We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good experience”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

very good people, Maria Polinar the lady who cleaned our Room every days she was fantastic, can't ask for more.

Maria the girl who was sometimes working serving at the dinning area, chef gustabo, and Pedro at the Brazilian Restaurant, Luciana who is one the best in the public Relations DEPT. and many more people that we had the good fortune to meet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Staff & Management of our IBEROSTAR we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent vacations.

We are more than glad to know that your experience was great and enjoyable. Our Staff will be truly honored by reading your nice review and this will motivate all of them to offer the same amazing service and achieve our main goal, the complete satisfaction of our guests.

We sincerely hope we have the chance to welcome you again and make sure you have another unforgettable vacation.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,284
    1,510
    532
    197
    111
See reviews for
1,715
1,424
59
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Paraiso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Fantastic beach with very clear water so no problem seeing rocks on the bottom when swimming. Friendly and helpful staff everywhere in the resort. Buffet food is what you would expect, so don't be too particular and you should be able to find something that works for you. Tip: Make dinner reservations at specialty restaurants on your arrival day because they are very good. Brazilian, Italian and Japanese were our favorite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent vacations and for sharing your experience with us.

It is gratifying to know that our service, Staff, grounds, facilities and the entire Resort made your vacations an unforgettable experience. Our Staff will be truly happy to welcome you back again and enjoy once more our service.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I was concerned about staying at this property after I read a fair amount of negative reviews. After spending 6 days I am not sure if those people stayed the same place we did!

The resort was great, the buffet food isn't going to change your life but for a buffet it was good. The key to victory is to make your dinner reservations at the specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive. Slip the person a $20 at the desk and see if you can get a few extra reservations.

Do not miss the tacos place it is hiding in the shops - this place is great for lunch or snack.

The grounds are well kept, the rooms are fine - keep in mind it is not the 4 seasons. Room service was great.

Lionel at the beach bar is simply awesome.

Internet in the room was a little pricey if you do require it.

Tips go a long ways at the bars and a $20 bill on the fist day will ensure you are taken care of real well.

We played golf at the onsite course - It was well worth the cost - great course!

The place is massive- you can walk or get a shuttle, pools, and bars are closer to the beach - Lobby, restaurants and shops are closer to the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tejonsperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at IBEROSTAR and also for sharing your nice review with us and other travelers. It is great to know that our service, facilities, food, quality and Staff were up to your satisfaction.

It is a pleasure for us to know that everything was great and enjoyable. We will keep our efforts to make sure our guests experience the same service form our Staff.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Paraiso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were traveling mother and daughter and it was great, nice activities, nice pool, awesome beach! we will officially return. food was good. we had a nice welcome cocktail and staff is really nice. alot to do in mexico

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank France B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent vacations.

Our Staff will be honored to know that their efforts made your stay unforgettable and very enjoyable. Receiving reviews like yours makes us feel like we are going on the right path to excellence and we are truly thankful you took the time for sharing it.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back and pamper you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I and our 4 adult children stayed at this resort from May 8 - 15, 2014. It was a wonderful experience. We were impressed with how the natural habitat of the area was kept, with walkways through lovely forests. Everything was very well-kept and clean! There was lots of shade, and the snack bar on the beach was perfect for lunch! My husband and I go to a resort in the Caribbean at least once a year, and we would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and the Staff of IBEROSTAR we would like to thank you for your recent stay.

We are more than glad to know that your vacation on our Hotel was enjoyable and you were impressed by our natural environment and how the grounds were kept.

It is satisfactory the fact that you are already considering us for your next visit to the Caribbean. We will be looking forward for your stay!

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This resort is very beautiful and it is very big. There is numerous wildlife roaming the grounds and the paths are cut right through the jungle. The food was great and there was something for everyone. The pools and entertainment were excellent. The only thing I would change about our trip would be make the rooms larger and have air conditioning that worked better. It was our sons first trip out of the country and he loved every minute of it. I would definetly return to this resort.

Room Tip: We were in building 1500 and it was in the middle of everything and right next to one of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We appreciate your nice review and the time you took to share it with us. We are happy that you highlighted our resort’s wildlife, grounds and our food.

It is great to know that everything was astounding during your stay and you enjoyed a fantastic vacation with us.

We are glad to know that you will definitely return and we sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you one more time.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our 4th trip to Mexico and our 2nd time to the Iberostar complex. First time in August 2009 we were upgraded to the Lindo due to low occupancy levels in the complex, but this time we actually were able to stay at the del Mar. Actual stay was 10-17 May 2014. This resort is absolutely beautiful. Huge property with lots of walking, as previously mentioned in other reviews. Also, one of the largest pools I've ever encountered.

The following are tips for future travelers.

1. If you're a repeat visitor to this complex, mention it to the front desk and they will deliver complementary T-Shirts and a bottle of wine to your room during your stay.
2. Buildings 17-20 are near the lobby/restaurants and can be very noisy at night if you're trying to sleep before 11:00 pm.
3. Buildings 14-15 are middle of property, which is equal distance to either the beach or the lobby/restaurants and across from the pool.
4. Building 10 is on the beach, but you may have to pay extra to stay there. I believe a previous review stated it was $100 per person per week.
5. Buildings 11-12 are very close to the beach and next to the pool and the outdoor beach restaurant. These are the quietest at night and my preferred location.
6. For those that find the walk difficult or tiring, you should call guest services to send a bell boy/golf cart to pick you up on the back path, behind the buildings. To save on distance if you're walking, you can walk the back path (straighter path than the long winding paths in front of the buildings) or you can walk through buildings 18 to 12 and then the front path the rest of the way.
7. Each building is 3 floors with no elevator. If you can't walk stairs, then you'll need a room on the first floor.
8. A shopping center is on the property and a trolley car/shuttle runs every 15-20 minutes from the lobby or you can walk. Included in your all-inclusive package are a burger place, a taco place, and an ice cream/crepe place at the shopping center.
9. The reservation desk located in the lobby for making reservations can be very frustrating, as the process is slow and lines can start backing up. However, you can also make dining reservations through the concierge by calling from your room's phone. Three reservations are allowed for a 7 night stay, but you can check back between 4-6 pm to see if they have any openings for same day dining. For a 7 night stay, we were able to get reservations every night except our arrival day. We found the Gourmet to be excellent - tenderloin steak and lobster. My daughter told me they had Lobster, Steak, and Shrimp at the Mediterranean, but I wasn't able to get a reservation there.
10. My boyfriend and I had excellent service in all the restaurants and buffets, but my daughter and her boyfriend had the exact opposite experience. Every time they got up from their table to get additional food, the servers cleared their table. They also found the servers were inattentive at the buffet, so most of the time they had to get their own drinks. My boyfriend engaged the servers in conversation, attempting to speak the language, and was sure to personally hand a tip to them as opposed to leaving the tip on the table, so this may have made the difference between our service and my daughter's experience. We also had brought insulated drinking cups from home that were left on the table while we got our food, so there was always a reminder to the staff that someone was still sitting at the table. This is just a suggestion so you don't have a bad experience with the servers.
P.S. Our tips weren't extreme. We left between $1-$2 each meal depending on the service at the buffets and $5 for each specialty restaurant because approx a 10% tip is already included in the all-inclusive package deal.
11. If you're bed is too hard, call the front desk and ask for a pillow topper.
12. The A/C throughout the resort is set on 21 Celsius (69.8 F). If you find this too warm for sleeping, call guest services and ask them to drop your room's A/C to 18 Celsius (64.4 F), which is the lowest available. This can be done remotely through their computer within 30 minutes.
13. You do not need a sweater or jacket to wear in the specialty restaurants because the A/C is comfortable, not frigid, as I've experienced at other resorts.
14. The buffet seating is outside, but located undercover with ceiling fans, so the temperature is comfortable and atmosphere is very relaxing.
Health Tip: Don't get up and leave a plate of food on your table that you're planning to return and eat, because birds will swoop down to pick at it and the Coaties may also jump up on the table and pick at this food.
15. Suggestion for restocking your mini fridge. We left a note for housekeeping with an empty bottle of water, beer, or empty soda can, etc and wrote the number of how many of each we wanted under each empty bottle/can displayed. We also left a $2-$3 tip with this note and always received exactly what we requested. Absolutely no problems were incurred with housekeeping or restocking our fridge.
16. For those who love iced tea, the lobby bar has a pitcher of unsweetened iced tea, you need only to ask. Sugar packets are available on the bar counter. You can also ask for sweet or unsweet tea from the specialty restaurants. As for the buffets, I took my insulated mug and filled it with hot water and tea bags. Then later, I added ice.
17. There are lots of Pallapas for shade on the beach and at the pool. This resort had more than I've ever seen at any other resort in Mexico, Punta Cana, or Jamaica. However, on extremely hot sunny days, you may want to get one before 10 am. Most other times, we never had a problem even after this time.
18. The pool is so large that you might want to purchase a flotation device prior to arrival. Floats are also available at the resort for US $17.00.

Overall, we had a very nice, relaxing week. I will certainly return to the del Mar or Lindo in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank conoff2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar for your vacations.

We are more than happy to know that once again you have chosen IBEROSTAR for your recent stay in Mexico. It is great to know that you enjoyed your vacation and our entire Resort, as our activities, restaurants, bars and the Shopping Center.

Your opinion and feedback are really important for us and other travelers, your tips are very welcome and we do appreciate you took the time to share them with all of us. Our Staff will be glad to know that their efforts made your stay unforgettable.

We are happy that you are already thinking of coming back again and sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again another IBEROSTAR vacation.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,864 reviews
6.4 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,518 reviews
18.0 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,922 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Property: IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing