We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous! We will be going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous! We will be going back!”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This was our third trip to this area. This time, as well as taking our 12 & 13 year old children, my parents who are in their late 60's also came. After reading other reviews, my main concerns were horrible beds and a resort too massive to get around in. After being there for two weeks over Christmas, these issues were non existent! The beds were fine, none of us found them to be too hard at all. As for the resort being too large... seriously... how lazy are you people?!? We were in building 51 (perfect location) and we could walk to the buffet in about 5 minutes. My mom could do it in 10 minutes and needs a knee replacement. So it is not a bad walk at all. We were also very close to the beach which was huge and had tons of chairs for everyone. You still have the odd moron that saves their seat with a towel, but whatever. There are plenty there as well as by the pool. We never had any trouble finding a place either in the sun or the shade. Yes, the pools are cold, but it feels pretty good after baking in the sun. We only ate at the buffet. We have never been a fan of a la cartes (just who we are). Even after two weeks there was always something to eat. The food was the usual resort type fair, and was always hot and kept clean. (although people with small children who let them go and get their own food, need to clean up the mess they always leave behind) I am a very picky eater and so is my daughter and neither of us starved. The chef, Isaac, even came out and talked to us a few times. He's the sweetest guy ever. Wanted to know if we had any concerns or food allergies. If you are going as a young couple or a group of friends that want to party, this is NOT the place for you. There were really just families there and tons of kids. Some people may find them annoying, but honestly, they aren't my problem so I didn't give them a second thought. People also complained in previous reviews about the weird hair dryer. Yes, it looks weird.. does it dry your hair? Yes it does, so what's the problem? We also had to take our daughter to the hospital in Cancun due to an ear infection. The clinic at the resort was excellent. The dr saw us right away and set up an appointment with a specialist in Cancun that day. She called a cab for us and assured us he would wait with us at the hospital and bring us back as well. When we returned we were barely in the room when we got a call from the hotel asking if everything was alright and if we needed anything. Long story short, the resort was gorgeous, trees and animals everywhere, and I can't wait to go back next year. I miss the fresh donuts for breakfast, they were the best!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamRock40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,485
    1,631
    527
    188
    96
See reviews for
2,990
1,419
52
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed here at the end of November with my partner and 2 1/2 yr old daughter. Cant speak highley enough of the hotel and staff, we all had a great family holiday. Only bad point was we had to come home. The grounds, pool areas and beaches were all kept imaculate. The buffet food was good, the restaurant food was Very good. Id recomend the stake restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HamerFamily5843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We had a party of 13 including 3 sons, their wives, and 5 grandkids ages 2,4,6,8 and 10. We have stayed in the Iberostar Parisio and del Mar on previous trips with our family. We were very pleased with the experience. The numerous staff were pleasant and worked all the time to keep the place clean. The buffet food was okay, not great, but the specialty restaurants were excellent, i.e., the Japanese and Sea Food. The wave pool was a big hit with the grandkids, as were the kids playground and the beach. Our grand kids didn't participate in the daily Kid's program, but participated in the nightly show with much enthusiasm. The 30 and 40 year olds thought the evening shows in the theatre were excellent. We've found this to be a good place for a family vacation. We all thought that the service of Lomas Travel that picked us up at the airport and returned us there was exceptional. There staff were just super thoughtful.The rooms were plently large enough and the housekeeping was of high quality. Lindo was just right for our family. It's not high end, but just comfortable for a family. We just enjoy the "all inclusive" places for our family

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuroboundColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We travelled from Dec 28 to JAn 4, a family of 4 with teenagers (17 and 19yo). First time at this hotel and first time during winter.. a nice change.
The lobby is barroque mexican style, the buildings adopt a colonial design. The innner courtyards (patios) in each building are pretty. The only thing I personnally didi not like was the design of the pools (lots of pastel). Booking at this hotel allows you to use all the facilities of the Beach and del Mar hotels, where the pools are much nicer in design and easily accessible. (but their clients do not have access to Lindo or Maya)The Lindo shares its pool and beach facilities with the Maya side of the complex. The beach is somewhat crowded but we managed to have 4 chairs and a palapa every day . There are a few rocks in the sea but nothing to really disturb us. The wind was quite strong and the flag was red evey day : this gave us great waves!
Booking the Lindo is probably the best choice of the 4 hotels : it also allows you 4 choices of the specialty restaurants at the MAya and all the ones at Beach and del Mar. We ate only once at the buffet : lunch on the day of our arrival. Other lunches were on the beach but this is junk food so we quickly changed for the pool side buffet at the Beach side . I am told that the regular large buffet at the Lindo is good daily as well.
We quickly booked all the specialty restaurants via our concierge (one per building and very easy process). We tried: Museo (french) where the lamb was very good; the sea food in MAya ( so so but we were there at 9pm, we find the fish and sea food overcooked, buffet appertizers is nice); the Mexican whre also the buffet appertizer is really good and where I chose the beef and not the tacos and my choice was a good one;the italian also nice appertizers and our lamb was very good; the steak house at the MAya: probably the best we chose rib steak,the pork chops and the ribs all very tasty and finally the japanese at the Beach: nothing to write home about. ...Food in general was better than at other hotels we visited but all inclusives in my book generally do not rate top but the quality/price ratio here is good
We also chose the New Year's eve Gala at the Convention Center (vs the buffet with a special menu with seattings every hour or so) THe meal was excellent the service nicely done and the live band a plus . their choice of menu was really nice and despite 700 or so guests, the cooking was perfect. This was followed by a nice show, a dj and finally fireworks: we had a great time
The shows at night are really nice (for a resort) and worth spending a few moments. The kids loved them as did their friends.
The majority of the clientele were families and it is easy for children of all ages to make friends especially if they attend the activities such as beach volley and the pool activities. In our group, the disco was not higly rated but it is a question of taste(they found there were too many old people:read parents 30-50 yos , we adults did not go...so perhaps if we want our young adults to have fun parents should abstain...
Rooms were of a nice size: we had a king size bed and the kids had 2 double I think. Clean ,comfortable , our romm was made daily before we returnd and most of time in am,)
As we were there for only 1 week we booked only 1 activity and chose to do the MAya jungle by Altournative : very nice guide (Raphael) and excellent photographer.(Philipe) We had a really good time on all the activities: ask your rep, it is a fun day to do (Tyrolienne, rappel going down in a cenote, swimming in another beautifull cenote, lunch, etc)
Overall we had a nice time and would recommend this hotel
Oh! one last thing: there is a new law: US dollars are not accepted anymore so you can only pay extra charges in pesos (they will change USD ) and with a credit card

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mango-montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed from 12/22-29/2010. The pools were beautiful, but chilly. The ocean was gorgeous, very clean and warm. Never had a bad meal even with the buffets. The steak house was the best and ask for Felipe the waiter, he is awesome. A big surprise other than the pools being cool was alot of the help spoke very little English. Rest assure Felipe at the steak house speaks English. All of the other connecting resorts were beautiful also. Lucy's club with Vivian is very good for the kids. In fact we gave up a Japanese steak house reservation for dinner, so my 8 year daughter wouldn't miss her 7:30pm practice for a 8pm show. Nightly entertainment is good especially the kid shows. The rooms were clean and we all slept well.
Tip for traveling: Print your boarding passes in advance. If you get a boarding pass at the check in desk at the airport, beware of SSSS on the lower right hand corner. This apparently means search and my wife and I and my 8 year daughter were searched at the gate. My wife blames US Airways, but we did speak with others who were searched and all had the 4 SSSS on the lower right hand corner of the boarding pass.
Tips: Although the resort was all inclusive, we tipped more than not. Felipe got the best tip and I am not talking about $2. for him.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nopd1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

This was the 2nd time we have stayed at this fantastic resort. It's the kind of place where everything just plain 'works.' The staff are friendly and courteous. The beach is beyond compare, the rooms are georgeous and the resort is just outright beautiful. All of us were taken care of from the 12 year old up to the 79 -year old. There's entertainment going on all the time and the staff are genuinely caring. My only complaint was the food. I'm vegetarian and I was very disappointed by the alternative protein choices. And being a massive resort, yes the food is bland and you need to hunt out the hot sauces occaisionally. However, just having the opportunity to walk over to the creperie at any time or to grab an ice cream cone (hazelnut, pistacio, cookies and cream, raspberry cheesecake) seemed to make up for the downfall of the overcooked veggies!
Best part - no casino, smoking is very restricted ane there was a lot of activty choices for the teens. The spa looked empty at time, but was in no way lacking

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Our experience at the lindo was fantastic. It was my parents first time in Mexico and they couldn't believe the care and attention we received. My mother is unable to walk up stairs and our request for a main floor room was given as well they offered her transportation from her room to all dinners and events all they had to do is ask.
There was lots for our teenage children to do and we felt totally safe having then roam around. The teen disco was a little disappointing as there was no djay and limited drink service but it didn't seem to interfere with them making some new friends from all over the world!
The buffets were typical that you see at all resorts. Lots of great fruit and unique food choices.The ala cartes were awesome. Our favorite was the mexican resturant.
Our only complaint was its christmas and other than the tree in the lobby it didn't really feel much like christmas.It would have been nice to have had the show a Christmas theme or Christmas dinner a little more traditional.
But over all a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,868 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,636 reviews
6.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,917 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,765 reviews
18.1 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing