We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for What we came for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel was beautiful. It has a lot of restaurant options and a large pool area. The ocean is nice as well, however it isn't the white sand beach you see in the cancun area. I came to this resort with a friend of mine to do some diving nearby, so this hotel was conveniently location.

The staff was helpful, the entertainment during the day is nice, although there are times it gets quite loud with the music, it doesn't last for long however.

I would mention that this is about 30-40 minutes from the Cancun airport, but there are so many great parts of Mexico away from the touristy hotel zone that I would recommend exploring. I would come back again one day if they offer a Living social deal again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,769 - 1,775 of 3,859 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed at the Grand Mayan Nov. 30 - Dec. 7, 2013. Has very nice accommodation, pools and grounds. Restaurants are a little pricey and drinks. Read reviews and new what we were getting into. Timeshare people get very aggressive and are starting to use scare tactics if you have existing timeshares. The resort staff were great. Small beach but they are expanding. Main pool is huge. also has quiet pools for Grand Mayan customers. Programs were good.

Room Tip: Choose buildings 1,2 or 3 not so much walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

this place is amazing! We have returned here on three occassions and plan on going again this year. We swap a time share we own in lake tahoe and the living quarters are amazing.
Very clean, great pool and resturants.

Room Tip: in the JUNGLE AREA buildings, a little far from pool but well worth it(shuttle available or it can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miamichief1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just enjoyed a magnificent return trip to this resort.Compliments to management for doing an exceptional job of maintaining superb grounds and yes a gorgeous powder beach. although the waters edge is rocky , bring water shoes and you will pass the rocks and enjoy a wonderful swim in the ocean, lovely rock pools for the smaller children. the beach seems to be in much better condition than previous years and is really lovely, thanks to hard working staff who really maintain it so well. So many palapas and chairs on the beach, never have to rush down early to the beach to get chairs as in many other resorts.
To the left of the hotel towards Iberostar hotel is an exquisite.beach with clear blue ocean and to the right is the Valentine hotel, also a nice beach and great swimming, I prefer the beach towards Iberostar.
they have a wonderful rock climbing wall on the beach supervised by a fantastic lady Marlene from echo tours. the kids loved the fun of rock climbing. There are so many different activities daily for children, from kyacking in the pool, art classes, ceramics, and the list goes on....
Because the resort is so far out one is captive to the resort when traveling with kids, but that being said the food in all restaurants is exceptionally good, Tramonte the Italian restaurant being our favorite. We really did not think the food was too expensive, although not very cheap when traveling and paying for thirteen people, but really delicious and outstanding service in all restaurants, Angel in Tramonte you were great as were your staff.
We did go once to town to the grocery store, started off at the Mega store which I am shocked but compelled to report was INFESTED in cockroaches
, wherever we looked in the fridges, amongst the bread, everywhere, we left and went to Walmart which was great well stocked and clean.
I would like to mention one staff member in particular Mr Antonio Perez, who was always so graciously and exceptionally helpful, you are a real asset to the hotel and they are very lucky to have you on their team.
I more than highly recommend this hotel especially for family's with children.

Room Tip: Buildings one two three
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sanmerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A lot of money goes into making the property look nice and the people are pleasant, but we'll never go back.

- The place is HUGE and growing to sell more timeshares. Your room can be a mile or more from the ocean. Shuttle service takes forever.
- Beach is rocky and not friendly to swimmers.
- Check-in took 15 minutes and then we were told our suite wouldn't be ready for four hours. Bad information. After lunch and some waiting around checked and found suite was available early.
- Tricked into timeshare sales pitch when told it was an RCI update on legal proceedings.
- Kitchen lacks oven and dishwasher. No coffee provided for even one night.
- When making reservations for onsite restaurants (which are expensive) we were always told the requested time wasn't available, and offered a time that was up to an hour and a half later. We went to the restaurant an hour or more early and always found tables available.
- Shuttle to Playa del Carmen (25 minutes) is shuttle to grocery store. Driver told us 90% of people just want to buy groceries to cook in their rooms.
- Nothing is close by the complex. You have to take a taxi or have a car to get to any shops, offsite restaurants, etc.
- More canes and wheelchairs than we've seen at other resorts.
- You're not told unless you ask, but cabanas are $30 per day with food and drinks purchased by the pool offsetting the charge.
- Wednesday and Thursday are "quiet days" as those who go to timeshare pitches take their free trips.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear fdhayes :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your past stay at The Grand Mayan.

We are surprised to learn about the inconveniences experienced. Your observations will be shared with all areas concerned as guests’ feedback is important to us, and ultimately is how we measure our success.

Sincerely,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The resort was excellent from the friendly staff that welcomes you,to the room service everyday the room was clean and made my stay at the riviera maya a total joy, definatly will come back soon the only upsidedown was the beach too many rocks...

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Mmv0588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Pleasant, but by no means great.
1) On arrival, reception had our reservation confirmation, but the wrong name. We had reserved a 2 bedroom suite with kitchen, and they were able to find one for us in only a few minutes. On arrival into the suite, the second bedroom was locked off and took over an hour to get the room open.
They had no problem whatsoever in arranging a sales presentation and breakfast buffet for the following morning.

2) Refrigerator glass shelves were poorly fit - unsafe for groceries. After 2 days, 4 calls to front desk and a "promise" by the salesperson to "look into it", a single replacement shelf was brought to the door - it also did not fit. Later the 3rd day a replacement refrigerator was brought and exchanged. It too had faulty shelves. It appears that there was a problem with the unit in general, the internal side walls bowed and shelves just drop out of the track edge.
At least they tried.

3) Our units were on the ground floor. The metal pocket door separating the patios between our bedrooms was locked shut. Two calls to maintenance were required before a fellow opened it by hammering the latch plate using a screwdriver as a chisel, mashing the latch into the door, then pounding the bent latch pate back into place. Noisy, a bit slower than using a key, but it worked.

4) A leak in the bathroom wall of the guest bedroom led to a moldy smell, a developing puddle on the floor. One call to maintenance was all it took to get it repaired. We were out all day, I do not know how long the repair actually took.

A small fruit plate was delivered, from management, with a note saying "sorry for the problems"

5) The following night the master bathroom toilet was wet on tank, seat and floor: a continuous drip through the sagging ceiling directly above the commode. Likely from the bathroom immediately above us, and not my idea of good hygiene. Again, one call to maintenance and the ceiling was patched and leak stopped while we were out for the day (climbing the ruins at Coba, well worth the trip!).
There was dried wallboard paste/patch material dried onto the toilet seat, and the toilet had not been cleaned. The patch cracked while drying, and fell out by our last day. No further leaks were noted.

To my mind, this all-pervasive decay of facilities, and too-frequent calls to maintenance (and quality of repair work) prevents me from ranking it any higher than Average.

With the exception of the toilet seat/plaster and one housekeeping failure to take out our kitchen trash, the facilities were otherwise very clean and attractive.

Our trip was planned around driving to various beaches, historical sites and ruins, so we did not mind that the resort is not suited for local exploration.The local beach is very rocky and not particularly nice (but the pools are both huge and nice.)
Walmart and Costco are about a 25 minute drive and we cooked all but 2 of our meals in our unit. No oven, but does have stovetop and microwave.

Sales presenters: Avoid them like the plague of locusts that they are.
They are friendly and personable.
I think the previous reviewers here who have criticized them were being very polite and diplomatic.
Not particularly good listeners, they had a difficult time wrapping their heads around the fact that i was NOT in fact there as an RCI owner wanting to trade/sell/buy. They also (as reported in other reviews here) promised a 90 minute presentation AFTER the breakfast buffet, and which our guests did not need to attend, but proceeded to "register" us for 55 minutes before they would listen to my request for the offered meal breakfast... and then sat with us making a pitch while we ate. Two hours into this, after my guests left, upset, the salesman said, "OK, now we can begin the presentation", and insisted that we needed to sign a document stating that we were happy with our RCI ownership and would not sue them (what part of "I DO NOT OWN RCI did he have trouble hearing?) or that we would buy what he was selling.
I let him know I was in no way obliged to sign any document whatsoever, and he was "concerned" and suggested we go to the main office. He instead lead us to the demonstration residence/apartment nowhere near the office. At this point, my wife bolted, nearly in tears at his misrepresentation of the entire morning. Half a day of vacation shot!
I made our distress clear to the friendly folks at the sales front desk (main lobby, next to the concierge) and they agreed to double the originally promised 500 peso credit, 10% off all purchases on-site, plus a full week of wifi paid for by the salesman (950 pesos) as well as a spa treatment for my wife (approximate retail cost of US $100), all of which they did, in fact, make good on.
They inadvertently put one of the 500 peso credits on my guest's room charges, but that was noted by the sales desk person and agreed to by me and our guests.
Two days after arrival home in the US, I received a call from someone claiming to be from "the front desk" asking for my guest's telephone number so they could ask him to pay them back. "I know it's only a small matter of $40 dollars, but my friend here will have to pay for it if your guest doesn't refund him." I politely declined to give him the information, and told him to refer to the front sales desk person, by name. And then I hung up. Laughing.

So, nice looking place, great pool, poor beach, too many in-room maintenance issues to be fully comfortable, and a "Fractional Ownership" salesforce to be avoided (unless you are willing to bargain hard and negotiate a far price for YOUR time spent with their silliness).

Compared with some of the nicer resorts by Wyndham, this place barley gets into "Average" ratings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank World_ER_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear World_ER_MD :

Thank you so much for choosing The Grand Mayan for your vacation and for sharing your detailed review with us. We are glad to learn you liked our resort and pools.

Regrettably, we did not meet all your expectations. Nevertheless, this will be shared with the appropriate areas so they can look into each one of your observations, since they work diligently to ensure that our facilities are in the best condition possible for our guests to enjoy.

As one of the most successful companies in the Mexican tourism field, we clearly communicate the terms and conditions associated with accepting an invitation to our sales presentation and everyone - at free will, attends and we appreciate their visit whether they decide to acquire our products or not.We are all committed to excellence, integrity, and above all your satisfaction; and this will help us perfect our performance.

We do appreciate any feedback being provided to us.

Best regards,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,220 reviews
5.0 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya by Artisan - All Inclusive - Adults Only
2.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,292 reviews
4.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Tres Rios
Hacienda Tres Rios
#65 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £151 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am offering suites at The Vidanta Grand Mayan Riviera Maya resort, located on the Yucatan Peninsula. This resort has everything you could ever need to experience true happiness: JOYA, a resident Cirque du Soleil show; five luxury resort hotels; world-class restaurants; spectacular pools; shopping boutiques; a Jack Nicklaus golf course; indulgent spas and the most attentive staff in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing