We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
RStock521
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Resort”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is me and my girlfriends first trip to an all-inclusive and I must say, I am very impressed. I'll start out with the positives. We just got back today and had a direct flight through Apple Vacations which was very nice. Our rooms were excellent, the shower was one of those walk-in types which was beautiful. The housekeeping kept everything very tidy every day while we were out and about and the fridge was always stocked. We even left a note requesting them to take the coca-cola out and leave us only beer and water, which they did. The service around the resort was outstanding, every employee was extremely helpful and genuinely seemed to want to help you any way they could. They said that we only were to receive 3 ala carte dinners, which we made reservations for, but the nights that we didn't have reservations for, we simply went to one of the restaurants that we wanted to try and asked if they had any cancellations. We ended up eating at the restaurants each night. Our favorites were the Steakhouse, Brazilian, and Gourmet, but you really can't go wrong with any of them, they were all fantastic. The chef at the Hibachi was the most talented chef I've ever seen, and I've been to plenty of Hibachi at home, I just didn't think the quality of the meat was that great there, but the show was excellent. The pool was huge, the beach was beautiful and sandy (I brought water shoes afraid of a rocky beach, but didn't use them once). You can snorkel right off shore by the old pier that goes off the beach. The drinks at the lobby bar were by far the best at the resort, I definitely recommend going there for premium liquors. We didn't make it to the "clubs" at night at the shopping center area, so I can't comment on how the night life is there.

Now on to the few minor things that I would say could use some improvement, but they are by no means deal-breakers. The drinks at the lobby bar were excellent, but everywhere else, they left something to be desired. I don't think that the mix they use is is very good, but this is of no fault of the staff. They work very hard to make you anything you ask for. Second, was that when we first got to our room, our air conditioning wouldn't get very cold, our mini-fridge wouldn't get that cold, and our ceiling fan would turn off in the middle of the night. We told the front desk and they sent someone right away to replace our fridge, program the thermostat down, and fix our fan. Kudos to Iberostar for promptly addressing these issues for us. The food at the buffet's was average at best. I found myself eating an omelet each morning and picking at a few things for lunch, but the excellent dinners at the ala carte restaurants made us look past this. Each night, I was absolutely stuffed by the end of dinner.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this resort. For the price, we were very happy with what we got. I'm already looking forward to our next trip to Iberostar.

Room Tip: We were in room 1847. The buildings are 10-20 and we were building 18. The lower the building #, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RStock521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and the Staff of IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent vacations.

We are glad to receive reviews like yours since it provides us an important motivational tool for our Staff. It is great you highlighted the service provided by the Staff, the accommodations, facilities and services offered along the Resort.

We thank you for your feedback regarding the drinks and food at the bars and restaurants. We always take in consideration all our guests’ comments to maintain our high quality standards.

It is great to know that you are already looking forward for your next stay at IBEROSTAR and we sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future!

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,259
    1,499
    525
    195
    107
See reviews for
1,691
1,413
57
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We went to Mexico to celebrate my husband's big 50 birthday. We have a 12 year old and 20 year old. We all had a great time! This was my kid's 1st time in a warm ocean! They absolutely loved it! The ocean water was warm, but just a little rocky. There are certain spots that have rocks and others that do not. It was very windy the 1st 5 days with 5 foot waves. It was so much fun! Then it calmed way down with no waves. The pool was awesome! At least 85 degrees. The Staff was awesome and could not do enough for you! :) the drinks were great and just a really short time to get one. The buffet and specialty restaurants were great! They have lots of stuff to do at the pool with pool games, dancing lessons, etc. It is a big resort, however, we never needed to take the train. It's only a 10 minute walk to the beach and nice to walk off all the food and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacationPlanner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad for being your host at your recent vacations in Mexico.

It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay was great and that you celebrated with us a special occasion as your husband’s birthday. We are happy to know that you found the areas, beach and pools very nice and fun, our Staff works hard every day to keep them neat for our guests.

We love to know that our Staff was awesome and they did everything to make sure you enjoyed your stay with your family. We are sure that our Staff is already looking forward to your next visit to Mexico!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I travelled with a girl friend and we felt very safe during our week-long stay in Mexico. The staff was very friendly and anxious to help or assist with anything. We left the resort for one excursion to the Ceynotes, and other than that, stayed at the resort for the entire trip. The beach was very nice on the days it was less windy. We were able to swim and there is a large sandy area along the shoreline. The swimming pool was very large and divided into many smaller connecting areas. We could always find a chair very easily without having to get up before daylight to reserve one (both at the beach and the pool). Theme restaurants were great. Buffet was average, but you could always find something to eat with the huge variety of foods available. Would recommend this resort to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 629darlenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent vacations.

We appreciate that you take the time to share you nice comments and excellent review with us and other travelers. It is nice to know that the efforts of our Staff and their will to assist our guests made your vacations an unforgettable experience and you enjoyed an amazing time at the premises, beach and pools.

We are thankful for your feedback regarding the specialty restaurants and buffets, we always take them in consideration to continue giving our best to satisfy our clients.

It is great to know that you would recommend our Hotel to others; and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was our first experience with Iberostar and probably our last visit to Del mar. For a few hundred dollars more a person you can stay at the Lindo which "looks" like a far better bang for your buck.
The rooms are nice for the amount of time you spend in them. The a/c wasn't working properly and after several calls, then turned it down a measly 3 degrees for us. The drinks are awful and no one can seem to make a good bahama mama there! I had 2 delicious ones at the theatre bar, and that was it for our entire trip! And im not that fussy. They use below average brands of alcohol and its terrible!! We have never stayed anywhere with such an open air-ness to it. We love the heat and sun which is why we go to the Mayan in May, but we've never stayed anywhere where there was no a/c in the main buffet's. Lots of animals....cats, birds, coati's...which we again don't mind sharing and eating with them around us. Even the a la carts were warm inside. You can't even get a drink while you wait for your table to be ready at the a la carts. there's a bar at all of them, but its empty. At every single one we went to, once we were done eating dessert, buddy didn't even come back to clear our table or see how it was. awful awful service for the a la carts. everyone raves about the japanese, but i thought it was average. buddy booking our a la carts for us did give us another a la cart as we were only allowed 3, and he gave us 4. he kept trying to push the mexican on us, we decided against it and wanted the mediterranean for our last nite there. we checked our stub (thankfully) before heading out for supper and he booked us at the mexican instead!......CHECK YOUR A LA CARTE SLIPS!!
we spilt coffee on our first morning in our room and by the 7th day, that spill was still on the marble floor. our bar fridge was stocked everyday, with the exception for 1 day, they didn't give us water.....i tipped them everyday.
we generally stay at Barcelo and figured this iberostar would be just as good....next year its barcelo all the way for us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhonda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations in Mexico.

We appreciate you took the time to share your comments with us regarding your stay. Please know that all of our guests’ comments are very important for us as they help us to identify areas of improvement and to work according to our guests’ needs and desires.

We regret to know that your experience was not as expected. We would like to inform you that due to an ecological program we set the room temperature at 21 degrees, however whenever requested this temperature can be modified. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused.

Our Food & Beverage Manager is now aware of your feedback regarding the drinks in the different bars of the Hotel. Rest assured that we will look into this to ensure our standards are met in every area.

We will continue working hard to provide the excellent service that has always characterized IBEROSTAR brand.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We do go down to the carribean every year. Just our second time in Playa Del Carmen. This resort was wonderful. Service was second to none, rooms were lovely, well maintained and beautifully decorated everyday by housekeeping. We asked for help for Intranet service, and promptly got it. Bar staff Victor (pool bar and Rocia lobby bar Beach) were awesome. FOOD was excellent at every restaurant. A La Carte Asian and Steakhouse - great. It was far to walk all around the resort. We picked the resort because it said 388 rooms, not really the case. I kind if figured when it said like 10 restaurants, 10 bars, it had to be much bigger. Beach was great. Really can't imagine anyone saying bad about this resort.

Room Tip: 1947. Our room was close to Lobby, restaurants, and quiet end of pool. It was quiet. I liked it al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather19622014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar for your vacations.

It is a true pleasure to welcome comments like yours since it motivates us to keep offering the same amazing service to all our guests. It is great to know that our Staff was attentive and accommodating and that you really appreciated our decorations.

We appreciate the special mention to Victor & Rocio, as they work hard every day to make sure our guests have an unforgettable vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year for you to enjoy our facilities once again!

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Paraiso
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Beautiful resort, great food for a nice change in reference to all-inclusives, extensive resort, be prepared to walk a lot, everything is quite a distance. Swim up bar at times takes a long time as they are understaffed and have no pool service. Response to problems in room pretty much ignored. Requested extra pillow and refill of mini-bar. No action taken on either issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We appreciate you have pointed out the beauty of the Resort as well as the great food and the facilities offered to our guests. We regret to know that you experienced a slow service at the pool bars and a lack of follow up to your requests in the room.

We have forwarded your comments to our Food & Beverage Manager as well as to our Housekeeping manager to take it in consideration. We apologize for the inconveniences encountered.

It would be a pleasure to have the chance to welcome you back and restore your confidence in IBEROSTAR.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My husband, 4 year old daughter and 9 month old baby stayed here 2 weeks at the end of April. Grounds are beautiful, well maintained, and pleasant to walk to and from beach and restaurants. Beach and pool areas nice but completely agree with many other infuriated people on here, the reservations of beds was ridiculous! We spent the first few days trawling round with two fed up children and a pushchair because other selfish guests had left towels and clothing to reserve beds. We were up and out early and there were literally no beds left, let alone in the shade! This is not at all monitored by the hotel despite signs everywhere saying this is not allowed! Biggest bug bear with this resort is the awful service, (the worst we have received anywhere and we have travelled the world!) and the many rude staff. We had to fetch our own high chair the majority of the time, find our own cutlery (teaspoons seem to be gold dust here) and wait all service to be offered drinks and then an age more for them to arrive. The staff the second week were slightly better and it is not fair to say this applies to all staff as there was a very nice waiter who took care of us the last couple of days (possibly a manager). However overall the service can be described as completely unattentive, shoddy, disorganised and in the case of the majority of staff, rude! When we did manage to get hold of somebody to find us cutlery etc or to order drinks, they made it clear we were putting them out! With regards to tipping, we did this for the first few days and it made no difference at all.
We had requested on our booking a low level room due to two children and a pushchair. We also emailed the resort this request and whilst we realise it was only a request, it wasn't granted. Therefore we spent two weeks hauling everything up 3 flights of stairs as they decided to put us on the top floor, this was impractical and extremely hard work. When we complained they offered us another room for around £500 extra! When we refused they said they could accommodate the next day another room but when we looked it was worse and in the noisiest shabbiest area by the pool.
Reception was another issue, nobody acknowledged us many times there to the point I had to walk off before I exploded at the sheer rudeness of the staff. When I did ask about ordering a shuffle to take us to the mall because my 3 year old had walked all day, I was told 'no, you walk! It's only round the corner!' (Not true) I was livid to say the least.
If you have a young baby take your own kettle to boil water. First time I have stayed anywhere in the world and not had a kettle in the room. Only a coffee maker which we couldn't use for baby's bottles as it tasted of coffee! We forgot our washing up liquid and nowhere on site sold it and the staff could not help and due to not being able to boil water we had to give our baby bottled water, which is not the best option for a young baby. After explaining all this to the hotel there was nothing they could offer to help.
The food was good, lots of variety and the speciality restaurants excellent, especially the gourmet and the Brazilian. The bar staff in the lobby were the best around and they served proper drinks with a smile, the hotel should mirror this quality of staff throughout. Shows were good too.
It is interesting to note that the management responses to these trip advisors always say they are addressing issues and would warmly welcome you back in the future, but who would go back when it's not right the first time and there is a consistency in complaints. For those that may think reviews like this are simply awkward customers, be warned, they're not they are real, valid complaints. Every time I was at reception there was always somebody complaining about something and it's such a shame because it brings the resort down. My advice would be if you like good service and manners, don't stay here! I wish we had payed slightly more and stayed at one of the other resorts as lots of other people we met said their service was impeccable!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Estherru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear client,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacations and for sending us your feedback.

We appreciate that you have highlighted the beauty of our grounds despite the fact that certain aspects of your stay were not up to par.

Please be sure that we take all of our guests' concerns very seriously, we review all our guests' comments, and make sure all departments receive these periodically (hotel departments and corporate). We then work together with each manager to try and find solutions and elaborate action plans, and set deadlines to accomplish them. Some solutions do take longer than others, as we try and solve them from the very root, instead of creating quick and temporary fixes that eventually will not help our guests.

That includes, among others, the sun chairs reservations, staff training, and several processes in our customer service departments.

We are sorry to read that you encountered several inconveniences, including a less than satisfactory service provided at the Buffet, since this does not follow whatsoever our standards at IBEROSTAR. Please be certain that this will be looked into with our Food and Beverage Manager as well as with the Human Resources Department to work up to our service excellence levels. New training programs are in place, as we are fully aware of the importance of having happy guests.

We would also like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced with your room location; certainly during high season it can be harder to accommodate all our guests according to their requests but please be sure that whenever availability allows it, our Front Desk Manager does his best to fulfill all preferences.

Not having provided you assistance with the boiling of the water is an error on our part, as this is certainly something we can do in our main buffet or in the main kitchen. Our staff will be informed about this issue and will be reminded of this service and to do always everything they can to meet our guests' expectations. Our apologies about that.

Once again we truly apologize for the lack of follow up during your stay; we will continue working hard to avoid these incidents from happening in the future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.4 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#21 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,941 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Property: IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing