We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pat & Jan had a "Great Time" again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pat & Jan had a "Great Time" again”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thank you everybody at the Del Mar --- from the Front Counter Staff / Bell Boys / Servers / Bartenders / Maids / Star Players you made our trip super great. My wife & I have been at this Resort & the Paraiso Beach many times since 2004 --- approx. 20 t0 22 times. This is one of the BEST Resort's for the money --- it is always clean (rooms / grounds / pool ) --- Food is good / above average. The Property is big but very beautiful --- you can always call a bellboy to pick you up in a cart if you are not a walker. I would suggest doing the upgrade to the rooms on the beach --- it is nice wakening. up to the ocean view

Room Tip: Rooms on the Beach or near the Beach and the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guests,

On behalf of the staff & management of IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We are more than glad to know you visited us once again in the Riviera Maya! It is a pleasure that you enjoyed a fantastic vacation and your experience was amazing. We will share your nice comments with the members of the staff. To receive such praise is very encouraging.

We are looking forward to your next visit to our Hotel!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,235
    1,476
    523
    192
    105
See reviews for
1,664
1,398
55
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Paraiso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a big property, try to stay in a building in the middle. Pool and beach are very nice. Bars close early on the beach and pools. The staff is very nice, and will chat with you and even teach you some other languages.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your last vacations in Mexico.

We are more than glad to know that your recent stay was so positive and you enjoyed the grounds, services, facilities and the pools & beach. All our team work hard every day to make sure our guests enjoy an unforgettable experience.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in the near future so that you can, once again, experience our friendly service.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Paraiso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the first resort I have ever stayed in, but my first experience has set the bar way above any of my expectations! The staff were all friendly and attentive, the grounds and room were clean and kept very well, the food was delicious and the entertainment/activities were fun! I would recommend this resort as your place of destination to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Staff of IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

It is a pleasure to know that you found the Hotel, grounds, Staff and the entire atmosphere very relaxing and enjoyable. We are glad that our hard work made your stay unforgettable and you would recommend our Hotel.

We will be looking forward to your next stay at our hotel!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent 5 nights at this resort. The grounds are immaculate, very lush property with tons of wildlife walking around (peacocks, even an albino peacock, flamingos, coatis, macaws, swans, turtles etc), which I loved. It is a large property so if you stay in rooms near the lobby it could be quite a walk to the pool/beach. The staff are very friendly, and the rooms and bathrooms are kept very clean. Our toilet leaked a bit, but we never told the hotel as it wasn't a big problem, we just threw a towel down daily and it was fine.

We liked the buffet and the a la cartes - lots of selection, good desserts and great service. I would recommend making reservations as soon as you arrive as they fill up quickly.

The plaza paraiso mall is great. Very close to the lobby, we loved the taco place and the crepes place is alright too. They have some great shops and the wifi is excellent here and most importantly, FREE. They also have performances here some nights - we happened upon a mayan dance which was interesting.

Some points I'd like to note:
- Hard to flag down shuttles. Often we would try to flag shuttles down, and they would either keep on going or motion in the opposite direction. Often there were not shuttles stationed in front of the hotel. On our last day, we called to schedule a shuttle in the morning, and it did not show up on time, so I called again to remind them about the booking. When the shuttle finally showed up, it only had a baggage cart in the back and no seating for us, so we walked to the lobby and our bags were driven there, a bit odd.
- When we arrived in the morning, we had to wait a few hours to get our rooms, so I asked where the luggage room was. The staff said I could leave my bag with the bellboys up front, I said 'are you sure there is no luggage room?' and they said yes. I was a bit concerned leaving my bags out in the open, especially because I didn't see a bellboy permanently stationed up front. On the day I left, my sunwing rep told me I could check out and leave my bags in the luggage room. Turns out there IS a luggage room, but when I checked in, the hotel staff never told me about the luggage room.
- Also when I checked in, it would have been nice if the staff told me where the buffet was so I could go grab something to eat. I feel like when we were checked in, no one told us what to do with our luggage or where we could eat. We were just given a brochure, our wristbands and room cards, and left to our own devices. At other resorts I have been to, the check-in staff have pointed me towards where I can leave bags, eat, get a drink etc.
- We got used to eating breakfast at the beach grill, which opens at 7 a.m. On our last day, we showed up at 7 a.m. as per usual, however it was closed. No signs were posted saying why it was closed, they just had the closed signs up. The beach grill is very far from the breakfast buffet in the main building, so I wish they had put up some kind of notice in the lobby or somewhere explaining that the beach grill would be closed on this day so we wouldn't have walked so far.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thatgirlyouknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar for your vacations in Mexico.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the grounds, the wildlife and the entire atmosphere around the natural environment.

Thank you for your remarks about the food, the different restaurants available and the service from the staff. We regret that you found some issues with the transportation and the information given by the bell boys and at the Front Desk, we will share your feedback with the Front Desk manager to verify what happened and also to make sure we reinforce training sessions to avoid these issues in the future.

We hope to have the chance once again to welcome you back and enjoy another IBEROSTAR experience.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great beach, great hotel, nice services. However, I was disappointed with their taxi service. One of their driver wanted to let us a the wrong destination and lied to us.
Also, we got the information from travel agency that we had snorkeling material available for free. So, I didn’t took mine. Now, when you are on the place, the diving club only let it to you for one hour and then they will charge you.
For the rest, I recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick19791234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and the Staff of IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

It is great to know that you had an amazing stay, that you enjoyed the beach, services we offer at the Hotel, and the Staffs’ will to serve. We regret to know that you experienced issues with the taxi service; we will inform them your feedback to verify this situation.

As per the snorkel, we offer at the Hotel this service without a charge for one hour per day, we apologize you did not receive this information from your travel agency.

We sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back and restore your confidence in IBEROSTAR.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

very good people, Maria Polinar the lady who cleaned our Room every days she was fantastic, can't ask for more.

Maria the girl who was sometimes working serving at the dinning area, chef gustabo, and Pedro at the Brazilian Restaurant, Luciana who is one the best in the public Relations DEPT. and many more people that we had the good fortune to meet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Staff & Management of our IBEROSTAR we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent vacations.

We are more than glad to know that your experience was great and enjoyable. Our Staff will be truly honored by reading your nice review and this will motivate all of them to offer the same amazing service and achieve our main goal, the complete satisfaction of our guests.

We sincerely hope we have the chance to welcome you again and make sure you have another unforgettable vacation.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Paraiso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Fantastic beach with very clear water so no problem seeing rocks on the bottom when swimming. Friendly and helpful staff everywhere in the resort. Buffet food is what you would expect, so don't be too particular and you should be able to find something that works for you. Tip: Make dinner reservations at specialty restaurants on your arrival day because they are very good. Brazilian, Italian and Japanese were our favorite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent vacations and for sharing your experience with us.

It is gratifying to know that our service, Staff, grounds, facilities and the entire Resort made your vacations an unforgettable experience. Our Staff will be truly happy to welcome you back again and enjoy once more our service.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.4 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
8,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
20,638 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#75 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,057 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Property: IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing