We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Resort but some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Overall, this resort is very beautifully landscaped. It is by far the biggest resort we've been to in the Carribean. We stayed in Building 60 closer to the beach and near a couple of pools. It can take approximately 7-8 minutes walking time to the lobby but for us this was not a problem. In the evening, it can be problematic with sleepy children, so we used the golf cart services. Food is good but not excellent! There were items I did not like at the breakfast buffet but for the most part the Steakhouse (good ribeye), Seafood restaurant (very good lobster & steak) and Mexican restaurants (good tacos) compensated for this and were very good.

Now for the negatives. I found the resort too big for my personal tastes. At other resorts, we usually had a flyer come to our room each morning specifying the day events. There is a conceirge at each building but you will have to go out of your way to get the information. There is no bulletin board near the concierge. The only place where the day events are posted are by the lobby. The resort lacked intimacy so it was difficult to tell what was going on. You could be on one side of the resort and all the action is happening on the other end. The beach was very rough during our visit and red flags were up the entire time. It is not very safe and has a strong under current. Apparently, the lifeguards are always saving people from drowning. There were approximately 5 people pulled from the water the week we went. Typically we are beach goers, but we opted to stay by the pool for the entire week.

Other than that, it is a great resort minus the negatives I pointed out.

Room Tip: Building 60 is near the beach, pools and restaurants.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank luv_vino_trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,014)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Paraiso Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,715 - 2,721 of 5,015 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

For the second time 8 of us, covering 3 generations stayed here. I think service is better than it was 3 years ago. The blow dryers in 2 of our rooms broke and were replaced within hours with a follow up note from the concierge asking if everything else in our room was OK. The timing of service was great, which I don't unusually expect south of the US. Food in Japanese, Cajun, Mexican, & steakhouse restaurants was very good. 5 & 8 year old had great time in pool, ocean, ping pong, wave pool, lazy river, little water park with slides, soccer on the beach. Health club was fine, not that air conditioned and packed some mornings. Recommend running around perimeter of 4 resorts. Live mariachi music by carousel across entrance bridges gap for kids between 6 dinner and 8 kids show on stage.

Room Tip: Seems kids were in buildings 65 & 66. Walking through 60 from beach seemed quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChicagoKim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Maya for a week in early February. We have previsouly stayed the the Rose Hall Suites in Jamaica which was wonderful, so we were not expecting this resort to be so much better. The grounds and pools were amazing. The food and restaruants were great as well. We had no trouble getting reservations. The resort is HUGE so it takes a few days to get the layout down, but once you do its no problem. Dont plan on leaving the resort, there is plenty to do there. We traveled with our 3 year old daughter who is still talking about it to this day asking if we can go on vacation again next week. One thing i would recommend is bringing a cheap stroller. we did not bring one, and carrying around a three year old got old fast as it was a lot of walking for a young child. We spent most of our time at the pools and the kids waterpark. Everything was great, so dont worry about the negative reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I just returned from the Maya and I must say I was very disappointed. It started off when we tried to get our room. The front desk wanted to put three adults into a King bed - we explained that our reservation stated: King Bed with a pull out couch or a two fulls. After serveral attempts we settled on the two fulls. The room was slightly out of date. The ceiling fan did not work, the TV was a challenge to turn on since we were not aware that you had to open a cabinet door to locate the box, the alarm clock would not stop going off. We contacted the front desk and they sent out a repair man. All finally got repaired. We were very surprised to open the refridgerator to find a 1/2 open can of orange soda. Towels & toilet paper were also hard to come by. As far as the food, breakfast at the seaford restaurant each day was wonderful, the staff was superb. Dinner's were ok at the restaurants. The French Rest was excellent. The steak house was horrible. My sister had to send her steak back 3 times, and they never got it right. The chef actually came out and stood over my sister with his hands on his hips with a smirk on his face. He asked "So, what do you want me to do?" Ugh...On a positive note, the weather was incredible - nothing that the Maya could take credit for however. I would not go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed comment about Iberostar Paraiso Maya. It will certainly help us to keep focus on costumer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

First of all I want to apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. I am very sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations. Some of the concerns you mentioned are totally under our standards and we have already taken action in order to meet our standards again.

Nevertheless I also would like to thank you for pointing out our staff. I am delighted to hear that you felt welcome. The helpfulness and kindness of our staff is one of our main strengthens and I am very grateful that you value it so highly.

Please be sure that we keep on working to improve our services. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back if you are planning to visit Mexico.

Kindest regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Have been to the Paraiso Maya twice. Once to retake our vows with friends and family and again to attend a wedding with friends who went to ours the year before.
The second time the service and amenities weren't as good as the first time. Now the only reason we knew this was because it was so incredibly good the year before, otherwise we wouldn't have noticed.
We figured out that the best time to be at this incredible resort is when there are a lot of other people there. This way they have a full staff and everyone is on their toes.
We could have stayed at the Grand but it didn't have as many people staying there and seemed stuffy in comparison though the rooms were brand new. We like to have fun...
Note that you can go to all the resorts under you so the Maya as far as we're concerned is the best pick as only the Grand is higher than the Maya.

Note if you tip well, you will be treated like royalty.

Everywhere you go here is a sight for the eyes. You do not have to ever leave this resort because there is so much to do. We highly recommend you do what we did and hire a private guide to drive us around to the best sites. His wife was Mayan and he knew everything.

So was there with family and friends and now when we go to ANY hotel or resort in the world, we always compare it to the Maya and always find them lacking in comparison. Will be going again I'm sure...

Room Tip: Check out the maps of the resort when you book your room so you are close to a beach path.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elegault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was the BEST vacation we have been on ever, we will be coming back next year of not sooner! Paraiso lindo star friends were just fantastic, they really made the vacation for us! They were all so welcoming and nice and all had a great sense of humor! All the activities they did throughout the day were so muh fun my favorite would have to be the merengue lesson with Luis and merlene. Though I didn't get to do salsa with them I look forward to doing it next year hopefully they will be there again! The shows every night were very entertaining and had our whole family in tears laughing! I wouldn't say a bad thing about this hotel and the staff, it was all wonderful! Please let the entertainment staff (star friends) that they did a wonderful job at making this vacation the most memorable for us!

Thank you all for making a life time of memories for us and you should keep the star friends you have now... Forever!

Sam, Cass, Jim, and deb Parquette

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sparquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager, Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a good comment about your holiday with us here in Iberostar Paraiso Maya. Your enthusiasm in describing the high level of our services is a good input to keep motivating our team. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to the team and especially the star friends who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

We look forward to your return visits!

Kindest regards,

Quality manager, Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is our 3rd stay at this property. We have teenage sons and each year it seems to get better. The property was completely full but we never had to wait in any lines and had no problems getting reservations at any of the restaurants. The food quality, freshness and variety was wonderful. There are things to do for all ages. They just added a new enclosed 'water park' for smaller kids and have kids clubs so parents can get a bit of a break. Our teenage sons visited the disco each night and had the chance to meet kids their age. The nice thing is that the property really holds 4 properties so there are plenty of kids to meet. It is also completely enclosed and a LONG way from downtown Cancun so you really feel everyone is safe. It is truly a place where everyone gets a chance to relax.
Hints:
Seafood, steak restaurants are the best. Mexican one has grilled lobster on the menu.
Get up and reserve your seats at the ocean by 7am to get front row in the shade.
Take later flights as the early morning arrival has HUGE lines for immigration and to check in.
Check out all the properties first as they each have 'benefits,' you may find you don't need all the benefits so why bother paying for them.

Room Tip: The property is huge so ask for rooms that are convenient for you. Take flights to arrive later in t...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CatherineChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,382 reviews
18.2 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
22,170 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#73 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £188 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing