We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Nearby Hotels
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$865
US$369
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$781
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$354
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
US$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,999)
Filter reviews
4,999 results
Traveller rating
2,478
1,610
576
211
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,478
1,610
576
211
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdel marspecialty restaurantsstar friendslobby barapple vacationsthe mediterranean restaurantrock cafeice creamtacosbuffet foodother resortstaco barbeautiful groundscrepesate at the mexicanquiet areaopen air
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,848 - 1,853 of 4,999 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Went w friends for a girls weekend. The pros really are all about the staff and their desire to serve and create a wonderful experience. The Star Friends, Apple staff and hotel employees are all great. Also the beaches are beautiful. Now for the cons

1. Charging $4 for 15 mins of splotchy internet is nuts. In addition, you are charging a $5 connection charge to use a calling card. We had to travel to Carmen just to let our family know we were safe without growing broke! On that alone, I'll choose another hotel.

2. On the last night, we went to the Gourmet and we're served stale grouper. We did send it back but one of us took a bite first and paid a stiff price for the next two days! She couldn't eat and threw up all day for the next two days. On the bus back we heard another couple complaining of the same thing. How could that be missed! Also to note is the fact that all of the sides and desserts at the specialty places are quite bad.

3. Most of the drinks were very sweet and we found out a sugary concentrate blend is used instead of just pure juice or concentrate w water. It impacts the taste substantially of the drinks which is unfortunate esp considering tropical countries have the best fruit.

Overall we enjoyed ourselves, but I believe that there has been some slips in standards that impact the overall experience. Unfortunately I likely won't be returning and have called my travel agency to make sure they prepare others that might consider going what to expect and how to prepare.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Violette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

We sincerely appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Please know that the Management and the Staff is committed to deliverIing a great stay and to provide a nice vacation to our guests.

We deeply regret to know that you experienced these issues during your stay. As per the phone calls using a prepaid calling card, in case you use it at the room we charge 50 pesos for the connection regardless the time the call takes. At the main lobbies we have 2 house phones you can use and there is no charge for using them, they run with the calling cards and there is no extra fee to the room.

As per the dinner at the Gourmet restaurant, we regret to know your friend experienced this issue, at Iberostar we have a Health and Safety Department that are constantly in the kitchens and buffets/restaurants to guarantee the integrity of the products used to cook and make sure the procedures are followed thoroughly.

Once again we would like to thank you or your comments and review, we will keep working to provide unforgettable and great experiences to our guests.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was by far the best all-inclusive hotel experience ever!

Food was great, restaurants are easy to book (we booked ours shortly after a check-in, and it can be done in person, so no 'please stay on the line to keep your priority'). The best one was Mediterranean, but that is my preference, overall all the restaurants we tried (you are only allowed to make 3 reservations for a week's stay) served good food. Service is impeccable, too. As someone who has a sweet tooth I particularly appreciated the Crêperie where you can get the best crêpes ever!!

The hotel gives a very positive impression of a well kept, well managed resort; cleanliness is a major priority, and you can see it.

Entertainment program was fun, so you will have something to do on a rainy night for sure!

I want to specifically say that Liliana, the coordinator, is doing such a great job juggling so many things at the same time and keeping guests entertained; if the resort is a success, this out-of-the-box approach employee is one of the reasons! Great job!
This being said, overall the level of satisfaction with the service is very high; as I said, entertainment team, waiters, cleaning ladies (whose presence is not that visible, but whose work is very important), barmans you all guys work very hard!

The only bad thing is that we actually had to leave and the transition from +35 in Mexico to miserable +5 in Montreal was brutal!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexanders99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Alexander S,

First of all we would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us by choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your vacation.

Thank you so very much for the invaluable feedback you have shared with us and fellow travelers with respect to your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very helpful to us in evaluating our service, facilities and most importantly, the experience we offer to our guests.

We have already shared your nice comments to our Staff especially with Liliana, be sure that everyone will be more than happy to know you had an amazing experience.

It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays among us so much and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you've never been to an all-inclusive resort and you have nothing to compare it to, then it's pretty amazing. However, I have been to other all-inclusives in the same area that were far superior. There isn't much I can complain about that everyone hasn't already covered (the buffet is mediocre, the beds are insanely hard, the mini fridge in the room doesn't work.)

The one thing about this resort that is truly great is the kids club and all of the employees that are in charge of entertainment. Star Friends, they were called. They're the ones wearing the blue and yellow shirts. They were all fantastic. Helpful and entertaining. Even more so than the rest of the hotel staff. !QUE PASA GAMA! Also the girls at the Kids Club, Marilyn and Liliana, were amazing. My kids loved them and they really went out of their way to make sure they had a good time. They made us able to look past some of the other minor complaints we had about the resort in general. Truly the highlight of our trip.

Overall it was great vacation, but next time I'd either look elsewhere or perhaps spend the extra money to upgrade to one of the nicer Iberostar properties.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank heyitsgabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guests,

On behalf of the management and the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar Staff, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations in Mexico.

We appreciate your comments and feedback since it provides us with great information and motivation to keep improving ourselves and offer always a quality service.

We take note of your comments on the food, maintenance and room and will be shared with the Department Heads for their follow-up.

Thank you for your lovely words about our animation team, who will read your review, as we believe it will be a great source of motivation.

We hope you give us the opportunity again to welcome you back either at our beautiful resort or at any of our sister resorts and offer you our warm service in the Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.
Sadly, we came to discover the resort has gone downhill tremendously.
We are a very laid back couple.
Not everything will go perfectly and you have to remember you are at an all inclusive. We are not what I would consider picky by any means.

+
- Grounds kept very clean
- Beach has area roped off where it is "safe" to swim
- Pool is huge with lots of areas whether you want to be in the social mix or peace and quiet
- Rooms are decent size (we were in the standard) and the AC worked really well
- Resort is huge but there are plenty of golf carts if you want to grab a ride
- Front desk accommodated our request for room in the center of the resort and an early check in (best experience we had there)


-
- Woke up Tuesday morning to a loud band in bathroom. Water was leaking down from the ceiling. We called maintenance and they hadn't showed before we had to leave for our excursion so we had to pile towels on floor to catch the water. No one ever even followed up with us after. There was still water dripping when we got back but it was minimal. Kept towels on floor remainder of stay

- Refrigerator was leaking. No one ever came to address it.

-We had to request extra water every single day and it would take hours before it arrived

- Room was not cleaned one day by 4:30 when we came back. We opted to just ask for clean towels because we wanted to snooze before dinner

- A la carte restaurants were sub par at best. The food at the buffet was better! We were able to get reservations at Mexican (worst), Japanese, and Brazilian. We tried everyday to get into Steakhouse but they couldn't acommodate us. We did get into the Japanese steakhouse and it was awful.The chef was using the same spatula to handle the raw meat AND veggies/rice

- Coatis. They are everywhere. I am an animal lover but it is unsettling when they are trying to jump on your table to get to your food. This happened to us at the buffet by the pool, as well as the snack bar by the beach. People feeding them despite signs that say no to doesn't help

- Massages on beach - Booked us at same time as wedding so music was literally blaring in the hut as that is where the stereo was. I feel bad that the couple has us half naked getting massages as back drop to their wedding and it was less than relaxing for us. Wedding was 5 steps away from us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank chrissy77mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Clients,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar and for sharing your comments online.

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience, it is important for us to receive this information since it provides the tools for our improvement.

Regarding the malfunctions in the room, we deeply regret to know that you experienced this issue at the bathroom, as soon as you report these malfunctions to the Staff; the maintenance department is advised to approach the room and fix the issues immediately. We have forwarded your comments to the maintenance department to inform them about this situation and to improve our response time.

As per the dinner reservations, at Iberostar we guarantee an amount of dinner reservations however we cannot guarantee a specific restaurant or seating since this depends on availability. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you and we have also forwarded your feedback to the Executive Chef regarding the dinner at the Japanese and the Mexican restaurant since these experiences are not what we want our guests to take home.

Regarding the Spa huts, these huts are usually blocked when different events are done at the beach so we apologize about the situation you described and it will be reviewed with our Spa Manager.

We hope you give us a chance again to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy the service and facilities we work hard to improve day by day thanks to our guests’ feedbacks.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A month ago 4 of us went again to Playa del Carmen to Iberostar Paraiso. What a great time we had ,no pressure to do anything. If you wanted to swim with dolphins or ride on the beach on a horse and it was a bucket list item everyone was so accommodating just a little slice of heaven. Great front desk personal, after the 3rd day they new me by name which was very impressive. The drivers of the luggage carts always picked you up if they saw you going in their direction. Check in and out was simple, the bus ride to and from the airport was comfortable and A/C was set at a comfort level that was great. The driver was more than happy to answer any questions about the area. Our room was meticulously maintained during the entire stay. Food was good at all restaurants all the maître des greeted you as though you were family. The chef's were happy to answer any questions about spices used and how to prepare a particular dish, fantastic because I enjoy cooking. The beach was beautiful not too many vendors.
The liqueur could be taken up a notch possibly but that was it.
I have been very fortunate I have traveled all my life. I keep going back to certain ones which have impressed me the most. This is top on my list
Thank you kindly for a great memory.

Room Tip: A room close to the ocean and not far from the pool. Life is short when your think of woulda coulda shoulda. Do it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear JOHN,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your recent stay and for your wonderful words.

It is great to know that you had an amazing stay and that you were so pleased about the service provided by our Staff, the facilities and the beauty of our grounds. The Executive Chef and his Staff will be very happy to know that the food in every restaurant was great and enjoyable.

Our Staff and the management are committed to delivering the most amazing experiences to our guests, so it is very motivational to know we achieved this goal with you.

It would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back so that you can enjoy again the paradisiacal environment we have to offer in the Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews