We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We thought we had a booked a Premium Swim Up Suite and a Premium Suite. When we went to check in, they had us down for 2 Premium Suites. After many conversations with many different people, we took the rooms that were assigned to us. What a mistake. We should have fought it out. The rooms were beautiful and well kept, but the service was non-existent. In the 3 days we were in this room, we received 1 day of cleaning, No replenishment of shampoo, soaps or body wash and No turn down service. After day 3, I finally complained to the Delta Vacations rep and he took us to talk with the manager of concierges. I explained what had been going on and how the service was non-existent. She said she would have someone clean and re-stock our room within the hour. Well that never happened and we never received turn down service that night either. The next morning we received a call from the Front Desk manager asking us if we wanted to move to the Casitas side of the resort. I said we would move, but you would have to move my brother as well, as we were traveling together. They obliged. They sent a bell boy to move our luggage to our new rooms. All I can say is WOW!!! these rooms are out of this world. What a difference in rooms and staff on this side of the resort.

Resort is geared towards the 65 + crowd and Exotic travel members.

Service in restaurants is slow and portions are small

Yes, you do need to play the towel game. My brother would get up at 6:00am each morning just to save us 4 chairs on the beach or by the pool.

Request a swim up suite, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Tripadvisor community. it was a pleasure to host your holiday howveer it is very diappointing to receive your 1 star rating, please accept our apologies for the areas that fell so far below your expectations , leaving you feeling disapppointed.

we can assure you that we never like to hear that one of our valued guests not enjoyed their visit and we have welcomed your feedback. we can not apologize enough for the service received and the inconsistencies with our houskeeping . Please rest assured we have addressed this and corrective measures are in place.

again , we would like to thank you for your patronage and we hope to host you again at the El Dorado Royale so that we can change your perceptions and treat you to a 5 star experience

Best Regards
Paula Negrete
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,829 - 4,835 of 10,159 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was our 4th visit to Mexico having previously stayed at Grand Bahia, Sandos Playacar and Sensatori. We had looked at booking one of the El Dorados on a number of occasions and after finally booking couldn't wait to get there.

We were delayed leaving Manchester and then further delayed in transfer to the resort as we waited for stragglers coming through arrivals and making it to the coach (through no fault of their own Thomson were particularly unhelpful in directing you the coaches). With all of the hanging around and in turn 16hours of travel we could not wait to get the hotel and get the holiday started. Sadly on arrival at the hotel we were greeted by yet more queuing and hanging around.....not a complimentary welcome drink or cold towel in sight (something we had looked forward to from previous trips to Mexico)

The resort itself is beautiful, the rooms, the restaurants and hotel itself the El Dorado Royale was completely let down the the level of service due to overworked staff.
Thankfully on arrival, once we had checked it we made it to the room, got changed and went out for dinner to the Italian restaurant the food and service was fabulous, great selection and great quality food.

Major bugbears
1. Waiting to be seated for ALL meals
No matter whether it be breakfast, lunch or dinner, We quickly learned that heading to a restaurant would involve hanging around and waiting.
Heading for dinner at 7.30/8pm meant that you wouldn't be seated until 9.45/10pm which quite frankly is ridiculous! We resorted to heading out of the door and to a restaurant by 6.45/7pm eg. We arrived at 6.57 (precisely as they note down your time of arrival) to Kampai one evening and were told that there was a 40minute wait. We thought that would be fine, there's a bar close by so we would have a pre-dinner drink. The buzzer we were given hadn't gone off after 40mins so we went to see whether there was a problem..... After very little interest from the admittedly busy maitre d and little explanation as to what the hold up was We were seated at 8.20pm......in my book that is certainly not 40mins!

We waited 1.5hours at worst for dinner on our one week break and that was at D'Italia.

One of the most frustrating things about the wait was that you could see empty tables and dirty uncleared tables. The rationale for the empty tables was that they keep tables that have been reserved for 30minutes before giving them to other waiting guests. Nowhere in the UK would a restaurant hold a table/leave it empty whilst you have guests waiting

2. Bed being reserved on the beach from 6.30am and not being used until lunch/afternoon

3. Receiving a call on the last evening by hotel management thanking us for choosing the hotel, asking whether we had enjoyed our stay. To which i responded saying that we had been let down by a couple of issues, she responded with, that's a shame, what time would you like your bags collected tomorrow?

4. Check out on the last day, first guests through La Isla at 12.30, we checked with staff that we would be served and out by 1.15pm as the coach transfer to the airport was due. "Yes certainly, of course madam" was the response. We waited to be served, had to remind them of our hurry, they finally took our order at 12.47 the restaurant manager came out, unprompted at 1.05 saying how busy the kitchen was (we ordered first and there was a handful of guests eating) and that our meals would be with us soon. I politely reminded him we had to be leaving in 10minutes. Needless to say our calamari starter never made it out of the kitchen and our main was taken out in a napkin to eat on the way to reception

The standard of cocktails and food is fantastic, with daily refreshed minibars.

The hotel could easily resolve these problems by employing more staff, the Eldorado Royale truly has potential, we were left disappointed and unrelaxed by the whole episode.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Becs X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

It is truly disheartening to hear that your stay was anything less than a 4-Diamond experience. We would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer services at customerservices@karismamexico.com in hopes to gain further information about your stay. The experience you described is not the high quality of service we strive for and for this we are truly very sorry

Best Regards

Paula Negrete
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Tropical Travelers booked this for a big family event of 20+ and they steered us in the right direction. We have stayed at many all inclusive Mexico resorts on the Gulf coast, this one is best.
The food is fabulous, with 9 restaurantst to choose from. ONly 2 require reservations which were worth it. Everyone, right down to the gardeners, were as pnlite and friendly as Disney World.
Beach stretches for a mile and there is plenty of room. Rooms very well designed and clean..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FXD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our 4th trip in a row to this resort. Stayed this time in a swim up jacuzzi suite. We have stayed in casitas also but find these the best bang for our buck. Our dollar. Yours may vary. The service here once again was impeccable, the concierge Miguel handled all our needs even though we mistakenly were using him instead of the person we were suppose to. oops.. Cocotal served all our breakfast wants as it is buffet style and quick to eat albeit a tad noisey in the morning. Rincon for breakfast was also good. In the evening Rincon was great as I had the sea bass twice while there. Cocotal fillet was so good. We didn't make it to the other end of the resort to dine but have in the past with nothing but rave reviews. One evening we did the Kendall-Jackson dinner theater. That was one of the top 5 meals I have eaten out in all our travels. If you need anything, they have always done everything to help us out.
When we first checked in, Jorge once again was spot on. Thanks again Karissma.

Advice. if your there before 3 p.m. take a swim suit or cool clothes. The rooms are ready after 3 p.m. Make dinner reservations when you get there especially for Santa Fe. make them, you can always change them They ask if you have food allergies at each meal. Drink waiter comes around about every 20 minutes, that is plenty. The portions sometimes are small, order two then. Ask the maid for some room deodorant, it is a tropical smell. if you have a request ask a butler or concierge. There are two resorts but you can use the restaurants in the Casitas. Enjoy a small piece of paradise. Any questions.drop me an email.

Room Tip: rooms 4100 to 4300 are close to a pool/restaurants/lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuyNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our second trip to Mexico, and thought our hotel last year(Azul Fives) could not be bettered, we were wrong.
The resort is immaculate, and the rooms spacious and kept very clean.
The choice of food is impressive, the choice for breakfast was great enough variety of food to cover all tastes, but the Omelette and Egg Benedict were particularly special.
So many restaurants to choose from for lunch and dinner, our favourite was the Santa Fe, with Fuentes Culinary Theatre a close second, a special experience.
The only down side to the food was the evening meal in Cocatel Restaurant, which was our only disappointing meal over the whole fortnight.
Plenty of Bars around, but if you go make sure you try the Martini Bar, all the bars have a nice relaxed atmosphere, and like everywhere else the Staff are extremely helpful and attentive.
It is a big hotel, but because of the space and choice of pools, bars and Restaurants, you never feel crowded, with very little queuing (except if you go for breakfast between 0900-1000).
The best thing about the hotel however are the staff, fantastic level of customer service, especially from the Butler Service adjacent to block 41 (particular mention for Moses), and the bar staff around the Sensi Mar Pool (again particular mention to Maggie, who is a credit to the hotel).
One point about room choice, we were in block 40. (4002), which we liked, but you are close to the entertainment and can be noisy up to about one o'clock, so if you want a quieter time ask for block 42.
We are definitely going back for some more Winter Sun in luxurious accomodation.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Drinks and food were great, most of the staff were friendly and fun. Grounds are pretty, spa massage was good. Our issues were with the rooms.

We traveled as three couples for a week and all purchased royale swim up suites in June 2013 and requested they be next to each other. Our travel agent was at the same resort a week prior (Jan 2014) and also made this request. Needless to say, they weren't all together (they put us in 5202-5206-5408). One room was available at 3pm and the others sat outside with their luggage until 5:30! Once in rooms, room 1's air didn't work and they fixed right away. Room 2, didn't have a working telephone for three days and lost hot water for a day. Room 3, broken toilet and cockroaches!!!

We have traveled for 10 years and have never encountered this many issues with the rooms (especially considering what we paid)....sad because if they had been better this would have been a great review! The resort obviously knows they have major problems, as they left a bottle of champagne with an apology note the last night in rooms 2 & 3.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review, we are happy to hear your overall experience was an enjoyable one . we are gald that our staff were on hand to assist you and enhance your stay wherever possible. We do apologize that we were unable to honor your room request to be next to one another , unfortunately such requests can not be guaranteed in advance and are subject to the hotel operation. We would like to invite you to contact the Head of Customer services at customerservices@karismamexico.com be sending you a private message in hopes to gain further information about your stay.

Best Regards
Paula Negrete
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Dorado Royal in Playa for our 1 year anniversary. We went on Sunday, got to the beautiful resort, the hotel was suppose to send someone to pick up my husbands lost luggage at the airport. They told us at 3:00 it should be there by 4:00, to go eat at JoJos while we wait. Poor staff they just looked at us bc my hubby had a tank top on, said they couldn't serve us. We told them our luggage was lost but on its way. They refused so he put his hoodie on in the HOT outdoor eating area! Service was super slow. After getting to our room at 4:30 still no luggage we proceeded to call the front desk, and walked to the concierge, by 10:30 pm we got our luggage. At 11:30 pm our lock to our room had to be manually changed out. The next morning we contacted the concierge to make reservations at the restaurants. They told us they were all booked up, there wernt any openings for the whole week!!!! Then they wanted us to join the "loyalty club" to come back! So far our day spent there was not pleasant! We refused, went back to our room to find a paper under our door saying they made room for us 7:00 pm for dinner. Hmmm... Ok. It was nice of them. We receives an offer to test the waters at the brand new just opened that day Generations resort right next door, we jumped on that deal! It's for family's but it was amazing!!!! Staff was spectacular food awesome! Although it was still under construction and not all the dinner places were open it was still amazing! All the fruity drinks are made with artificial flavoring such as banana. I hoped it was a real banana! Also guys make sure you have shirts with collars everyday!

Generations is awesome!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheri0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences, we are truly very sorry your husband lost his luggage at the airport and please accept our apologies for the areas in service that fell below expectations .

we are thrilled that you took advantage of our New Family hotel , Generations Riviera Maya. It is definitely a unique and stunning hotel for all ages to enjoy.

we have taken on board your feedback and this will be used constructively to perfect our Gourmet Inclusive experience

Best Regards
Paula Negrete
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,941 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £252 - £778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing