We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This is a great place to stay whether single or with family. I went off season so it wasn’t crowded, but everything was just great. A few things to know however, there is a $15 per night charge for in-room internet access.
There is no good way to get there or leave there.

You can take a collectivo from Cancun for about 35 pesos but make sure the drive lets you off in front of the Iberostar Signage, not the service road for employees. If you come in that way you will be asked at the gate for your name and they will call a golf cart to pick you up and everyone will be shaking their heads. because you didn't pay 27-40 dollars like everyone else to get there. Leaving is harder and the hotel will not help you find reasonable accommodation. A taxi back to the airport or Cancun (where I was going) set me back $40.

If you have the time and energy, you could take a take from Iberostar to Play de Carmen for a fair amount and then take a bus or collectivo from Playa del Carmen back to Cancun. After all the fun I had, I was too tired for the hassle.

Room service is fast but the food is absolutely horrible. I was not the only one that returned the entire tray uneaten. The gourmet and Cajun and Seafood restaurants entre portions are small but first class quality and the appetizer and desert buffets are more than you could ask for. Lots to do at this place. The beach is lighted at night also. The entertainment is varied and wonderful as are the activities.
Would go again. Also see my review of Dressel Diving.

One thing- event though this is an al-inclusive and tips are not expected, please remember that folks here don’t make much more than a few pesos a day. They work hard, are very pleasant to the last one and deserve a little something for their outstanding service.

Room Tip: Ask for the 60-61-62 building if you want to be closest to the beach and pool. 3rd floor is very pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cherlynns3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,870 - 2,876 of 5,095 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

returned from a 2 week holiday at the maya on friday, apologise if this review goes on a bit, it was my 2nd holiday to mexico, first time to this iberostar, althoigh have stopped in previous hotels in the iberostar chain, with the iberostar bavaro in dom rep being my most perfect holiday to date. through this review i may make comparrisons i apologise for this in advance.

i travelled to mexico with my husband with first choice/ thomson airways on 29th sept from manchester.. it my 11th holiday with this tour operator and airline, we flew out i premium cabin, has usual great flight both outbound and inbound.

TRANSFER TO HOTEL
this took arounf 30 mins has were had the transfer included in package deal, and there were only us and one other couple on the mini van who were staying at the tucan. so pretty quick

CHECK - IN

we were greeted by the bellboys who then directed us to check- in , we were greeted with a cool drink which was very welcome, i had emailed in advance some room requests in either block 62, 61 or 63 on a upper floor overlooking pool with a king size bed, i recieved a reply to say they would try but could'nt gaurentee anything. anyway on checkin, to accomodate my requests would mean an upgrade to a superior junior suite at an extra $30 a night, but has the hotel was'nt busy we got a free upgrade! considering we had paid nearly £3900 for holiday ( about $3000) we got a room with a king bed, overlooking pool on the 2nd floor in block 61

ROOM
Has i have said we had a room upgrade and was very happy with room, very clean and had an excellent maid, who we tipped every 3 days 100 pesos and she did an excellent job, could'nt fault it. if i was to say one thing against it, the beds are quite hard even with a topper, i'm used to a firm bed but this was hard!

FOOD AND DRINK

when you stay in maya you have option to dine around on unlimited a la cartes as well has use of buffet in lindo

SEAFOOD RESTUARANT.
this for me was by far my faveourite, excellent service, excellent food, and lovely buffet at breakfast or you can order direct from menu. love4d the coffee at breakfast and always had my glass of wine topped up ( not always the case in most of restuarants) we went there for breakfast everyday. and visited twice during our stay.

MEXICAN.

we also visited this twice on both occaision food excellent, on first visit service was excellent, and we tipped well, but on our 2nd visit we had the same waiter, who we remmeber, but did'nt remember us, but the service was bizarre at best, we just sat down with our appetizers when they bought the soup out, then we just started our soup when they bought our main out, they never topped my glass up once with either water or wine, and it feltt like they could'nt get they get us out fast enough, and the hotel is less than half full so it was'nt busy there were approx 6 couples, then next thing two large trays of food. looked around to see whose order it was, ( everyone on dessert by now) then put it all in a cupboard. bizarre..


FRENCH RESTUARANTS ( maya and lindo)

both excellent but the lindo edges it for me in regards to menu and service.

JAPANESE

difficult one this, food excellent, show cooking excellent, but i've had much better show cooking in paradisus in cuba and choice of food both bavaro and cuba in much better.

ITALIAN

this doubles up as lunch buffet in day. can't fault it in anyway, great food , great service great drinks. nothing more i can say

BRAZILIAN ( del mar)

we tried the brazilian over at the del mar, could'nt fault food although have exerpience better brasilian restuarants. i always stay in five star hotels so never really exepreinced anything less before, this is nothing against the del mar but we sat in there lobby bar beforehand, less choice of branded drinks, hot , uncomfortable seats, retaurant much less choice, for the first time i now know why i pay the money i do to stay in the places i do.

CAJUN
disappointing, i have eaten cajun several times before, and in this restaurant was very bland. the food was bad, just had no flavor

BUFFET ( LINDO0

Was fine, a good allround choice of food, but iberostar bavaro way better. all food will get boring if you limit what you eat, or try and eat everything once it will get boring, also i heard alot of people say things looked nice but they did'nt know wether they liked it or not, simple answer, if it looks nice, try a little bit, that way you will know, then if you do like it, you can always have some more.

DRINKS,

Generally did'nt find them that strong, also i like wine but there seemed to be a bit reluctant to top my glass up more than once with the odd exceptions, in bavaro my glass was never empty until i said no more. the cocktails were very weak, i'm not a big drinker , like wine with my food the odd glass of baileys after dinner and pina colada while watching a show, i know my pina colada's but never had one great one, had one good but rest were'nt great. i switched to just having malibu on rocks which was ok.

ENTERTAINMENT

they work hard, but i found the shows a bit boring, and on comparrison bavaro way way way better. i'm not expecting west end or boardway. if i want that i go to west end etc. but did find the shows boring

BEACH
we had quite big waves while out in mexico, which was fun, the beach is clean, theres a few rocks in the sea but not a big issue, but love the beach at dom rep loads more.

TRIPS

Did'nt do any this time to mexico has we have done them all previously, this holiday was about relaxing after a very stressful year.

OVERALL

both me and my husband had a great holiday but we both felt no matter how good things were it was missing something, could'nt put a finger on it, but we love the domincan republic and we love iberostar bavaro which on both visits been perfect. as for value for money, the iberostar bavaro edges it by being nearly £800 cheaper. but at the bavaro we have always had excellent food, service, entertainment, and bettetr weather( always go end sept beginning of october). so i don't think the maya is worth extra. even with the upgrade, ( bavaro we got treated same and got a seaview).

would i return to this hotel, i say never say never, but love dom rep and hoping to return there next year ( but not iberostar bavaro) but after two visits to mexico i like it but not in a rush to return. would i recommend it to others visiting mexico of course i would. its just a personal choice that i prefer to go somewhere else. ( got the free upgrade cos hotel was'nt busy so tip is if you go in quiet time email ahead with some request you never know)

Room Tip: email ahead and ask, you never know. found block 61 fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mollymagooDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

What an amazing place!!!! Just came back yesterday and missing it already. My best vacation so far. The place is beautiful. It is so clean, people are always cleaning, staff works very hard. A lot of different options for meals, since we had access to all of the other Iberostars around. We ate at the buffet most of the time since it was easier for us since we were traveling with two young kids, Great variety, different theme nights at buffets. The staff is always making sure that you are fully satisfied, felt like royalty for a week. Bedrooms are so spacious and housekeeping does an amazing job, room was immaculate. The beach was sooo nice. Had some nice waves and beautiful sand.

Room Tip: We had a room in block 61. Was close to pool, beach, ice cream parlor and snack bar. Was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

What a beautiful place! Everywhere you turn on the property there is another beauty spot. I had never done a larger all-inclusive, thinking it would be like vacationing in a city, but honestly, although the Maya is one of five resorts in the complex, I never felt crowded, never had to wait in a line, never had to "save" a seat on the beach or the pool. There are so many things to do, so many places to hang out, it was a relaxing as you wanted it to be, or as exciting. We are morning people, go to bed early people and really enjoyed the quiet mornings on the grounds. Never saw one show although you do get to chat with the performers during the day - they work tirelessly to make sure you have fun during your stay. They are all upbeat and fun- so why wouldn't the shows be? The place was immaculate - there were always people around cleaning - always. The food was good - some restaurants better than others. We personally enjoyed the steak, seafood and japanese the most. The buffets did have some variety,and there was something for everyone - not to mention the fact that there were so many dining options, you really could switch it up often. It rained one day, we went to the spa across the grounds. Don't miss it!! Indoor salt water pool with jacuzzi nozzles, roman bath, saunas, etc etc. I also got a massage - that did cost $$ (so worth it.). We took the shuttle they offer to Playa Del Carmen for the day - bargain rate of $50 pesos per trip - all of about $3.40. Can't beat that for a nice afternoon in the outside world. there is also a shopping center in the complex - includes a taco shop, hamburger joint and ice cream parlor, also included. Anyway,I could go on - basically it was one of the most lovely resorts we have stayed at (oh yeah, the rooms were beautiful too) and wouldn't hesistate to recommend it or go again. Like.....tomorrow. Email me if you have any questions!

Room Tip: We were in building 63 - centrally located so equal distance from beach and lobby area and adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The rooms are nice, they have lockboxes, hair dryer, robes, soap, lotion but no conditioner. The drinks are well made (the mojittos actaully had crushed lime and mint in them and the bloody mary's were awesome). The food was okay, not bad, but not memorable. If your a vegatarian, the buffet had the most options, but some days were better then other (they like to throw meat in everything). The fitness facility is very nice but the men working in it are butt-holes (just ignore them). The rest of the staff was fairly nice especially on the Lindo side of the resort. You get to use the Lindo resort facilities as well (the 2 hotels are connected and separated by the pool that goes down the center). I chose the Maya side becasue the rooms were rated better then the Lindo. There is a lazy river and a wave pool (the wave pool only operated a few times a day). Ps if you are traveling solo, get ready for the staff and the drivers everywhere asking why...apparently solo travelers dont go to MX very often to just relax. :)

Room Tip: Maya rooms are better then Lindo, but Lindo service is better, I stayed in building 60, which is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mightygeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I have stayed at many resorts over the past 15 years and must say that the Iberostar Paraiso is one of my favourites. We always have wonderful time here, as it offers so much for the vacationer. The wristband from the Maya gives you access to any part of the Iberostar Paraiso resort (Lindo, Beach, and Del Mar), except the 5+ Grand. I am not the biggest fan of large resorts, but thankfully this place has trolleys and golf carts that easily shuttle you around from place to place.

FRONT DESK – there was very little wait upon our arrival to check us in and we were greeted by very friendly staff and a nice frozen drink. They put us in a building near the beach, and because we were repeat guests, it was a suite. Also provided were free Iberostar t-shirts and a 10% hotel shop discount card. They advised us if we needed anything to give them a ring. The golf cart took us and our luggage directly to our building and they carried our luggage right up to our room and explained all of its amenities. Again, super friendly staff.

BUILDINGS – ours was located near the beach, as we requested. We were happy to see an elevator with our room being on the 3rd floor. The room was a full suite with a sunken living room, and whirlpool tub and glass shower. There was a safe, white robes, mini bar fully stocked, large TV, bedside clock with CD player, and huge closets with more room than we even required (now how often do you see that?!). Each of the buildings in this section of the resort (Maya) contain an atrium with beautiful plants, stone statues, and patterned stones floors. It really doesn’t get any better than this. Our room was cleaned promptly each day with it being left spotless and a wealth of clean towels provided.

GROUNDS / BEACH / POOL – beautiful—all the flowers, plants, grass, and beach, are clean and kept up well. Be ware that you will also see peacocks and other animals in the rest of the Paraiso resort. The beach is a bit of a walk from the pool/buffet area but is nice and wide with many huts to seek shade. There is a waitress coming around every 20-30 minutes asking if you would like a drink or two. There is also a bar steps away and a grill that makes you a fresh burger or hot dog complete with a fixins bar to dress them up. The beach has nice light colored sand and the water is fairly clear. One day I saw several fish swimming close to the shore, thankfully no jellies! There are two main pools. The one with the swim up bar is huge where you also have a couple waterfalls. Close by is a wave pool for the kids and mini lazy river. The pool events end in the early afternoon to give people peace and quiet there for the rest of the day. So, we would hit the beach in the late morning, have lunch at the buffet near the pool, then hang out at the pool in the afternoon--it worked out perfectly!

RESTAURANTS – most of them air conditioned. The main buffet, located near the front of the resort has a huge selection every night. They even add different items each day of the week. This is a high quality buffet with something for everyone to eat. The a la cartes were also of very high quality. We ate at the French, Steakhouse, Italian, and Japanese and were very impressed. The buffet near the beach is not air conditioned but nice and cool—and clean. We went there for breakfast and lunch most days and enjoyed the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff. It also has a fair selection of good quality food. There is another buffet located near the beach but it was closed for renovations--they seemed to be giving the interior a freshening. On Wednesday’s there is a beach party for lunch where they have a huge fire pit and saucer filled with all kinds of food. There is music and bull riding as well at this fun event--don’t forget your camera!

ENTERTAINMENT & SHOPPING– the main show is located in the Lindo within a huge outdoor amphitheatre that has a large stage and tons of seating (with tables). Waitresses are there to serve you along with a long bar. The shows were very entertaining. Within the Maya there is a more laid back atmosphere within a huge pyramid and a bar in the centre. A long snake fixture juts out of the ceiling and is something to see. The pyramid has a few shops and a smoking room. Steps away from this location is the front desk and large sports bar (which had American baseball and football games each night). Again, it doesn't get any better than this! Across the street from the Lindo is a shopping mall with all kinds of stores with decent prices. There is also a burger joint that opens in the evening (great burgers and fries!) and a taco place that serves up nice chicken or beef tacos. On Wednesday’s they dress up this place for the main show (instead of in the amphitheatre in the Lindo) where they have a live band and dancers in the centre square. So much fun!

INTERNET ACCESS – there is free wireless internet access located in the Pyramid bar area of the Maya along with a private room that has pay as you go PC desktops.

SUMMARY – This place is just amazing. You will truly appreciate how well you are treated and all it has to offer. The only drawback is how large it is, but I am sure some people will see that as a positive and enjoy the freedom to explore. Again, the front desk is more than happy to shuttle you anywhere you wish to go in the golf cart. Enjoy!

Room Tip: if you like the beach and usually spend a lot of time there, request to stay in one of the closest b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MarkNiagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Staying at many different properties from one end of the strip to Tulum and found this to be overall very accomodating. The property is huge. It is three hotels in one. The food was great, make reservations as soon as you can. The pool was great especially for kids and the beach is huge as well. Plenty of wildlife which kept my kids entertained. The kids club is decent. There is a concierge person all day and evening in each building who can assist you with reservations, and information, all were very helpful. We went in April 2011 and the weather was a "10" everyday. Will definitely return next year

Room Tip: FInd a room where the building in centrally located. Near pool and shorter walk to beach. Too clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rhodyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,843 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,255 reviews
7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £190 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing