We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Returning - ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
Neosho, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not Returning - ever!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I truly feel bad for resorts when they get a really negative review but I just feel obligated to share our experience....it may or may not aid in someone else's decision to stay here. Oh, where to begin....the entire experience really left us feeling exhausted & disappointed. We knew our first trip with the kids would be a challenge and we had only stayed at 'adults only' prior- so completely different but the flaws we found at Iberostar have made us avoid all Iberostar resorts - forever! The food was not good at all- the buffets (yes, even breakfast) had mostly fried foods like stuffed jalapeños or mozzarella sticks and it didn't vary much from day to day....the al a carte was what we thought would be of higher standard and....no! We even tasted foods ALOT because we had no idea what they were....so that's the food. The beds were not comfortable - at all- so other guests said you need to request a pillow topper- we did and this helped slightly but we thought why, why do we need to ask for a pillow topper, maybe you need new mattresses at the resort, right? The pillows & top comforter smelled- yes, they stunk to high heaven! :( I sprayed perfume on them daily! We requested new ones- they stunk too! The pools were packed, the beach was too with lots of screaming babies- we know how that goes, we have 2 kids but you just could not relax anywhere....we finally realized alcohol was the only cure for this nightmare! We hadn't slept, really ate or relaxed by day 7 but we were more than ready to return home! The Internet was another issue: now I realize some resorts charge for this and some don't but if a resort charges- it has to work! In the lobby we paid for Internet several times but the Internet wasn't working - so we ask for a refund and we had to fight to get it. The gentlemen said it's hit or miss and we don't do refunds-their Internet is pricey by the way! After arguing for a bit, they gave us a partial refund! I return later to use the new code they gave me, it doesn't work either! Argued for another refund - listened to a lady say our internet is down- gee, no kidding lady, then give me my money back....gave up on Internet for the rest of the trip. We run our own business- the pricey 25 minutes of Internet was vital- total fail Iberostar.
There were some great entertainment staff but I just cannot say much else...
Overall, we are planning a new trip this Dec and we are taking our kids but we will never ever pay $5K for an Iberostar again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelinNewbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community, your honest opinion of your stay.

In regard to your comment about our food, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our team constantly works on offering menus that will adapt to our national and international clientele's taste. Our Executive Chef will receive your feedback.

We are sorry if you felt that our beds were hard; we would like to add that following our guests' requests, we are indeed planning to change our mattresses. As they need replacing, the new ones that will arrive will be a different, softer model, and will include pillow tops.

We apologize about the situation with the internet connection; internet in Mexico is growing rapidly, and slowly but surely our WIFI system is getting faster. Following our guests' requests, we recently introduced the service in the whole of our resort. When our guests have issues with their connection; we check this with our IT Department in order to solve it. Our apologize about the response you received from our Front Desk. We will be reviewing this with Management.

We hope you give us the opportunity to offer our hospitality again at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Lindo in the future in order to change your point of view and provide you with a more pleasant stay.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,544
    1,656
    548
    191
    99
See reviews for
3,081
1,428
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Paraiso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The food at specialty restaurants not great. Buffets are fine, food quality in some cases questionable. Drinks have very little alcohol. Need to change up shows, also might offer a show with air conditioning or even at beach at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest,


First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your recent stay in Mexico.

The management of IBEROSTAR is committed to providing services, facilities and an ambiance which satisfy our guests’ requirements and therefore we extend our sincerest apologies if you were disappointed with certain aspects of our resort.

We are sorry that our food and beverages did not meet your expectations. Our Executive Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and a la carte restaurants and he is always open to listen to feedback. Your remarks will help him to be on the right track.

Likewise, we regret that our activities were not up to your total satisfaction. Our Entertainment team offers our guests numerous fun activities to make a great vacation, from contests on the beach to shows in theaters. We can assure that they will receive your review to analyze it and keep improving.

We will take into consideration all of your observations, please accept again our apology from the Hotel Management.

We hope to have the opportunity of offering you our hospitality again at IBEROSTAR.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this resort. We actually got married there 10 years ago. It has grown a lot since then, but is every bit as beautiful as we remembered. The staff is friendly, the service is excellent. Great pools, but an even better beach. we went to relax and soak up some sun, and that's just what we did. There are plenty of excursions you can take, but this trip we just relaxed. It was paradise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank strojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting us again on your 10th year Anniversary. Thank you so much for your loyalty! We are also very happy to know that we were capable to offer you another great vacation.

We really appreciate your recognition for our service, our pools and our facilities in general.

Thank you for this feedback. We sincerely hope to see you for many years to come. We look forward to serve you again.

Warmest regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family of 5 (2 adults and 3 teenage girls) along with my parents (60's), brother and sister in law with their kiddos (2adults and 10/7 year olds) and my two step son's and a friend (in their 20's) visited the Lindo this past June.
This resort had something for each person in our group. Not an easy order to fill with so many ages. From the arrival, the check in process was pretty quick. We arrived on a charter and the Iberostar staff were busy with a lot of check in guests. The lobby is air conditioned and has WiFi and a lot of seating.
Our room was not available until later in the day, so we went for a delicious lunch at the buffet. Many choices, friendly staff! Once our room was ready, we went to quickly change and hit the pool. We requested rooms nearby one another and ended up all in the same building. We were thrilled. My teenagers were just 3 doors down. The rooms were standard, not junior suites, but were spacious and had a balcony. Steps, no elevators. The air conditioning stays on until you turn it OFF, not when you place a key in a slot. So, our room was nice and cool when we came back from the hot sun. Beds were firm, sheets clean, bathroom large and clean. Plenty of drawer and closet space. Not super luxurious but certainly very nice and perfect for our needs.
Beach- VERY Good!! Not much seaweed, large wide stretch of white sand. A ton of sunbeds and covered thatched hut's for shade. Beach bar and Food served on the beach, as well as server's available to bring you beverages!! Drinks were good, not watered down. Beer was cold- I think it was Sol and Dos Equis. Didn't see any "American" beers, which we didn't want/expect...but it seems American's tend to think everyone has "our" beer. When in Rome.....
Pools- Aside from the area around the swim up bar, which tended to get a little oily feeling late in the day, the pools were VERY clean. The pool deck was pristine. The resort grounds as well were exceptionally clean and well manicured. We spent our pool time near the waterfall, as it offered a cool breeze. The bar near the wave pool was convenient and the staff there were quick, friendly and poured whatever we asked for. There were also a lot of chairs and thatched huts for shade. I would have loved a few regular chairs, as I honestly get tired of laying down! Pool towels available.
Activities- the staff is great about encouraging people to join in. Non motorized water sports were included, but some days it was too windy for the kayaks. Other water sports available for a fee. The activity pool for volleyball, basketball etc is only good if you are at least 6ft tall. But there are plenty of spots to have impromptu volleyball or toss a ball in the main pools. Lazy river was nice too.
Food- Buffet choices were plentiful, well prepared, hot foods as they should be and cold foods the same. We ate at specialty restaurants twice and it was great both times. Would have liked to try another, but with our group size it wasn't available. Next time will make sure to book reservations as soon as we check in with concierge (Each building has their own concierge).
Excursion- we went to playa del Carmen. Our group took a van for a reasonable rate. Worth the trip, but plan to be hassled to buy in the stores. Prices are ok. So many very cool restaurants to see/try. Next time I will make sure to allow more time in Playa.
we had planned to visit Chichen Itza, but it is a 10 hour day from the resort, so we skipped it this time. Tulum is closer.
WIFI- free in lobby and lobby bar (both air conditioned) Fee to use in the room. At night it was impossibly slow, but so many were using it, that was no surprise. Gotta stay connected to social media.
Shopping/Nightlife- there were shows, it looked like people were enjoying them, but we didn't attend any. The World cup was being played while we were there. It was shown at the Disco (no clue the name)...it was AWFUL. Small Tv's and very dark. We found out the Maya was showing games and went there, it was much better. They brought out chips/salsa and it was a much bigger brighter room. I wonder if they considered showing the games in the theaters? It would have been fantastic in one of those venues.
The 20 somethings didn't love the night life, mainly because there were few single's in their age group- but we were all tired from long days or sun and drinking!
Teen club- my kids were not impressed
Photographer- booked a photo session with the onsite photography outfit. the photographer was very nice, but most of our pictures were not great. Might have been better had it not been quite so windy, but there was no purchase requirement. We bought anyway...and now have some ok pics and some that are pretty good!!
thumbs up to this resort, we will absolutely return to this and/or another Iberostar resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borderstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your invaluable feedback. Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travelers.

We really appreciate your comments where you indicate us that had a great experience in our resort enjoying our facilities, our food and the excellent service provided by our staff.

Thank you for trusting us, we are already looking forward to your next visit. It would be our pleasure to serve you and your family again!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We returned to the Iberostar Lindo for the 3rd time in 14 months for a dear fiend's wedding in late June. We took a party of 7 and there were 63 wedding attendants, it was awesome!!!

I must say I am so glad we gave this resort a 3rd chance. The first time we visited was in April, Mexico's dry season when the jungle was barely even there, and then again in September and it rained and smelled like bat guano and mold. The resort was also low staffed that week among other issues. This trip was wonderful in every way, a totally different experience.

Our Room- I begged for the room we stayed in the past 2 times because it was away from the jungle and did not smell musty, but it was occupied so we were put in another building closer to the jungle, and it was surprisingly very fresh smelling. The bed was new and had a soft pillow top. (room 5165) and the balcony was double the usual size. Our other family members enjoyed their rooms but still complained of the beds being hard. I think the resort has only replaced the kings so far.

The Food-All of the restaurants had improved. I don't know if it was because it was high season, but everything was fresh and consistent. Our favorite restaurant this time was the Mediterranean and 2nd the Brazilian but I must say the French waiters were the best, very attentive! The front entrance buffet had drastically improved and our favorite server "Juanito" was working there instead of the Beach side buffet which was still great.

The Beach and pools-Perfect as always. A bit crowded, but we found a perfect empty beach right on the other side of the Grande. Pure virgin beach. Our friends thought we were freaks for getting up at 6AM and putting our towels on our shaded beach chairs, but after they sat in the sun for a couple of days they did the same. Can't forget the pool games, we loved them!!

The wedding- Wow!! what a wedding! We had a fantastic evening. A great DJ, a Marmariachi band, dancing barefoot on the sand, fresh crab and lobster! O' and Tequila!!

The Service was wonderful as always. Please be sure to tip. Everyone there works so hard. We also say a big Thanks to Adrian and Beatrize and Shadoc who we missed this time. See you in Diciembre!

Iberostar Lindo! You won us back. Thank You for a great week!

Room Tip: Rooms in building 55 are the farthest from the beach and pools, closest to the mall and nightlife. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewBraunfelsArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us and the Tripadvisor readers how your third visit with us went, and of course, thank you for your loyalty!

We are very proud to hear that one of our repetitive guests had another memorable stay. We work hard every day to provide our guests always with the best and thanks to your comments we can see what we do right and what could be improved. Your lovely comments about our staff will be sent to them; they will be very happy to know that you had great memories thanks to their excellent service.

We are happy that you enjoyed the wedding celebration and that everything went as you were expecting.

Once again, thank you very much for trusting us, we look forward to your vacations in December.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Lindo July 4-10 and had a wonderful time. From Jose at the front desk through the resort all the way to Julio and David at the beach bar, the staff was friendly, accommodating and very cordial. The grounds are beautiful as are the fountains and the huge meandering pool.

We had two rooms on the second floor in Building 51, which was steps away from the beach and a five-minute walk from the lobby. Our rooms were cleaned shortly after we left them and our maids Nuemi and Hermalinda went above and beyond to ensure our comfort, with delightful little touches like a fresh flower or bags of peanuts, and a restocking of our water bottles each day.

The buffets were delicious and had dozens of choices, a welcome sight since our daughter is a vegetarian. Our waiter Adrian made breakfast at the El Fogon buffet special every day. The restaurants also did what they could to make certain our daughter had choices at dinner. The chef at El Museo even visited our table twice to be certain our daughter was happy and we were satisfied. The food at the beautiful El Museo was fantastic, as was the food at the Iberostar Maya Marina seafood restaurant, well worth the extra $20 per person to go there. Don Alfredo’s Italian restaurant at the nearby Iberostar Del Mar was also very good. We enjoy eating late and had no problem reserving a table for each night of our stay, and found the concierge service in Building 51 to be most helpful doing so. The lunch at the beach was tasty, convenient and offered many choices, and the daily cookout in the massive cauldron was also very good. Diego, Nancy and the other Star Friends at the beach did all they could to keep us fit and entertained, and the beach waitresses were quick to bring drinks and to take away empty glasses. At the beach bar, Julio and David kept us smiling with the daily drink specials and plentiful shots of tequila. Room service was a fun twist and never took more than 45 minutes to deliver our orders, even in the busy evenings when we wanted a salad or snack before dinner. The lobby bar was fun, the piano player very talented and our waitress, Diana, and the manager, Elias, made sure our glasses were full and the martinis dry.

We also booked two tours (day-long Chichen Itza, Ik Kil and Coba private tour and a day-long catamaran to Isla Mujeres) through Trina at CARM Tours and would heartily recommend both tours. They helped make our trip unforgettable.

The Lindo is a lovely, fun and truly friendly place to stay and we are recommending it to our friends. We hated to leave.

Room Tip: Building 51 was steps from the beach and a five-minute walk to the lobby. Quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BookFan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Your fabulous experience may encourage other travelers to choose us for their vacation.

Our main goal is our guests’ satisfaction and we are proud to hear that we succeeded in meeting your expectations and that you loved our personalized service. We will forward your comments to our friendly staff, especially to Diego, Julio, Jose, Adrian, Elias, Diana, Nancy, Hermelinda and Noemi. For sure, they will be very happy to know that they helped you to have a wonderful stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your preference and for your excellent comments. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are still talking about this trip a year later! From beginning to end this trip was PERFECT! The property is gorgeous. The family is greeted with a drink and made to feel special. The rooms are well appointed and spacious, and include a complimentary minibar.(and room service). There is a great variety of restaurants, which were all wonderful. The shows were entertaining for me and the kids. There were many pools, the beautiful beach, and always a covered area with seating without a struggle. The staff goes out of there way to serve you-truly excellent!! Warning*Make dinner reservations upon arrival or you will be sorry. **WiFi is available only in the lobby and there is a fee.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latoundji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review about our hotel. We are happy that your stay was so pleasant.
It is most satisfactory to know that we contributed to making your vacation a success. We are indeed happy to know that you enjoyed our well kept facilities, our services, the beach, and our food in general. At IBEROSTAR, we always try to provide an ambience that will fulfill our guests’ needs.

Once again, thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR and we look forward to seeing you again at our lovely hotel.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,975 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,802 reviews
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,262 reviews
18.1 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
21,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing