We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is our third trip to the Grand Mayan. The rooms, pool, restaurants and grounds are wonderful, The real problem is the approach to selling time shares. At check-in we declined even under heavy pressure. They then called the room and left a message, The third day they called and said that as RCI members we were entitled to a free week deposited into our RCI account. They said this was based on a legal settlement. I would only need to join them for a free breakfast, no sales pitch and they would give us the certificate as well as 10% off during our stay. I said OK as long as there was not going to be a sales pitch. I showed up and they demanded an ID and a credit card saying that this was necessary to prove my identity, The assigned tour guide shows up and starts asking questions about my timeshare fees at my other resorts. I asked why she cared and she went into a sales pitch about buying here with no annual fees and how much money I would save over the next 20 years. I got up to walk away and she demanded that I stay and talk to her manager. I walked away with out my free week and 10% discount. What a rip off. As I said we love the resort. Their heavy handed sales process is unacceptable as well as telling people they get the certificate and 10% off for showing up and then don't give the promised promotions. We have recommended the resort to many of our friends in the past, probably won't again.

Room Tip: Say in building 1 or 2
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,794)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,754 - 1,760 of 3,794 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed 2 weeks ago for 5 days at the grand mayan. It is a beautiful property with many pools. As stated by some before, it is large so walking to the lobby and restaurants is lengthy. We did not mind but some might find it too much. We had a car and that made our trip nicer. We attended the timeshare presentation. It was horrible. Our tour guide was friendly and nice but when they tried to pressure us their salesperson Laureen got angry with us and said we should not attend these things if we are not interested in buying. They also offered us a free week stay with the resort, they took my email and said they would send the certificate. I dont expect to ever see that. If you attend keep all the paper work they give you they will try to get out of giving you the gifts. Other than the timeshare business, this is a great resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Littlesheb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have a timeshare with Mayan Palace and come to this location every year because we love the area. As other reviewers have noted, long walks to pool and restaurants, and parking is a bit of a chore. Internet is not good and furniture is a bit dated. That said, there are plenty of positives. The room are spacious, comfortable and very functional, the grounds and pool are amazing, the staff treat you royally, food quality is excellent and the golf course is fun. The beach being too rocky to swim at is unfortunate and not sure that will ever be fully resolved. We rent a car, go to Puerto Morales to snorkel, Playa Del Carmen to shop and dine, Tulum for laid back adventure.

Room Tip: Close to the lobby for access to parking lot, trolleys, ....
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The property is really nice but when you stay there you get nickeled and dimed to death. They charge $17 dollars per day for internet service or $90 dollars per week. The food at the restaurants are overpriced. $300 dollars for a dinner for 4 in Mexico! Common man!!!! I could buy the same meal at RuthChris steak house for $35 dollars a piece in PDX. Then they charged a $500 dollar deposit for a wheelchair. A new one can be bought for $275. The maids were great and the maintenance staff kept the property looking nice. The pools were nice but a long walk to get to. Spa services and the Massages were nice but twice as much as back home.

Room Tip: E-mail concierge to confirm your arrival.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 6x6elkslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear 6x6elkslayer :

Thank you so much for choosing The Grand Mayan for your vacation and for sharing your review about your stay. We are delighted to find out that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We are happy as well that you liked our pools and spa services.

It appears as though not all your expectations were met. Your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas in order to continue working towards exceeding all our guests’ expectations. We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

Your comments are always appreciated.

Warm regards,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were able to use our friends timeshare for the week and had a good time. The resort had been undergoing construction the last time we were there in 2005 and it looks much nicer. As other reviews have mentioned, this place is pretty bad when it comes to the timeshare sales pitch, "only 45 minutes", right. We learned that the hard way last time so we said we would pass this time, however, if we didn't go, we wouldn't have all of the privileges we had before. We said we would go and he gave us the upgraded wristbands and also asked for a $10 deposit. We didn't go but figured how much time we saved and still got access to everything we wanted, like the gym and got % off food in the end, it was a good deal.
The beach as others have said sucks. The rocks are everywhere. If you don't care to swim in the ocean then it's fine but others were complaining about them everytime we were at the beach. The pools are beautiful and the pool for the Grand Mayan guests only was nice and quiet for those who want to relax.
The rooms were nice and big, plenty of room for everyone. We had the two bedroom suite and the plunge pool was nice in the afternoon when it got hot. The kitchen was nice to have since this isn't really an AI resort. Beware though, the dishes are washed by the previous guests so I recommend that if you are cooking, re-wash them...gross. Like many hotels in Mexico, the doors are basically hollow andy anything going on in the halls sounds like it is in your room, bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.
Most of the buildings are pretty far from the restaurants and beach area. Ask for a room in buildings 1, 2 or 7. Ours was in 5 and was a walk. We were fine but for those who have ambulation issues it could become annoying and old. They do have a little shuttle that goes around the resort but don't know how long you have to wait to get picked up.
Restaurants are expensive, no surprise there but the food was really good at all of the ones we went to. Gong was asian and had amazing sushi rolls, Balche was the pool side snack bar with good food and Havana Moon on the beach had really good lo mein and surf and turf. One thing to remember when tipping, if you choose to do so, we were told by the staff that if you want to tip your server, give it to them yourself, not on the check you sign for. That tip goes to the entire resort staff. I don't mind tipping the entire staff but some people probably don't realize this.
The resort if about a 20 minute ride to either Cancun or Playa, pretty much in the middle. There is a shuttle from the resort to Playa that runs on a schedule for 50 pesos or $5 US dollars. The shuttle doesn't drop you off near Walmart anymore, it is on 1st and 26th streets. If you use this to go to Playa for grocery shopping, Walmart is about .5 miles away and Mega just under that. It can be done but would recommend taking a taxi back to the resort after shopping instead of lugging everything. We also thought bringing down our own reusable grocery bags was a good idea, saved on all the small plastic bags they give you. My own opinion is to shop at Mega, much CLEANER, nicer, bigger and well, Walmart has a repuation in the US that still applies in Mexico...the selection at Mega is much nicer too, produce looked more fresh and the meat at Walmart was sitting out in the open, gross.
All of the staff were great, always willing to help when asked. Wouldn't normally stay this far from town unless it was AI but since it was a good deal with the timeshare, it was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor and in buildings 1, 2 or 7.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank karebearss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

CONS:

We were warned by the first guest we met at the resort: "If you plan to stay seven days here, be prepared to spend $1,000." I didn't want to beleive that, but he was right. Even though we ate out at least 6 times during our stay I still incurred a $1,000 bill at the end of our stay.

They don't have wi-fi, which blows! Its $7.00 a day and they have a weekly package.

The shuttle serve between buildings sucks. During my seven day stay I was only able to catch the shuttle four times.

DO NOT DO THE PRESETATION!!!!! Its 6 hours!

The drinks can be a bit watered down. But the bartender at the Golf Restaurant (the name of the place escapes me now) made the best and strongest margaritas!

PROS:

The resort was immaculate! They cleaned day and night. The check-in was painless as well.
The food was good (I particularly loved "Blue Fish". The fish and shrimp tacos were amazing!)

The resort is truly for rest and relaxtion. Minimal noise is the best if you want to just chill. The beach cabanas were nice and its not crowded there at all. There was always room for us aroubd the pools and on the beach.

The pools are great and at night they warm them for great nighttime swimming.

The restaurants on the resort were beautfially maintained and at night they always have live music.

The best restarant is the Italian one.

Overall I had a great time and I got to sleep, sleep, and sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure you e-mail the concierge at leats a week in advance and ask for a room in buildings 1-4...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zvwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We just returned from The Grand Mayan....what a beautiful place! We had a 2BR/2BA with a kitchenette and living room. It was very spacious and the decor was very nice. There were 5 of us and we were incredibly comfortable.
I've seen other reviews that complain about the size of the resort and not being close to the pools and other amenities but it wasn't a big deal. We called and a shuttle was would pick us up in a few minutes.....no big deal!
The pools are the BEST! You have so many choices.....the huge pool(s) that are shared with The Mayan Palace or the private Grand Maya " inner pool" or infinity pool over looking the lake.
We had a range of ages (17-55) and everyone had a fabulous time....I recommend the Tulum trip if you enjoy some history as well as beautiful scenery!! Also, Playa del Carmen is really fun. Wish we would have done Coco Bongo.....heard it was an awesome experience....next time for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,092 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
4.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Tres Rios
Hacienda Tres Rios
#67 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,448 reviews
5.8 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,991 reviews
3.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £148 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am offering suites at The Vidanta Grand Mayan Riviera Maya resort, located on the Yucatan Peninsula. This resort has everything you could ever need to experience true happiness: JOYA, a resident Cirque du Soleil show; five luxury resort hotels; world-class restaurants; spectacular pools; shopping boutiques; a Jack Nicklaus golf course; indulgent spas and the most attentive staff in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing