We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NL Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

My husband and I just spent a week at this wonderful resort. I will keep the review short and to the point. If there is a negative at all, I will get it out of the way first. I found the evening buffet a little disappointing though certainly adequate. We didn't have lunch there since we ate at the beach grill every day (wonderful!) and found the breakfasts at the buffet to be superb. The steakhouse was our favorite a la carte restaurant. The rooms were lovely and very clean. The staff were all so friendly, smiling and accommodating, but the features that topped the list for me were the pool, the wildlife and the beautifully groomed and lush grounds.Truly a tropical paradise

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NLCollinsClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,460
    1,581
    535
    173
    112
See reviews for
2,012
1,558
97
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

Check in - It was very fast! We got in around 10:00 PM. The lobby and gounds are amazing. The bell boys took our bags. We stopped at the lobby bar for a drink. When we got to our rooms, or luggage was sitting there. I wish they would have put it in the room. We got ready, and went to the all-night buffet. That was great, since we were starving.
Rooms - The room was in building 33, number 3321. It was great location, very close to the pool. It was about a 10 minute walk to the lobby and the restaurants. The room was big and very clean. The bed was a little hard, the pillows were horrible. Bathroom was nice, blow dryer was not so good. The maids kept it clean, made towel animals, fridge was stocked (left a note for more beer and got it). Overall very nice.
Food - We went to the buffet by the pool most days for breakfast. It had good food, eggs, sausage, potato cakes, etc. We went to the main buffet for breakfast twice so that we could get made-to-order omelettes. Usually had lunch at the pool buffet or up at the beach. Burgers, chips and guacomole. We ate at the Japanese and the Brazilian, which were both awesome. Went back to Japanese again. The dinner buffet was decent, my wife liked the made-to-order pasta.
Bars - The lobby bar was great. Especially Eduardo and Luis. They poured us the top shelf tequila and mixed great drinks. We spent every night here until the 12:00 closing time. We went to the disco 3-4 times. It was great, Star Wars themed. Drinks were included, music was fun. It is open un til 3:00 AM. The pool bar was fine.
Pools\Beach - The pools was huge. We had no problem finding chairs around 9:00 AM in good spots. The Star Friends entertainment was good. We played several games and watched others. They did get a little pushy sometimes trying to get people involved, but not bad. The beach is great. White sand, clear ocean. Be careful when the red flags are up. I would like to thank the lifeguards who came out and got my friends and I when we got swept out too far by the undertow. The bar and food on the beach was cool.
Overall - I would definitely go back. Just a few things could be better: PILLOWS, trolly should run more frequent, more wait staff at pool. Both of my friends got sick. They were really dehydrated. Not sure if it was the food, dirty glass, or what. Remember to drink water. The good drinks mixed with the sun can be tough on you. We met a lot of really fun, cool people that made our stay that much more fun!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

We spent two weeks at the Paraiso Beach Resort  from Feb. 5 to 19 with another couple and their two young children.   We spent alot of time researching this holiday on TA and other websites.   We chose the Paraiso Beach for its size, price, pools and especially the beach, and we WERE NOT disappointed.   NOTES:•The resort was at approx. 65% capacity during our first week and absolutely full during for the second week.•We are in our 30’s and 40’s and have a total of 4 all inclusives between us.• The Paraiso Beach and Del Mar resorts are together and you can use the facilities including bars, shops and restaurants at either location.  The LINDO and MAYA are in the same resort but you cannot use their bars or restaurants.  The GRAND....stay away , they don’t want you there unless you overpaid stay there....AIRPORT/RIDE TO RESORT:The Cancun Airport was a breeze and Conquest Reps got us and our 15 pieces of luggage on a large tour bus.  The cold beer on the bus was a nice touch!   After a 5 plus hour plane ride we were glad to hear that the Iberostar would be the second stop.  It took us exactly 35 minutes to get to our resort while others going to resorts south of Playa Del Carmen had a 1.5 hour plus ride.  Our travel companions recalled a previous two hour plus ride to the Bahia Principe from the Cancun airport.  CHECK-IN:Very quick!  Resort maps were explained and we were told to grab a drink while all our luggage was loaded on the cart.  Bell boy patiently waited while we took in the amazing lobby and finished our drinks.ROOMS:The rooms were the only thing we would classify as "average" and typical.  Very clean with traditional Mexican decor but nothing overly fancy.  Beds were too firm for our liking but everything worked.  (Toilets, good water pressure, AC, TV, safe, mini bar etc.) We were in building #33, 2nd floor, which is situated close to the middle of the winding pools and a 2-3 minute walk to the beach.   Building #30 is beach front while #41 is closest to the lobby and buffet.   We spent very little time in the rooms....sleeping and showering, but enjoyed the view from our balcony with a cold Dos Equis and a Cigar.MAID SERVICE:Our room was made up daily when we returned from breakfast or the beach.  (Put out your sign) The cleaning staff are very friendly and work their butts off and are worthy of regular tips.  We routinely tipped on avg  20 pesos per day and were greeted with different displays of towel art, fresh towels, clean sheets and a restocked fridge (most days)  HINTS: there is a sign in the rooms stating “fridges will be restocked every second day”.   We routinely required more water and beer and simply asked a maid tending to a nearby room or called the front desk.  You are more than welcome to take extra water, soft drinks, towels or beer from the house cleaning carts.  Just ask!  We preferred Dos Equis beer over the “Superior” brand and they eventually gave me six packs at a time.  The face cloth shortage was something else I read on other reviews.  This was in fact true but again, just ask and you will be obliged with a smile.  GROUNDS:No words or photos can describe just how incredibly lush and manicured the grounds are at the Paraiso Beach and Del Mar.  It is truly a tropical paradise which makes the walks that much more enjoyable.  People are constantly cutting, trimming and raking this place.  It is also like a zoo with all the wildlife at every turn.   All the paths are beautifully lit at night and are great for late night walks.  There is a main path that runs between the BEACH and LINDO and this is where the trolley runs.  There is no set schedule for the trolley and it will stop where ever you flag it down.   Tell the driver where you want to go or he will drive to the next designated bus stop.  We mostly walked to the lobby and buffets, and let me put these walk times into perspective.   I read several reviews that talked about 20 minute to ½ hour walks.  Absolutely wrong!  It routinely took us 6-8 minutes to walk from our room, with an infant and a 3 yr old, to the buffet or lobby.   You can easily cover the entire length of the resort in 10-12 minutes depending on your pace.POOLS:The first few days of our trip were cool and windy so we spent those days pool side.   The pools are very clean, picturesque and stretch for an eternity.   The entire pool area has palapas for shade, or you can move your chairs for direct sunshine.  The Del Mar side of the pools will give you more sun throughout the day and was the daily choice for us.  Check out the sun during the day and make your own choice for the next morning.     I read numerous reviews about how cold these pools are and that they were unswimable.   When the day time temperature was at or above 80 degrees, we found them to be very refreshing.   There were several other people in the pools as well and the temperature issue was unfounded for us.BEACH:In one word “WOW”!  The powdery white sand and turquoise water was amazing.  The best swimming without question was right in front of the BEACH and LINDO resorts which had a pure sand bottom.   There are rocky areas that are clearly visible in front of the Del Mar and the Grand but can easily be avoided since the beach is so huge.   The swimming areas were marked with red buoys and the lifeguards would be on their whistles if people ventured too far away from the markers.  There are tons of palapas on the beach for shade and everyone would move the chairs to get away from people or be closer to the water.   There was red flags everyday with the exception of one.   This just meant bigger waves to splash in and did not affect people going into the ocean whatsoever.  Several reviews talked about a huge undertow and people being sucked out and rescued by lifeguards.    Maybe it was the time of year but the strong undertows were not an issue, and the 3 yr old had a blast in the waves.  TOWEL GAME:We were early risers and played the game to ensure a desirable spot for the day.  During our first week, saving chairs by the pool and beach was not even required.  Several good spots were still available at noon.  During the second week both the BEACH and DEL MAR were at capacity (812 rooms over 2000 guests) and primo spots filled a little earlier.  Even at full occupancy there were enough chairs at the beach and the pools for everyone.  FOOD - Buffet:This was the biggest shock to everyone in our group and goes against several of reviews that I have read.  The buffet was excellent!  The food was awesome with many new choices every day.   The selection of meats, chicken and fish certainly surpassed our expectations and nobody left hungry.   We would comment nightly as to how tasty the buffet food actually was.   The breakfast buffet was also excellent with endless choices for the health conscious and those who are looking to clog some arteries.  We would have liked to have seen more shell fish but I guess that comes with a stay at the Maya or Grand. A La Cartes:We booked three a la cartes during our first week.  The Mediterranean (good), Mexican (average) and the Japanese (Excellent)  Between the Beach and Del Mar resorts you have a choice of 8 different restaurants.  Booking was easy and took all of 10 minutes out of our day. There are four different seating times between 6:30 and 9:00 PM.  Men have to wear long pants at all the a la cartes with the exception of the outdoor restaurants. (Steakhouse and Tropical)  We were not overly fond of being attached to a dinner reservation and opted out of booking additional a la cartes during our second week.  And it didn’t matter to us....The buffet was that good!Beach Grill:The food here pretty much remained the same for the entire two weeks and was usually cold from the ocean breeze unless it was just off the grill.   We stuck to the grilled chicken, nachos with fresh salsa and guacamole and corn on the cob.  I threw in the odd burger and hot dog to switch it up.  There are two open air restaurants that had hot items and a much larger selection for lunch.  We were either at the beach or pools so I can’t even comment on the lunch at the main buffet restaurant.  DRINKS:The drinks were excellent for the most part but may vary slightly between bartenders.   Beer outside of the rooms is on tap but was always very cold and never tasted flat.  The pool and beach bars can get very busy in the afternoon and these bartenders go non stop all day long.  If you plan to spend a day at the beach or the pool I strongly suggest the following to ensure good drinks without waiting in line.  Find a senior bartender and tip him generously on your first drink and most importantly ...”BRING A LARGE INSULATED CUP”...You will not will not find one there and you won’t regret it.   We all got comments from other travellers wishing they had brought the same.  You will find a better selection of top shelf liquor at the lobby and stage bars.STAFF:Like most reviews, we found the staff to be excellent.  Other than having to remind a few waiters for coffee refills, I cannot recall any issues with the staff in any form.   People working the front desk, stores, bars and grounds were all very pleasant and accommodating to every request.  The three year old in our group had her birthday during the trip and the staff treated her to birthday cake with candles, a shirley temple shooter and a special birthday song on the stage during the kids show.ACTIVITIES/SHOWS:The Star Friends have tons of entertainment going on at the beach and pools and the activities are numerous.   Polo, volleyball, basketball, pool games, aerobics, air rifles, archery, horseshoes, mechanical bull, bocce ball, table tennis etc.  These people work the games all day then host the kids and adult shows in the evening, and do an admirable job to get their guests involved.   The evening shows repeat after 7-8 days and range from ridiculous audience participation games to a fantastic magician show.   The Boogie Nights show was also excellent if you are into song and dance from the 70’s.  We would typically take the three year old to the kids show after dinner and then enjoy the drinks and atmosphere in the lobby bars. TOURS:We found enough to keep us busy in the resort and did not do much for tours on this trip.  We did go to Playa Del Carmen and toured 5th Avenue.   Very busy with lots of restaurants, bars and shopping.  The resort has a mall with several stores, but you will find more bargains in Playa.   We also met friends who were staying at the “Royal Playa Del Carmen” (just off 5th Ave) and managed to get a day pass at their resort.   This is an adult only resort (5 star), that had nothing for tropical grounds, one boring pool, no real activities and just did not compare to the atmosphere at the Iberostar Beach.   The rooms were certainly better appointed than ours but that was the only plus with this resort other than the additional $2000 price tag.  I highly recommend the Iberostar Beach for couples and families with young children or teens.  There is something for everyone!  It is a little more spread out than some resorts but unless you have severe mobility issues, it is very manageable.    We also had two way radios which came in handy when we split up.  This resort can certainly provide consistent service to all its guests even at full capacity.  Never were there issues with overcrowding and plenty of tables and chairs were available at the buffets, pools and the beach.   We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank crazychevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

We travelled here 25th October 2008 and had a great time. We requested inter-connecting rooms which the hotel sorted out at check in.

The reception area is stunning and there are Flamingos, tropical birds & Turtles around every corner so this really kept the kids happy. We were transferred to our rooms by a friendly porter with Golf Buggy which was a good jo as this complex is massive!!!!

The rooms were spotless and the maids did a really good job and topped up the free mini bar every day which was appreciated.

The food was to die for and the service was again impeccable - different choice every night and always with a smile. I'd reccommend the Mexican restaurant which you need to book. The steak house was also good but you have to be careful or you'll be attacked by the local furry creatures (no idea what they are called) as they'll go for your food. Hotel staff didn't seem to stop them which was my only criticism of the hotel (and stray cats).

Pool area was huge and no problem getting sunbeds etc..... but for a family maybe a little too lively around the pool bar.

Entertainment was also very good but you need to get a seat early if you want a decent view.

Overall a really good hotel and would definitely go back, although probably at a different time of year as it was mainly cloudy and red flag day every day on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MilkyBarKidPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

I'll try to keep this review focused on just the resort, but i'm going to add a few semi related details at the end. I'll only review things I had time to make use of as this place is very large and it's very easy to not get to do it all in a week.
As with almost any trip, it is what you make of it. The resort is beautiful, the lobby is gorgeous (this is our first time at a 4+ star resort). The wildlife on premises is very neat.
I'll do a quick breakdown of major points here.
Food - very good selection, mostly good quality (there were some dishes that were a bit questionable to me, meat served at lukewarm temperatures) but for the most part, you'd be hard pressed not to find something you want to eat.
Ala Carte restaurants - all quite good but neither of the two we went to were excellent (steakhouse and japanese). Don't be late, and book your meals early.
Service - quite good, varies by person, and of course your tipping level, but this is expected.
Room - Quite nice, fairly simple, free daily restocked mini bar, firm but not brutal king sized bed, crib delivered on request for our little one, clean.
Pool(s) - Wow, what a huge pool, it goes on forever and the waterfall is a great addition.
Cleanliness - the resort is very well maintained and very clean.
Beach - Didn't get to spend alot of time there, but it's a reasonable sized chunk they have and I didn't feel too sandwiched in between other resorts. Sand is amazing, water is beautiful.
Front Desk - Quite helpful and courteous.
Security - Fairly good but not great. I especially felt the luggage holding room for late departures was not well controlled. Nothing went missing, but it easily could have. Also I found my balcony door unlocked twice after cleaning staff was through when i swear i locked it, i could be wrong though.

Miscellaneous - Resort trolley was a neat idea although it doesn't come by as often as you'd like ( I twisted my ankle on a tour and we had a 16month old daughter and another member of our party with a cane, so it would have been helpful to be more frequent). Shopping centre is nice but expensive, go to playa del carmen instead. All food in the shopping centre is included and free. We had some charges on one of our group's rooms that did not make sense (3 days of internet and they dont even have a laptop and 3 movies at $49 US, could have been a slip on the remote but it seems unlikely, we got some of the charges reversed). If you're ordering internet, specify wireless or cafe time. I only caught one star friends show and it was well put together and fairly entertaining. Premium alchohols can be found at the stage bar and the lobby bar. Trips - ATVs and ziplines/cenote swim was quite fun and worth the money. Xcaret is a huge tourist trap, very expensive and most of the more interesting activities are not included and cost extra, also they push through about 8,000 people a day, so expect crowds. Shopping at Playa del Carmen is just crazy but good prices can be had, just remember to try not to go over 40% of what they offer when you bargain, if you're a hard negotiator, you can probably get most things for 20-30% of their initial quote. Coba mayan encounter through alltournative was fast paced, no dilly dallying and i enjoyed it, the main temple is quite the climb and an incredible view. Free room service 11am-11pm with limited menu. Would have liked to see more mexican food in the buffet, lots of seafood available if you like that. Virtually no prices anywhere on the resort are negotiable, though once you're in town, almost everything is.
All in all, not much to complain about with the resort itself and I'd recommend it without hesitation to friends

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fallen0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

This is my 3rd time at Iberostar and i am going back for march break this year.
I am a mother of a family of 4 and we are all looking forward to our 4th time here!
This place is excellent!
well i was there i met a family of 3 that has gone there 7 times!
Ive stayed at the Beach and the Lindo. They are both amazing places!
The Lindo is more relaxing and the beach is more partying!

Staff:

The staff is amazing! They are quick and always ready to serve you!
They try there best to make sure you have a great stay! They are very friendly and welcoming to everyone!

Rooms:

The rooms are clean and pretty decent sized!
Any view you have from the balcony is spectacular.
The bathrooms are clean and big.

Property:

The property is absoutly GEORGEOUS!!
I can just sit there and take pictures of it all day!
Its a very big property!
They have trolleys to take you around. Outside of your hotel is a little hut where the trolley will come to get you.
They have a mall there with crepe places and jewelry stores and beach stores.
Its so beautiful

Food:

If someone cant find something to eat they have a serious problem!
The food here is excellent!
There is so much to choose from!



Our stay was great and we will be back at least 2 more times! We just cant get enough of this place! You should stay here!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mexicobabe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

I got back from Riviera Maya, 4 days ago, and I'm steel feeling very sad!! This was my second time on Iberostar Paraiso Beach (my first was 4 years ago), and I have to stay is the best hotel I've been! Not only the staff, the food, the cleanliness, I think the best of this hotel is the all environment. It's nature all around us... I think that I'll be back soon!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VandaAbreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,544 reviews
6.4 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#94 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,051 reviews
9.5 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#73 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraiso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing