We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Rooms with Exceptional Staffing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms with Exceptional Staffing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Grand Luxxe over Christmas and had a wonderful time! We traveled as a family of four (my husband and 2 teenage boys). We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and were amazed at the cleanliness, the beautiful deck with plunge pool and to top it off, we were given a pillow menu which wasn't necessary as the pillows were super comfy! We loved the solace we experienced in our building! We ran into very few people, heard virtually no noise at night and no partying in the hallways! Thank you Grand Luxxe! I used the laundry facilities quite often and never ran into a problem with others leaving their laundry in the washing machines. The concierge service was exceptional with Maria, whom we adored, serving coffee and cookies every day and the individuals working the front desks helping us with excursion info or other inquiries whenever we requested it. My sons really liked the fact that the room keys are programmed into the wrist bands so we never worried about losing our keys! The units have blenders, toasters and coffee makers. The restaurant prices are very steep which was a little shocking at times. With that being said, the meals at Tramonto were terrific and Angel (our waiter) was the best! Thank you Angel! Expect a line up for early am workouts at the gym located in Brio. Very Crowded! Late afternoon workouts or aerobics in the pool are best! Thank you to all of the staff at Grand Luxxe for being so wonderful and accommodating each of our needs! We will be back in March!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank calgon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear calgon1 :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at Grand Luxxe. We are so glad you had a good time with your family enjoying our accommodations, restaurants, activities, facilities and thank you for the kind comment about our staff, as they always look to exceed all our guests’ expectations. We are certain Maria and Angel will gladly receive your feedback.

We appreciate your preference to stay with us during such a special time of the year, and we are glad even Santa helped in making it memorable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    79
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
206
183
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA, USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We are Grand Luxxe owners and as such, we love our Grand Luxxe status, units and service. We had no problem with the services. The daily maid service was great. She even washed our dirty dishes. We loved the Burger Custom Made. I am still mouth watering with the Le Quack burger. But I had one big complain. When we checked out, we found an item labeled "misc" of almost 800 peso so we asked what it was. We were told that it was for the amenity we used. I said, "What?" The concierge told us that if we used up our shampoo, bath gel. ... and such, the maid will replenish with no extra cost but if we took the unused amenity and they have to replenish, we were charged. I argued with her. When we stayed at a five star hotel like the Four Seasons, the amenity were replenished everyday without charge. Our room rate included that. So I told my husband to return those items to them so we didn't have to pay the extra charge. But we are not happy about that. We will write to management that they shouldn't nickel and dimed people. If they charge people for taking their nice amenity without actually using them, they should have a note card stating that, just like the card on the bottle water indicating that they will charge the bottle when use. Dear Vida management, I hope you are reading this. That was not legal when you did. Other than that, we loved the place. We will be back.

Room Tip: Since properties close to the ocean are not allowed to be built high because of the hurricane, most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alang-alang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic time. This is our 3rd trip here and the service and food have improved dramatically. I would recommend doing a photo session, as well. Our photographer, Chetan, had a great eye and we now have some beautiful photos to remember the trip.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We exchanged this unit with II and it was every bit as good as our Marriott properties. The Grand Luxxe is the premier property in this impressive complex. The one bedroom unit with a king-size pull out couch was loaded with marble, spotless, and an A/C unit that will freeze you out if you like.
This huge 5-piece Mayan complex has a very nice beach on which you can walk miles in either direction. On one hand, it size accommodates a handful of good restaurants (one very good "Tramonto"), huge swimming pools with several swim-up bars, and plenty of places to relax in the sun. On the other hand, you need to take long walks or take the usually prompt golf cart buses to get around this place and its at least a 20 minute taxi or shuttle (at $20 minimum cost) to sample any of the surrounding towns, restaurants or tourist sites.
On the whole, this complex is well worth a week's visit and we will return to the Grand Luxxe someday soon.

Room Tip: We found both 2nd and 3rd floor in either tower to be grand. But first floor definitely puts you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TahitiJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was the nicest timeshare we have ever stayed in. The rooms were huge. The beds were comfortable. The service was impeccable. As stated in previous reviews, the first floor views were of the jungle which didn’t bother us at all because we were at the pool, beach or restaurant most of the time. We usually like to do some cooking on our own, but you are limited here because there is no oven in the unit and no outdoor grills on site. You can’t swim on the beach because most of the sand was taken away by a hurricane…they are working on it...not sure when it will be finished. Shuttles run every 5-10 minutes from the Luxxe to all areas of the resort (4 different hotels and several restaurants and pools). The Luxxe has its own pool and lunch restaurant that can only be used by those staying at the Luxxe. Lunch was good and the pool is nice. There are several other pools available to all with plenty of chairs and palapas. At those pools you can reserve one of the palapas in the pool-side restaurant for $30 and it gets refunded if you buy $30 worth of drinks/food pool-side and you can reserve one for the next day too. Happy hour was 11am to 1pm every day. You should speak some Spanish because the maids, security people and others who don’t normally interact with guests don’t understand much if any English. And if you stop at the Cancun Walmart for supplies (groceries, liquor are much higher priced at the resort), you will be lucky to find anyone who speaks any English. The resort offers a free shuttle from the Cancun airport to the resort (send an email to the concierge), but you must take a taxi back. We took USA Transfers because we’ve had great service with them previously and we wanted to stop at Walmart. The timeshare presentation is rather intense, but if you’ve been on them before you probably know how to say no.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PapaJerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Maybe we have just been unlucky.

The room is beautiful. However, room service entered our room when the Do Not Disturb sign was in place, my husband stepped on gum at the pool and we found hair in our food (twice). This is the main reason for the poor rating. It's just not acceptable for a luxury resort.

The service staff was extremely friendly & helpful but the front desk staff is not. We were basically ignored when we notified them of negative experiences.

Finally, the property is beautiful but huge. There are actually 4-5 different hotels here. It is not walker friendly. Shuttles have to be taken everywhere and the rooms are far away from the beach and restaurants.

There is also a staff of commercial sales people that is very aggressive. We were "questioned" to the point of annoyance when we tried to leave the property. I literally said " I have asked to leave 3 times. I would like to leave now". It was unsettling to say the least.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Although we have had a Luxxe membership for several years, this is the first time we have used it. In the past, we have stayed in the Grand Mayan to get more units so we could bring others with us. (To be honest, after this experience, it will be hard for us to ever go back and stay at the Grand Mayan or Bliss again.) We could not have been more pleased with our accommodations in our two bedroom unit, the level of service, and the beauty of the grounds. During our morning walks around the resort, we were always impressed with how well the grounds are kept and manicured. We used the fitness center and spa area daily and were impressed with the cleanliness of both areas. Although the restaurants on the resort are very good, we usually travel to Playa del Carmen or Puerto Morelos to have dinner. To do this, we take the resort transportation to the main gate and then catch a "collectivo" to either destination for 20 pesos per person. In Puerto Morelos, the owners of the restaurants go to the market and pier every day and buy what they need for lunches and dinner that day. We asked the workers and concierges for their favorites spots in Playa and Morelos and were never disappointed with our meals. Since we are members we know that upon check-in we will be offered a breakfast to "update" us about our membership but know it is the sales department opportunity to sell us more. We always politely accept and enjoy the meeting. When the sales pitch begins, I take out my notes from the last "update" and give them the "last and best upgrade offer" presented to have a valid starting point. There have been times we have walked away and others when we have purchased an upgrade. We can honestly say, we have never regretted our purchases with this company. My advice is to treat this as purchase of vacation time at a high quality resort and not an investment. We own two other time shares and without a doubt this is the best one .
We are looking forward to our next rip here in February.

Room Tip: Although very few units have ocean view, the units on the third floor have the best views of the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OhioTraveler44514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,301 reviews
7.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya

Property: Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya
Address: Calle Carretera Federal Km 48, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing