We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort, skip any version of the timeshare presentation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great resort, skip any version of the timeshare presentation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have visited this resort 4 or 5 times, and it suits us perfectly. Beautiful grounds, relatively attractive suites, decent restaurants and unbelievably pleasant and accommodating staff. That being said, we finally succumbed to the timeshare pitch and duly presented ourselves at the appointed time for what we had been repeatedly assured was a ONE HOUR "disclosure update." Three and a half hours later, after being handed off from Luby to Shauna to Carlo to Dorothy then back to Carlo and, finally, to Jamie,,,we escaped with our lives and wallets intact. While we were given a discount on all room charges for the week and an added incentive of another 500 peso credit, we missed an entire morning of glorious weather at the pristine pool. I don't know about you, but pool time has a value all its own and, on balance, I made the wrong choice. Next time around, the chase on!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabellasGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,684
    1,128
    383
    201
    173
See reviews for
1,511
1,206
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,099)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

First time at Grand Mayan Riviera, RCI swap, 2 couples; were provided 2ea "hotel" rooms, decent location. This is a very large resort; had magnificent pool area, beach, and 18 hole par3 golf. RESORT PRO'S...... Fine dining resturants (3ea) were uniformly good with good service. Pool area provided good service, call early for cabana. Thanksgiving "fiesta" was good, however with few attendees, no table service, so-so show... RESORT CON'S..... Resort map not drawn to scale, difficult to find specific locations, few direction signs; also night path lighting very poor, very dark, confusing, bring a flashlight. Car parking poor, few spaces, big potholes; needs to be improved. BIGGEST CON.... promised 45 min vacation presentation was 3 1/2 hours; 3ea closers..digusting and certainly not worth the 2 free rounds of golf. Don't waste your time!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
DearBruce H :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. It is nice to learn you enjoyed the Thanksgiving fiesta and really thank you for your kind comment about our staff’s service, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation.

We hope to welcome you back and really impress you.

Warmest regards,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We are Grand Mayan owners and this is our first time at this location. We were a little disappointed in our room that had a musty smell and mold on the drapes. Other than that, we had a good location in building 5. Similar to the other reviews, it is a beautiful property and you do have to know what to expect. We have a 1-bedroom so we go into town and get some food to have breakfast during the week (there's a shuttle for about $5/pp every 2 hours so no, you don't have to pay for a taxi every time as some people have indicated). It drops you one block from the major grocery store. Also, there are plenty of happy hours at the pools, places to get sandwiches and ways to not spend a lot of money if you choose not to. Yes, there is a an owners meeting in exchange for discounts but you can say "no". This property's employees seem to be more friendly than Cabo's and they go out of their way to say "Buenos Dias" to you and attend to your needs. We have owned another timeshare and are very pleased with our experience with the Mayan.

Room Tip: Buildings 1-6 are closest to the pools and require less transportation and are withing walking dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pams80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We are a 'couple', meeting 3 friends, and became very disappointed quickly. We knew it was a time-share type resort, but the sales 'pitch' and focus on the resort's profit was never-ending!

Our 'apartment' was designed well... except there were NO towel racks, and all the furniture was uncomfortable for sitting. It was reasonably clean, but I wouldn't want a child playing on the floor. Quiet for sleep, we were in Jungle Bldg. 11.

The food at a couple of the restaurants was pretty good, we especially liked the Green Break & the waiter -Lorenzo- was tops! Young man, Alonzo or Alphonso, handing out towels at the pool was a delight & seemed interested in us having a good time. The front desk & concierge were painful and could not provide honest information.

The 2 tours we did planned through the resort's "Mexican Tour" group were very poor. Late, run-down vans, guides poorly trained, and focused on profit for them or their allied businesses. We did an excellent tour with Mayan Explorers, so had a real comparison. They were not allowed on the property to pick us up!

This was not a good experience. I've traveled in Peru & Australia extensively, a bit in Tahiti & New Zealand... all of which I'd do again. But not the Grand Mayan Riviera Maya or its affiliates.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
DearAshly U :

We are pleased you chose to stay at The Grand Mayan for your vacation. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. It will be our privilege to share it with them, specifically the staff mentioned; we are certain theywill be happy to receive it.We are glad to learn as well that you liked our Green Break restaurant.

However, we are concerned to learn about the inconveniences experienced while staying with us. Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration and will be shared with all areas concerned, in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation.

We are grateful for your feedback.

Sincerely,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was our second visit so we knew exactly what to expect. People who are disappointed with their vacation at the Grand Mayan clearly have not read the many great reviews here on tripadvisor. It's best to know what to expect instead of simply booking a trip, being dissatisfied, then leaving an unfair review for others. I hope this information is helpful.

First, we never attend timeshare presentations, period. I will not waste my time as I am not in the market for more weeks. You will be 'greeted' by a timeshare rep after check-in, who will try and sign you up for an information breakfast. No more than an hour: right. If you are happy to spend much of one day being hassled just in order to get a few discounts, go ahead by all means. If not, just be firm. They will call your room a couple of times to try and get you to attend, then give up. This is not uncommon practice at time share resorts. Of the people we met who complained about their stay, most were upset with the sales pitch and the high pressure sales tactics. So, be warned.

Like all, or most resorts in Mexican jungle ecosystems, there will be a slight musty smell in the room. It is alleviated when you run the air conditioning. You can spray something around if it bothers you. We have never experienced any damp or mould in the rooms. They are simply beautiful. Both king size beds were more comfortable than the last time we stayed 3 years ago. I suspect they have changed mattresses. Service is wonderful everywhere on the property. Staff are charming and helpful. Most know a little English but gosh, you folk who complain about language difficulties or food that isn't as good as at home, should take your vacations at home. You will be happier. This is a luxury resort, prices are commensurate. You are in another country. The quality is terrific, especially when compared with some of the awful fare served up at many of the all inclusives in Mexico. Lots of great restaurant options to satisfy everyone.

If you want to save money..don't stay here. Or you can always rent a car and shop for your food in Playa. Be aware that while the kitchen is lovely, the equipment is minimal. You will need everything from paper towels and salt and pepper to plastic wrap and herbs. Bring a few basics with you. As others have said, the buildings are spread out as the resort is large. If you have difficulty walking, email the concierge and request a room in one of the first six buildings. They can't always accommodate every request but they will try. They will also sign you up for the free shuttle from the airport (you pay 15 dollars for the return trip.) We saw lots of people being driven back and forth around the grounds but we loved walking through the property and seeing the coatis, iguanas and glorious coloured birds. At night the whole place is lit up, it's just magical.

Yes, the beach is rocky.. They are working on it. So, if you are a beach person, stay somewhere else. However the pools are huge and glorious, there's never a problem finding a spot in the sun or the shade, whether you like action and activities, or simply a little peace and quiet. Lastly, the resort is one of dozens on a long strip between Cancun and Playa. All the resorts have shuttles, for a reasonable price, and taxi rates are controlled. If you do not rent a car, these are your options. If you feel hemmed in at a luxury resort for a week or two, stay in Cancun or Playa, especially if you are youngsters looking for action. Grand Mayan is a laid back, beautiful resort primarily for those who want to relax and have some fun with friends or family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Vickio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Grand Mayan and had a great time! We stayed in the "Jungle" and our room was superb! The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the restaurants were numerous and the food was delicious. I can tell you I have never seen so many swimming pools in one location in my life. The grounds were spotless as were the pools and beach area, in fact I cannot think of one thing that could have been improved upon. I highly recommend this resort for anyone looking to spend a very relaxing holiday in Mexico!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moe106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Loved every minute of our stay... Great for families! The resort itself is beautiful and very modern. They even have shuttles to move from one side to the other, including the golf course. Great entertainment activities for all ages. Restaurants were ok but a bit pricey, expected since it's convenient. People were really nice and courteous. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minussa1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#8 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
4.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
7.0 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
3.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Property: The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am offering suites at The Vidanta Grand Mayan Riviera Maya resort, located on the Yucatan Peninsula. This resort has everything you could ever need to experience true happiness: JOYA, a resident Cirque du Soleil show; five luxury resort hotels; world-class restaurants; spectacular pools; shopping boutiques; a Jack Nicklaus golf course; indulgent spas and the most attentive staff in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing