We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,980)
Filter reviews
11,980 results
Traveller rating
8,418
2,119
762
421
260
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,418
2,119
762
421
260
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martini bar health bar santa fe swim up room sand bags casita section k team fuentes pool la isla pool our honeymoon outdoor shower room service swing bar greenhouse tour personal concierge wine pairing jo jos
Filter
Updating list...
6,705 - 6,710 of 11,980 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We got married in early November at EDR and had the most amazing time. Everything about the wedding went perfectly. Our wedding coordinator, Barbara Hylton, and our Lomas Travel rep Valeria Martinez did an outstanding job. The wedding department at EDR is professional and meticulous with details, any couple would be lucky to get married in paradise. I can't say enough about how wonderful this resort is...food was outstanding, staff was even better!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest

We have been honored having your wedding with us, by chosen our resorts for these special celebration and the fact that you show so satisfied with your experience that makes us feel so proud and happy of our site and staff.

Your lovely review is a great motivation for us to keep improving our team work and personalizing our services in special celebrations.

It would be great to welcome you back in the future for celebrating one or more of your coming anniversaries.

Yours sincerely,

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed her Nov. 21 to Dec. 1 2013 and I have to say it's by far the poshest resort we have been at. Yes, it's a Vacation club if your are interested... they are happy to show you how it works but a simple no thanks is accepted as well and there was no pressure or people lurking to drag you off to presentations. That said, if you are ever going to buy anywhere this is a pretty darn nice choice... and no wrist bracelets! We were not tagged like livestock which was pretty refreshing :)

We arrived early and checked in personally by Alfonzo of Exotic Travellers. Throughout our stay Alfonzo (Poncho) acted as our personal concierge and made sure we were looked after. Any detail was immediately addressed and taken care of... Thank you so much Alfonzo and Jorge! There are also wonderful Concierges attached to each building to help you make reservations, offer advise, arrange transportation or spa treatments etc.

Our Room was in building 914 and then upgraded by Olga the Casita's Manager to 3116 in the Casita's section. Thank you Olga!!! The Casita's are more expensive but certainly are an extra lovely touch to any vacation. If you can't afford the Casita's upgrade you will still be treated like royalty as we certainly were! In the Casita's we had an outdoor shower, indoor shower, huge jacuzzi tub, our own swim up pool, an outdoor day bed, indoor and outdoor dining areas as well as a round daybed for lounging/reading or watching the jacuzzi tub occupant! The jacuzzi tub area has a large domed window that looks into the outdoor shower... this is a romantic couples resort - the only really private part would be the bathroom itself :)

A quick review of the restaurants: Favorite Breakfast place Cocotol where every morning there is a wonderful buffet style, waiters who attend your every need - mimosa's or bloody mary fixings and enough choice for the pickiest eater... anyone who complains about this place is just plain unreasonable! We had several servers and they were all wonderful!!!
Kampai - is Asian/Japanese - ish style, great waiters, Eduardo went out of his way to be fantastico! and Carlos was pretty special too! The food is lovely, Vietnamese Soup was a wonderful surprise, as was their Chicken Salad at lunch. Dinner offers choices for any palate and breakfast was quieter than Cocotal and from a menu... Coconut Macadamia pancakes were superb! The only negative was the music... please loose the twangy Japanese style... it's grating on the nerves after a very short time... give us some Mexican crooners, a little Jimmy Buffet, some island reggie etc... who ever chooses the music please update your choices :)
The Italian Casita's was a disappointment and we wouldn't go back... the atmosphere was lovely, the waiter a tad superior which made us a little uncomfortable, but the food was just not our style... nothing wrong with it and I'm not saying don't go, but not to our tastes... however, Santa Fe was outstanding! 6 courses, 5 chosen by the chef, if you don't like something the waiters do whatever they can to bring without certain sauces etc. However, the whole experience was just superb! We ate there twice and reservations are required... wonderful meal both times... Jo Jo's by the beach and La Isla both excellent places with wonderful staff, and we ate there most days for lunch. The Pizzeria was very nice as well. We didn't eat at the Italian Restaurant by the Lobby, (ran out of time). Fuentes Dinner Theater was a huge disappointment for us. Waiters were lovely, but the food was not as nice as the other restaurants and it seemed more about selling Jackson Family Wines than the food to us... honestly, I couldn't wait to get out of there... but to each their own :) Someone else will love Fuentes... there is a huge range of places to eat here and no excuse to be unhappy... if you don't like one place try another... there is lots here for everyone!

The beach... I was prepared for the "black whales" everyone mentions... they are not a big deal, waves break on them making lovely wave watching, there are tons of fish there, but lots of rocks in the water making walking tricky so watch were you put your feet. The sand is pristine, white, and very very clean! Small amount of seaweed, certainly nothing unexpected after all it is the ocean lol. Ton's of Palapas, beach beds and chairs... yes you have to put your towel out early if you want a certain bed ... if not, wander around and find one no problems. The only comment would be ignorant people who put down towels and stay away all day... staff should remove towels after 2 hours if no one shows up... it's just poor form to steak out a spot and not use it.
Waiter staff on the beach were excellent. They work hard - we usually sat in Adal's area and he was excellent, never left us dry!

Pool areas were lovely, the first couple days we were there some seriously noisy Americans (yes, I'll say it - they were American and loud and proud of it) made the pool impossible to lay by! Met lots of quiet Americans too so not American Bashing lol. So we headed for the beach and just never went back to the pool by La Isla even after the loud ones went home :)

Cleanliness: We have never been anywhere so consistently clean - didn't matter where on the huge resort the bathrooms were immaculate, the grounds clean, sand raked, greenhouse tour was good too!

Golf Carts - well if you can get one wonderful, but be prepared to walk... there are not enough carts for the number of guests... plain and simple this service could use some work. The service for Carts is better in the Casita's area than the other Royale area. Also, we watched drivers narrowly miss people walking... Carts go darn fast sometimes and the carts have poor to no lights at night and are almost silent so it's hard to see them... and guest are drinking and distracted so....

Dress code: I packed way too much stuff... they are not as strict as the policy says which is a good thing. No shirts, shorts or clothing covered in skulls anywhere which was a nice change.
Breakfast, flip flops were fine, shorts (can be the boarding shorts just not scruffy), nice t-shirts, golf shirts, sundresses, capri pants etc. No hats worn indoors at any time which is fine :)
Lunch - flip flops still fine, nice cover ups that look like sundresses fine, shorts, nice t-shirts or collared casual dress shirt or golf shirt etc. No bare feet :)
Dinner - lady's nice sandals, men's sandals or shoes (no flip flops) nice dress shorts or long pants, no jeans, mens dress shirt (short sleeved), women casual pant suits, Capri pants, dresses, sundresses etc. A shawl or sweater is nice as the evening breeze is chilly as is the AC in some places.
We only saw one woman tanning topless by the La Isla pool right against the Pizzeria restaurant rope divider... it was a little surprising and kind of in bad form we thought... take it to beach or a at least a more private area... in our opinion anyway.

Two bars were pretty special and worth mentioning... Bellini's over the Santa Fe was lovely and the Martini Bar (much more than martini's) in the lounge area... The Chocolate Martini was absolutely beyond compare! One night they had a chocolate party in there and it was the coolest thing ever!

The Spa is expensive, but, too be honest it's the first massage I have ever had so I don't have a lot to compare it too... I will plan to return again on our next trip, just know you can drop $300 easily on the massage package for couples... so budget accordingly... Vittario had the magic tough and my husband had Sophia who he said was also very good... Water therapy looked wonderful and we will try it next time :)

In conclusion: this is a fine couples resort, the water wasn't as nice a Cozumel (not a clear or calm) so if all you want to do is snorkel consider going to Cozumel or Isla Mujares. Staff told me when it's not the rainy season water is nicer... ) but we didn't see much diversity in the fish at the beach and the reef isn't close enough to swim out to like it was on Cozumel. If you are single go to a singles type resort as this place is geared for couples and you will be bored and lonely. Truly romantic, mostly quiet (except for the odd guests without much class lol), nice evening shows done better than most in Mexico, by talented performers Guacamaya's in nice in the evening... or take a shuttle to Cancun or Playa Del Carmen which the hotel offers on a sign up basis so book early! Excellent food, great drinks, best staff and service we have ever had and we've been to Mexico several times. Movies each night in the open theater at 6:30 pm ...

We will return again and again to this resort, the problems are small and staff magnifico - you will not be disappointed - a wonderful place.

FYI: Some Suggestions for Management:
1) up date the music please - not just in Kampai but everywhere...
2) tables on the beach so we don't have to put our drinks in the sand... it's gross... get some wooden tables with hold for the glasses to drop into... seems odd that the resort that has it all doesn't have tables on the beach.... also glasses are just rinsed by hand and dried (yes we watched- rinsed, dried and stacked again and handed out) and put back into service... perhaps this could be changed and some disinfectant cleaner used...
3) more shuttles please - and if they could actually show up ... we waited 40 minutes once to see if they were actually coming - in front of building 1600 and one never came by...
4) room service consistency... rooms are not consistent when it comes to cleaners... twice we didn't get coffee replaced, only had turn down service once...
5) the coffee in the rooms is weak and not of good quality... restaurants have great coffee... need better coffee in the rooms

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, constantly being up graded as well... if you don't want to walk much try for the 1500, 1600, 1700 buildings as they are more central as well 1100 to 800 are close to the lobby and pretty central as well. Restaurants are spread out and Kampai, Santa Fe and Italian Casitas are a long walk (20 minutes) or short shuttle
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for allowing to host you with us and for your detailed review, We will extend your compliments to our staff.

I appreciate your honest opinions of your experience at our hotel, we have noted all your comments in order to work harder on them, together as a team with the different departments in the resort.

I am sorry that there were aspects where we did not fulfill your expectations. I have read through your review and have shared this with my operations team. We are dedicated to our guests and ensuring that their stay in El Dorado Royale a Spa Resort by Karisma be a great experience.

We appreciate all comments and we are truly very sorry that there were aspects of the food that you did not enjoy on this vacation. I will discuss this with our Executive chef and head of food and Beverage.

We hope that you will give to El Dorado Royale a Spa Resort by Karisma the opportunity to host your holiday again in the future.

Kindest regards.

Sincerely Yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just returned from Mexico - on 21st November. The flight was great, went on one the new Dream liner planes that Thomson have in their fleet. Upgraded and it was well worth it. 10 hours flight felt really comfortable.
We stayed at the El Dorado Royale room 5028. I must say that when we arrived there were several problems with the room. First of all it smelt musty and damp as if it hadn’t been used for some time. There were no black blinds to the window and the air con and fridge made so much noise we had to turn them off at night. After a welcome meeting the following morning we reported the issues to our Thomson rep. Two days later we reported it again, but although everything positive was said at the welcome meeting, nothing got sorted for us. Eventually we got our concierge to resolve the blackout curtains and the smell, but put up with the noisy air con and fridge, turning them off at night
This Hotel is the sister hotel to the Casitas. It did feel like you were a less important guest to those staying in the Casitas. One of my pet hates was seeing plates of half eaten food left outside rooms, on the balcony for 24 hours or more before it is cleared away. This hotel could be 5 stars, but it is more like a 3-4 star.
The staff do go out of their way to make your holiday special. The gourmet food is outstanding in all the restaurants but we found the best one is the Italian in the Casitas. We especially enjoyed breakfast at Cocatal and the dinner was great but Fuentes Cullinary Theatre was the best dinner experience If you are going to the candle lit dinner don't eat anything for lunch as it's a massive amount of food and very romantic.
If we went back we would stay in the Casitas as I feel you are treated as privileged guests in this part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience. I truly appreciate your feedback and I have enjoyed reading your comments.

I can assure you that your feedback will be used constructively and hopefully you will provide us the opportunity to host you once again so we can show you that the El Dorado Royale truly is a 5 star , luxury resort.

Best Regards
Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My boyfriend and I went to this resort for a week to celebrate my 40th birthday - we traveled on 21 November and returned on 28 November - All I can say is all inclusive will never match up to this again! Resort is quite big, but there are plenty of buggy's to get you around and no matter what time day or night there are staff all over the resort. Staff are amazing, nothing is too much trouble for them, from the friendly bar staff, to the waitress's and waiters in the restaurants to the hostess's who bring your drinks by the pool and on the beach! Can not praise the staff enough.
Room we stayed in was lovely, only problem I had was getting shower at right temperature - was either too hot or too cold but not a major problem, was a good excuse to chill in the hot tub with a drink whilst watching TV - Food at this resort is very good - we didn't experience one bad meal while we were here and it was all al a cart dining - would recommend Cocotal for breakfast as you can choose from a menu or help yourself to buffet - does get very busy - would also recommend room service breakfast for special occasion. We made a reservation at Santa Fe Grill in Casitas part of resort - 5 course menu - can not fault food or service, was exceptional. Jo Jo's is the most popular bar, bar staff here are busy but they always remember you and are ready to have a conversation and a laugh. Must mention Darwin - always ready with a smile and a drink! Evening entertainment was OK - staff work hard and try to get you involved but leave you alone if your not interested.

We went for a walk through to sister resort Casitas, will be stunning when it is finished, pictures from what we seen on internet really do not do it justice!

There are plenty of sunbeds around each of the pools and on the beach and there are a mix of different pools depending on how your feeling on the day, one by la isla has the biggest swim up bar and four poster beds so can get a little busy but we never had a problem finding a bed at any of other pools.

All in all this was the best holiday, we got engaged whilst here and will definitely be returning for our honeymoon.

Only downside is it is quite far from town, and shuttle buses were only available on the evening when it was dark - would have preferred a daytime shuttle bus

Room Tip: We had a sea view room on top floor (third floor) excellent view but swim up rooms would be useful during busy times if shortage on sunbeds
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_HP1615AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at the El Dorado Royale A Spa Resort by Karisma. It was a pleasure to welcome you here with us.

I am glad to read that we were able to exceed your expectations and I would like you to know that I have taken note of the detail that you found with the shower, because it was kind of difficult to regulate the temperature, we have forward this issue with the respective department.

Both, our manager and executive chef have tuned-in very well with the spirit of our site and they have been heartily welcomed in our team. It's particularly pleasing to hear our team be referred to as Great and we will ensure your feedback is passed on to them. Your kind words motivate all our staff to work every day better in order to serve our guest as you describe.

We have two complimentary shuttle service going to town, one of them is every Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday departing from the hotel at 6:00 p.m. and returning at 10:00 p.m. this one goes to Playa del Carmen and it is located 25 minutes away from the hotel, here is an open market and as it is an open area, there is no place to cover from the sun, that is the reason why we run it on the evening; we have another one which goes to Cancun every Wednesday and Saturday, this one is departing from the hotel at 12:00 p.m. and returning at 5:00 p.m. as we take to the Hotel Zone in Cancun, there are malls with air conditioning in the different stores, many paces to cover from the sun, Cancun is located approximately 50 minutes away from the hotel.

We hope host you here once again the next time you decide to come to the Riviera Maya.

Kindest regards,

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

OK, after staying at Seaside Resorts for the first week in June 2013 we asked to be moved to the El Dorado Royale for our second week to experience another Mexican location...

This is a massive beautifully kept complex and a simply magnificent value for money experience! The high quality 'Gourmet' dinning was just superb with some of the best all inclusive dining experiences we have ever had. There are restaurants to suite every taste, and an electric bus transport system will whisk you to your desired location. There are several pools with waiter service and swim up bars, so you can chose the atmosphere that suites your taste! The bars range from beach bars to bars that could easily be in a classy big city location! All extremely well stocked with premium brands and knowledgeable friendly bar staff. In fact, all the staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. All rooms are very well appointed but the newer deluxe refurbished rooms are much improved. There are many choices for rooms and the location can make a big difference! For a standard suite, which is amazing, a refurbished one is a must. It knows how to rain here, so not a ground floor suite would be the recommendation. There is varied high quality evening entertainment in a lovely location, with attentive waiters bringing you your desired drinks to your table. With turtles on the beach and even wild crocodiles confined to there own lake, there is nothing really negative without being unnecessarily picky. If you pick the right room, you will not be disappointed!!!

We also liked the super eco-friendly environment which they are very proud of!

Room Tip: A refurbished suite is a must and will add a great deal to your experience! The high rating is only due to the fact we had a refurbished suite! It knows how to rain here, not a ground floor room would be a recommendation! Look at the map, suites within walking distance to where you will spend your time will also enhance your holiday!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kidd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent and detailed review about our facilities, services and staff.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were so well looked after by the team here at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

We will make sure our bar and waiters team see your kind comments. They will feel so glad.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again in this wonderful Paradise called Riviera Maya.

Sincerely yours,

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews