We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort, all good, can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
London, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome resort, all good, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Well, we are back from a week at the Lindo, we were there Feb 16-23rd and as I’m reading reviews that have been posted while we were gone, I have to think, no way were these people at the same place we were! So here’s a long one and it’s all good!

Check in and check out a breeze…. We did ask for adjoining rooms as my mother was travelling with us and the best they could do was two rooms on same floor, same side, with one room between us – it was totally fine! And they were very apologetic! Resort was either at full capacity or very close to it but that didn’t cause any problems at all, in fact, it helped keep the “fun” atmosphere going.
Rooms….. clean, spacious and the mini bar was well stocked. I see some posts about a mouldy smell, we found that as soon as we turned on the fan for the AC and let it run, the smell cleared up and did not return the whole week, so no problems there. Our fridge wasn’t working the first night we arrived and someone came to fix it within 10 minutes of our call. The staff and crew here are fabulous. There is a concierge for each building and they are there very long hours. Make your dinner reservations for the a la cartes with them as soon as you arrive. Small tips also go a long way, we made the effort to leave little notes in spanish for the maids with a small tip ($1-2USD) and when we did this, we’d get tons of extra bottles of water, beer, pop and some great towel art that the kids loved!
The grounds…. Beautiful! Pools are all wonderful. Our kids (10 and 12) loved the wave pool, lazy river, main pool and the waves at the beach. No complaints about the water temperature here, I mean, really, when it’s about 30C, you want the pool to be cool when you go in! The red flag was up all week so we were unable to get out on the hobie cats or banana boat, but my son & husband rented a jetski and had a blast. We also did a snorkelling tour through the hotel and it was amazing. The boat ride was only about 7-8 minutes out but you felt like you were in the middle of the ocean and the fish at the reef were absolutely amazing! We also went into Playa del Carmen for one morning – just by taxi.
Shows and entertainment. We were truly impressed with the quality of the shows that the staff put on every night. We’ve been to many all-inclusives where the entertainment is usually pretty lame. But here, first you’re in a great outdoor but covered theatre area, with sound and light system and a show with a theme each night. The Star Friends crew are awesome and they try so hard to keep the fun going!
Food….. never heard a single complaint from anyone about getting sick or not liking what was available. We ate at the breakfast buffet each morning, snacked at the beach grill or buffet at lunch, and did a la cartes for each dinner. Being at the Lindo allowed us to eat at restaurants at the Beach, Del Mar and Maya resorts too. The steakhouse at the Maya was very good, the Mexican at the Maya was also very very good (best service there in fact, not rushed at all). We also did the Japanese at the Beach/Del Mar and the Cajun at the Lindo. Cajun was our favourite and we ate there twice. Travelling with kids makes dinner time pretty challenging as they can be pretty finicky…. But don’t be afraid to ask the waitstaff if the menu item can be made without certain ingredients! My son asked for the Jambalaya without muscles and they were very accommodating, and, being an all-inclusive, we sometimes ordered one extra dish for the table to share in case anyone got something they didn’t like! Turns out we ended up eating an extra plate :) And... the wine was all imported from Spain too.... so good wine with dinner every night!
If I had to say one negative thing, the only one I can think of is that we did have to get up early to get chairs poolside… everyone reserves seats (yeah, yeah, yeah, even though you’re not supposed to) so it does make it challenging! We heard one family who got themselves a 2 am wake up call so they could go out, reserve chairs and then go back to bed! NOT US! But if you’re not up by 7 am, all the good spots are gone!

So overall, if you’ve booked at the Lindo, don’t worry, you can’t go wrong. We would definitely go back and are missing it already!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank J_Mdeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,518
    1,644
    537
    190
    99
See reviews for
3,037
1,426
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We just returned from a week vacation from Feb 14-21 at the Lindo. This was our first hot vacation and it completely blew us away! The Lindo is a beautiful resort with lots to do for a variety of ages of travellers. My husband and I went by ourselves but would definitely take our children to this resort.

Location - nice distance from Cancun and central location made not such a long trip to Playa Del Carmen and other excursion areas.

Grounds - immaculate, constantly staff cleaning and pruning and beautiful trees and plants and colors to look at. We were in building 52 and really liked the location. It was an easy walk to the main areas of the hotel as well as the beach area and pool.

Food - if you can't find something to eat here you are way to picky. there is plenty of selection and anything from fruit to cultural dishes to try something new. there are multiple buffets, we really liked breakfast at the pool restaurant and the Pagoda buffet was also good. The beach has a snack bar that satisfies a midday day treat! We ate at the Seafood, Steakhouse and Japanese speciatly restaurants. They were all very good and the overall dining experience at the japanese restaurant was amazing.

Rooms - very cleanly and the maids always had towel art for us when we came back. they are a bit dated but for as much time as you spend in them they are very adequate and the balconies have great views of the grounds to enjoy.
Staff - these people work very hard for their money. We had great service at any venues we went to and if you took the time to speak with the staff they were very friendly and grateful for your interest in them.

Entertainment - we took in a couple of the Star friends shows. they are not broadway productions but they add to the aura of the whole experience and they work very hard to make their shows interactive and entertaining.

We truly enjoyed ourselves right from the get go and would highly recommend this resort for anyone who wants to ensure a great holiday! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hockeyfan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We just returned from a phenomenal week at the Lindo! I really can’t think of anything negative to say about this amazing place! We were there with our two kids, ages 5 and 2, and it was a perfect place for a family vacation. The week we were there was the February break week for U.S. schools, so there were a lot of children and the place was humming with activity all the time, yet it never felt crowded (except if you arrived at the pool or beach between 10 am and 2 pm and expected to get a shady seat!).

The resort is absolutely gorgeous, and immaculately maintained. Every place you look, you see another lovely view (kudos to the architects!) - the pools, walkways, gardens, everything is lush and beautiful. In our week I believe we saw a total of three insects: one tiny ant on our balcony, one tiny spider, and one mosquito. I certainly expected to see more bugs in a tropical place where everything is outdoors! There is a huge maintenance crew constantly cleaning the walkways, the pools, even sweeping sand off the boardwalks at the beach and raking up the little bit of seaweed that washes up. They also do a great job cleaning the rooms every day and the towel art is a lot of fun!

I emailed the hotel a week in advance to request a room in building 53 or 54 and received a response that they would forward our request to the front desk but couldn’t guarantee room requests. When we arrived, they were going to put us in building 55, so we asked if we could have a different room, and they said we could have a room in building 53 if we were willing to wait 15-20 minutes. They were perfectly nice about this. We did wait for building 53 and I was very glad. Building 53 is great for families as it’s right in the center of the resort, not too close to the theater (which is an open-air structure, so it really is true that building 55 is noisy while the entertainment is going on – also, one of the main routes to the lobby/restaurant area is right through building 55, right past people’s rooms, so I imagine that makes things pretty noisy as well). Our room was near the stairs, so we heard a little noise the first night, but just closing an internal door between the bedroom and bath/minibar sections of our room eliminated outside noise completely. We were on the second floor, and didn’t hear any noise from above us; we loved being on the second floor and found the gentle stairs were not an issue for us or the kids at all. Our room was extremely clean and not huge, but spacious enough, with a huge balcony that gave us a lovely spot to sit in the evenings after the kids were in bed!

The beach was breezy, and the red flags were up all week, supposedly meaning “no swimming,” but there were people in the water all the time. We really enjoyed the waves; they were less than what we’d swum in on the ocean side of Cape Cod. My 5-year-old loved playing in the waves and would have been disappointed if the water had been calmer! We just stayed close to him and never had any problem – we couldn’t convince him to get out of the water!

The pools are beautiful and offer many different attractions. My kids loved the wave pool and lazy river. The wave pool was nice even without the waves running since it’s zero-entry, and it’s fun to watch the kids (and more than a few adults!) come from all directions when the whistle goes to signal the waves are starting. Families tended to congregate around this area, making it a really nice laid-back atmosphere (one of the bars is right at the edge of the wave pool as well!). Other parts of the pool had louder music, dance lessons, sports – anything you could want! The lazy river is very gentle, but lovely and relaxing.

We also enjoyed going over to the Del Mar/Beach side a few times. We liked the breakfast area over there better (it’s a beautiful open-air restaurant, and we thought it was a lot prettier than the buffet area on the Lindo side) so we ate over there a lot. The pools are really pretty over there and offer lots of secluded little spots. We also enjoyed strolling through the gardens and looking at the animals. We really liked having the full run of the resort (except for the Grand, of course), so we were glad to have been in the Lindo, although I’m sure we would have been happy with the Beach or Del Mar as well, especially if we didn’t have young kids. I liked the architecture of the Lindo lobby/bar/restaurant area much better than that of the Maya, which felt like the Las Vegas version of Mexico to me. The walkways over the water at the Lindo were so pretty, and were elegant without feeling fussy. It was just a gorgeous atmosphere.

As for the food, I wouldn’t say it was memorable in either a good or bad way; there was plenty of food, lots of choices, and we found lots to like. The buffets were huge and I don’t see how anyone could not find something to eat there. We ate dinner at the buffet three times and enjoyed it just fine; we liked the relaxed atmosphere and not having to get there at a certain time, and there were many, many choices for grown-ups and kids. We also ate at the Cajun, Italian and Mexican restaurants and liked all of them. We had absolutely no issues with sickness or anything like that; we did try to stick with bottled water (they provide lots of it in your room), although I forgot and drank the water from the glass at dinner once and we all had ice in our drinks. We ate everything, drank a variety of drinks, and none of us was the least bit sick, nor did we hear of anyone else getting sick, so please, don’t be worried about the food or water! I wouldn't be surprised if people on here who complain about illness brought something from home with them, picked up a stomach bug on the plane, or were eating/drinking/in the sun too much; after all, not every stomach problem is food poisoning, especially with the number of stomach bugs going around this time of year... I do feel bad for people whose vacations were ruined by illness, but I don't think it's any more likely to happen here than anywhere else - or at home, for that matter. In a resort that accommodates several thousand people, a few people are bound to be sick at any one time.

There is so much to do in the resort that we were tempted never to leave, but we were really glad to have booked a tour with Edventures in advance; we had an amazing day with them! It was a great way to experience what the Riviera Maya offers outside the resorts and was a perfect combination with our time at the Lindo. We got to do more at a better price than if we had booked tours through the resort, and we had great personal service.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this resort to anyone, especially families. Please don’t let the bad experiences of a very small number of people dissuade you; it really is incredible, and you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank keggcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We just came back from our second stay at Iberostar Lindo...last year we were there as well. The hotel is clean and beatiful ..lots to do for the kids.. the food was great and the beach was perfect. Wish I was there once again......

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Stayed Feb 7-14, expecting a five star hotel and for the money we paid, our first disappointment was when we entered the room....this is more like a three star...the rooms do have a mouldy smell, they are old, ironing board had huge disgusting stains on it. We were in the back of the resort and yes sirree it was noisy with the train going backand forth all night and early morning, if you plan to go book the front, pool side. We were able to move our room a couple of days later, thank goodness for that as I slept better. room was no better though. Service is good. Food is also a three star, and during the time I was there people were getting sick. We heard food poisoning but no posting were made. They have a nice property, shows are good. If you are not expecting too much, then this resort is ok.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suebeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

how anyone can fault this hotel is beyond me for as a 16 year old i have found it the best hotel i have stayed in compared to places like egypt or turkey. The complex is very clean and you aare always seeing the staff cleaning the pools, fountains etc.
FOOD- this is something that made the experience so much better for threme for their were a variety of different resturants available from italian to japanese it was perfect for people who dont particually want to be eating tacos all holiday. The main buffet area is the best for breakfast time for the other didnt have much variety however, lunch was not that good especially for younger children for most of it consisted of salad.
FACILITIES- whatever your interests or hobbies, the lindo has the facilities available to you. the competitions made exercise more fun and even younger children were able to get involved in the competitions and then be given a certifcate before the main entertainment at nighttime. the beach was amazing however, loads of seagulls. Th wavepool was great and so was the lazy river for there were plenty of rubber rings for the lazy river than there was a lifeguard present everytime the whistle went for the wavemachine. The swin up bar was a hit for everyone especially which how many drinks were available.
ROOMS- very spacious, large wardrobe, free minbar, tv, free room service it was just perfect. me and my dad only stayed for 7 days which was ashame for we wanted to stay longer
TRIPS- definatly go on captain hook if yu have younger aged children and then see the chitcen itza temple aswell. long trip however it is worth the 3 hour journey.always book with the rep otherwise you ARE NOT INSUREDD

OVerall this hotel is an absolute fantastic place to stay for couples or familes for there are plenty of facilities available and trips.

Definatly have the full body massage on the beach front.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lozzzzard-ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We have just returned from our vacation at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo ... We left Toronto on Feb 7 and returned a week later on Feb 14, 2009.

Overall: This was the vacation from hell for us and it can be for you too, so please take the time and read this review and consider carefully booking this hotel, especially if you travel with kids!

Food:

The food there is a health hazard. Our 18 months old daughter got really sick and kept vomiting for 6 days in a row while being there. We’ve been running around, in and out of various clinics/hospitals five days out of seven; our daughter ended up spending 2 days in the ER, hooked-up to an I.V. due to dehydration. We met other families with sick kids (having the same problem) and ran into a lady on the beach who said her husband and one other man in their group had both been flat in bed with stomach flu for several days.

We saw flies on the food at one of the buffets close to the beach. Although a lot of people were getting sick, there was absolutely no warning posted anywhere in the hotel or on their web site.

Because our daughter was sick most of the time, we were not able to go to any of the a-la-carte restaurants.


Water:

The “bottled water” provided by the resort is terrible, it doesn’t even taste like water and we were clearly advised by one of the doctors that examined our daughter NOT to use it because it was not safe.


Resort:

The resort looks nice, but it is waaay below what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. I'd give it a 3.5 at best! There are some green patches where you can see some wild life and this is something we truly enjoyed.
The rooms are small. If you go there with kids, you need an extra bed or/and a crib and this leaves you no space at all. The rooms are not very clean and you can always smell mould. The crib we got for our daughter was dirty, wobbly and unsafe. We felt this might have been a way our daughter could have picked up a bug, if the crib was used by a sick child before.

There is also a lot of noise from the shuttle trains and golf carts they use to maintain/operate the resort, even late during the night and we found that terribly annoying.

Beach:

We were at the beach only on our first day. The beach was beautiful, however if you go there around lunch time, finding available seats might be a real challenge. There are big and sharp rocks in the water; you cannot walk even with sandshoes, you can only swim, but the waves can throw you in to the sharp rocks at any time.


Pool:

There are many pools and they all look nice. There is concrete all over the place which makes it dangerous for small kids.


Services:

The resort personnel were nice and they tried to be helpful. Still, they posted no warning anywhere. We waited a little bit too long for check-in; the check-out was fast. Every time you ask for a bellboy or for something else, they were running late. There were other small things (in-room safe, remote control) that needed to be replaced, but they solved all these issues for us eventually; still, you wouldn’t expect those things to be happening at a good hotel and to waste your time waiting for somebody to come fix your TV when you're on vacation.


Entertainment:

We cannot really comment on entertainment - because our daughter was sick most of the time, we were not able to see any of their shows/entertainment.


We chose this hotel based mostly on the reviews from this web site. Too bad there was no warning about the health risks. This resort was the worst possible choice for us!


Conclusion:

If you have kids, don’t take any risk and find a better and safer place. Even if you don’t go there with kids, don’t waste your vacation, time and money. Be wise and choose a decent resort to enjoy your time off.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CosminToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,920 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,660 reviews
9.7 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,122 reviews
18.1 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
21,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing