We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge resort great for a longer stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I traveled with my BF in October we stayed for a week so we had a lot of time to experience much of the resort.
Guest room-we had a suite with a full living room and separate bedroom. The room was well appointed and very clean, we barely used the fully stocked kitchen, but if you plan to cook your own meals it appeared to have everything you would need.
The bed was fine-comfortable. The bathroom had two sinks plus a separate sink outside of the bathroom. There was a large soaking tub in the bedroom. We never once ran out of towels.

Pools-so many pools, we enjoyed the one with a bar most near our guest room. We found the bartender and server Umberto and Julio to be professional, helpful, extra friendly and overall a delight. They greeted us like they were sincerely happy to see us every time we visited and let us know about drink specials. We used the cabanas to stay comfortable in the hot humid air, and they helped us with the arrangements.

Food-Okay here I was less impressed, we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet, but the other restaurants we just okay. I am not a foodie but I do have insight as a hospitality professional and I can say the food was just so so. We didn’t try every restaurant though so maybe I missed something. Room service was fast and professional.

The resort is way out of the way so you will have to rent a car or arrange transport if you want to go in to town. You can catch the collectivo on the highway but the driveway to the lobby is about ½ a mile long, for us in the hot heat and humidity getting around was a bit uncomfortable even just walking to the pool and the restaurant…

Bottom line is I would recommend this resort and I would go back.

Room Tip: Grand Mayan is much closer to the facilities than Mayan palace or the other building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WanderlustSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,848 - 1,854 of 3,883 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had never been to this area before, but have traveled to several other resorts in Mexico.
Pro's: Resort itself is beautiful...tons of gorgeous pools, great atmosphere, unique little pool bars, fun restaurants, nice staff.
Con's: The majority of the hotel is in the jungle, there are no ocean front rooms and i'm pretty sure no ocean view rooms either. If you are looking for a beachy vacation, this is not it. Hanging out by the pool is great, but it's silly to travel to a place where the beaches are beautiful and then not have it anywhere in sight. The property itself is on the beach, but it is not situated in a way that you are really looking at it unless you go out of your way to seek it out. Also the resort is so sprawling that you have to take the golf cart shuttle from you room to get to the pool, restaurants, etc. We are younger and were fine with walking (probably about a half mile from our building to the main lobby), but we had older people in our party that it was more difficult for. We really felt like anytime we left our room it was a major ordeal to get over to the main buildings. Last complaint was that the rooms had a slightly musty smell, I have read other reviews that said the same. Not sure what that's all about.
Had a fine time, but if I were to do it over again I would find a resort that has better view and ocean access and was less spread out.

Room Tip: Building 1 would be ideal for access to lobby, pools, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VacaGirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear VacaGirl25 :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and we are grateful for your kind words about our overall staff’s service, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and this is very useful to us.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.

All best wishes,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Grand Mayan is grand. Have been going there for 10+ years. Laid back, beautiful resort.

We hang out at the Grand Mayan pool most of the day (be sure to get one of the queen size beds tucked away in the rain-forest vegitation just off the pool deck), and then we walk out to the main road, catch the Cancun-Playa air conditioned, shuttle for $2/person and eat at a different restaurant every nite in Playa del Carmen.

The resort is so big, that you can put 5000 people there, and you'd feel like you're by yourself if you want.

The main pool (next to the beach) is one of the largest pools I've ever seen.

9 hole Jack Nicklaus golf course. good to play once during the week.

Check with the activities staff at the main pool, for lots of things going on during the day.

Room Tip: Avoid the Grand mayan jungle buildings if possible. They're pretty far out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Dennis B :

Thank you so much for commenting about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are very pleased to learn we continue to make your vacations memorable.

At The Grand Mayan we are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and this affirms our commitment.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My first surprise was the size of the hotel hiding into the road, the attention was excellent, the food was the real flavor of mexican cuisine, that living in San Diego for 26 years I have already forgotten. They have a show that Las Vegas will be jealous, with dinner, for half of the price.
Close to Tulum and other archeological places, "Zenotes" and the natural water parks ....
unbelievable. What are you waiting!!! GO

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Patricia E :

We are very grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to find out you enjoyed many of our facilities, our food and entertainment options. We truly appreciate as well, your kind comment about our staff’s attention, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy.It is an honour to be the scenario for a perfect vacation.

It will be our privilege to welcome you back!

Happily,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Grand Mayan on the Mayan Palace Resort. Beautiful resort on the beach. Pool is unbelievable. The Brio Spa and massage are a must! Loved dinner at the a Harvest Moon overlooking the beach. Activities are minimal, however thre are tours and excursions that can be booked. Weather was gorgeous in the 80's. Had a great time.

Room Tip: Stay in Mayan Palace buildings 1 or 2 for walking distance to everything. However shuttle is availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrvlerVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear TrvlerVirginia :

Thank you very much for submitting your review of your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to find out that you enjoyed the pool, the beach and ourBrio spa’s services.

We are also happy to learn that your dinner was enjoyable at our Havana Moon Restaurant. We are certain our culinary experts will gladly receive your feedback, as they always look to please our guests with their creations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Happily,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Visited the resort with family, beautiful facility but way in the middle of the jungle. Average 30 mins drive from the airport to the resort. We got to the resort at 11pm due to airline issue (AIRTRAN), which is another bad review to write after this review. Greeted well by the staff even in the whee of night (11pm check in). Deposit on hold for the stay was a whopping $650.00, The facility doesn't accept cash, everything is charge in your room which I was not told, through many e-mails my wife and I had been in contact with the resort weeks before we arrive there (including the deposit). The building we were booked was 15mins walk to the pools, you have to wait for the shuttle that goes back in forth to the buildings and main lobby for max of 10 mins if you miss the incoming shuttle. When we arrive to our building the room had a musty smell, including the bed sheets, pillows and towels (reason why - when you check out, you have to shut off the aircondition or else they will charge you if you left it on). Internet access is not free, you have to pay $7 / hr / device or $90 / week / device. Average price for food $10 to $30 a la carte, buffet $40 - 70 per adult (kids 1/2 price). Laundry $4 / load (washer/dryer) only one pair per building. The market inside the resort has almost what you need but prices are doubled than walmart or mega which is not even cheap compare to US based walmart. To get out of the resort there shuttle charge $5/ person( one way) while taxi charge $23 one way (max of 4 passengers). The resort has a beautiful beach but you can't swim bec of slippery- ragged edge rocks below the water which is totally a dissapointment to this expensive resort. The timeshare people were aggresive, but my wife and I was able to avoid them in selling the property only took us 2 hours including the wait and free buffet breakfast which I will say was great. Also don't be obligated to give tip to the any waiters, because the tip (15%) is already included in your tab. The positive side, the whole resort was amazing (pools, lots of cabbanas), people who work there are polite and good workers.

Room Tip: Try to get the mayan palace buildings 1 to 3 close to the pools and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANRA2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear ANRA2020:

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a detailed review about your experience while staying at The Grand Mayan. We are glad to learn you enjoyed some our facilities and our staff’s service, as this is what we strive for every day.

All the same, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance. We will gladly share this with the appropriate areas, as creating ideal vacation experiences is our main goal.We would like to point out as well that our prices are extremely competitive compared to other resorts.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Positives, beautiful resort, great deli with a grocery store, close to Playa Del Carmen. You can take shuttle for $5 per person, one way to Playa Del Carmen. The Walmart is not any cheaper than the resort's store. The deli has good sandwiches and desert.

Negatives, Stayed in Bldg 8 on first floor and it was so loud. You could hear everyone talking in hall, doors slamming and one morning I had to ask the maids to keep it down. The ocean is very rocky. Their lobby is not air conditioned so it was very humid. They need more fans. There is no Jacuzzi.

When leaving we called for bell boy, but shuttle picked us up. When we got to lobby the head bell person read us a riot act about when we call for a bell boy, we should have taken the shuttle and then when we try to give him a tip for putting luggage in taxi, he refused it. Bad attitude.

Other than that it is a nice place to stay. We went in October and it was only about 50% full, which was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Rhonda P :

We are glad to hear about your visit to The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the sandwiches and dessert options at our deli.

We generally receive very favorable comments about our staff and the service they provide; unfortunately in this instance, it would appear that is not the case. All your feedback will be shared with the appropriate areas and we will continue working towards exceeding all our guests’ expectations.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,279 reviews
5 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya by Artisan - All Inclusive - Adults Only
2.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,325 reviews
4.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,036 reviews
4.8 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £150 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am offering suites at The Vidanta Grand Mayan Riviera Maya resort, located on the Yucatan Peninsula. This resort has everything you could ever need to experience true happiness: JOYA, a resident Cirque du Soleil show; five luxury resort hotels; world-class restaurants; spectacular pools; shopping boutiques; a Jack Nicklaus golf course; indulgent spas and the most attentive staff in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing