We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Second time here in paradise on the Mayan Riviera. First time with family, second as a couple. The rooms are beautiful, the pools fantastic. All the restaurants are varied and excellent. The head chef has it nailed for variety and consistency. No one in our party became ill and we ate EVERYTHING, EVERYWHERE. The landscaping is stunning and boasts the largest continuous pool in South America. The rooms were ultra clean with nightly turndown service. If you are staying in Luxxe units you have a personal heated pool and ¨popsicle time´ when fresh fruit popsicles are passed out as you lounge around on soft pool cushions. We spent most of our time in the palapas on the beach with that turquoise Carribean water. Yes the beachfront does have coral and rocks but there are pockets of warm turquoise pools and white sand. most people were snorkeling, children building sand castles, catching water creatures. We walk about two football lengths down the beach (towards the Iberostar Resort) where the white sand hits the water and you can wave surf until you get sunburnt! If you are staying in any of the Grand Mayan buildings, ask for third floor rooms and ones that face the Lagoon or Pool sides. They are a bit noisy with music on Fiesta night BUT the other side often faces the service roads with much coming and going of staff and shuttle vehicles. If you get those rooms it won´t matter...still paradise. There is an 18 hole Jack Nicklaus designed golf course, super happy hours, the women love the spa and exercise rooms. I did get a massage (part of the Luxxe package) I would do it again. You will love it here.

Room Tip: Top floor (third) and facing lagoon or pool versus service roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank RetiredGI66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

Courtesy of our very good friends, we all spent an excellent fortnight at the Grande Luxxe Riviera Maya at the end of November 2012 to celebrate a milestone birthday. The apartment was luxurious, the plunge pool on the balcony excellent for cooling down, with a drink of course! The complex itself was wondrous - you shared the area with absolutely phenomenal wildlife, iguanas in every shade of colour, brightly coloured birds, not forgetting the coatimundis and (captive) crocodiles! The plants around the buildings are fantastic - what we grow indoors here in England grow outside there and much much larger. The golf course was excellent, I was the buggy driver and photographer whilst the other 3 played the golf - highly recommended!
Everyone, from the cleaners through to the staff at reception were so friendly and welcoming - the drivers of the transport carts were excellent, they soon got used to the crazy 'English' who preferred to walk than ride! The pool complex is amazing and the Burger Bar at the pool for the GL patrons is excellent, the happy 2 hours for the cocktails was never missed.. There is a good range of places to eat, but we tended to use either Frieda's or the Green Break in the evenings, the Green Break for breakfast and the Burger Bar at lunchtime. The barbecue on the beach was a revelation - eat as much as you like for about £15.00 each, drinks not included. Beer was 50 pesos a can (about £2.50), cocktails 80-100 pesos (£4.50-£5.00). Wine was expensive but didn't drink much of that, when in Mexico drink the beer!
The beach was clean but a shame about the very rocky areas at the shoreline made it very difficult to go into the sea. You needed protection on your feet if you wanted to go in for a swim. Playa del Carmen was about 25 minutes away, that has an amazing beach and very easy to access the sea. 5th Avenue is worth a visit, every shopaholics dream! There is a shuttle from the GL to ASda at Playa from the reception area at Grand Mayan, at a charge of course, or go by taxi..
Visit Tulum and Chitchen Itza, you can't go all the way there without doing this. Truly amazing.
Would I recommend this place - think the answer to that is a resounding yes. Would go back tomorrow if I could.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
6  Thank Marion Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The great news about this place is that it is immaculately clean and the people who work there are really nice and accomodating. Our rooms were beautiful. Comfy beds! The down side are these things: to get anywhere (beach, spa, pools, dinng) from the GL lodging buildings, you need to ride in a golfcart-style shuttle (they are frequent and the drivers are very nice) and that gets a little old after a while. You'd take your life in your hands walking on the paths used by the shuttles (and guests are encouraged not to walk on those paths). The beach is sandy, the water is nice to look at, and the palapas and lounge chairs are great BUT you cannot just wade into the water as the shoreline is extemely rocky. I am kind of a slug on vacation (I drink during the day, like to read by the pools, and go to bed pretty early) and I like the slow pace at GL HOWEVER if I was more lively, I suspect I would find the resort to be stultifyingly dull in the evening or when it is raining. I was there with my parents and some of their friends to celebrate a big wedding anniversary (no kids or teens with our group).

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 3rd floor or else you will have an intense "jungle view" from the balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My family and I have stayed at this resort a couple of times now, and I must say, it is very luxurious. The rooms are spotless, food is great, and the service is fantastic. We have also stayed at the bliss, and we have no complaints about that either.

We went in January last year and the weather was great. On the days where the wind was a little cool, the luxxe pool was fantastic. It is heated to the point where it is almost too warm on those hot days (again, not a complaint...it was fantastic)

They really go that extra mile to ensure that their guests are happy. We ran out of diapers and there weren't any in the store (of the size we needed)...so our concierge that was coming on shift stopped at Walmart and picked some up for us...I mean, WOW!

I highly recommend any of the grand mayan resorts, each has their advantages. As for traveling with small children now, we will be going to the Nuevo Vallarta resort this April (The resort seems to be a bit more kid friendly, with a lazy river, kids area, etc.)

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank McDuff09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here the first time one year ago, at the Grand Mayan. At that time we were upgraded from the Mayan Palace. This year they upgraded us to the Grand Luxxe, which was wonderful! We already knew the resort has excellent restaurants and good service ( not to mention how clean they keep the place!) but now it got even better if possible.
The beach area was much better than last year, with a lot more activities. It wasn't any better for swimming though, but you can stroll along the beach at either direction and find good beaches. Overall, our two week vacation was total relaxation and we didn't feel any urge to leave the resort for the first ten days!
A few less good things: outside our balcony there was heavy vegetation( jungle I guess you can say) which was beautiful, we saw racoons and some other animals. But behind the jungle there was some kind of a constructin site, a very noisy one where work begun at 7 in the morning and went on all day. Also, there was a door between our and the neighbors room, and they liked to stay up late partying but still get up early in the morning eating breakfast and unfortunally you could hear every word and act that went on. I don't know if it was because of the door or if the walls were too thin. Our room itself was large and beautiful.
However, I highly recommend the Grand Luxxe for a perfect vacation and hope to be able to return soon myself!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I am an owner, but this is the first time I've actually stayed at a Grand Luxxe facility. This is a large (2200 square feet) apartment, with huge bathrooms, each with a Jacuzzi tub. The building is separate from the rest of the Mayan Palace campus, and you need to take a shuttle to reach anywhere else. the shuttles are frequent. There is an almost full kitchen (no oven) well equipped with utensils. We went into Playa del Carmen the first day and stocked up on food at the Wal-Mart. The facility also has a store, but it's more pricy. Grand Luxxe is part of a larger facility that includes Grand Mayan and Mayan Palace. There is a reserved pool with its own stretch of beach for Grand Luxxe that is really quiet. It has its own open-air restaurant, The Burger Custom Made. We ate there, and also at Frida's Grill at Balche, Havana Moon, Blue Fish Cevicheria, and also take-out from the Jade Boutique. We are mostly vegetarian (some fish) and everything we had was great, and reasonably priced. The Brio Spa is smaller than at some of the other Vida facilities, but very well appointed. The last thing I want to mention is the incredible level of service at Grand Luxxe/Mayan Palace. Staff go out of there way to be helpful, and as you walk around, you will consistently be greeted warmly. I highly recommend Grand Luxxe.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The green foliage of the jungle in the Riviera Maya adds so much to the wildlife seen at the Grand Luxxe. The golf course is home to many interesting sights and the play is good especially starting a round at 6.30 in the morning before the heat of the sun is too strong. Sharing the days with Iguana of many sizes and colours and beautiful coloured birds both at the Grand Luxxe and the ancient ruins is delightful. A trip to Cozumel can have some extra delight with the turtles they care for at the beaches and a snorkel trip sees many colourful fish and other sea life. The location keeps nature fairly natural in the elegance of this top quality hotel. The staff are polite and helpful with the room staff leaving the face clothes in lovely shapes in the bathroom and bedrooms of the suite. The extra size on the balcony is lovely for all times of the day and using the splash pool. Hopefully the plans to expand will not loose the space and character the venue has. It was a delight to walk around although they do like to offer a lift in the carts to everywhere. The smaller restaurants were more inviting to eat in with Frida's grill our choice. They are lovely people and chef also cooked the fish we caught, most impressed.
The burger bar is great during the day and cocktails a must especially during happy hours.

Room Tip: A suite on the top level is best and this is just above jungle height.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Riggers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
7.1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,216 reviews
7.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,290 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,764 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
10,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya

Address: Calle Carretera Federal Km 48, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Number of rooms: 180

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing