We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ambiance - modern comfy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We got a great last minute deal here, and stayed for one night. The hotel ambiance is very nice, although they make you wear little bracelet (not sure why - nothing was really included with it). Part of a large gated community on a golf course, oceanside. Very well maintained grounds - the place is very spread out with several other resorts in the complex. Rooms were spacious and modern and very comfy. The pool was great and super warm. To get to the eating area ($100/meal - so a little pricey and could add up for an extended stay) you had to take a little golf cart shuttle. There were little kiosk shops set up, bands playing, board games set out, baby crocodile hatchery to see.... it was nice. Did not notice any special kids activities, but saw gym, photography and spa services, and they looked modern and wonderful. Very safe and fine for a short stay over.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

easy checkin process. very clean. Gustov at the front desk went out of his way on several occasions to make our life easier, he deserves a raise!!

poor cell service and poor wifi so dont plan on getting much of either. and there is a charge for using the phone in your room

shuttles to take you to various places come freq and the doormen were awesome.
at one time our water was off but it was brief and addressed very quickly.

only one resturant on the premises included in the all inclusive pkg food was very good and I think we tried everything on the menu at one point or another.
small "deli" near the front desk always had muffins pastries and juice coke coffee 24/7
wait staff very very attentive, they dont speak perfect english but they are usually able to figure out what you need drinks seemed good not watered down.
beautiful landscape one pool for this hotel. ocean is a shuttle ride away and then a short walk

extra charge for spa and fitness center at sister hotel and extra charge for interent also
it is quiet and removed from the main stream large open hallways large rooms clean
very small deck but we werent out there much anyway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdqe76sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I am staying here at O.B. for the second year in a row. As part of the beautiful Riviera Maya Hotel compound it has all the amenities one could ask from 5 star resort. The pools, the spas, shopping and entertainment are all first rate there. However, the best thing about O.B. is it is removed from the main center of the resort with it's own quiet pool, bar and restaurant where everyone seems to know your name after a few days. When I am here I feel like I am at my own vacation home and the employees and atmosphere is like friends and family.

Room Tip: upper floors on building one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pclaypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This was our first time visiting Ocean Breeze in riviera maya. I travelled with my wife and stayed here for 7 days. We read the read the reviews previously and thought we would give it try. We were very pleasantly satisfied with this resort!
Food: Breakfast was a buffet style. You order from a menu for lunch and dinner. Food was great! You can also order food at the Mayan Palace's pool.
Pools: There is a small pool on the resort. But the mother resort (Mayan Palace) is a city of pools in which you can use.
Beach: In front of resort the beach contains lots or coral. A short 15 minute walk west of the resort there is a very white/powdery sand beach. Many people were feeding fish with bread which attracted tropical fish, easy to see through the torquoise water.
Room: Exhaust fan in bathroom was not working even after maintenance staff tried to fix it (which clouded up all the windows and glass). Room was clean, good house keeping, no fridge, no coffee maker (but in lobby there is coffee and snacks 24/7), always had hot water, soap and shampoo was provided.
Staff: Very friendly and helpful with directions. They also taught us a bit of spanish!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mohammad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Clean newer smaller hotel. Great food. Kind friendly service I totally enjoyed our holiday here. Great staff. Lots of amenities available nearby. Free tram rides to take you to the beach and a bus at a nominal fee to take you to Playa Del Carmen. Great shopping in Playa Del Carmen on 5th avenue.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

AirTransat holidays had a deal on Ocean Breeze which included non-stop flight from Victoria, airport transfers and all inclusive. The Hotel is a small peripheral part of a huge property which includes 4 luxury timeshares - Mayan Palace, Royal Mayan, The Grand Bliss and Grande Luxxe, none of which are all-inclusive. The Del Lago restaurant and a small beach hut, La Sandia, are however designated “A-I” for Ocean Breeze at specific times which are provided at check-in. Pool access in the larger resort is included.
Ocean Breeze rooms were excellent. Front desk helpful. Free WiFi in lobby. Nice wide screen TV’s and fridges in deluxe rooms. Restaurant very good - mainly Italian themes. Pool area small but lovely. Hotel is walking distance to maingate where one can access public transport -"Collectivos" -these are about 15 seat vans which travel between Cancun and Playa del Carmen. Take care crossing the highway! Very inexpensive. Check fares at Reception and take exact fare since drivers are not inclined to give tourists change. We did day trips to Cancun (transfer to Route 1, hotel zone, bus going south from the collectivo terminus, 8 pesos), Puerto Morelos (20 peso cab fare from collectivo drop point to the PM beach), and Chichen Itza which was totally memorable.
Ocean Breeze is not at the heart of the “action” but it allows easy access to all places of interest. Price point is however ideal :)

Room Tip: Deluxe on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Arrived on Feb 16 -26 with Transat Holidays all inclusive package, paid 1020$ tx inc. from Ottawa, going for the sun and relaxation. Ocean Breeze is great boutique hotel not beachfront located inside a resort that includes the Mayan Palace hotels, The Grand Mayan and Grand Luxxe, which operate under the European Plan (food and beverages not included) but do have access to beach. Golf course beside Hotel.
Hotel check in was friendly and easy even with language barrier of English limited on there part, and us limited with Spanish, but it all works out, be patient.

Stayed in room 2367 facing the road, A/C good but noisy, bed comfortable, clean, small balcony no chairs, non smoking.
Bathroom shower huge, but no bathtub, hairdryer standard great soaps and towels.
Trolleys takes you to the beach within 7 minutes or so, waiting time was never a issue, once you know the red route to take and always indicated on the clock the next trolley to arrive, driver always polite and friendly.
The beach is rocky in front of Grand Mayan but walking a 10 -15 minutes on the right or left side and you will be charmed by a nice beaches, all waterfront is public but not the access to chairs on private resorts, very accessible to walk from different resorts and explore, water shoes needed. Great artificial reef next to the pier, take a look at picture.

Ocean Breeze restaurant La Terraza in morning and lunch offers great food and in the evening it turns into a Italian restaurant Il Forno di Gio, very pleased, the only two negative points would be the annoying loud techno music in the morning, every morning, there is always music at all time of the day or night. Sometimes being rush to eat, to give table for the next person, was told by manager very rude. Confusion on their part as for how to proceed to request a table, there is no order, some people would see a table a sit, when you are waiting over for 20 minutes for one. We had great weather would not have like it eating always outside if it would have rained, just a roof and side panels, but you do get room service. Free WiFi in the lobby Cafe Deli Xta -Bay, coffee, soft drinks, water and pastry, fruits desk stand, again all included in my vacation package.
Swimming at night is accepted, that is a plus since it's very quiet at night.

Beach bar hut for Ocean Breeze customers at the Grand Mayan by the pool near washroom,but don't be confuse there is only one you can go without having extra fees if you are all inclusive. You can also order chicken wings, pizza etc all extra good and they will deliver it on the beach, where the blue chairs are (Ocean Breeze guests) but we always sit anywhere on the beach without problems. Do bring insulated coffee mugs to keep drinks cold.
There is one other restaurant buffet included at the Grand Mayan The Del Lago only for dinner with nightly entertainment show, Thursday night it's Fiesta Mexicana and Maria Bonita show 60$ not included with Transat Vacations. Great Restaurant Bar Lounge Havana Moon $$, with nightly live music and a big dance floor, very informal with big open windows and the sea breeze, excellent place to relax and enjoy.
There is a boutique, Jade with great finds, a deli, tobacco shop and at the back you have the entrance to the Alberca Santuario Maya well worth the visit, you will want to stay at the Grand Mayan Hotel next time.
Would recommend easily Ocean Breeze, if you take all inclusive. You got the best of both worlds, if you want to be quiet stay at Ocean Breeze hotel and relax by the pool and if you want to be with lots of people than go to the huge pools at the Grand Mayan or the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travel101Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya by Artisan - All Inclusive - Adults Only
11.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#40 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,269 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
10,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel

Address: Calle Carretera Federal Km 48, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true paradise awaits you in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Ocean Breeze Golf Hotel offers you and your family complete relaxation in an unforgettable vacation experience. The beautiful white sand beaches and our kind staff will make you feel like royalty.Enjoy absolute comfort and first class service in an enormous complex shared between three hotels, where you will find a spa, a golf course, a swimming pool, a beach club and much more. You won't want to leave this amazing place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing