We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a Perfect Family Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be a Perfect Family Getaway”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I felt it was necessary to write this review based on our most recent family experience. I would like to thank TripGuy.com and Lomas travel for their customer service. If you are planning a trip, I highly recommend reaching out to Mitch at TripGuy.Com

The Resort facilities, cleanliness and service were a 5. The Family junior suite is by far the best for families who like to spread out. The staff, grounds crew and servers could not be anymore pleasant. We are a family of 4 with a 15 and 13 year old and we all thoroughly enjoyed the resort.
The major downside to this resort would be the food. l am a bit picky when it comes to my food and I felt like the resort chooses not to address this ongoing problem. Breakfast consists of your traditional resort breakfast buffet and unfortunately turns out to be the best meal of the day. The rest of the day is filled with meats and fishes of different varieties that in my opinion were sub par. Room service after 11 was less than desirable and had a minimum wait of 45 minutes.
I had low expectations of the food based on previous reviews and unfortunatley the resort did nothing to change my opinion.
I would highly recommend this resort for anyone who wants a 4 star resort with a 1 star food rating.

Room Tip: Building 65 is right in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity of being your hosts by choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya for your most recent vacation. We appreciate your taking the time to write down your review on how your holiday went at our resort.

We are grateful for your praise about the cleanliness of our property and our high quality level of service.

On the other hand, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations with our gastronomy. We will send your review to our Executive Chef for his consideration, he is indeed always open to receive honest feedback from our guests and takes actions based on them..

We genuinely hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again in the near future and as such, we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,747
    1,389
    489
    176
    115
See reviews for
2,842
1,059
42
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Food (1) breakfast is good, (2) lunch is very good, (3) dinner was OK. Was expecting a little more when it came to food because this is a 5-start place, but it rarely met expectations. I'd recommend a little less variety and concentrate on quality instead. I really like the lunch buffet, by far the best of all meals.

Pools were great, very large and accommodating. I really liked the variety of smaller and larger connecting pools.

Service was excellent all the way around. Only 1 hiccup was during check-in when he couldn't find our reservation because somehow he kept reading the wrong name off the itinerary we gave him.

Room Tip: I'd recommend rooms closer to the front, more accessible at night and for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Npho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for allowing us the honor of hosting your recent holidays.

Our goal is to make every stay as close to perfection as possible ensuring our guests with the most relaxing experience. We are pleased to know you were truly happy with your stay.

Regarding your comments about our Front Desk, we apologize about that mishap.

Your feedback is the best source of information that we have, to know if we are going on the right track. We took note of the areas you mentioned, in order to go over them with the Department Managers.

Thank you for your constructive comments and for your suggestions, which will be taken into consideration. We hope to host you again in the near future and provide you with the great service you deserve.

Sunny Regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam Valley, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was the best family vacation so far. The room, food, service, shows and pools were great. We tried every restaurant and have no complaints. The steakhouse was awesome. The Marina (mainly served fish) was absolutely wonderful. The Mexican restaurant was great. The Japanese hibachi restaurant was ok. The pools were never super crowded and were well kept. The grounds were absolutely immaculate. We can not wait to return.
I can not put into words how wonderful Iberostar Paraiso Maya was!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our family resort and for your taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your experience.

We are very happy that you and your family had a wonderful time with us enjoying our Seafood, Steakhouse and Japanese restaurants, as well as our pools and all of our facilities in general. We always do our best in order to make our guests feel like a star and we are very glad to know that as a team we fulfilled your expectations.

We are quite confident that you will return to our beautiful resort IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya in the future and as such, we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a great time at Iberostar Paraiso Maya...friendly staff. Tennis drills were fun and golf course was a nice course. The Spa was superior to my expectations. Food is just okay. Beach is nice but claim your chairs early...people stake out their spots the night before.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire team of IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude for choosing our resort for your family vacation.

We are very glad to know that you felt relax during your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to play tennis. Our staff will be congratulated for the excellent service provided during your visit.

It is also important to mention that booking lounge chairs on the beach and in the pool areas is not permitted. We are working on ways to make this fair for everyone. Our Management is working closely with our Security team to reinforce this rule.

We appreciate your preference and we are already looking forward to welcoming you and your family back for another great vacation!

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethpage, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a great time on this vacation! The grounds, pools, and beaches are well kept. The food and service are exceptional! The only two things I'd like to see are a good map of the grounds because the property has a total of four hotels on it by Iberostar and the fountain as you came into the hotel was empty and looked atrocious!!! No one wants to pay that kind of money for a four star hotel and the first thing they see is something broken.

Room Tip: Yes, there was Wifi, but only two devices per family could use the username and password in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Domenico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the IBEROSTAR team, we would like to thank you for sharing your kind words with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in our resort, with our pools, our beach, and our lovely staff.

On the other hand, we are sorry that your impression of our hotel was not the best. As for your comments about our fountain, we would like to comment that in order to keep it in good shape, it is in constant maintenance and for that reason, you may sometimes find it empty. Likewise, we would like to comment that in our buildings and near our pool, we have maps carved out in stone. We are very sorry that these issues caused an inconvenience.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel and give you the excellent service that you and your family deserve.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Besides my room flooding at 1 am. The last night my kids and I where there. Room 6631. The over all stay was great. And very friendly bartenders with great service. There was lots to see and do fir myself and my kids. We would love to come back again sometime. Housekeeping in my room was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgriep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your lovely comments about our resort with other Tripadvisor’s readers.

Thank you very much for your valuable comments about our resort. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the services provided and also with our friendly staff.
With respect to your comment about your last night in our resort, we are really sorry about that. We have a maintenance program to avoid this kind of situations and be sure that we will send your comment to our Maintenance department to follow this up in order to prevent this from happening again.

With your recent trip to IBEROSTAR being so pleasurable, we hope that you will stay again at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya. We sincerely look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia Falls, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a group of about 30 people stay at the Iberostar Maya for a wedding the week off June 29th, with the last family checking out July 6, 2014. The resort is gorgeous and immaculate. There are always staff cleaning, primping and pruning. It is a very large resort which is really 3 resorts in 1. I enjoyed walking the grounds since they were so impressive, but there was always a cart ready to take you to another part of the resort if you were in a hurry or did not feel like the walk.
Each set of rooms had a private pool. There was also a water polo pool, a wave pool, a lazy river and of course the main poor with a swim up bar. The slushy drinks were a bit weak, but the bartenders were happy to add a shot of whatever you wanted if you asked. The bar was well stocked.
We ate at several of the restaurants. We did not have a problem getting reservations except for one Friday night when our choices were limited because the hotel was fully booked. We loved eating at the Museum restaurant. It was elegant and the food delicious and nicely presented. The servings were not real large, but you could order how ever much you wanted.
We also at the steakhouse which was excellent, and the French restaurant which was superb. The Japanese restaurant was good, but typical hibachi. The only buffet we tried was at the Marina restaurant and it was delicious with lots of seafood and caviar. I avoided the large buffet restaurant because it is not something I usually enjoy.
The wedding was held atop the gazebo built like a Mayan ruin. It was beautifully done with a violinist, a champagne reception and a Mariachi band. The reception was set up on a lovely area of the beach and they did a wonderful buffet of seafood, steak, salads and all the trimmings.
I cannot speak highly enough about the staff. Everyone was helpful and cordial. If they couldn't answer my question they got someone who could.
Our room was immaculate and maid service was fast yet thorough. I cannot recommend this resort highly enough. I want to go back again, and try their resorts in other places as well.
Special thanks to Enrique, Ronaldo, Pamela and Imelda.

Room Tip: We were in the building 63 towards the back. We didn't have much of a view from the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dj_bryan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management of IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Your fabulous experience may encourage other travelers to choose us as their wedding destination in Mexico.

Your kind comments are very much appreciated, be sure that they will be forwarded to the Managers and the rest of the staff.

Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing us for such a special event; we hope that you will give us the opportunity to offer you our hospitality again at IBEROSTAR.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,829 reviews
18.2 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,114 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,670 reviews
6.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing