We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could ask for.....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had the chance to tour this property in April and I have to say I was thoroughly impressed. The rooms are beautiful. So many choices from the pools to the restaurants I don't think you'd have to ever leave this resort. I ate at the buffet and there were so many options it was hard to choose. If I was a golfer I'd be in paradise. I can't wait to come here next April for my birthday next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Carla C :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options and the pools.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 3,611 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spent two weeks at the Mayan Palace in a 2br, 2ba suite. This was our second time staying at the resort.

The Mayan Palace is a fantastic place to just kick back and relax. The huge pool, beachside location, and very comfortable palapas (queen size bed under a thatched roof) are heavenly. All the staff were very friendly, attentive and professional. We also thought the food was pretty good, and not as overpriced as one might think given other resorts of this quality.

The resort has free shuttle service from the airport to the resort. Return shuttles to the airport run $12 to $15 per person, depending on whether you book in advance. Tip: a taxi ride from the resort to the airport is about $31, which may be a cheaper option for a party of three or four. We took the taxi to the airport and thought it was much better than the shuttle ride to the resort.

The Mayan Palace has a small grocery/general store where you can buy essentials at a fairly reasonable price. There is also a deli and ice cream shop attached. Tip: the sandwhiches and other items served in the deli are the same ones you can get from room service or at the restaurants, but are about one-third to one-half less costly.

The resort offers a shuttle service from the resort into Playa del Carmen. The shuttle drops you off right next door to Mega, which is similar to a Walmart. The Walmart is a short walk down the street. The shuttle drop off is also a short walk to the main tourist/dining areas of Playa. Price per person for one-way transportation on the shuttle is $5. Tip: if you plan to buy groceries, it's probably a lot easier to take a taxi back to the resort. The total fare is about $22. If you split the cost with another couple it works out about the same as paying for the shuttle, without all the wait or hassle. Shuttles only pick up every two hours or so.

One thing that I thought was exceedingly pricey was the resort wifi. There is no free wifi anywhere at the resort. Instead, you have to pay anywhere from $4 for 30 minutes up to about $15 per day, per device. You can also purchase a week's worth of wifi for one device for about $85. This can really add up. Tip: if you have an unlocked GSM cell phone, you can purchase an Amigo sim card from Telcel (also available at Walmart) and buy some 3g wireless service for a fairly reasonable price. I think 1.5 gigs of data was about $25. Other plans/prices are available. I received a good signal everywhere at the resort, and everywhere we traveled in Riviera Maya.

One other note for those who may consider taking the timeshare presentation. Don't. I always refuse these things as they're more hassle than they're worth. However, my 16 year old son couldn't believe that the "presentations" could be as bad as I said they were, so we agreed to go just to give him a valuable life lesson. Since we are timeshare owners, we were told our presentation would only be an hour long and it was called a "timeshare disclosure." The disclosure turned out to be them telling us that their property was rated very highly by RCI, and, for the small sum of $65,000, we could purchase one of their units and live happily ever after. I managed to limit the time of the entire ordeal, including breakfast, to about 2 1/2 hours. For that we received 2,000 pesos (about $170), 10% off all food/drink purchases during our two week stay, and three free trips to Tulum. Apparently most folks only get offered 1,000 pesos and the 10%. We talked to probably a dozen other couples staying at the resort and they all said they had to endure between a 4 and 5 hour water-boarding session before being let loose. Bottom line, unless you're into self-flagilation, steer clear of any timeshare presentation, regardless of what it's called.

Room Tip: There are 8 buildings in the Mayan Palace. The lower the number of the building the closer it is to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JunoGHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear JunoGHonk :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities, the pools and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us, and your comments will be useful for this purpose.

We appreciate your feedback and we truly look forward to serving you again in the near future..

Best regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The most memorable thing about the Mayan Palace is that every single staff person we met was genuinely interested in making our experience better. They did their jobs with enthusiasm and were so pleasant to deal with, whether they were driving the shuttle or letting us know how to catch a ride to Playa del Carmen, or handing out towels or serving a meal. Everyone was very, very nice.

Now, about the resort itself...it was restrictive. We felt like there was nothing to do except sit by the pool all day. If we didn't want to spend an arm and a leg renting a jet ski or going parasailing, we were pretty much going to camp out by the pool all day every day. Let's face it, that gets kind of boring, no matter what kind of reading material you bring with you. There were shows, we found out later, that are offered (free of charge, even) but they're poorly promoted. (Maybe because they're free?) And the resort activities generally were under promoted so you felt like there was nothing to do.

Because the Mayan Palace is located between Cancun and Playa del Carmen, two of the Mayan Riviera's larger communities, and the beach is rocky (but currently undergoing a facelift), there really is nothing to do and no where to go that isn't going to cost money. Best to simply own up to that fact and prepare for it. (I understand that there's some really outstanding snorkeling and diving nearby, and there are nature parks that are close, but they all require you to leave the resort property, of course.)

The room was quite comfortable (Building 11) and the short walk to the shuttle for the beach/pool was very easy. The bed was typically hard and the pillows small, but neither of us minded it much as we still slept soundly because the neighbors all behaved themselves so it was nice and quiet. The maid service was fantastic (twice a day) so the room was always neat and clean and we had plenty of fresh towels. Front desk services (concierge, etc.) were all very good as well, so there really were no complaints about anything or anyone the entire week.

The food offered in the restaurants was better than expected. Some meals were outstanding (fajitas at Freida's) and some were simply OK (fish at Harvest Moon), but the portions were large enough that the two of us shared an entree and no one left hungry. Plus having leftovers at night was a winner, so we were happy all the way around.

Room Tip: Buildings closer to the pool are the first to fill (or at least are hard to get), so be prepared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadWarrior817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear RoadWarrior817 :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We will gladly share your feedback with the staff, as working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us. The same way, it is pleasing to find out you liked the portions of our food options.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance.

It will be our privilege to welcome you back.

Happily,

Mayan Palace Riviera Mayan Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Originally, we booked 1 night in Ocean Breeze but due to renovations, we were moved to the Mayan Palace. That sounded good to me because the next day we will be moving into the Grand Mayan and this will give me an opportunity to compare the two timeshares. Now that we are back, I can objectively say that the Mayan Palace is 1 small step above a hotel room. The 1BR unit was spacious, but the refrigerator is about the same size as many hotels. Also, there is no balcony in MP. Overall, the accommodations were average, hence the rating. One more thing, the mattress on the bed is really hard. Call housekeeping and ask them to ‘soften the bed’. That means that housekeeping will add an egg crate mattress. It makes a HUGE difference.

Room Tip: Ask housekeeping to 'soften the bed', then you'll get an egg crate mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Roger H :
Thank you so much for choosing our Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review about your stay.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation.

Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance.

It will be our privilege to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Mayan Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Mayan Palace Riviera Maya is beautiful and in a beautiful setting. It is unfortunate that the management is too busy trying to exploit the guests instead of maximizing the experience.

The location is rather inconvenient to activities and interests beyond the "gate". The "gate" is controlled to the point that our snorkeling director would not come inside because of previous bad experiences. Security or controlling monopoly? This man proved to be a good man.

Generally the customer service from the staff was very good to excellent. The quality of the food served was good to very good but did not reach the heights the prices charged.

Our room was in building 8. This resulted in our getting plenty of exercise on every activity that we participated in. I gained very little weight during our week stay thanks to the exercise!

McDonalds provides free internet service. Mayan palace charges $75.00 for the week of service!

I will not return. I will not recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Book in building 1 thru 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tigerpaw0259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear tigerpaw0259:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your visit to Mayan Palace. We are delighted to find out that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. It is nice to learn you think our property is beautiful.

Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.


Best regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Mayan Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just returned from a week stay at this resort (Mayan Palace) and it was not exactly as I expected it would be based on the reviews I read prior to going. As with any locations not everything is going to be perfect but if can make the best of what you have you are going to have a perfect vacation! I am going to try and make this as informative as I can without being long winded lol.. There were six in our party we had two/two bed rooms and even though we requested to be together we ended up on separate floors in building 8 which is right outside of the main lobby we arrive June 13th just in time for dinner and a couple drinks prior to the pool bar closing. We had dinner at Frida’s service was really good, food was okay but not great our bill was 640.00 pesos (for two of us) which included automatic gratuity. We had two drinks at the pool bar which was 520.00 pesos.
We took the hotel shuttle to Playa Del Carmen the following morning $5.00 pp each way, it runs every two hours.. They make two stops on Fri/Sat but only one stop during the week. Everyone talked about getting groceries at Walmart but they shuttle drops you right behind a Mega which is a supermarket/department store, it will have most anything you will need or want. I think we spent $85.00 for lunch meat, bread, snacks, beer and rum lasted all week. There are several places to each for much less than the resort, we spent the entire day at a beach club and only spent about $65.00 total.
We did spend two days at the resort and had a nice time at the pool, the cabanas were first come first serve. I think I was out there at about 6:30am and was able to get one but within an hour they were all gone. Please note our room was about a 5 or so minute walk to the pool and store, some people may feel this is an inconvenience but I say it’s a way to burn off some calories! lol
We got extremely lucky the day we planned on spending in Cancun, we contemplated what would be less expensive to rent a van or take taxi, it was about $150.00 to rent a van or about $100.00 for a taxi one way… That’s when we met Fernando the driver of taxi # 029 he is a regular taxi driver from the Mayan Palace, he ended up being our personal tour guide and taxi drive for 3 days and took us to the airport on our departure date giving us time to eat lunch, last minute shopping and then dropped us at the airport. Hands down he was the best thing that happened to use on our trip, he took us to the “local” places we may not have been lucky enough to see.. Please request him, it will be well worth it! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear jennifer t:
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed our food options at Frida´s.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We would like to point out as well, that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

It will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Sincerely,

Mayan Palace Riviera Mayan Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Went for a week end of May to June 8th, 2014. The first night we were being checked into a suite around 12 midnite on a ground floor. The building just across the lobby (Mayan Palace). As far as I can tell, the suite was not been prepared. The floor was sticky and could see the dirt sticking on our feet and we had to keep our slippers on. The air conditioning was very noisy, the two humidifiers were not functioning (showed full on the machine) and the shower faucet was very hard to pull out. The room smell of mild dew. Next morning brought all that to the attention of the front desk and the day manager was kind enough to changed our room to another building 7 and we got a suite on the 3rd floor. Much better than the first suite we got. However, the air condition was very noisy, the ventilation was horrible and smelled of mild dew. After 4 of us had showered, the suite and the bedsheets became very damp. The size of the suite and the kitchen facilities were adequate. Beautiful big pools but not much for the beach. Shuttle services should be more frequent especially from the hotel to the main gate and vice versa. Horrified to notice that the mold smell lingered so strongly on our clothing and luggages after we return to Canada. Certainly not worth staying in what is suppose to be a five star resort! The staff is very pleasant which made our stay more tolerable. We also spend very little time in the suite.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all the rooms for the Mayan Palace were moldy. Although the 2nd suite we were give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TaiYakCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear TaiYakCheng :
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

We are surprised to learn about the inconveniences experienced. Your observations will be shared with all areas concerned as guest feedback is important to us, and ultimately is how we measure our success.

If we are fortunate to welcome you back in the near future, we are confident your stay will be a unique pleasant experience.

Sincerely,

Mayan Palace Riviera Mayan Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.5 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya by Artisan - All Inclusive - Adults Only
7.1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,095 reviews
7.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayan Palace Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Also Known As:
Mayan Riviera
Mayan Palace Cancun
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Cancun Grand Mayan
Grand Maya Mayan Riviera
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Mayan Palace Playa Del Carmen
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing