time if you want for dinner. We ordered 1/2 Kg & got it server around 7:30PM. It's very spicy & i loved it.

Overall a very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ramakrishna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

You will not find a reason to complain about the location and natural beauty of Ananthagiri. Its simply awesome. The facilities of the resort were good. Rooms were big, bathroom was clean, AC worked perfectly and the view from the balcony was to die for. But I wish I only had good things to say about the place. Here is a list of things that happened to us, leaving us with a very bad taste in the mouth:
1. Please beware that no other cell phone network covers this place apart from BSNL. To top it all, neither does the hotel has STD facility (as claimed by reception staff) nor can it connect you to any local number in you call the reception from your room. The only way to make contact with the outside world is to go to the market (10 mins walk) and make a call.
2. The local Tribal Council run taxi union runs a monopoly in terms of car rental rates and you cant beat them. once some member of the union quotes a price to you, the union will prevent anyone else from quoting a lesser price. In our case, we were quoted Rs. 2500 for a day trip to Borra Caves and Arakku. we did not confirm and tried exploring other options. Another driver quoted 1500 and we agreed. in about 30 mins, he came back and said that his driver is busy and if we were to take the cab, it would cost us Rs 2000. we agreed to this as well. then 1 hr before the journey, he stated that since we were quoted a price previously (Rs 2500), we will have to pay that only. Finally when we threatened to cancel the trip, he settled for Rs.2000. Moral of the story, don't fall in their trap. Book your car from Vizag, if possible. Some of the hotel staff are a part of this nexus.
3. We were unfortunate to be there during the time when the local tribal population was celebrating Holi. They barricaded the road between Ananthagiri and Arakku with logs or bamboo and would only let you pass if you paid up. The demands varried vetween Re. 1 to Rs. 10. We were stopped 51 times, on way, between nanthagiri and Arakku (I am not exaggerating).
once our driver argued with the people and as a punishment, a bucket-full of water was thrown inside the car, leaving us completely drenched.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dream_Traveller_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ananthagiri Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananthagiri Hill Resort

Property: Ananthagiri Hill Resort
Address: Ananthagiri, Ninnimamidi, India
Region: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam District > Ninnimamidi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ninnimamidi
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing