We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excelente Hotel”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Un hotel gigante, hermoso, muy bien cuidado. Unas piscinas gigantes, las habitaciones alejadas de todo pero hermosas. La atencion superior. Lo negativo la playa es terrible comparada con el resto, demasiadas piedras.this hotel was beautiful. It has a lot of restaurant options and a large pool area. The ocean is nice as well, however it isn't the white sand beach you see in the cancun area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernesto l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    1,167
    395
    219
    180
See reviews for
1,586
1,248
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel was beautiful. It has a lot of restaurant options and a large pool area. The ocean is nice as well, however it isn't the white sand beach you see in the cancun area. I came to this resort with a friend of mine to do some diving nearby, so this hotel was conveniently location.

The staff was helpful, the entertainment during the day is nice, although there are times it gets quite loud with the music, it doesn't last for long however.

I would mention that this is about 30-40 minutes from the Cancun airport, but there are so many great parts of Mexico away from the touristy hotel zone that I would recommend exploring. I would come back again one day if they offer a Living social deal again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed at the Grand Mayan Nov. 30 - Dec. 7, 2013. Has very nice accommodation, pools and grounds. Restaurants are a little pricey and drinks. Read reviews and new what we were getting into. Timeshare people get very aggressive and are starting to use scare tactics if you have existing timeshares. The resort staff were great. Small beach but they are expanding. Main pool is huge. also has quiet pools for Grand Mayan customers. Programs were good.

Room Tip: Choose buildings 1,2 or 3 not so much walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

this place is amazing! We have returned here on three occassions and plan on going again this year. We swap a time share we own in lake tahoe and the living quarters are amazing.
Very clean, great pool and resturants.

Room Tip: in the JUNGLE AREA buildings, a little far from pool but well worth it(shuttle available or it can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamichief1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just enjoyed a magnificent return trip to this resort.Compliments to management for doing an exceptional job of maintaining superb grounds and yes a gorgeous powder beach. although the waters edge is rocky , bring water shoes and you will pass the rocks and enjoy a wonderful swim in the ocean, lovely rock pools for the smaller children. the beach seems to be in much better condition than previous years and is really lovely, thanks to hard working staff who really maintain it so well. So many palapas and chairs on the beach, never have to rush down early to the beach to get chairs as in many other resorts.
To the left of the hotel towards Iberostar hotel is an exquisite.beach with clear blue ocean and to the right is the Valentine hotel, also a nice beach and great swimming, I prefer the beach towards Iberostar.
they have a wonderful rock climbing wall on the beach supervised by a fantastic lady Marlene from echo tours. the kids loved the fun of rock climbing. There are so many different activities daily for children, from kyacking in the pool, art classes, ceramics, and the list goes on....
Because the resort is so far out one is captive to the resort when traveling with kids, but that being said the food in all restaurants is exceptionally good, Tramonte the Italian restaurant being our favorite. We really did not think the food was too expensive, although not very cheap when traveling and paying for thirteen people, but really delicious and outstanding service in all restaurants, Angel in Tramonte you were great as were your staff.
We did go once to town to the grocery store, started off at the Mega store which I am shocked but compelled to report was INFESTED in cockroaches
, wherever we looked in the fridges, amongst the bread, everywhere, we left and went to Walmart which was great well stocked and clean.
I would like to mention one staff member in particular Mr Antonio Perez, who was always so graciously and exceptionally helpful, you are a real asset to the hotel and they are very lucky to have you on their team.
I more than highly recommend this hotel especially for family's with children.

Room Tip: Buildings one two three
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sanmerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A lot of money goes into making the property look nice and the people are pleasant, but we'll never go back.

- The place is HUGE and growing to sell more timeshares. Your room can be a mile or more from the ocean. Shuttle service takes forever.
- Beach is rocky and not friendly to swimmers.
- Check-in took 15 minutes and then we were told our suite wouldn't be ready for four hours. Bad information. After lunch and some waiting around checked and found suite was available early.
- Tricked into timeshare sales pitch when told it was an RCI update on legal proceedings.
- Kitchen lacks oven and dishwasher. No coffee provided for even one night.
- When making reservations for onsite restaurants (which are expensive) we were always told the requested time wasn't available, and offered a time that was up to an hour and a half later. We went to the restaurant an hour or more early and always found tables available.
- Shuttle to Playa del Carmen (25 minutes) is shuttle to grocery store. Driver told us 90% of people just want to buy groceries to cook in their rooms.
- Nothing is close by the complex. You have to take a taxi or have a car to get to any shops, offsite restaurants, etc.
- More canes and wheelchairs than we've seen at other resorts.
- You're not told unless you ask, but cabanas are $30 per day with food and drinks purchased by the pool offsetting the charge.
- Wednesday and Thursday are "quiet days" as those who go to timeshare pitches take their free trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear fdhayes :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your past stay at The Grand Mayan.

We are surprised to learn about the inconveniences experienced. Your observations will be shared with all areas concerned as guests’ feedback is important to us, and ultimately is how we measure our success.

Sincerely,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The resort was excellent from the friendly staff that welcomes you,to the room service everyday the room was clean and made my stay at the riviera maya a total joy, definatly will come back soon the only upsidedown was the beach too many rocks...

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmv0588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,845 reviews
4.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,832 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Tres Rios
Hacienda Tres Rios
#62 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,267 reviews
10.9 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
854 reviews
7.6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Property: The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am offering suites at The Vidanta Grand Mayan Riviera Maya resort, located on the Yucatan Peninsula. This resort has everything you could ever need to experience true happiness: JOYA, a resident Cirque du Soleil show; five luxury resort hotels; world-class restaurants; spectacular pools; shopping boutiques; a Jack Nicklaus golf course; indulgent spas and the most attentive staff in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing