We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait To Go Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Go Again”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent a week here November 2013 (Adults and Teens). The food was fantastic, don't miss the
A La Carte's. Entertainment was excellent and the resort is full of staff that want to entertain you at the beach and pool area. Beach is huge, with lots of available seating. Beach bar has everything, including hot food, available all day. Take the Segway tour, you will not be disappointed (priced reasonably). Pool is gigantic with plenty of swim up bars. Been to several tropical vacations, this is definitely one that we will be returning to. The staff has an incredible way of remembering you each and every day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Chris S

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay.

We appreciate you sharing your opinion with other travelers. This is the type of comments we love to receive from our guests after a wonderful stay as they motivate us to improve our service daily.

It is great for us to know that your stay was good and you enjoyed our facilities, activities, restaurants and the service from our Staff.

We are happy to know that you would return to our Hotel, and so we are looking forward to your next visit to Riviera Maya!

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,488
    1,596
    542
    173
    112
See reviews for
2,031
1,581
98
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We're family of three (w/ 6 yr old daugther) staying at the Paraiso Beach on Nov 18-25. Overall we were happy with the stay and had a great time.

Pros:
- the shows were alright. Sunday night there was a live band with professional dancers and singers. they were great.
- we got excellent service from amost everyone (front desk, ent. team, cleaning ladies, bell boys, etc)
- the resort, pool, restrooms and room were clean, although it's an older resort than other ones we been to.
- the pool were large and deep enough (deepest @ ~4.8 ft ) for swimming. My 6 yr old really enjoyed being in the pools and the ice-cream bar between 2 pools.
- there were animals (coatis, peacocks, turtles) and plantation everywhere
- the food was good. The fruits and salad were fresh and good selection. The BBQ's and pasta were ok. Some of the stews were a bit heavy. There were enough to choose from and we enjoyed every meal.
- the resturants had good selections. We highly recommend the Japanese resturant, although the food were not real japanese (my wife is from Japan); but then the tappan skills were good and food was tasty regardless. Very entertaining.

So-so:
- Can't share the facilities with Lindo or Maya. No complaints since we did not pay for those; but it would be nice to use the lazy river or tried a different buffet as they were just close by.
-There was one waiter at the mediterranean resturant. We asked for him to take a picture of us and he said "good service, good tip" and later we ask him to check if there were any nuts in the dessert because of allegy, he said the same thing again. so it was a little odd, although we did tip everytime at resturant, buffet or even breakfast.
- Kids club was good. But there were too many movies instead of activities. The caretakers were nice.

Cons:
This has nothing to do with the resort, but something has to be said about the ignorant tourists.
- we saw families (more than once) where parents and grandparents smoking, swearing, getting drunk and wasted at the pool bar while their kids watching. i've no problem with what people do in their own house; but not in this case. All you can drink is a bad idea.
- we saw people wasting food. Load up their plates at the buffet and just left most of the food on the table. Not a good way to teach their kids.
- we saw people thowing garbage on the floor or on the beach where there were garbage containers everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TellyJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations and for taking the time to share your comments.

We are truly glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience with the different restaurants, activities, facilities and at the mini Club. We love to receive these kind of comments since provide a great motivational tool for out Staff, and of course they also help us identify weak areas.

We regret to know that you experienced this situation at the Mediterranean restaurant; we have already forwarded your feedback to the management since this is not typical and we are concerned about that behavior. Please be sure that as soon as that person is identified, corrective actions will be taken. Our deepest apologies about that.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future so that you can enjoy again our paradisiacal environment.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here the week of Nov 16-23. All was good except for a few annoyances. First of all, there is a lot of walking from the lobby to the beach, which is okay most times but when you really could use a lift, don't bother to wait for a cart to come by as you will be waiting a very long time. The carts seem to favor the Lindo guests much more than the Beach or Del Mar guests. There are no schedules for the activities that take place in the shopping complex at night, which is a shame because often there are interesting things going on, but no way to know about them. If you happen to arrive at the resort between meals, it can be a challenge to get something to eat at these off times. However, if you don't mind eating cold leftovers at the beach grill you can survive. The overall experience was good at this resort until we had an episode at the taco shop. We walked in, set our back pack down on a chair at an empty table and proceeded to order a taco. Not more than a minute had passed, we turned around and the backpack was gone. We ran outside and asked an employee if she saw anyone take it or if they could contact security, the answer was, I don't know, no I can't. We went back inside the shop and here comes an employee of the Taco shop from a back room with our backpack in hand. The employee had taken the backpack to the back room when we had our backs turned to order a taco and said nothing to us or anyone in the shop as we panicked over it missing. We later reported this incident to our onsite Westjet rep who asked if we had reported it to someone. We tried, but no one would listen or offer any help. So, hang on to your stuff people, at all times, even for just a few seconds, it can disappear.

Room Tip: Building 36 if you can get it. Halfway between lobby and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bg8ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Clients,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Iberostar.

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that the general impression of the Hotel and our service was great.

We regret to know you experienced an uncomfortable situation at the Taco Shop, we have already informed the management since we do not have any records of this situation. Sometimes when staff see unattended belongings, they keep them somewhere safe. Their intentions were not bad but they should have advised you so our deepest apologies about this. Be sure that your feedback will be taken into consideration so that this will not happen again.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again our friendly Staff and great environment.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Traveled to Cancun for the first time with my wife to celebrate our big 5-0 birthdays. We wanted an all-inclusive, and found this resort to fit the bill, along with being very affordable, including flight. The grounds are very nice, well maintained, and full of animal life. Peacocks and coati are running all around the place. Overall the food was good, not great, even in the a la cart restaurants. Enjoyed the Brazillian churascurra and the Japanese steak house. Tip on the restaurants....reserve your tables as early as possible during your stay, but don't get the early dinner times. As a couple, we would have preferred dining with other couples, as opposed to large families with young children.

When you arrive, you may be greeted with a nice orange drink, which while very sweet, is also refreshing. They may try to "upgrade" your room to ocean view/front, or a suite, which is simply the same room as everywhere else, but closer to the ocean. We were aware of this, and did do the upgrade, as we were only there for four nights. While the room was nice, and our view of the ocean (and the sounds as well) were enjoyable, we were woken up all but one night by loud/drunk idiots who had no common sense to be quiet while walking near other rooms. This was the only real negative to our stay, which is not really the fault of the resort, but of the degenerates who were staying there. Resort staff bent over backwards to make our stay very nice, specifically Elena at the front desk. Everyone we passed by usual greeted us with an "hola" and a bright smile. Pool area and beach area were very nice and clean. One reason we picked this resort was due to the beach, and the fact that they had only small areas of rocks out in the water. Otherwise, beach was full, ocean was very nice, even had some waves to ride. I will say this about the property, while beautifully landscaped, it is large, and it will take a good ten minutes to walk from the front to the back. Try and grab one of the shuttles running back and forth, if possible. They could probably use a few more. Also, slightly adjacent to the area was a shopping area, which is on the property, towards the entrance. They sell the usual clothing/tee shirts, etc., but inside there is a taco restaurant, which was really very good. Great food for a quick meal, highly recommended. Also, when you go to one of the buffet's near the front lobby, just say the word tequila to your server, you'll have a shot waiting for you when you return from getting your food! All in all while I would have no problem returning to this resort if I ever returned to Cancun area, there are so many places to consider, i might just try somewhere else, but that's me. Hope you enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: Rooms that you may be upgraded to are on/near the beach, but a long walk/ride from the main restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Beach for your recent vacation.

We are more than glad to know that your recent experience was great and that you took the time to share your review with us on Trip Advisor. It is fantastic to know that this special occasion was great and you enjoyed your vacation without any inconvenience.

Our Staff is committed to always offer the best service and the most amazing experiences to our guests, your comments and feedback are our best tools for our motivation and improvement.

We are happy to know that you would return to our Hotel, if this is the case, we would be looking forward to your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Iberostar is a very good chain so our expectation were high and this hotel was able to meet them all. They have very good food, tasty and well presented, big, clean room with balcony, jungle all around and inside the premises with lots of native animals interacting without bothering us, like Coati, Paons, Flamingos, Turtles, Parrots, Swans, and some Deers by the entry. The Shopping Plaza is huge and filled with activities every night.
We have a 4 years old daughter and she enjoyed the Daycare Services very much, so we want to send special thanks to Marilyn and Lola.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the management of Iberostar Paraiso Beach we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We truly appreciate your amazing comments from your recent vacation at our Iberostar. It is our pleasure to know that our rooms, services and our amazing wildlife made your vacation an unforgettable experience. We have already forwarded your sincere greeting to the staff at the Kids Club, they would be happy to know your nice comments.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again our paradisiacal beach, grounds and our friendly Staff.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very nice place, generally friendly staff, and if you are lucky enough to catch great weather it is indeed good value for money (especially if you are travelling with small children).

With a pleasant layout, divided into several colorful buildings that spread from the lobby to the beach, the resort gives a very good first impression. Check in was fast, bell boys efficient and helpful and the room clean and welcoming.
Finding your way around is really easy and being located in between Del Mar and Lindo you can go for a different stroll and buffet/snack bar almost every day.

The staff at the kids club is great and genuine; a big thank you to Lily and Marilyn who are doing an excellent job. My son still asks for another tiger face paint :)

The entertainment team did a great job, but the shows and games could be a bit more diversified; they could be a bit more enthusiastic too (some of them).

The rooms are kept very clean and the maids are kind; don't forget to leave a tip on the first day. It helps. :)

Food was very good as well; many choices and something for every taste. The snack bars have limited fruit and meal choices (and the staff is not amazing), but if you go to the main buffet you can eat whatever your heart desires and the service is much better. Adan (I hope I spelled this right) is a particularly friendly waiter who was always prompt and did not put on that typical forced smile. We always chose a table in his serving area for this reason.

The beach is just ok; as compared to the strip at Lindo and at Grand Hotel Paraiso (that are only a few meters away), it's pretty dirty and there are huge rocks in the water. The entry is pretty steep as well. In the afternoon the beach gets really filthy (I know that tourists are nasty, but still, the cleaning staff could be more efficient).

The pools are very nice, but again, could be just a bit cleaner. The side that was recently renovated is excellent, but the entertainment pool badly needs some renovation. The bottom is very slippery, the margins are broken, etc.

Cheers to Victor at the pool bar, who does amazing mojitos! :)

Things that the resort really needs to work on are the illumination at night (bring a flashlight, it will help); it might look idyllic, but it's so dark you can barely see where you are walking. Seriously people, do something about it.

Another thing where there is still room for improvement is the general tidiness within the resort (around the pool, beach, buffet, dishes, etc). And in the same note, although I am a big animal fan and that I found the coatis totally cute, the fact that they jump on tables, lick the plates clean and drink up any leftover juices, is not ok. They can easily pass on diseases or even bite someone and wild animals simply do not belong in a resort.

Overall we had a great time and definitely recommend the resort.

Nevertheless, we will never book through Air Transat again; poor service both on board where the cabin crew practically looked annoyed when addressed in English; food was horrible (we never expect much from airplane meals, but this was really bad) and upon arrival the Air Transat rep who came aboard the bus, did not even bother to say a word in English; she blabbered everything in French then simply got off. Totally disrespectful and defiant.
The local rep (Josefa) however was nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay away from buildings 30 (it might be beach front but it is in between the bbq and the snack bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations in Riviera Maya.

We are truly glad to know that you had an amazing time with us and enjoyed the service of our Staff. We will show all your nice and generous comments to the people that you mention, as your compliments are very motivational.

We have shared your feedback to the management and it will be taken into consideration since our main goal is the complete satisfaction of our clients, these comments present us as a great tool to achieve our goal.

It would be a great pleasure for our Staff and the management to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy another fantastic stay at Iberostar.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

First, I'll say that Iberostar Paraiso is a very large complex. We stayed at Pariaso Beach which has a sister resort, Paraiso Del Mar. There are so many things going on that a good map, schedule, program or guide was needed. Maps are inaccurate and staff doesn't always give you correct answers. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is fine. Iberostar Paraiso Beach is a great value and we probably will return, but there are some negatives for us. Our body clocks didn't match the resort schedule (which was not well publicized). It was difficult to get an early breakfast. A good lunch before 1PM was a real challenge and dinner was never before 6:30PM. We heard that the shows were good, but they started at about 10PM (too late for us).

One reason for the relatively low price is that they pack the people in. The pool and the beach are crowded. It can be a challenge to find a recliner in the shade st the pool or the beach.
The specialty restaurants were all fine, as were the buffets. I recommend Paraiso the Del Mar buffet over the Paraiso Beach buffet. The Japanese specialty restaurant was our favorite. Wine, beer and liquor are readily available, but anything above the base brands will cost you extra.


We do recomnmend this place - just be ready to do a lot of walking, discovering the place on your own and having lots of people around.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 36. Buildings 35 and 36 are about halfway between the beach and the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flagene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the Iberostar Paraiso Beach management and our Staff we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

It is great for us to know that your stay was good and you enjoyed our facilities, activities, restaurants and the service from our Staff. We are truly glad to know that you will recommend us and be sure that all your comments and feedback have been taken into consideration by our management.

We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner at the main buffets and the breakfast and lunch services in the snacks next to the pool; we regret to know that you the schedules did not meet your needs.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again our service, facilities and the paradisiacal beach we offer at Iberostar.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,592 reviews
6.4 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#96 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,185 reviews
9.5 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#74 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraiso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing