We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I personally loved this resort. I would be willing to go back 2 or 3 more times. The staff had to be some of the nicest people that I have ever met in my entire life. All staff speak both English & Spanish, and some even speak French, German or Italian! They do their very best to keep their guests satisfied which they did, and they have to love what they do. Another thing that was great about it is that the food & drinks there taste very good! And in addition to their buffet, they have authentic Mexican, American, Mediterreain, Carribean, Japanese restaurants including a very tasty Brasillan steakhouse that you can go to two of them throughout your stay. Their fantasia smoothies are very delicious, and they even have some swim-up bars. Oh, and did I mention that all of the food & drinks there are either free or prepaid for before you come? So if you ever feel hungry or just want a drink to quench your thrist, go ahead and get it. The room was all clean, the beds were very comfortable, and every day they would put towels on one of our beds and make them into a shape of a swan or an elephant. They have TV's with great shows on. The bathroom has lots of soap and shampoo in the shower, and there was plenty of room to put my contact lense case, toothbrush etc., Onto the sink. Now, onto the activities that they have there. The beach is very fun and large just with many activities such as dart tournaments, archery tournaments, volleyball games, or you can even create your own tournaments against a friend or another family member in ping-pong or foosball. This beach has a lot of hammocks if you're feeling lazy, or if you feel like you want some action or you are feeling daring, try jumping over some of the biggest waves in the world in the Carriabean Sea. It is very fun. Another thing is that they have a big large pool there right next to the beach that is a very convienent walk from some hotel buildings. They even have some swim up bars and an ice cream stand right by the pool. While I was there, they had some fun activities there at the pool like, throwing a football through a lifeguard hole circle type thing way up in the air and far back from you, and running on a mat that is over the pool. Another great benefit is that there are beautiful animals there while you walk around. Such animals include peacocks, kawatis, and many different kinds of birds. Those animals are very cute and friendly and will not try to attack you unless they sense a threat that you will try to attack them or you have a lot of food in your hands. Also, Spend a day at the historic Chichen Itza, a mayan temple about 2 hours away from the resort. They have a nice little town in the resort with many shops and restauarants, an Internet cafe, a bike tour offered somewhere around there, a gym, a convention centre for businesses, a free carousel, and a ring toss. a teen night club, and I think there is an adult's night club too! And even though we didn't use these two things, they do have a doctor on duty 24/7 that speaks English and they do have a kid's club. Drop off the kids at the kids club If you have small kids. It looked like that the kids in the kids club looked like they were very safe and had a whole lot of fun. So don't be too worried about the kids if you drop them off there. Then, after you are worn out from swimming or dancing or partying all day, go to a big giant theatre type of room and watch a concert or attend the awards ceremony from the tournaments that day. Or, try your luck at Mexican-style bingo! Then, have a great good night's sleep. I really hope that I get to go back here some day. More than 5 stars out of 5 in my opinion.

Room Tip: If you've got the little ones or somebody that has a hard time falling asleep traveling with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,238
    1,479
    524
    193
    105
See reviews for
1,669
1,400
55
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanc PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff just all wonderful things to say about this place. We are planning on coming back. Weather was perfect we were there in April, only there for 4 days planning on staying longer next time. Food was good a lot of things I didn't know what they were but it was good. Pool was incredible so relaxing had a quiet area and busy area drinks were great. Can't wait to go again taking our friends along next time.

Room Tip: We liked 1700 its about half way to beach and half way to lobby and resturants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your amazing comments with us. It is gratifying to read that you had a fantastic time and that the pools, beach, grounds, and staff were more than you expected. The Staff would be more than glad to know that their service contributed to making your holidays special.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, if this is the case please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Weighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Went to the Del Mar for 2 weeks over the Easter holiday to meet up with our family from the U.S.A. We live in England so an 11 hour flight!! Had read lots of reviews before going and also asked questions on the forums. None of this prepared us for the absolute beauty of the place. We are fairly well travelled, but have never been anywhere as lovely.The beaches and pools were fantastic.

We were allocated a really nice room with a very comfortable super kingsize bed, overlooking the quiet pool; which is midway between the lobby, restaurants etc. and the beach. This was ideal for us. People have complained about all the walking, we are both 70 and my husband has 2 replacement knees and a new hip and we didn't find it a problem at all. We ate breakfast and lunch most days at El Faro which is one of the large beach bars and a pretty walk through the shaded grounds amongst the animals and birds, which were lovely to see.

We used 4 a la carte restaurants, the Steakhouse, the Japanese. the Mediterranean, and the Italian. The Italian & the Steakhouse being our least favourite. The service in the Italian was a bit lacking and the food not very authentic and the Steakhouse a little rushed.

There was lots of choice in the main restaurants' buffets, but on some occasions the meat was rather tough.

Everywhere was immaculately clean, bedding and towels changed each day and grounds and building maintenance ongoing, but not intrusive.

The staff were so pleasant and obliging at all times, nothing too much trouble. They were very grateful for a small tip.

We were sorry to leave and hope to return sometime.

Room Tip: In our opinion a central one is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Just returned from Riviera May and the Paraiso Del Mar. Absolutely beautiful property! We were very pleased with our room, just a standard with two full size beds. Location was in building 20, right near the buffet and main lobby. At first I was disappointed, as I wanted to be nearer the water, but the close proximity to the lobby and restraunts was very nice. The Coati Mundi's were a big hit with our family; very sweet to watch the babies running around and playing. Peacocks, iguanas, flamingoes, all really neat to see everywhere! The beach was beautiful, and well raked every day. I was impressed that there was someone constantly sweeping off the walkway all day long.
Activiites were plenty. Beach volleyball, horseshoes, archery, yoga, zumba...something for everyone if you chose to participate. We spent most of our time in the water. Huge waves for body surfing! The pools are a nice change from the ocean; very clean, and great fun to be around at 4 pm every day when Cesar (LOVED him!) and the Star Friends got the fun going in the pool. The Star Friends...great bunch of people who truly seem to enjoy what they do. Great shows at night! The buffets were the best...I really liked trying different foods, and they did indeed cater to many different tastes. I did read in other reviews that the food wasn't the greatest, but we all found our favorites each day. We had dinner at the Brazilian Steakhouse, the Italian place, and the Steakhouse. By far, the Steakhouse was the best. Wonderful ribeye and great buffet-style salad bar. Brazilian was just okay; Italian was not very good. We ended up going later to the buffet to fill up, as the Italian food (their version of) was not the best. Having said that, my husband and I still agree that there is not one thing we would change about the resort; we felt very safe (our first trip out of the U.S.) and absolutely are planning a return trip. Great place for a family vacation! Well done, Iberostar!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Clients,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay.

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us since it is important to know your opinion for our improvement. It is good to know that everything went amazing at the resort and you enjoyed an incredible vacation with your family.

We have forwarded this information to the people in charge of every department and all the staff so they know about your fantastic experience as a result of their daily effort and dedication to make for you and your family a memorable holiday . We believe that our best asset is our Staff and the amazing service that they are proud to offer.

It is nice to know that you enjoyed the dinner reservations at our buffet and specialty restaurants, your observation about the Italian and Brazilian has been shared we our Chef and his staff to see opportunity of improvement. We also would like to mention that the Italian restaurant has changed the menu recently following our guests’ comments and suggestions and try to offer the best variety and quality.

Once again thank you very much for your comments, it would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back in the near future, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival, we would be more than glad to assist you.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I'm a sea and beach lover and I wasnt disapointed. There were a lot of waves so get ready to jump and have fun in the sea. We got 1 day of calm sea and it was beautiful. There were fishes to swim with. Water is clear and sand is white. Hotel is very clean and well maintained. The resort is very big, there's a lot to see. There is food available 24 hours. There's a cute shopping centre to go walk at. Many restaurants ''à la carte'' and 2 big buffets. It was my first time in Mexico and I gotta say I was very impressed with mexican customer service. Whether it was the reception clerks, the maids, the cooks, the waiters, the entertainment people, EVERYONE was always super nice. Very friendly, polite and respectful. It was the highlight of my trip. Iberostar made a big difference compared to other countries we've been to. If we don't go back to this resort, we will for sure try to always look for Iberostar hotels. I got nothing bad to say!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcella-MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your amazing comments.

We appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us since it gives valuable information to many readers. It is gratifying to know that you found our areas very clean and well maintained, and that the food and service contributed to make your trip a memorable experience.

We are especially honored to receive you comments on the friendliness and the customer service of our staff since it means that we are on the right track to offer a great holiday destination.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned from 6 nights at the resort. Building 13, good location to pools, beach and lobby. We vacationed with 10 other families. We stayed during spring break, so the property was full. Beautiful property and wildlife on property is fun to watch. The animals won't bother you...if you don't bother them. Restaurants were so-so. Food wasn't the best. We ate at three of the preferred restaurants, The Colonial, Mexican and Brazilian. Our favorite was the Colonial. Least favorite was the Mexican. Be sure to book dinner reservations the day you check in, they seemed to book quickly, although the restaurants were not full. Check in went quickly. Daniel at the front desk is the best employee I encountered on property. Very knowledgable and helpful. Tip-if you qualify for resort credits (room upgrade, golf credits, spa credits) you have to ask for them! The front desk will not give them to you without your request. Not every reservation qualifies for the credit. The golf course is awesome. Two choices of clubs to rent. Regular rentals are $39 or premium clubs are $59. Since we had resort credits, the club upgrade was worth it. Played twilight (after 1pm) for cheaper rate, it was hot, but the 3pm clouds rolled in and cooled off the course. Finishing holes are tough. We were at the pool everyday, all day. Needed to get our chairs early (6am) otherwise, it was tough to find chairs together. Poolside service isn't very good. Pools are salt water. The Star Friends were good. Did a good job getting people involved. The music at the activity pool wasn't very good. Beach was great, windy but lots of chairs and water was clear. Tram that runs around property is inconsistent, be prepared to walk, not a problem. We did a the Segway tour ($40 for an hour tour around property). Segway operators are nice guys and made sure we had a good time. Went into Playa Del Carmen one night. Last shuttle was 5pm and returned to property was 8pm. $5 each way/pp. We got done shopping early and took a taxi back which cost $25 for 3 people. Nightly shows were good. A few professional acts came to resort during our stay. On property night clubs don't open until 1030pm. Night club was located in shopping center. There was a teen night club next to adult club. The taco, crepe and hamburger restaurant all in shopping center. Still on property, so food was free. Staff at the property was very nice and helpful. We booked our trip through Apple Vacations, the Apple staff on site wasn't very good. Our room was the size of an average US hotel. They offer Jr. Suites and Oceanview for an upgrade price. No elevator, which is no problem unless you have little kids and strollers. We enjoyed our trip but will probably go back to Moon Palace for the service and overall experience.

Room Tip: Building 13 was good location to pools, beach and lobby restaurants. Room on 2nd floor so nobody is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at our Iberostar.

We appreciate you took the time to share your comments with us on Trip Advisor, all your comments provide readers with information on our property and show us several areas of opportunities to improve in our service.

It is great to read that your stay was very enjoyable and you liked the wildlife and most of the services. The Chef will be glad to know that you had a nice dinner at some of the specialty restaurants; however he and his staff will work on the overall quality of the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back; if this is the case the Public Relations office will be looking forward to assist you prior to your arrival.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I had an absolutely perfect experience at this resort, the good was great, the activities were fun and the star friends couldn't have been better! Benito and Christian made our stay so amazing and ensured that we were always having fun. I will definitely be coming back in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triciahenkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Iberostar for your vacations.

We are thrilled to know that you found everything wonderful and that you enjoyed your stay. We will inform Benito and Christian about your generous comments; the best reward to our hard work is the compliments of our guests.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.4 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,656 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#74 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Property: IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing