We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great resort.”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our first all inclusive, and it is THE way to go. Pools, beach, food, bars and staff were excellent in every way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank cjwgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to know, you have had a great experience in our property for the first time. We are a big family, where guests and staff feel the great environment of being part of Iberostar.

We are truly looking forward to welcome you back at your home Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,755
    1,391
    489
    176
    115
See reviews for
2,849
1,060
42
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Maya was a great place to stay. We had three other resorts that we could visit by staying at the Maya .The staff were very eager to help and very attentive. You can relax or get involved in the activities they have planned during the day. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
4 Thank Nicdes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your posting your review.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon and we hope you will consider us when planning your next vacation.

Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may need.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya for our honeymoon at the end of June 2012. After our trip, all we could talk about is saving up to go again and staying there! There are so many different attractions within the resort itself, it's hard to try to pack everything in during a 5 day stay. Their specialty restaurants are excellent and provide something new and different for every meal. The staff is very friendly and happy to help in any way. The pool is so big that there is always a quite place to relax, or a high energy place to have a little more fun. The lazy river was a nice place to sit in an inner-tube, drink a beverage of choice, and slowly float around. The beach itself is wonderful. White sand and blue water. Not too crowded either! There is so much to do that not everyone is doing the same things all the time. And there is something about being able to walk up to any bar and getting a drink. :-) (yes, we got an all inclusive trip). I'm sure there are people out there looking for honeymoon places that are couples only, but honestly, the fact that there were families around did not deter from the fact that we were on our honeymoon. So don't let that be a major deciding factor. A special thanks to Lomas Travel for helping us while we were there as well. VERY helpful and knowledgeable!

Room Tip: Ask for Non Smoking. Also, if you want to be close to the pool and beach, ask for rooms in buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, Congratulations again! On behalf of the Management and Staff we would like to thank you for sharing your heart-warming review with other travelers on Trip Advisor. Your words have been inspiring and motivational and encourage us to continue working hard to exceed our guests expectations.
We are glad to know, you came back home with such an incredible memories.

Please do not hesitate to visit us for your future Wedding Anniversaries, it would be our absolute pleasure to share those memories with you.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Just returned home from a 7 day stay at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya. Upon arrival in Cancun, we were greeted by lots of people wearing tan button down shirts, they are waiting from you right before you go outside the airport. We traveled through Apple Vacations and were told to look for the floral pattern shirts, well the people in the tan shirts told us that "Yes they were with Apple Vacations and to come over to the side to wait for the shuttle to the hotel". While waiting the gentelman asked for our travel vouchers (that's when my husband suggested that these people did not work for Apple Vacations and we headed outside the airport). We were then greeted by our Apple Representatives that will shuttle you to your hotel/resort. DO NOT STOP FOR ANYONE UNTIL YOU GET OUTSIDE THE AIRPORT!
After dropping off another family at the Now Saphire Resort, we arrived at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya. Our luggage was taken by the bellman(they are all wonderful and prompt) and we were directed to the check in desk. It was a very easy check in, and after then bellman took our luggage and took us directly to our room. We stated in building 62, which is in the middle of the resort.
Upon entering the room, we did notice a musty smell, but this is present in all the rooms because of the humidity (we asked to be moved, but all the rooms that we were shown had this smell). We did ask our Apple Rep at the resort to please have more pillows delivered, but that never happened. The rooms are very spacious and nice, but could use a little updating. Beds are hard as the floor (maybe this is a wise sales pitch for the spa massages).
We also priced through our resort Apple Rep different excursions to do since it rained the first few days (with a family of 4, the cheapest thing that we were offered was $99 per person). We opted to just stay on the resort and ride out the rain.
Food on the resort is pretty good, but not as sanitary as the US guidelines. La Marina restaurant/buffet is beatiful, but all open windows that allow birds to fly in while eating or food left open on the buffets. There is a little taco place over in the plaza that is very good and included in the all inclusive plan. Just be weary of the nacho's that are left on the counter for self serve or the salsa bar since this is all open as well. We learned the hard way 2 days before departure.
We took a shuttle from the Lindo to Playa Del Carmen and were dropped off in town in front of a bar about 2 blocks from the shopping district. We were instructed that we could be picked up there in 3 hours, but to make sure we make it back to the same spot. Walking through Playa Del Carmen, we thought we would get some good deals (compared to us prices). This is not the case......lots of pushy, rude store owners that really make you feel uncomfortable. My son (whom is under 16) was talked into paying $45 us dollars for a money clip (one that in the US would be 1/2 the price). Another man came out into the street to greet us and told us that he was one of the employees of the Iberostar Paraiso Maya. He told us that he was off that day and working at his moms shop, to come in and look around he would give us a good deal.........I bought a silver "Mexican Opal" pendant for $40. We walked down to the beach and then decided after about an hour to take a taxi back (it cost 25 pesos each). During our conversation on the ride back, we concluded that "Hugo" from the Playa Del Carmen store that "worked at the Iberostar" did not really work there, nor know us......he recognized our resort bracelets and came up with a story that we fell for. Prices on the beach at the resort are cheaper than anywhere else if you are looking to buy silver, hats, cigars or sunglasses and the prices can be bartered.
Room service is terrible.......cold food and long waits.
Our refridgerator quit working after day 1, but we didn't complain.
Star Friends and all staff were very friendly.
Pool water is cold, and beach is very rough!
Food at Ala Carte restaraunts is ok, but buffets are just as good. Just be careful when choosing what you eat. All water is bottled and ice is brought into the resorts.
Resort store prices are very high.........I paid $33 us dollars for a bottle of hair conditioner (only sold at the spa). Marbolro Cigarettes are $7.40 us dollars a pack, 1/2 massage $68 us dollars and 1 hour massage $99 us dollars. No one under 18 allowed in Spa on the resort.
All inclusive.....but if you go to the Ala Carte restaurants and want wine other than the "house wine" there is an additional charge.
I can say that I have been to Mexico, had an okay trip, but do not wish to ever go back. We did notice on our taxi ride back from Playa Del Carmen, the entrance to the Iberostar Paraiso Maya had an American Flag hung upside down at half mass next to the Mexico flag. This was very disturbing for us, especially since I have family from Mexico that I love dearly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisam258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.

We are glad to know that overall you had a great time.

We hope you change your mind and you give us another chance to explore a little bit more the Riviera Maya and we would be only too pleased to welcome you back at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya.

Kindest regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Helens, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Okay, be forewarned--this was our 3rd visit to the Maya... and yeah, we still love it there. Let me get a couple things off my chest 1st. If you are going here--please remember it is Mexico--not your home country--it will not be like home. The food won't be the same, the weather won't be the same, the bugs won't be the same. Get over it and don't whine about it. You are on vacation in Mexico!! It is beautiful here, but no--it is not the USA or Canada. Sheesh. Oh, and June is the beginning of the rainy season--guess what: it'll rain!! If you don't want it to rain on your vacation come during high season (approx Dec-May) you'll pay more but the weather will be nicer. Oh and hurricane season starts in August-ish and goes through November-ish. Do your research people.
We sent an email in advance of our trip requesting a 3rd floor (top floor) king bed room in building 63 (near the wave pool, and this building has a private pool too.) We got our request exactly. We also booked most of our dinners in advance as we like early seatings because we are up early and play hard. We actually stayed at Pesca Maya (near Punta Allen) for the 1st part of our trip (very rustic there) so by the time we arrived at the Maya we were ready for a little pampering.
This trip was my husband, our 8 year old daughter and my 3rd trip to the Iberostar Maya--but we hadn't been there in 5 years... so we wondered if things had changed much. I think the place is still being kept up well... the vegetation has really recovered from the aftermath of hurricane Emily (our 1st visits there)... and therefore the mosquitoes were plentiful. Plus, our previous visits were in March--relatively no humidity then. A note--when you leave the room the power goes off in your room. So, don't expect your ipod to be charged when you get back from a day at the pool--charge things at night. Many mornings my husband left for coffee before my daughter and I got up, and the power shut off when he closed the door, only to come back on when I stuck a foot out of the covers and triggered the room sensor to get the power to come back on. There is a sensor in the main room and one in the bathroom--but not one in the dressing area, so you will be totally in the dark if you happen to be there when the power shuts off.
It rained almost every day of our trip, when it wasn't raining it was pretty darned hot though... the rain didn't stop us from having a great time. Loved the wave pool (goes off on the hour for 15 minutes--don't complain about this! I have never been somewhere that the wave pool went constantly--do you realize how much upkeep that would take?!) The lazy river is fun (slow, but we love it anyway)... and the rest of the pools are great. No, I don't think any of the water was too cold... the water in March is much cooler than in June. It was quite refreshing.
One day my daughter and I went to the Beach/Del Mar pool and got hennas done--they also do this on the beach--but that guy was never there. Hubby golfed in a monsoon one afternoon and had a blast anyway. $49 for Maya guests if you go during twilight hours--not bad for the 7th best course in the nation! I also took advantage of the spa and had a citrus facial and mud massage.... ahhhhhh.
We had one major request this trip--we wanted to eat at the Rodizio--the Brazilian restaurant on the Beach/Del Mar side. Rightfully so, we don't get 1st reservations for _their_ restaurant, so our concierge had to move some stuff around for us to get in. Boy, was it well worth it! The best meal we had the whole trip. The worst was probably the steakhouse--only because I like my steaks medium-well, and asked for it that way... but it came undercooked, I could have sent it back, but didn't bother. Ended up trading with my daughter for her pork ribs--which were amazing, and all was good.
We enjoyed shopping and the crepes with ice-cream at the commercial center. Went to two shows--The Pirate show (meh, skip it) and the Magic show (amazing!!!) Got to know a couple awesome starfriends (Andres and Hector), and spent lots of time in the snake bar enjoying cappuccinos with baileys, popcorn and emailing home on the free (to Maya guests) wifi.
Overall our stay was amazing! The rooms were cleaned very well, we laugh about it though... it is like there is a 100 point checklist and they only do 90 of the points every day. So, some days there was no towel animal, some days no washcloths, some days they left our wet towels and gave us new ones too, or we only got little bottles of water and no big one. Overall though there was nothing to complain about... we just went with the flow!
One last thing... if you come all the way here, book an excursion to see the area--and not on a dumb tour bus with 75 smelly new friends... spend the dough and do a private or semi-private tour--go see Chichen Itza and Valladolid with a guide so you can really learn about the Mayan civilization--it will make you appreciate the art and decor choices at this resort all the more!
Don't hesitate to book here! You will have a great time!

Room Tip: Request the top floor so you don't hear people walking on your heads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank kierste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your delightful, constructive and intelligent review, we have enjoyed reading it. We are thrilled to know you still enjoyed our facilities and you appreciate the environment. That is a good sign we are doing things well. Your endorsement of our property will go a far way in motivating our Management and Staff, who are dedicated to ensuring that we exceed your expectations.
We hope that when planning your next vacation get-away, you will have no hesitation in giving us the honor to serve you.

Again thank you very much!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya for 5 days. Lomas Travel provided transportation from and to the airport in a timely manner, and we booked an excursion through them. We dined at several restaurants that required reservations, which the food was good, service was excellent, and enjoyed the drinks. Our 10 year old enjoyed the wave pool, lazy river, and the pool. The sandy beach was beautiful; very relaxing. We enjoyed parasailing and kayaking. Also, there is a convenient snack bar by the beach resort just in case you get hungry. The rooms were cleaned daily and room service was available when needed. I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeanette92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya. It was our pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable vacation.

We trust that as you reminisce on your visit you will remember us fondly as being your Mexican Family and not hesitate to make plans to visit with us again. It would be our pleasure to serve you again.


Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The hotel is definitely a five star family resort. We have both young kids and teenagers, and there were enough things to do for everyone to have a great time. I was a little skeptical about going to an all inclusive place, but it exceeded our expectations. The buffet's had a good variety of meats, veg's, and fruits. The themed restaurant's were also very good. We learned early on to book reservations early to insure the best seating times. The staff here is both friendly and accommodating.

Opportunities? The wifi wireless network was very slow, but I guess that is normal out in the jungle.



  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
7 Thank 976PaulM976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks to you. It is our commitment to go beyond our guests expectations.
We love what we do and we will keep working hard to improve and succeed our standards.
We appreciate that you took the time not only to write but to recommend our property. It is rewarding to receive compliments from our guests and would be even more rewarding to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya.

Warm Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,837 reviews
18.2 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,672 reviews
6.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing