We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to love it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed at the Iberostar Lindo from Feb. 9th to Feb. 16th and the worst thing that happened was we had to leave. If you can find any fault with this hotel you should not ever leave your house. Absolutely perfect, super clean, undescribeable vegetation and decor surroundings. All the hotels are unique and so interesting to walk around to see them all during the day or night. I couldn't decide if I liked them better during the day or during the night when all of the fountains and walkways were beautifully lit up. All the staff were friendly and delivered magnificent service. The ala carte restaurants you are able to book them all upon arrival which was a big plus. We did 5 out of the 7 nights we were there, Steakhouse/Seafood at the Maya, Gourmet, Italian at the Lindo and Japanese at Beach which truly was authentic and my favourite. You are served bottled wine from Spain that they show you prior to drinking and Mohitos made the right way. Nightly entertainment always started with a live band and great singers, then the show with extremely talented dancers, every other night was done by the guests, which were quite funny. They have a state of the art sound and lighting system, however our favourite time was after the show when we went to the Aquariam bar at Lindo and hung out with our most favourite bartenders Juan and Filipe who made us Slammer after Slammer and provided entertainment of their own. The beach is wide and long and the water is warmer than the air and you can walk endlessly. The beach service for drinks was a nice change as other Carribean countries do not usually offer this service. There was absolutely no pressure to tip but we did generously because they work so hard to please you that you didn't even question whether you should or should not. Do not hesitate to stay for two weeks because all the hotels are so large and beautiful it would take that long to make sure you have seen them all. They also have a shopping complex across the street where there are lots of stores as well as eating places that is also all included such as crepes, tacos, burgers etc. and where the disco is located. These places stay open late so after leaving the disco you have someplace to grab something before heading to your room or you can simply call room service at any time of the day or night and they will bring you something fresh within about 20 minutes. What more could you ask for, nothing that is for sure. If you have read anything negative then you have to consider that some people will complain about anything because they are just plain negative, period!! This was definitely not our first all inclusive experience as we have been to several over the past 20 years and we have to say that it was the best out of them all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,072)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,276 - 3,282 of 6,072 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2010

The hotel was beautiful and I must say the staff was meticulous with the grounds, rooms, etc. Our kids, ages 12 & 14, loved the lazy river and the wave pool.

When booking through our travel agent we were told that we would have adjoining rooms with my parents at the hotel. So, when my parents were checking in they were told that there were no adjoining rooms available and then they were also told that they were not going to have a king sized bed, as promised. My parents were talking to each other when the front desk manager showed up and said that he "did not want to hear what they had to say about the matter" and that "they would TRY to fix it". The manager proceeded to give my father dirty looks the rest of the time we were trying to check-in. Needless to say, the did not "FIX IT". We had rooms a few doors down from each other and they never did receive the kind sized bed they were promised.

Hopefully, you will have visited this resort before and have a sense of direction around the resort, because if you ask the staff for directions they are less than helpful and just say "Oh, go that way".

Other than that initial confrontation, we had a really good time.

We also had a problem with the Apple Vacation representative when we decided to stay at the resort longer. He switched our flights as we requested, but never told us that we would be in "stand-by" mode. What a surprise the five of us had when we showed up at the airport to be told there were no seats available. Needless to say, we were stuck in Cancun for two more days, unable to get home.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlover346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Stayed at the Paraiso Lindo for 12 days with 9 and 6 year old boys. Fantastic place with many pools and even a lazy river running throughout the largest pool. Many pool side amenities for the whole family including buffets, ice cream bars, etc. We never needed to buy anything as all was made available. Everyone is offered 24 hour room service for free at any time of the day and evening.
The Star Friends are young staff members who really make everyone feel like a big family. They get the children and adults in activities all day if you would like. The shows in the evening for both children and adults are FANTASTIC, like no others we have experienced.
Rooms are spacious and clean.
Beach is beautiful.
Poolside side chairs are always available as well as on the beach.
The beach is very large.
All restaurants were incredible varying in menu items so it was a pleasure visiting and enjoying each of them.
We stayed at the sister hotel in Playa Car (Iberostar Tucan) 6 years and equally loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nadia35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We chose this hotel after extensive research and based on YOUR reviews (91% approval sounded great). You were right! First time at this resort (Lindo), we were there Feb 12-19. Food, service, immaculate, clean architecture, rooms, the beach and staff were superb. Well worth the value, but only one note: this resort caters to families. Lots of kids everywhere, especially at the beach. It was fine at first when the resort was ½ empty, but once the crowds arrived, it became noticeable and at times bothersome. Not the parents’ or children’s fault. It was just sheer numbers of kids enjoying their time. So, if you prefer a quiet place, this would not be a good choice. Would we go back? Most likely. Would we recommend this resort? Absolutely. Despite the only one cautionary note above, it was still one of the best trips ever for us – and we have travelled lots..

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsGetG0ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Just arrived home from the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, where we stayed from Feb 12-19. This was our first all inclusive vacation and I have to say that it was the best vacation we have ever been on!

We were originally scheduled to stay at the Iberostar Tucan, but changed to the Lindo after I read on here that the beach at the Tucan was closed. I have no idea how the Tucan would have been, but the Lindo was out of this world!

Upon our arrival at the Lindo, we checked in (quickly!) and got out first beverage from a waitress in the lobby. We then went to our room and were amazed by the beauty of the resort. The room was always cleaned and we always had a new animal-shaped towel left on the bed by the maids.

The pools at this resort are pretty impressive. LOTS of room to swim, but they were a little bit cold!

The beach...wow what a beach! We walked out to the beach every morning at approx. 10:00 and had no problem finding two chairs and a great spot to get some sun. Plenty of activities to do on the beach such as kayaking, sailing, jet skiing, etc.

We were very impressed with the food that Iberostar provided. If I could recommend anything to others going to this resort, book your restaurants early! After reading that many people only got the minimum of 3 nights at a restaurant, we decided to book early. We booked the restaurants within 15 minutes of being at the resort and were able to get a reservation for every night we were there!! (Steakhouse and Japanese Steakhouse were amazing!). Buffet was actually very impressive for breakfast and lunch. Service at meals was OUTSTANDING!

The night life was not anything to brag about, but that is not what we were going on vacation for. The nightly shows were put on by the staff of the resort, and we did not think they were that bad at all. These people work really hard to make sure that everyone is having a good time.

Everything at this resort is relaxed and very romantic. We celebrated valentines day here and thought it was perfect.

The drinks...amazing. They had every single type of drink that we asked for. We became friendly with Hugo at the pool bar and he definitely took good care of us. I would also recommend the snake bar which is that the Iberostar Paraiso Maya, just a 2 minute walk from the Lindo. We appreciated the service that we received from all bartenders, as they did everything they could to ensure that we had a great drink in our hands at all times!

The only complaint that we had about our trip was that we were not allowed into the Iberostar Grand Paraiso Hotel. We had gone on a nice walk one of the days and were turned away from the front lobby because we were not staying at that hotel. We asked the woman if we could simply walk through the lobby, but were denied. We were told that we could only walk "around" the building from the outside and could not enter any doors. Definitely a beautiful property, but we were a little surprised that they turned us away, especially when we had wrist bands on showing that we were staying at the Lindo!

With that being the only complaint, and not even involving the Lindo, we had an amazing trip. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to have a relaxed vacation. There are lots of families here but it seemed that we could always find a quiet and relaxing place to sit and enjoy our day! We will be returning to the Lindo next year and hopefully bringing some friends along with us!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMich28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We recently returned from our one week holiday at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo and wanted to add our thoughts to this page.
We had an absolutely fantastic holiday at this place!
I can only say very positive things about every aspect of the hotel.

The place is definitely HUGE and there are actually 4 hotel complexes ( Lindo, Maya, Del Mar, and Beach) rolled into 1. Actually , there are 5 if you count the Grand. They all have their own flavour and atmosphere and you can move around all of them . The lobby of the Maya is amazing.

One thing we really did love about the grounds was the fact that you could find a spot all to yourselves if you wanted. The place was defintiely not filled to capacity when we were there so maybe we lucked out a little bit in that respect! We loved to spend some quiet time each day reading and we found a few spots that were perfet--comfy chairs or lounge areas that were not travelled. This made it so peaceful for us.

We have travelled to the caribbean 9 times now and this was definitely the most beautiful place we have ever stayed at. Last year we stayed at the Grand Palladium on the Mayan Riviera and we found this place to be quite similar.

Food: Was fantastic. We really love a place where there is no limit to the number of a la carte restaurants you can go to. I guess you pay for that in the price but we think it is worth it because of the atmosphere there opposed to the busier buffets.. Reservations could be easily made through the concierges in each building--you didn't even have to go back to the front lobby. They have numerous ones to choose from--we loved El Rancho, the steak house. However, the buffets were quite nice and we did eat one night there at the Lindo buffet because they were having a Mexican night.
Buffet breakfasts and lunches were all terrific , lots of variety, hot and cold, and there would DEFINITELY be something for anyone --even picky eaters could have American food if they wished but the Mexican stuff was so good!

Pools: There were many and they were all beautiful. The pool at Lindo was actually even warm enough for me to get into and I am a real cold water chicken.
There is a wave pool which the kids seemed to enjoy.

Beach; Lovely. The water was whipped up a few days due to the changeable weather they have been having down there lately but the sand under the water was soft and not too many rocks.

Cleanliness: The place was immaculate.

Entertainment: A bit hit and miss but we went with an open mind, not expecting professional entertainers and had a few pleasant surprises. All good fun. The late-night Galaxy disco is a real hoot. It is done up all in Star Wars theme and we thought it was great fun!

Staff: Absolutely everyone was terrific. Very friendly and helpful if you needed assistance. Star Friends were super.

Internet: My only grumbling was with this. Like a lot of places you have to buy your internet minutes . You could do this throught the front desk or with your concierge. You cannot bank any unused extra time or buy a block of minutes for each day all at the beginning of your stay. Bit of a nuisance but no biggie. We were really only using the net to check in with the kids at home anyway .

Rooms: We had just a standard room but were lucky enough to get one that had a larger patio which we loved. The room was spotless and everything was in working order. No complaints about anything there at all. Can't tell you about the television because we didn't turn it on the whole time we were there!

This was our 5th visit to Mexico and we will definitely come back here! Loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellen357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We take between 3 to 4 trips a year. We are well traveled and I have spent half of my life in Europe. We enjoy good food and wine and I actually write food reviews for a local paper in Montreal. It took us quite a while to select this destination. I did a great deal of research prior to selecting this hotel. I did however overlook one important detail : this is definitely a family resort totally geared to kids. Although we have two of our own, we do not like the frenetic pace of family oriented resorts and more often than not, the inablity of parents to set limits for their kids which results in a lot of screaming and running and crying.

Our second expectation, being in a solidly rated 5 star hotel, was to have 5 star restaurants and wine lists. Our priorities for this vacation were :

- great food and good wine selection
- great service
- great beach

Two out of three were met, but food and wine, being huge on our list, left us with a great sense of disappointment. The family theme ran through the restaurants and the cuisine therefore was neither inventive of tasty. We realize that it is difficult to cater to all tastes in an all inclusive, and as a rule, we can usually navigate our way throuh a buffet blending elements to compose a decent dinner, but what we later discovered is that the hotel was not full capacity when we arrived therefore, they seemed to have cut down on the variety and quality. When the crowds arrived, things changed, although not dramatically. We resented having paid full price for inferior food selection. The executive chef is Spanish and seems to lack accountability for his strategic direction in the kitchen so his staff was left holding the bag.

On the plus sides, cleanliness, the likes I have never witnessed. No need to run back to your room for bathroom facilities as the site is cleaned all day, every day. Beautifully manicured grounds which are maintained with the discipline of landscape professionals. Great beach, as our reference was Cuban beaches, and 5 star service. Beautiful hotels, marble throughout. The food and beverage staff, managed by Elias, are professional and bend over backwards to accommodate, but have little or no influence on kitchen staff. Although the Paraiso Grand has been voted one of the best luxury accommodations, we were upgraded to eat on their site and found the food and wine were just as mediocre as their other hotels. Seems that the same executive direction is given to each.

My conclusion as this is the fourth bad experience in Spanish chains (Melia and Iberostar), is that we will be staying far away from these hotels. Too bad because Elias, Asis, Rodolfo, Juan (mexican Tom Cruise in the bar) have earned our 5 star rating but should be showcased in a hotel worthy of their talent.

Hope this helps, cheers!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shawnmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,382 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#73 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,326 reviews
6.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £158 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing