We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation at a Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We went to the Maya for a family vacation to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. Our group consisted of 9 people; my husband and me, our son and daughter-in-law, and 5 grandchildren ages 3-17. We traveled from St. Louis, and the rest of our party traveled from Milwaukee. My husband and I arrived around 11 AM. We were greeted by the Apple rep at the hotel, and at check-in were given a nice fruit punch drink. Our rooms were not yet ready, so we were given bracelets to have lunch and explore the resort. We changed into our suits in the hospitality room, and walked to the beach and had lunch at one of the grills. By the time we returned, our rooms were ready. We had reserved two sets of 2 adjoining rooms each to accommodate our group of nine. Each of these sets of rooms had one King junior suite connected to a junior suite with two doubles. We had asked for the suites to be in the same building if possible, and they would not guarantee that they would. However, they were not only in the same building, but rooms right next to each other, so we had 4 suites right next to each other on the third floor of building 65, nearer to the lobby and restaurants. We were greeted in our room with a chilling bottle of champagne, and a welcome fruit plate. We all received invitations to an Apple Vacations dinner on the beach that evening which was wonderful. The rest of our group arrived around 4 PM and their check-in went smoothly.

The kids loved all the pools and the beach also. The wave pool only runs for about 15 minutes per hour on the hour, so we didn't use it much as you would have to plan your day around when it was running. The other pools were great though. There were lots of activities if you chose to participate. The ice cream stand by the pools was a favorite.

We had another chilling bottle of champagne on the second day, and some amazing towel art. The housekeeper did love-birds for our anniversary. She did a birthday cake for our son (in towel art) whose birthday was that week also. Many different animals, people and other things were done very well in the towel art.

We ate at El Rancho and loved it so much we booked it for a second time. The second time was not nearly as good as the first, so there can be some inconsistency in the restaurants. Another thing that was different about the two times we ate there, was that the waiter the first time was excellent and the waiter at the second dinner there seemed hurried and dis-interested. We ate at La Marina and it was very good as was La Geisha. We ate at La Geisha for our last night, and the food was excellent, as was the entertainment, but we all felt rushed to finish each course. They were grabbing your plates before you were finished. Breakfast was great in the buffets.

We went into Playa del Carmen one evening and missed the last shuttle to town, so took a cab. It cost us $100 round trip for 6 people in a larger car, so it is definitely worthwhile to take the shuttle for $5 per person.

We used the resort photographer for a family photo session and it went very well. They took lots of photos for us to choose from, and the prices were reasonable.

The only really negative thing anyone mentioned was the lack of clear signs and directions to find your way around this "HUGE" property. The signs were few and far between and not very helpful. We didn't notice a single sign that marked "You are Here" to make it easier to figure out where you were. It takes a few days to feel comfortable finding your way around the resorts.

Overall, our week was wonderful family time together, and hopefully will be remembered for a long time to come.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eletamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for allowing us the honor to host your recent holidays; our mission is to make every stay as close to perfection as possible by ensuring our guests have the most relaxing experience.

We really appreciate your recognition for our service. Your comments regarding the kindness and effectiveness of our staff will also go far way in encouraging our team. To know that you love our resort is very important to us.

In regard to your comments about our signage, we have boards around our buildings and our common areas to help to our guests to find the places they wish to visit. Our Front Desk and Public Relations' staff is always more than happy to assist our guests when they need any information about the different areas. However, this matter is being reviewed with the Department Head and a new project to improve our signage is taking place, to be implemented soon.

Thank you very much for trusting us, and to the above, we are confident that you will soon be with us again. We look forward to it!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,938 - 1,944 of 5,106 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Packing to leave after 5 beautiful days at the Iberostar Maya. I've read a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor about Iberostar Maya and can't believe that anyone would rate this place less than "excellent". The wait staff & maid staff were super. The rooms were very clean with no smell of mold. The dining & buffets were exceptional. Every day I had water,fresh fruits & vegetables with ill side effects. The grounds are kept immaculate by an army of maintenance workers. There is a lot of walking involved and if you are not savvy you could get lost in this complex. I'm sorry I have to leave this paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us the absolute privilege of being your hosts by choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya for your most recent family vacation.

It was a pleasure to have been given the chance to serve you, and very encouraging to read that our service, facilities, our delicious food and various staff members contributed to making your trip even more memorable.

With your most recent trip to IBEROSTAR being so pleasurable, we are quite confident that you will be staying again at our hotel and therefore we sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A family could certainly stay right at the resort for a fabulous vacation that includes entertainment, relaxation, swimming, sunning, beach fun, dining, and shopping. Plan ahead for reservations, but select buffets are offered nightly without reservations. Figure all that out your first day and plan to hit at least a few of the themed restaurants. We went back and forth between the pools and the beach. We liked the differences in atmosphere and food types between the two locations. There is a lot to take in. Take the time to find out what is there and how to use it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
2  Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us about how your stay at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya went.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us and that you were able to take advantage of the activities as well as the other facilities offered in our resort.

We look forward to having the opportunity of hosting you once again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very Disappointed! We have stayed at Iberostar Paraiso Maya for the last 5 years and have NEVER been treated badly like this past June. My husband went to Lindo Theater bar to get drinks for us since no waitress was nearby and bartender told my husband that he was too busy and could not serve him. I asked to speak to boss and all he said was "sorry" We told him we had never been treated like that the last 5 years that we had stayed there. We always stay between 10-16 days and we pay to be served!! At restaurant across from Lindo Theater my husband asked for a coffee after dinner and waiter rolled his eyes with a mad face. Again we complained to Lomas Travel agent and concierge didn't care. My husband always tips everyone eventhough we don't have to since everything is all inclusive paid for. At restaurants by pool when we were seated it took forever to get drinks and at one time my husband had to get up to get napkins because no waiter would come to see what we needed. Customer service has surely changed from previous years. We no longer plan to stay there again and look forward to stay at another big resort in Playa del Carmen next year where hopefully they will care for us and enjoy the tips my husband will give them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya for your recent stay in Mexico.

We regret to hear that your experience in our resort this time was not what you were used to; of course that this is not the service we aim to provide to our guests; our Department Managers will be informed about this to take corrective actions because this kind of situations cannot go unnoticed.

We are sorry that the circumstances mentioned affected your vacation experience this time. We hope to have the opportunity to change your point of view in the future.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Resort not up to previous standards. Fountains, pool jacuzzis, and other non-working areas on display with 'caution tape' in many places that took away from the beauty of the resort and provided few opportunities for picture taking. The pool edges were littered with cups that were rarely picked up and many still there the following morning. Staws and other debris also littered the pool and was very unsanitary. I personably pulled 2 intoxicated people out of the pool (one was completely under water on the bottom of the pool and would have drowned). The other was roaming the pool with a 40oz Bubba Keg Cup bugging guests and unable to speak coherently. In both cases IB staff were slow to react to a potentially dangerous situation. We had our towels stolen on a few occasions and getting new ones was a hassle. Our mattress was completely worn out and you could hear springs every time you turned. One of our pillows also had pieces of stuffing coming out of the pillowcase. The food and staff overall were great but our overall experience was average. My previous IB stay was at Grand Punta Cana and that one was wonderful. I would have to rethink staying with IB again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
3  Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your honest review about our resort.

We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with our facilities. Our staff works on a maintenance roll throughout the year and the issues you encountered are clearly what we want to avoid for our guests. This information will be sent to our Maintenance Manager to take actions.

Moreover, we regret to hear about the unusual situation you experienced in our pool. IBEROSTAR is a family oriented hotel and our Security team is always on the lookout to prevent incidents or any disturbance to our guests. We already informed our Security Department about your comments to make sure this will not happen again.

Concerning your comment about our beds, we offer mattress toppers, extra pillows and blankets upon request, to soften the bed. Furthermore, following our guests' requests, our Housekeeping Department has purchased a different kind of mattresses, which are softer, and they will slowly replace the other ones as they get old.

We are sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations on your stay but we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to change your point of view regarding the above mentioned services, and to prove to you our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction.


Best regards,
Quality manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had an excellent trip to the Maya in April. We traveled as a family of 12, six adults and six kids all under 14. All 12 of us said it is the best vacation we have ever taken and hope to return to the Maya some time in the future.

The best part of our whole vacation was due to the Star Friends. They are everywhere! You see them running the events (ping pong tournament, archery tournaments, etc), at lunch, at the pool, and at the nightly entertainment. They got to know our names and made us feel special. My kids loved interacting with them as well.

There is so much to do at the resort. During the day, there is the beach, a wave pool, several huge pools and a lazy river. We tried scuba diving at the pool and hit the beach. (It was too windy for activities on the ocean, which was disappointing. It was no one's fault, and we still had plenty to do.)

After dinner, the entertainment team does a fabulous job putting on a different show every night. Some were better than others, but all were entertaining. My husband and I took part in several pre-shows that were hilarious. We competed in "Rum, Whisky, Tequila" (a partner switch dancing game), "Cocktail Party" (a funny musical chairs) and a game where you have to do the opposite as the Star Friend. We also participated in the "Ideal Couple Contest", which was the main show. It was a competition with other couples for the perfect Iberostar couple. We WON by the way. Hilarious.

There is also a kids show and afterwards they invite all kids to get up on stage and dance. My kids loved this. They sang "Hey Baby" and had a blast acting goofy on stage. There is also a "disco" at the shopping center that my kids loved. It was supposed to be a dance party for kids under 13, but the 6 kids in our group were the only ones there, so they ran around and danced like fools. Very fun!

The Star Friends made the week, because they really got to know us. They came up to us at lunch and thanked us for being in the shows. They knew our names and announced our arrival at the nightly entertainment. They put on hilarious pool side shows and mentioned us. We felt like superstars!

The rooms are large and very nice. There is a shower, jacuzzi bath, 2 double beds and a sunken living room with couch. The balconies have a swing. The staff makes characters out of the towels and leaves them for you on the bed. Everything is very clean.

The food is just OK. The Japanese place is great. I almost gave the hotel a 4 instead of a 5 because of the food not being great, but the rest of the week was so amazing that I couldn't rate it lower than a 5. All inclusive and tropical drinks were awesome too!

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. I can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking a walkway. I would avoid the jungle view because I heard another couple s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your invaluable feedback. We appreciate your sharing your opinion with other travelers and for clarifying so many important points!

Thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned and for your constructive comments, this feedback helps us in order keep working hard to maintain our standards and also to improve our service for our guests; our staff will be happy to know that thanks to their outstanding service you had a great memories from our property.

Thank you very much for trusting us, we hope to see you again in our resort in the near future and provide the fantastic service that you and your family deserve.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I want to caution travelers to this resort to keep an eye on their belongings and not to take anything too nice with you. After returning home I realized that I was missing 2 new pair of shoes and a pair of shorts. I noticed a few reviews that noted the maids move shoes up on the shelves where you can't see them and really get into your belongings; folding them and basically getting too close to things. We also had a towel taken from our chairs out by the pool. There was a pair of sandals in our room that suddenly appeared on Day 2 that weren't ours as well. It's very disappointing to figure out that you've been swindled after spending plenty of money at the resort and generously tipping maids.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sinmonstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya staff and managers, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation.

We are very sorry that your holiday was clouded by this experience you have explained. We would like to assure you that every concern presented by our guests is of utmost importance to us, above all, cases where our guests’ personal belongings are concerned.

We are very sorry to read that you were displeased with our maids, all of us work hard to strive for our guests’ satisfaction. The standard they must follow is to accommodate some of our guests' things, which are around the room (not inside bags, of course) and most guests are happy with this. However, when any guest feels uncomfortable with this service, they can inform their concierge in the building and they will forward your request to our maids. Our housekeepers are truly committed to offering an excellent and personalized service. We would also like to mention that our security staff checks every employee, including handbags, and use metal detectors, when leaving or entering the hotel complex. That way we can be completely sure that what belongs to the resort, stays in the resort. Our managers will receive your review to take it into account. We strongly advise our guests to report everything during their stay, because we keep missing items and we have the opportunity to search for things.

Please accept our apologies. We hope to have the opportunity to offer you our hospitality again at IBEROSTAR to prove to you our commitment with our guests’ satisfaction and to restore your confidence in our brand.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,852 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,264 reviews
7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £193 - £551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing