We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, but could be excellent with a few improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice property, many large pools, nice rooms, friendly staff. Wrist bands open the room doors, so no need for a separate key/card!
The beach isn't very good for swimming, but ok for snorkeling. We had a rental car and the parking was inadequate with dirt lots and unmarked spaces. There is only one location to obtain and return towel after 5 PM, and it's a hike to the Mayan Palace side if you are staying on the Grand Mayan side. The concierges are uninformed regarding the reservation policy for poolside covered beds ("palapas beds"). You can reserve one day ahead, but only in person at the Belche restaurant at the Mayan Palace pool. Prices for everything on the property seem excessive to me; we were very glad we had rented a car. Wifi is available, but only for an excessive fee of close to $100/week/device!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Adriancr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Adriancr :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our facilities, the pools, grounds and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation. We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,654 - 1,660 of 3,956 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had returned to the Grand Mayan after having been there five years ago. We were very pleasantly surprised at how well the property had been maintained and to see it had lost none of its splendor. The staff were great again and extremely friendly and helpful. Depending on your plans for your time at the Grand Mayan we had not booked a car for the whole period and utilised the shuttle from the Mayan Palace to Playa when needed. We rented a car at the Grand Mayan for a day when we wanted to explore. Renting a car at the hotel is about $20 more expensive per day than renting from Cancun but it makes up for the cost you would have incurred to travel to the rental company. We had a very pleasant stay.

It is extremely advisable that you do not attend the sales pitch at the sales office. If you want to spoil your holiday attend the sales pitch. It is the worst experience ever and the sales staff are extremely aggressive and persistent. They also use very underhand tactics to try and convince you of the value of the proposal. You will be told a number of lies about the reasons why you have to immediately sign and pay on the day, none of which makes sense to any reasonable thinking client. With us they made promises and offered us an option which after we had signed for the initial offer they then did not honor the option they had promised. It appeared it was only a tactic to entice us to sign and pay for something less than promised. Only after spending three days of our holiday following up from pillar to post and having to shout and scream did they finally honor their original option and promises. I have never had such a bad experience with a sales team where you actually want to invest in the program but they try their utter best to sell you something completely different from your request and making it almost impossible for you to buy what you are interested. They will make a number of of promises and sales pitch benefits which when you investigate further you will realize will never materialize because when you sign you contract the truth starts emerging. It is extremely sad that such a wonderful product which could actually sell itself with what it has to offer has to be marketed by such an incompetent and misrepresenting bunch of sales people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Jalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Jalder :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to find out that most of our staff was pleasant, as this is what we strive for every day.

As one of the most successful companies in the Mexican tourism field, we clearly communicate the terms and conditions associated with accepting an invitation to our sales presentation. Everyone - at free will, attends and we appreciate their visit whether they decide to acquire our products or not.

For that reason, the company employs and trains thousands of individuals that work hard day and night to satisfy each and every guest. We strive to make each and every one of our guests feel cared for, appreciated and respected.

In spite of this, we are shocked to learn about the inconveniences experienced and your comment will be shared with the appropriate management area.

We appreciate your time and feedback.

Sincerely,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is a nice resort. I wouldn't say perfect though. Based on the reviews when we checked in we told then we wanted a room in bldg 1-4 we got 7. It wasn't too far but the tram rarely came so we walked to the pool everyday. You have to get up super early and reserve your pool chair especially if you want shade. Be there by 6. No internet at this place unless you pay $80 per device. If you want nightlife (dancing) this resort is not for you. The rooms are spacious but they need to do a better job cleaning. Do not leave any food out or else it will be the invasion of the ants. This drive me crazy. I was very disappointed in the timeshare thing. We told the girl at the front desk upon check in we were not interested in buying she said you can just go get the perks and hear what's new at the resort since your mom is already an owner, tops 1 hour. It took over 3 hours. Unless you are going to buy don't go. Food is very expensive but very good but rent a car and go to Puerto Moralos, it's 15 min away food is really cheap and excellent. Go to tacos.com or Los gauchos, excellent. Overall We had a great time but will want to stay somewhere where there is more nightlife, free internet, and maybe not so big. We have teenage boys and they need action!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Donnarand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Donnarand:

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan.

Most of the feedback provided by our guests is excellent; nonetheless, we are always looking for opportunities to exceed our members’ and guests' expectations. With that in mind, your comments will be shared with the appropriate areas, since they work tirelessly - day and night, to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction. We take this opportunity to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

Your comments are always welcomed.

Sincerely,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We visited Grand Mayan Riviera Maya June 2014. We definately would not return. The room was very disappointing, dated furniture, weird art work. We traded our 2 bedroom unit in Scottsdale, AZ for a two bedroom there. It was actually two units connected by a door (like a hotel). When we checked out we were charged daily tax on both rooms.
We were in building 5, ground level and had a dip pool on patio. It was much too cold to use and the ferrel cats used it for a watering hole. The cats on property were heartbreaking, just skin and bones. They howled at night and it really echoed in the marbel hallways. The kitchen was pathetic, not outfitted to make a meal. We had to turn on the burner about half an hour before using. Our griddle was warped so wouldn't sit on burner without wobbling around. We managed but it certainly wasn't easy.

We were warned ahead to steer clear of the time share people. After checking in a woman scheduled us for a free breakfast and an intro to the resort. I told her we were not interested in a time share presentation and she said this was not a time share. However, the slip of paper she gave us clearly said time share presentation. We blew off the breakfast the following morning and she called to see where we were. Our phone rang constantly from that day on. It would ring in our room then a few minutes later in the other room. Also if we put out the sign "not to be disturbed" the maid always called to see if she could clean our room.
The maids were very nice though and we always tipped them.

We took the shuttle to Playa Del Carmen to pick up food. They dropped us off blocks from Walmart. In hindsight we would have shopped at Mega Foods which was right by drop off site. Walmart was fun trying to find foods we are familiar with and the people there were very nice. Had a hard time finding milk we liked because Mexico doesn't pastuerize theirs. We took a taxi back to the resort and probably overpaid by a couple of bucks. We also shopped the resort grocery store and it was over priced. It was worth it to not have to pay for shuttles and taxis. We found several things at the store we enjoyed.

We had room service food a few night and it wasn't bad. The pizza was pretty good. Hamburgers not so much. We cooked breakfast in our room each day.

The staff at the resort were all very friendly. Always said "hola" when we saw them. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The grounds are massive and had to walk several mins to pool etc. Didn't enjoy the jungle setting.The pools were great and didn't seem crowded at all. It rained most of the time we were there so didn't get to use them much.

We were disappointed that the beach was so rocky and unsafe to swim in. Also no oceonview rooms. The worst thing was when we checked out they said they we should get on their shuttle to be taken down to main highway to wait for our prearranged transport back to airport. Luckily our driver came for us before that happened. After our trips to Cancun earlier we were very disappointed in this resort. We felt there was always someone with their hand out for money. We would not stay at this resort again nor would we recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: Building 1-5 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Joy W :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your stay at The Grand Mayan.

Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance as well as to maintain our facilities in the best conditions for our guests to enjoy. For that reason, this will be all shared with the appropriate areas as we are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction.

Your comments are always appreciated.

Sincerely,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This place took my breath away, pools as far as the eyes can see, golf, bars everywhere some you just swim up to, restaurants galore and coming this fall I hear they will have their own residential Cirque Du Soliel show!! We will back very soon this place simply took our breath away!

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank ChristopherWalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear ChristopherWalling:

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities and pools.
Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The size of this property is massive, but never felt crowded. It took the first week just to get a feel for it. We had a wonderful trip with a lot of family memories made. Here are some helpful hints: The resort provides beach towels, no need to pack them. You can trade them in for a clean one as often as you like throughout the day at any three locations. You can win free drink coupons for playing games like bingo and black jack. Bring your own snorkel gear, there is a great place to snorkel at the beach there. They also have all kinds of games and ball check out, so no need to bring a football, volleyball, soccer ball, or paddle ball. We rented a car twice from the lobby, you get a much better deal if you pay in USD, the conversion rate is in their favor for pesos. We took the car to a cenote, Akumal to snorkel with turtles and rays, and then in town for dinner. We all had a great day each time! I packed some cereal, beef jerky, trail mix, protein shakes, mayo, mustard, salad dressing, granola bars, pasta, sauce, bread, peanut butter, water bottles, cooking spray, salt, pepper, and garlic which made the shopping at Wal mart manageable to carry back to the bus. I also packed some bags for carrying around groceries, snorkel gear, shopping wares and found it helpful. One of the bags was the insulated kind to keep our groceries cold from the store which helped because it is so hot and humid. We did the updated RCI presentation and it wasn't bad and stuck to the time allotment for the most part. Our favorite drink was the Miami Vice, give it a try at happy hour. Our favorite restaurant was Havana Moon, with the view, excellent service, and tasty food. We ate in Playa del Carmen and Puerto Morelos and had awesome food that was much more inexpensive than the resort. We had a great time. The staff and grounds were top notch!

Room Tip: We asked for a closer, third story room upon check in based on the trip advisor reviews. They moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Nicole C :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options and took advantage of the promotions available during your stay. We really thank you as well for your kind comment about our staff, as creating ideal vacation experiences is their main goal.


Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our week at the resort was one of the most wonderful relaxing vacations ever. The room, staff, food...all first class. I will go back again. We stayed in building 3 which was within walking distance of all the activities. Most days we cooked in the small kitchenette and went out in the evenings for dinner which kept our cost down. I strongly recommend the Italian restaurant the food was excellent. Overall, just an all around wonderful resort.

Room Tip: Stay in building 1-3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Gina-p P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Gina-p P:

Thank you so much for commenting about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities, the accommodations , the pools, grounds and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
4,392 reviews
5 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya by Artisan - All Inclusive - Adults Only
2.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,108 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
3,383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £144 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am offering suites at The Vidanta Grand Mayan Riviera Maya resort, located on the Yucatan Peninsula. This resort has everything you could ever need to experience true happiness: JOYA, a resident Cirque du Soleil show; five luxury resort hotels; world-class restaurants; spectacular pools; shopping boutiques; a Jack Nicklaus golf course; indulgent spas and the most attentive staff in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing