We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just returned from a week's stay. This was our third trip to this resort and we have enjoyed every trip. We always get the swim up room and we think it is well worth the extra cost. We got the premium swim up and were not disappointed.

Check In - if you arrive earlier than 3:00 or with a big group of people expect to wait for your room. We always bring a change of clothes in our carry on bag so it was no big deal for us as we just changed and headed out for lunch. The check is was seamless. We were brought to one of the side desks for check in (think this was part of premium service) and everything was taken care of.

Food - we always enjoyed the food and the new Sante Fe restaurant was a welcome addition. The short rid was amazing. Some people have written that they have had issues getting into some of the restaurant's but we did not have any issues. We always went between 6-7 and never had any issues. If you arrive later as most people seem to eat later, than I suspect there may be a wait.

We ate at both the Italian restaurant in the regular section and the Casita section. Slightly different menu and both great food and great service. The dinner theatre was fun and the presentation was interesting.

Most lunches were at the outdoor restaurant. Try the south of the border burger for a great chili cheese burger. I know, not the healthiest choice but I was on vacation and I loved it. Macdiel provided great service with a smile.

Service - Nothing short of excellent. Our concierge was great. Sergeio and Ale were excellent answering questions and providing assistance when we needed it. Sergio went out of his way to help out get us a cable for our computer. If we ever needed anything, a quick visit and it was taken care of. Room service was always within 30 (although sometimes the food was not always hot, it was always warm). Another example of the great service was when we got up one morning and noticed that the lazy river in front of our room had collected a large amount of leaves etc. Talked to Ale and within 20 minutes someone was skimming the pool. The cleaning staff were excellent, and frankly all the staff were friendly and helpful.

I think some people that have issues with the service need to relax a little. One day the room cleaning was quite late and the fridge did not get restocked. This was the day that I was told 300 people were arriving at the resort (not to mention a huge amount leaving). We knew if we called we could get taken care of, but we knew that people were extremely busy and would get to us when they could. Relax, have a cerveza and enjoy.

Safety - you hear and read about some scary stuff in Mexico. We were never concerned. The resort itself does a good job or tracking people coming and going and ensuring there are no unwelcome guests at the resort. We even like to venture out on our own by getting a cab and heading into Playa. We know the area a little so are not concerned in the least. Mexico is like a lot of places, there are some areas where you could find yourself in a not so fun place if you are not careful. Quite frankly, some areas of Toronto concern me more that when we were in Mexico. Do some homework on where you are going, use the tour services provided by the suppliers at the hotels. Yes you may pay a little more, but you are pretty sure you will get good service and taken care of.

The Olympus tour people at the resort (just to the side as you head towards the main entrance) were great to deal with. Jesus provided some great information (best place to buy premium liquor is at the Europa store in Playa or Cancun) and helped organize a great day trip to Cozumel.

I can't comment to much on the night life. This time of year the sun sets at 5:30 - 6 so we tended to go to bed early and get up early to enjoy as much of sunshine as we could. Same with the Spa. Heard great stories, but we never took advantage of it.

Next trip we are going to try and do the tour of the green house. El Dorado has an amazing green house on site where they produce a great deal of their own vegetables.

I would highly recommend El Dorado Royale. The rooms were clean, spacious and inviting. The grounds were lush with vegetation and the resort overall was very well taken care of. The food was excellent and the staff were amazing. The cold cervezas and beverages never stop. Lots to see and do for everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest¡¡

First we want to thank you for the time you took writing such a detailed feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our premises and your visit to Mexico. It was a great pleasure welcome you.

We are delighted to read that you spent a wonderful holiday with us and found the accommodation, staff and ambiance of the resort very pleasant. I will passed your comments to all our staff , especially the employees mentioned as there is nothing better than to be acknowledged by one of our valued guests. Your words will definitely encourage and motivate our staff.

Thank you for the compliments and recommendation about our resort, we are very sure that your comments will be a nice reference to all the future travelers who are thinking about coming to this beautiful places called Riviera Maya.

We look forward for the opportunity to serve you again soon in your Mexican home, El Dorado Royale a Spa Resort by Karisma¡

Kindest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,452 - 5,458 of 10,778 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

El Dorado Royale was an excellent experience. This was our first all inclusive trip and we will definitely be back when we have the chance again. The resort property is very large, but we walked nearly everywhere without any trouble at all. There are also plenty of golf cart shuttles that you can take to get around if you desire. We had a room close to the middle of the resort which was nice and convenient to everything. We were very impressed with the quality of the food at all of the restaurants and recommend the Rincon Mexicano for lunch and the Italian for dinner. If you don't want to wait for dinner, you must arrive early before 7pm or late after 9pm and you shouldn't have a problem as most of the restaurants do not take reservations. The quality of the nightly entertainment was also very good, they showed a movie early each evening followed by a live band and some sort of show. We spent a lot of time on the beach during the day and recommend you get out there early to get a good seat in a good location as it fills up very fast. All in all we were very happy with our choice and would highly recommend this resort!

If I had one complaint it was the Wi-Fi and it's availability and cost. I think that should be included in your price and available in your room easily.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mountainman170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest¡¡

Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor, I thoroughly enjoy reading your feedback and I am happy that you had a great vacation with us.

Great food, perfect location and superior service from our staff, are just a little of what we offer at the hotel. I will share your comments with all the different departments. I have the believe that there is no better reward than to receive such comments from our dear and valuable guests, it is great to know that you appreciate the efforts of our staff.

In the other hand, I apologize for the use of Wi- Fi, which is not included in the rate, no doubt that your stay with us was affected due to the price and availability of the same. With your comments, certainly we are taking seriously your feedback and we see possibilities to improve that fact.

Hoping to welcome you back once again at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma

Kindest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is the third time staying at this resort, and it was as much fun as the first. The restaurants are all really good. Kampai seemed to be everyone's rave! You have to make sure you take advantage of all the activities and restaurants El Dorado has to offer. There are wine tastings, tequila tastings, chocolate tastings, and soooo many pool activities. This is an adult only resort and the nights get a little crazy! The Gucamayas Bar has a show every night, followed by a great dj to dance the night away! This would be a great "destination wedding" venue!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest¡¡

Thank you for your lovely review and rating us with the 5 stars award on TripAdvisor, we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, that you found our facilities, services very accommodating, that our staff, treat you with professionalism and kindness, Your kind words motivate all of us to work every day better in order to serve our guest as you describe, exceeding and fulfilling their expectations.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back in your Mexican Home at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Kindest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Excellent service! Loved the swim up room. Be sure to take the morning bike tour and visit the greenhouse then catch the nightly entertainment. Favorite meal was the breakfast buffet. Don't miss it. Favorite pool was the Fuentes. Luiz and Orlando are awesome! The candlelight dinner on the beach is romantic but the beach is not ideal for swimming. Kayak instead. Plenty to drink and plenty to eat.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest¡¡

First of all, we want to thank you for sharing your experience at our premises, It has been a real pleasure to read your recent review.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding our hotel facilities and most of all, our staff performance, be sure we will address your kindly comments to them.

We are sorry that the beach did not fulfill your expectations, we are working hard in order to recover it and make from this place another paradise.

Hoping to welcome you once again at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma,

Kindest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I had my wedding in November at El Dorado Royale and can't say enough positive things about the entire experience. We had close to 100 rooms and thanks to VIP Vacations-www.vacationsbyvip.com- and Jennifer Doncecsz, Ryan, Lauren and there entire team- it was flawless. I would totally recommend them for anyone traveling not just a wedding group. We had the Majority of our guests stay at the Casitas section and those that were not there were still put near each other. I've come to understand that is a very difficult thing to have a resort do. Everyone in our group loved this property. The food was fantastic and the service was second to none! Because it is a large resort, It could have been very difficult to communicate with all of our guests but thanks to Marisol at their weddings department everything went smoothly. Throughout the whole process Marisol was wonderful to work with!
Now to the resort, I would very much advise all readers to reserve a room in the casita section. I would also remind you that this property is very long and for ladies bring comfortable shoes.
We had several people with allergies or specific food needs and this resort resort catered to every whim. For entertainment, Guacamayas was places to hang out at night! The culinary theater was also so much fun and a very unusual experience. If you have single people attending a wedding or two ladies staying in one room Make sure they get a Lower category room because all of the other rooms only have king beds.
The resort does have shuttles to Playa Del Carmen and it was awesome to do that one night.
We got to use the spa on many occasions and it is absolutely fabulous!
Thanks to our amazing travel agent we were also given a candlelight dinner for two on the beach as a gift. I can't say enough about how wonderful that was! I look forward to traveling to Mexico again and staying at the El Dorado! Thank you VIP vacations and Marisol for giving me a dream wedding!

Room Tip: Book a Casita room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesscampbell410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I just returned from a week long vacation at this resort and had a wonderful time. The resort staff were all very welcoming and helpful (especially Vucko and Angel!). We really enjoyed how inviting the K-Team staff was when it came to day time activities. They were really great at getting folks involved in volleyball, kayaking, soccer, etc.

The food was great but we wished they offered more "relaxed" dinning options for the daytime…but than again it's hard to complain about 3 - 5 course meals. D-Italiano and Kampai were by far the best dinner options! We weren't big fans of Las Fuentes (the dinner theater).

The beaches were beautiful and had more than enough chairs and beds to accommodate everyone. Their artificial reefs were kind of an eye sore but it's for a good cause. The pools were very nice and almost all had a swim up bar.

Needless to say, we would definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurtman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest¡¡

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor of your recent experience in our hotel. It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it.

I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep on working, following the line and achieving our guests satisfactions, this comments will be very helpful for future travelers to try our destination.

Looking forward to welcome you back very soon at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican Home.

Kindest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have been to 5 resorts in Mexico now, 3 Karisma. While this resort was good my favorite of theirs is still Seaside Suites. This was our 3rd trip booking with Nanda from Beach Bum. She is always so helpful! She will give you great tips but here are a few notes based on our experience that may help someone when picking which resort to visit.

Pro:
-Lots of restaurants and bars to choose from.
-Every liquor brand you could want. (odd though to have a martini bar with no martini menu)
-Lots of pools
-Fantastic Service, always an "hola" as we pass
-Concierge (Juan) outside our villa was great.
-Lots of food choices but heads up, small portions! Order each course.
-Sky Massage was an awesome, unique place to relax.
-Pool waiters were good. Beach could use more.

Con:
-Not a scenic beach - sandbags protect the reef and it is rocky.
-Overall clean but they don't always pickup. For example there was a water bottle outside our room for 3 days. They also left the cleaning cart outside our doorway each night. At least cover it.
-On arrival there were bugs all over the balcony door (inside and out) we had to have them come spray. It was too buggy to use our balcony. Bring bug spray! We got bit.
-We were promised a welcome basket and while the note saying "this is our gift" was in the room it never came. Even when talking to Juan who made a note about it.
-Golf Carts - the resort is large so they take you around by cart if you desire. The problem is the carts are always zipping around. It's like you are walking in the street and need to be on the lookout. Especially at night as their headlights are dim. They never honk or slow down. They should use the back path and not long the beach side. I felt like I was in Chicago!
-Food often came just warm or even cold. Rarely hot.
-When you order off of a menu don't expect to get what is written. For example, I ordered a brownie at Santa Fe with coffee ice cream and hot fudge. What I got was a plain brownie. A melon, papaya juice at the health bar and not once but twice got apple, plum and not a piece of melon in sight.
-Even if you come early they often didn't have what we ordered. The 7pm reso when we ordered the "famous short rib", we were told they didnt have it. Tell us when we sit down so we don't decide then have to re-choose. One morning we ordered breakfast burritos. 20 minutes after our yogurt came the waiter finally came over not with food, but to tell us they were out of tortillas. We asked for the menu to re-select our breakfast and he said he would go check on the tortillas. 10 minutes later we walked out as we were wasting sun time and he was not to be found.

Room Tip: The one thing we didnt know going into it is that you could use the restaurants and bars on the Casa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GMSReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest¡¡

I want to thank you for taking the time writing your review, I can assure you that I have carefully considered your comments, as they are really important for us to achieve our guests satisfaction. I am very sorry knowing that your experience did not live up to previous holidays in other resorts in Mexico. This is very disappointing to here as we have a large number of loyal clients that return year upon year and we do everything possible to ensure that we surpass their expectations no matter if it is the first or fifteenth stay.

We are concerned because of the aspects of the food that you did not enjoy on this vacation, even when our resort is specialized in a la cart menu and our goal is offer to all of our guest a truly Gourmet Inclusive and romantic experience. I will discuss this with our Executive Chef and head of Food and Beverage.

Because of the tropical area we are located and the weather we have had during the last weeks, we have taken the respective measures to control the bugs, also a Fumigation company is in charge of that and verify the entire hotel in order to avoid other guests have the same issue or impression.

After read through your review, I will share this with my operations team. As we are dedicated to our guests and ensuring their experience like the very best.

Hopefully you can give us the opportunity of hosting you one more time in El Dorado Royale a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Kindest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
9.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,490 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,530 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £227 - £719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing