We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Died and went to heaven;”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Died and went to heaven;”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was a Great place to relax and have fun, The staff was very friendly, They just couldn't do enough. Food was plenty, and served like we where Royality, Many pools, games, sports,. Can't say enough about it.

Room Tip: Try the swim up rooms, water right at your deck, we stayed about 20 ft. from swim up bar. They have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guests and friends from Calgary, Alberta, Canada,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and touching review of your recent experience at our premises.

It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it.

I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep on working and for future travelers to try our destination.

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Sincerely,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,512
    1,719
    623
    373
    230
See reviews for
633
6,341
98
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,510)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I loved my stay at El Dorado hotel. I wasn't sure to begin with if an all-inclusive package type holiday was for me as I am the sort of person who usually travels on city type breaks but my experience at El Dorado has changed my opinion completely.

This was one of the most relaxed and stress free holidays I have ever had. I had worried that a package holiday would be boring but there was more than enough to keep us entertained at the resort and whilst we did leave for a few excursions there is no need to.

FOOD- The food was very nice and Kampai was our favourite followed by D'italia. You could each as much as you want and I like that you had a waiter in every restaurant as I am not a fan of buffet type dining. There was never a wait for seats and service was excellent, waiters filled glasses often with wine.

DRINKS- I had worried about the quality of alcoholic drinks before I had booked this resort as I don't like any type of wine and my boyfriend loves his premium branded drink. There was no need to worry- Jack daniels, Jim Beam (with honey- delicious), Smirnoff, Absolute, Bombay saffire, etc, etc, etc. We particularly enjoyed the Martini bar as they can make any type of high quality cocktail (old-fashioned, Singapore sling, White Russian, etc).

ROOM- The room was huge, very comfortable and very clean. Free room service 24hrs but be prepared to wait a good hour. All the restaurants are close to all the rooms so room service is not necessary. We booked it just because we could. The room is cleaned every day and the minibar (free) is replenished every day.

Wi-Fi can be picked up throughout the whole resort- even on the beach. You also have waiters who walk along the beach and take orders for drinks. There are always sun loungers to be found by pools and on the beach, no need to get up early to put a towel out.

TIPS- I brought £400 with me- 100 one dollar bills and the rest in pesos (I got small denominations 20's and 50's) I brought most of the money home with me. There is absolutely no requirement to tip and being from Ireland I find the whole tipping process alien and uncomfortable. We left 20 pesos (95p) in our room every morning for the maid and another 20 pesos every night for the turn down maid. We only ever tipped around 1 or 2 dollars (70p-£1.40) at meals. We didn't tip at every meal, especially if it was a buffet type meal as we were serving ourselves. We gave 1 dollar tips to the waiters who brought us drinks on the beach, but not every drink. We tended not to tip if we went to the bar and ordered our own drink. I hate tipping- don't understand it, makes me feel uncomfortable giving someone 70p! But they appreciate any amount!

EXCURSIONS- We went to Coco Bongo- Surreal! Was a great night, buy the most expensive seats- Gold member, as its jammed but you'll get a seat and a waiter to get your all inclusive drinks (no health and safety here).
Coba Maya- Not worth the trip. Spent most of our time bus, the quality of food was poor. Whilst I was glad I got to climb the ruin and swim in the cenote and see a traditional village it was all a bit boring.
Cancun- Don't bother- Once you leave the resort people aren't as nice, constantly have people trying to sell you things you don't want- 'tat'!

We loved our stay- we paid £2600 for a week in El Dorado from London on the 14th July. Whilst it is a lot of money I felt we got every pennies worth from this resort. We are already planning our return visit but will definitely stay at least 2 weeks as 1 week wasn't long enough, especially with Jet lag getting in the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blahyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear friends from UK,

It has been a great pleasure to receive your warm review describing your most recent vacation at our premises.
It shows it´s your heart speaking.
We thank your compliments to our staff, services, facilities and atmosphere and I hope you give us the honor of another visit pretty soon.

Looking forward to welcome you again for another memorable relaxing holiday,

Best regards,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Was here in July 2013 for my honeymoon and it was an amazing experience. The photos do not do this place justice. The resort is absolutely stunning and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff.

The shuttle bus service (ok, they are golf carts) round the resort are great if you are out late at night or it's wet for getting back to your room or from place to place.

For UK visitors some of the larger groups of Americans will appear very loud at times in the larger pools but then there is space for everyone and they can be quite fun.

The food is absolutely stunning and nothing I can put in this review will do it justice. The rooms are huge and of the highest quality. Try and get an Ocean View/Ocean Front room. We had a room down near the Casitas overlooking the health bar. It was a nice quiet location and only a 2 minute walk from the La Isla pool.

Room Tip: Make sure you have dinner on the beach - an unforgettable experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenin1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear honeymooners from Glasgow, United Kingdom,

We would like to thank you for your review about your experience at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma on Tripadvisor and for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon. We wish you well.

In the name of the hotel Manager, Mr. Patric D. Loeser and his Team we would like to express you our satisfaction when we read your motivating publication where you highlighted out the friendliness and excellent service of our team which ensured you an unforgettable experience during such as especial and romantic occasion.

In El Dorado Royale we are all committed to ensure our guests the best personalized service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and celebrate your wedding aniversaries. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit,

Best regards,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were recommended this resort by our U.K Thompson rep and we were not disappointed during our 2 week November break. Emma, our on site rep was excellent and we booked 3 great trips to Coco Bongo (Oh what a night!), swimming with dolphins (ticked off my wife's bucket list!) and a romantic dinner cruise with a sax player! When you first walk around this resort you cannot help noticing how spotlessly clean every single part is. The beach is the cleanest we have ever experienced & you can have your drinks brought to your sun lounger. Our sea view room in block 300 was also excellent and was kept spotless. It was cleaned every morning and our bed linen turned back every evening with the radio & chocolates waiting for us when we returned each evening. Every member of staff is soooo friendly and genuinely want you to have a great experience.
The food was a culinary delight and we ate breakfast mainly at Cocotal which offered a huge variety of choice. We made La Isla our destination for lunch because of the great choice of fresh salad and great tasting food. For our evening meal we tried the Rincon Mexicano (Excellent), D'Italia (Excellent), D'Italia Casitas (Excellent), Jo Jo's (Excellent) and we booked Fuentes twice for the culinary dining experience - please note that the wine is at an additional cost. If you stay for 2 weeks the entertainment in the Guacamayas Bar becomes repetitive. If you don't fancy going out, then take advantage of the room service (24/7). We had some great conversations at the Beach Bar and Goergi's shots became a daily tradition - ask for a "poop" in the grass" honestly you will love it. You can experience some great smoothies at the Health Bar which we did daily. It did rain heavy for a few days and there is not a lot to do at this point but frequent the numerous bars-the Martini Bar is a great place to take a few glasses of champagne and relax and then have a few more.... If you don't want to walk anywhere, you don't need to - just flag one of the many golf buggy's down and you will arrive at your destination. We did tip and we did receive excellent service $20 pesos is enough on each occasion. This is an ultimate holiday destination that has to be experienced and to top it all we flew home on the new 787 Dreamliner in 8hrs - got off the plane at a freezing cold Manchester and can only dream of returning soon to maintain my sanity... You will have a fantastic holiday if you choose this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guests from Carlisle, United Kingdom,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to learn how much you have enjoyed your stay at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma and that our facilities and service were up to your expectations.

Your comments are extremely important to us, as they motivate us to continue to improve our services.

We look forward to welcome you back at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican home.

Kind regards your ultimate holiday destination,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Just back from our 11 night honeymoon at the El Dorado Royale. It is a fantastic resort, the staff are great, nothing is too much trouble. We had excellent service from Gregorio & Samy in the Cocotal & JoJo restaurants & Iran in the Santa Fe to name a few. Everywhere is maintained excellently & very clean. Will definitely go back again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guests from Chester, United Kingdom,

We would like to thank you for your review about your experience at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma on Tripadvisor and for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon. We wish you well.

In the name of the hotel Manager, Mr. Patric D. Loeser and his Team, we would like to express you our satisfaction when we read your motivating publication where you highlighted out the friendliness and excellent service of our team which ensured you an unforgettable experience during such as especial and romantic occasion.

In El Dorado Royale we are all committed to ensure our guests the best personalized service as Gregorio, Iran & Samy provided you.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and celebrate you wedding aniversaries. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit,

Yours sincerely,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is a more serious review than one would normally expect but after 5 memorable visits to El Dorado Royale over the past 8 years, I hope that these few words act as due warning. Following on from my previous review, after which I recommended that couples seeking a relaxing and quiet holiday avoid "Spring Break" for US Colleges, I find myself recommending avoiding booking El Dorado (fabulous though it is in so many, many respects) during the US "Wedding Season" which appears to be November, after hurricane season, onwards (there were 16 weddings last week). I am now not sure what time is a good time to book! Why? Well, the hotel has always been, for us, the very best all-inclusive resort in the world and so it remains BUT one must be aware that, despite being marketed as an elegant, sophisticated couples' resort, it is rapidly turning into a (predominantly) US "Party Haven" - drunk people whooping and hollering in the main pool from breakfast time onwards; loud Wedding Parties of more than 36 people (some even carrying their own bottles of Tequila) in the "exclusive" restaurant, D'Italia Villas, with a massive detrimental impact on service for us ordinary tourists (the highlight of the evening being a member of staff wearing wellington boots wandering in amongst the diners, carrying a large plastic bucket, mopping up goodness-knows-what from under the tables) and more drunk Wedding Guests standing on the wooden seats suspended from the roof at the beach bar using them as children's swings. I really do feel that El Dorado Royale has reached a significant strategic turning-point - Party Hotel for US 18-30 something year olds OR the elegant, Gourmet Inclusive and staggeringly good couples' hotel it always has been. They really need to make the call and soon. If, as I fear, management chooses the no-doubt commercially attractive Party Hotel option, then, with sadness, this has been our last visit to the hotel that has set the standard for all-inclusive with spectacular service. As a final positive word, the newly redecorated rooms are superb.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra and getting an Ocean View Room and I would advise aiming for one in Blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guests and friends Camberley, United Kingdom,

Thank you for selecting always the El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma as your holiday destination.

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, I am sorry to read your comments and finding out that your stay with us was not up to your expectations.

As we strive to make every guest feel special,
I will share your comment with our staff to learn from it.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma in order to make your stay a more memorable one.

Please don't hesitate in contacting us anytime before your next visit

Sincerely,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is an amazing resort. If you are looking for pampering and luxury this is the place to stay. I got married here and could not imagine a more perfect vacation. The room was beautiful and clean. The food was great. And the service was spot on. I never wanted to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear wedding couple from Farwell, Texas,

We would like to thank you for your review about your experience at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma on Tripadvisor and for choosing our hotel for your wedding destination. We wish you well.

In the name of the hotel Manager, Mr. Patric D. Loeser and his Team, we would like to express you our satisfaction when we read your motivating publication where you highlighted out the friendliness and excellent service of our team which ensured you an unforgettable experience during such a once a lifetime special and romantic occasion.

In El Dorado Royale we are all committed to ensure our guests the best personalized service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and celebrate your wedding aniversaries. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit,

Always at your services,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,570 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing