We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at this resort 11/30-12/4 for our anniversary. The resort is beautiful and big. The food was delicious, even the breakfast buffet was good! We never had any problem finding a chair on the beach or a beach bed to take a nap. The staff was very friendly. The beach waiters/waitresses started off ok, but after bringing you a drink or 2 they disappeared and you never saw them again, (yes, I did tip them). It was not a problem to walk up to the bar and get a drink. The sand bags are everywhere, but they do serve a purpose. It was very breezy when we were there so the waves were crashing over them. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because the room (garden view) is on the smaller side, the bed is extremely hard, and the sheets are like sand paper. We did not let it ruin our vacation and still had a wonderful time. We would definitely consider returning the this resort.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steph913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,663 - 6,669 of 10,159 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I went here on our honeymoon as suggested by our travel agent. It was perfect!! The resort is beautiful and very large! Very peaceful and romantic. We relaxed and layed on the beach every day. It was never too crowded and we were always able to find open lounge chairs. The staff was excellant, very friendly and welcoming. We loved the fact that every night there was a different live show, they were all very entertaining. The staff did a great job of getting the crowd excited and involved. We would definatley return and would suggest this resort to other couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monkey816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We just returned last night to SF and already miss the EDR experience! My wife and I did a fair amount of research to find a getaway for the Thanksgiving holiday and we were not disappointed. The EDR is a wonderful resort! The staff are very accomodating and friendly. They all truly go above and beyond to make your stay a fantastic experience! We made many new friends and everyone we met over our 7-day stay had nothing but great things to say about EDR! The Gourmet Inclusive is wonderful! Food was fresh, well executed and delicious! We especially loved Kampei! We would have loved to try Fuentes but they were not open during our stay. You have to have at least one Mexican restaraunt open? For room service we recommend the Lobster and/or Shrimp Quesadilla as a starter before you head out for the evening. Very tasty! The beach is not as nice as the El Dorado Maroma but so what! The service and food/bar options more than compensate. You can always take an excursion for an activity to further experience and enjoy the sand and surf. We did the Zipline/Cenote at Salvetica and the ATV/Wave Runner at Maroma. Awesome! If you want quiet in the evening try to stay out of the 4000 block as it can get quite noisy with the shows and partying late into the night. Bring earplugs for sleeping if you are in this area. This was our first time to the Riviera Maya and we will be back sooner than later! Thanks again to all the EDR staff as well as our new British, Canadian, Dutch and American friends for making our vacation a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The in-room mini-bar does not contain alcoholic drinks.It has coke, sprite, water and light lager. Room service does not cover alcohol. They must be purchased. You can have a bottle of wine but must pay 12 us dollars for it. So, if like me, you enjoy a glass of wine whilst getting ready to go out for the evening, you'll be dissappointed. Suggest taking your own tea bags to make a cuppa as they only supply two bags per day. When I asked concierge for a dozen ( I drink tea not coffee) it didn't happen. I was given 4. I don't know what they thought I was doing with them but I couldn't get more. I was told this was a "Gormet" hotel. What's that got to do with tea bags?

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for an "ocean front". You can't see the sea and you could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lesley-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We went to El Dorado Royale with another couple who had already been there and loved it but we were a little worried anyhow because of some of the bad reviews we read on Tripadvisor in the weeks leading up to our trip. Well, let me emphatically say this – in my opinion, the people who write bad reviews about this place must be unable to be pleased about anything!

El Dorado Royal is top notch – from the rooms, to the restaurants, to the spas, to most importantly the staff and services they happily provide. The service was impeccable, amazing! We travel to Mexico at least three time a year and we have tried different inclusive resorts each time – we’ve had some bad ones, we’ve had some amazing ones. This place rises above any we have visited so far - we even commented to each other that the staff’s pleasant demeanor reminded us of those trained at Ritz Carlton hotels –without the stuffiness.

I’d like to comment on several staff members who we feel rose above and beyond to make us not only comfortable but have a blast! I recommend you visit Rebeca in the evenings at the bar connected to the main stage area – she will give you shots with great names and great flavors that you couldn’t even imagine! We are still talking about those shots!! Also, there is an awesome guy (name, can’t remember) going around dancing with anyone interested in dancing, which we were!

At JoJo’s bar and restaurant on the beach – awesome food and Able at the bar is precious, authentic and takes care of you like he has known you forever. Efriam a waiter at JoJo’s is so adorable I wanted to take him home!! He kept our champagne glasses full and kept the food coming and laughing the entire time.

Make sure you get a massage or any treatment while you are there! My husband fell in love with Dominica who is a JLo look alike! I had the fabulous Javier and Jorge – both were amazing! For the record, these three were so amazingly professional in the personal aspects of massage that never did either of us feel uncomfortable – top notch at both spas!

Ananias we met as he was walking around on the property and we became fast friends with him. His vast knowledge of the resort and his willingness to spend time giving us advice on treatments was appreciated. He was handsome, well spoken, extremely professional and we enjoyed his company.

I know I’ve gone on and on but this place was amazing. I cannot say ONE bad thing even if I tried….well, okay, the lady in the gift shop by the beach seemed cranky. There, I did it!! Hey, everybody has a bad day right!! Cannot wait to return!! Love from New Orleans!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandyhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed at EDR for two weeks in November. We really enjoyed our stay, the staff were all brilliant and very friendly! The food was to a good standard, definitely recommend picking a lobster from the tanks at Jo Jo's and go for the candle light dinner. Our favourite activities were horse riding and swimming with dolphins. We went on the jet skis, para sailing, deep sea fishing, horse riding and swam with dolphins. They were all brilliant and well worth spending the extra money on. Take money for tips, they all work hard and appreciate them. We had the 'romantic journey' couples massage - very nice.

We'd definitely recommend and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travel4fun1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We went to this resort 10 years ago for our honeymoon. They were still building it however it was great then. 10 years later for our anniversary we decided to go again to see what it was like and we were not disappointed. The resort is fantastic overall. You will read people complaining about the wave breakers built in or 'whales' and that they're an eyesore. Seriously people, they're not a big deal. In fact, they have created an awesome artificial reef that you can snorkel for a few hours and see tons of fish, it is amazing.

The restaurant is also part of their GI grouping, Gourmet Inclusive eating. It is exactly that. The food here is phenomenal. We are going in winter 2012 to a different resort to take our kids, and I'm afraid of failed comparisons in food compared to this resort. The Italian restaurant is fantastic, the Asian fusion is as well, not a big fan of the fondue one but it was neat none the less, gotta try it once.

The rooms are great, just as remembered, very roomy, clean. We had an air conditioning issue which took a bit to get fixed but no big deal. Didn't realize that we were in one of the few smoking units and every night beyond the first two you could smell people smoking next door. We called to have a room change but they were fully booked, however offered for the remaining two nights to move us to the casitas for half price and decided to do that. If you have the $$ I would highly recommend just booking the casitas. The regular rooms and service are more than excellent, but in the casitas you do feel escalated to a different level and the service is impeccable. You definitely pay for what you get in these rooms. You also get more access to private beaches and palapas, but we had no issues in the regular rooms.

The staff is great all over, everyone is so friendly. Whether you tip or not you get fantastic service. The number of bars are great, you can get a drink anywhere and they'll come to you on the beach.

We both loved this resort and will ultimately compare every one to it. It's so nice because it doesn't seem very large and it's nice to be in a smaller setting compared to some of these massive ones out there. Well worth it, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,941 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £252 - £778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing