We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL Vacation at the Grand Luxxe - Riviera Maya!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL Vacation at the Grand Luxxe - Riviera Maya!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful week with our family at the Grand Luxxe - Riviera Maya. It was our very first time staying in these luxurious accommodations after having upgraded from the Grand Mayan a couple of years ago. We were fortunate to get a second floor unit in Building 1 (which is currently where you check-in and also contains the travel agency for planning your excursions). Because we were traveling with 4 other adults, we upgraded to the Luxxe Master Villa which combines the Luxxe Villa with the Luxxe Junior Villa. The Luxxe Junior Villa provided enough privacy for both our sons and daughters-in-law; one couple took the bedroom, while the other set up the living area as the 3rd bedroom. The overall Luxxe Master Villa was more than spacious (3,140 sq.ft.) and impeccably clean especially having maid service twice a day. Our only complaint was with the Wi-Fi service. Our connection in the room was poor, yet drastically improved around the Grand Luxxe pool area.

The staff was very professional and always eager to help. Due to the Luxxe buildings being situated in the "jungle," the use of their shuttles to get around the complex is preferred and they come very frequently; walking is not recommended as the roads are very narrow. It is my understanding that boardwalks will eventually be built such as the one that connects the Mayan Palace pool area with the Grand Luxxe pool. Also, a new Grand Luxxe lobby is currently being built.

The beach is usually everyone's biggest complaint as it is very rocky due to the coral. Although we are not "beach people," we were happy to see some changes being made. Two additional piers were being constructed and the coral is finally in the process of being covered with sand. In addition, a new beach club and restaurant are also in the construction phase.

The restaurants on-site are all excellent and the prices are comparable to what we would spend back in the States. We also enjoyed the swim-up bars, taking full advantage of the daily Happy Hours (2 for 1) and drink-of-the-day!

The grounds throughout the entire complex are impeccable! Walkways are constantly being cleaned; bushes pruned; grass cut; flowers blooming! Just absolutely beautiful!!

We were also excited to go on a tour of the construction area of where the new Cirque de Soleil will be. Completion is scheduled for November.

I could go on and on raving about how wonder it is to vacation here; suffice it to say that we love it SOooo much, my husband and I upgraded yet again to the Spa Tower! Here's looking forward to our next vacation!!!

Room Tip: Building 1 on the 2nd or 3rd floor is more desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srpatte824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear srpatte824 :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Grand Luxxe. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed our food options. We are happy as well that you liked the grounds and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    99
    21
    6
    10
See reviews for
259
204
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duarte, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the Thanksgiving holiday last year in 2013. We stayed in a one bedroom at the Grand Luxxe, and the room was 5 star. Lots of granite stone nice cabinets nice bedding and a really nice plunge pool on the balcony. The kitchen was very nice as well as it was for a gourmet cook.

We used the beach on the property, but many swimming pools on the property and ate at several of the restaurants on site , including Mayan Palace, the Grand Mayan, and Bliss resorts. Everything about the resort was fantastic and the staff is very nice. The Grand Luxxe rooms are some distance away from the pools and restaurants, although you can walk, much easier to take the golf cart shadows that run every five or ten minutes to where you want to go. It seems quite a bit of hassle in the beginning, but after a day or two you get quite used to using the shuttle.

The Grand Luxxe as a dedicated concierge to arrange for visits to various attractions in the area, help you book tours and arrange transportation for you in the area. Side note, if you to take the taxi or the shuttle from within the property to where you want to go, there is a fixed price for that. You may find it cheaper to take a taxi if you to take the shuttle to the front gate and then flag down a taxi to where you want to go. It will be much much cheaper. But there will be no shuttle to bring you back from the gate of the property to the main lobby of the property, as it will be about a 10 to 15 minute walk but it will save you money. It will be cheaper to even take the micro bus from the front of the property to where are you want to go. I would recommend that you make one or two trips into Playa del Carmen, which is the biggest City nearby, to buy your groceries in other kitchen essentials because it will be much cheaper than buying it from the small market on the resort property. For tipping, although it is optional, we found that it is definitely a wait for the workers to supplement their income. The workers are very friendly and courteous, so we did find ourselves tipping quite frequently. My recommendation is that you if you plan to tip frequently, bring plenty of one dollar bills and tip $2 or $3 at a time. The workers will definitely appreciate it

Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay, and we are planning to come back in May of 2015 because we enjoyed it so much.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank captk1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear captk1701 :

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at Gran Luxxe. We are pleased to learn our staff’s service was top-notch. They work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most enjoyable experience ever.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We are pleased to learn we successfully made that possible for you and your loved ones.

We appreciate your feedback and we truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,

Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was the first stay in our Grand Luxxe Residence Suite in Cancun...BEAUTIFUL...the entire staff makes you feel special and the grounds and everything was lovely. If you love to be pampered and made to feel special this is the place to be. From check in to check out...you want of nothing. The concierge in the buildings to the pool concierge to the shuttle drivers to the restuarant staff...remarkable. The most friendly, helpful people I have ever encountered. We loved every minute and look forward to our return visit here...next month Riviera Maya and that location is the same...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckypb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear luckypb :

Thank you so much for choosing Grand Luxxe for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff, as they are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing service excellence. It is pleasing to learn that you also enjoyed the breathtaking landscape.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had such an amazing time at our "adult spring break" here!
The resort is top notch. BEAUTIFUL in every way. Multiple large pools to fit whatever mood you might be in. The food was over all good, and desserts at most places were delicious!! Our rooms were promptly clean and turned down with extra beds to suit our needs.
If I had to say anything negative about the resort here are my only two things. One, even though we had a room that could accommodate 8 they could only put 4 credit cards on file, so we had to buddy up and then split bills at the end. It would have been nice if everyone could have had their own charge account. Secondly there was some minor construction going on near our room while we were there. When our doors were closed we could not hear anything, but out on your deck it was rather noisy at times.

Like i said, the place is BEAUTIFUL, the beach can't be beat and there were plenty of chairs to be found at both the beach and most pools. I was overall very impressed with the level of service provided to us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalalalaura87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear lalalalaura87 :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at Grand Luxxe. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options. We are also pleased you found our resort to be beautiful.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,

Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Most important, we had a medical emergency and the assistance provided by the resort staff was more than commendable. Many thanks for your immediate assistance. We will not forget your help and support at a scary time.

The accommodations are top notch. The staff and concierges cannot be beat.

We have been to the sister resort in Riviera Nayarit on two different occasions. Our first trip to the Riviera Maya was somewhat different: food pricier; gardens not as beautiful; BUT sales not aggressive and disturbing - which is a real plus. When the beach area is completed we will be back.

Room Tip: Units are in jungle so no need to fret over having/ not having an ocean view. The second floor will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelluvr3808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear travelluvr3808 :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your past stay with us at Grand Luxxe. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us, and your comments will be useful for this purpose. We would like to point out as well, that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

Your feedback is always welcomed and we look forward to continue hosting your vacations!

With all good wishes,

Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a wonderful resort! We loved our stay here and the accommodations are just the best! They have a concierge service that is the best we have ever seen. The resort is very well maintained and exceptionally clean. We loved everything about it!

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Grand Luxxe units. They are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cabolovers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear cabolovers2014:

Thank you so much for commenting about your stay at Grand Luxxe. We are pleased you enjoyed our accommodations and grateful for your kind words about our staff´s service, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. We are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Grand Luxxe is an outstanding property. It is on the same grounds as the Grand Mayan and the Mayan Palace. The folks staying at the Grand Luxxe are able to use the other facilities, but have an exclusive pool and restaurant. Staff is wonderful and rooms are cleaned in the morning and turned down at night. Our favorite door man is Roberto, this is our second time here, last time was in 2012 and again in 2014, Roberto remembered us from last time. Recommend highly!

Room Tip: Select the master suite, it is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Darren S :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Grand Luxxe. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacations. Also we are happy to receive your kind comment about our staff, as they always look to exceed all our guests’ expectations. We are certain Roberto will gladly receive your feedback.


Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
7.1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,976 reviews
7.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
2,078 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,879 reviews
7.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,189 reviews
13.0 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya

Property: Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya
Address: Calle Carretera Federal Km 48, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Number of rooms: 180

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing