We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had an amazing trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Southampton PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We had an amazing trip”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The resort was beautiful and we had a great trip. Pool was a little cold but we still went in. The beach was great and we loved the beach bar and grill. On our third day we received a call that we were being upgraded to other rooms. We all packed up and within 30 minutes we were walking into the Presidential Suites. It was unbelieveable, we had half of the third floor overlooking the beach. The bathrooms were amazing! See it can't hurt to tip $10 at check in. My husband swears that his tip did it. You can't go wrong with this place. Even our first rooms were nice.

This resort is big but whenever you see a worker driving by just stop them. They always gave us a ride with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livetotravel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,454
    1,577
    533
    173
    112
See reviews for
2,005
1,555
97
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gatineau,quebec
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

its my 3rd time at the iberostar hotel, either at the tucan quetzal or the playa del mar or the paraiso beach hotel,the food is great,beach is beautiful,rooms plain but clean the grounds are well kept. this time around the only draw back was the fact that my room was not ready upon my arrival,, the tequila was great however limited in the brands,the champagne was great, on the beach there were lots of chairs . you can visit the other iberostars which are all connected. on my trip the only drawback was westjet vacations, on the plane the only thing that was free was coffee and a cookie or water. you even had to pay to watch a movie. im surpised they dont charge for the toilet paper(maybe in the future) .my next trip will not be with westjet, i will go back to sunwing or sunquest or air transat at least they serve you a meal and even wine with your meal. aside from that my trip was pleasant and i will go back to iberostar in the future with no hesitation whatsoever.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Buffett was very good something for everyone. Specialty restaurants were excellent.
Hard to get a chair by the pool, but plenty of chairs by the beach, which is what its all about!! Beach was beautiful and you could walk quite a distance. Day trip to Playa
del Carmen was quite and experience and lots of fun. We had a great time overall
and would return again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annmarie1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Just got back from Paraiso Beach, as others have said this place is BIG. The Delmar and Beach are basically the same resort. Here is the GOOD. The grounds are impressive and clean. The staff provided outstanding service. Rooms were very clean. The beds are hard but I like them hard. Higher end liquor is available but you need to ask. The beach was big with some areas providing places to swim and snorkel. Plenty of chairs on the beach. Pools were large with 2 swim up bars and a quality dive shop on site. The activity staff did a very good job in providing entertainment. This place is family friendly. We used Lomas travel for our transportation and activities, Erica and Ross the Boss were excellent.

The NOT SO GOOD. Poor bell hop service. The system used to make resevations at the 6 restaurants is a joke. The buffet is OK. No beach drink service but there is a small bar on the beach for self service. This place is to big! 15 minute walk from my room to the beach. There is a trolley but good luck in getting a ride. Rooms need a updating. Way to many kids. Have your towels on the beach/pool chairs by 8:00am or you will not have a chance for a sun/shaded area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PepperKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Not much to say that hasn't been said about how nice this place is.
Ladies, bring your own conditioner. There was plenty of shampoo and shower gel but as in other Mexican hotels I've stayed in, no conditioner.
The staff really are wonderful and friendly, the rooms are as pictured and the grounds are beautiful & immaculate.
There was always plenty of bottled water in the mini fridge and the beach & buffet had self service juice & soda drinks, so no waiting in line behind folks wanting mixed drinks.
Unfortunately the place was quite full during our stay and pool lounge chairs were toweled or other wise reserved by 8: 0a.m. and shaded beach chairs by 9:0 a.m. The remaining beach chairs were gone by 10:0 a.m
The food was good, always something we could eat. Always some great bread choices & fruits. The crepes place is included and they are very large but a little too thick for my liking. Its also very close to the Paraiso Beach lobby. We chose this hotel because of its size and wildlife and were not disappointed. We were able to get a nice walk when we wanted and there was always something to see.
The lobby shop had a variety of souvenir items and some emergency supplies. They will change the bill into dollars & accept them but your change will be in pesos, or you can charge to your room or credit card. The shopping center near the lobby has some boutiques, a little more upscale than the lobby shop, and a carousel for the kids.
Our TV didn't have any news in English but after telling them the TV didn't work someone came and adjusted it (saying no English CNN & Fox produced no result)
The swimming pool is very large but only the larger pool areas are 4.5 feet deep. The rest is 2.5 feet (great for the kids)
Its about 30 minutes from Cancun airport on a very straight dual highway.
Great sands but sea had a bad undertow while we were there. We could play in the surf but no swimming.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyKrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Definite thumbs up on this hotel
Felt the true Mexican hospitality at it's best
The property was well maintained and the staff were amazing
Warm and sincere
We made a point of relaying our appreciation of their excellence in every part of this fabulous resort
Bar restaurants beach (security) bellman front desk
This particular stretch of beach was the best we have seen after three visits to other resorts in Playa Del Carmen area
The a la carte restaurants were fabulous
Would return here in a heartbeat
Didn't feel crowded despite the fact it was pretty much running at full capacity
Felt safe
And left Mexico feeling the people in our service there deserve way more than they are making
Felt compelled to tip generously and never once felt any of them expected it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This was my second time visiting Paraiso Beach and thrid time at an Iberostar property. We booked through a travel agent that used FunJet. First time I went was through a four square deal via Apple Vacations. I love everything about this resort. It's perfectly close to the airport so you seem in the jungle yet not too far away. The setting is breathtaking. The grounds and buildings are meticulously groomed. I had a room with a jungle view both times and found it to be private and quiet. The staff is always helpful and friendly. Maid service keeps the rooms neat and tidy in a timely manner each day. The resort is very safe and large enough you don't feel overcrowded. The beach is very spacious and each palapa has a beautiful view of the ocean. The large pool provides what seems like miles of choices to nap or play. The food is great not outstanding. I am vegetarian and found a nice variety to chose from at all times of the day and food was marked well so I knew what to avoid if you couldn't make a determination by sight alone. Chefs at buffets are typically able to understand your request and make items meat free most of the time. Specialty restaurant favorite is the Japanese grill- excellent food. Hard to get into though.

Shopping:
I didn't venture to the town on this trip but they have a nice little shopping area and it's comparable to prices in town when you factor the cost of a taxi to and from the resort. One or two nights a week vendors come in. First year there were more options from vendors than on this trip.

Activity:
I enjoy booking through FunJet and Apple Vacations, they give you that extra service that makes you feel taken care of throughout your whole trip with out bugging you.
We booked a a horse back riding excursion through FunJet which was off the resort (down just a few minutes) with Bonanza Rancho. Great experience and really beautiful. They seem to take excellent care of the facility and animals. I highly recommend these guys, they were fun and very attentive to everyone and watchful of those with no riding skills. We booked another excursion the year before through Apple Vacations to take a catamaran to Tulum. We did not have a good experience (read very scary) from poor planning and lack of communication by the crew and weather we should not have been sailing in. Apple took care of our issues and we were glad to be safe and refunded after that adventure.

Overall, I love this property and would stay at any Iberostar anywhere based on my experience and the ability of this resort to go beyond my expectations. You can't beat the value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdub28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,531 reviews
6.4 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#97 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,040 reviews
9.5 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#73 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
11,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraiso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing