We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week in paradise”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Best food we've had in mexico. Drinks were good, service was great. The grounds are beautiful and clean. The pools are the perfect temperature. Very relaxed atmosphere. Our only complaints are that we were given two double beds and we reserved a king. Also the lock boxes in rooms require a key that you have to carry around with you. They need to get digital safes. The beaches don't compare to those in cancun but they keep them as nice as possible. We stayed in building seven and the location was great. Quiet yet close to everything

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dshamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Dshamel.

I want to thank you for taking the time to write and shared your past experiences at our hotel. Your feedback is respected, valued and important when maintaining the outstanding quality of our five-star resort.

We are very sorry for not been able of fulfilling your request regarding the bed.

We have read your comments, and certainly we are taking them seriously, your feedback is really important for us and provide us possibilities to improve our services.

We sincerely hope to welcome you at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma on a future occasion.

Warmest regards.

Sincerely yours
Paula Negrete
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,636
    1,740
    633
    378
    233
See reviews for
664
6,438
106
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,549)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I were there six days in late Feb 2014 (just returned as I write this). The place is wonderful, the staff are extremely nice and helpful, the property and pools spotless. The beach was a negative for us, we're beach people and it's nice enough hanging out in one of the cabanas on the sand, but we like to get in the water and swim, and that wasn't very possible due to the large amount of coral (not the resort's fault and can't really be changed). The big sand bags were pretty ugly, I'd prefer a more natural all-white sand beach. But otherwise, there were plenty of pools (the smaller one over by Rincon is a hidden gem, not even on the map yet).

The staff always tried their best, especially Maggy at that Rincon pool. Yes, the portions were small and we appreciated that very much. We stay in shape primarily with portion control and in fact most food in restaurants and homes around the world is wasted. If you require more food, just ask for it! By serving huge portions you appease those who are gluttonous or have big appetites, but then everyone else has to waste food. Besides, we had multiple courses and were full by the time we left. Yes, sometimes we had to wait but not out of the ordinary for back home and there was always a beautiful place nearby to spend that time.

We were in the newer section near the edge of the property, in block/building 53. We liked that it was close to the Fuentes larger pool and this smaller Rincon one and away from all of the loud obnoxious drunk people (we drink our share as well). The larger pool bars got pretty rowdy by the swim up bars but the smaller pool by Rincon had a pretty chilled out atmosphere by the swim up bar and had the advantage of having sun all day, whereas the others would get shady due to all of the palm trees (not necessarily a bad thing).

The food was great, especially at the Rincon Mexican Restaurant, which I think is new. The lunch there with the steak tips, onions and mushroom tacos and other meals was great! Everything we ate there (lunch, dinner, breakfast) was great so we went back a few times. The other restaurants were great too, except D'Italia wasn't very Italian, but the food was good.

The place is wonderful and a great value, They weren't too pushy about the Exotic club membership. The events like the tequila tasting, cooking class, latin dancing, pool exercising were fun. The shows were very good. We just wish there were more live entertainment around during the day, like at the pools, even solo/duo acts and more Latin music.

Our concierge wasn't in the little hut (either of them) several times when we tried to go get help with something, which we didn't understand since there are two of them and it was at various times of the day. They weren't the best when they were there, kind of confused about who we were, when we were leaving, what they had already told us or given us.

The room cleaners were amazing, came by twice a day, turndown service at night with great towel animals and other nice touches. We tipped everyone each day with a buck or two or a five at time, which was not asked for but greatly appreciated. Another good idea would be to put a list of the next day's activities under the door or in the room at night. There was probably a TV channel with this though, if so that should be affixed to the TV so it is known about and easy to access. Anyway, great overall and we highly recommend. A big, beautiful place with lots of wonderful helpful employees.

Room Tip: If you like being away from the noisy areas and close to the quieter pool and best restaurant, go wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diver4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Recently spent 14 days at the resort. We too had a great time, but felt the focus was too much on gourmet meals. We too experienced inconsistencies with room cleanliness, soap/towel replenishments, mini-bar filled or not filled and turn down service hit or miss, all the while tipping all staff. This didn't seem to affect our expectations when we returned to our room daily. Only one pool had daily music, which made for a boring time around the pool. Food is only served in restaurants and not around the pool and be sure to dress appropriately for all meals. The 70 year old waiter who served drinks around the main pool, never smiled and took all day to get you your drink - much easier to get into the pool and get to the swim up bar and get your own, except for every day the bar closed by 4:30 meaning it didn't matter if patrons were still in or not. Like one previous reviewer, we were almost ran over by the many golf carts, because this resort is so large to get to some restaurants that was the only way to travel. I can't say I had much appreciation for the beach either. You had to be up by 6AM to grab a chair or you were without a place to soak up the sun. The view of the ocean was marred by what I called beached whales, large bags holding sand to naturally rebuild the beach from what was lost in the last hurricane. The water according to my husband was like a landfill, no focus on keeping it clean from the garbage that rolls in nightly. I ca't totally bash the resort because I did get a nice vacation, but I do know that I would not return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Sherry S.

We want to thank you for your review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor, it was a pleasure to host your holiday. We really appreciate all comments from our dear and valuable guests.

We are truly very sorry knowing that there were aspects of the food, service, cleanness, that you did not enjoy or you felt short of your expectations on this vacation. We will discuss this important points with the Manager in charge of the respective areas you mentioned.

We will certainly take all the comments you have made into consideration and on your next visit, if you give us the opportunity of course, we will be sure and more than happy to show you at firsthand the improvements that you have helped us to achieve in El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Warmest regards.

Sincerely yours
Paula Negrete
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just got back from Elderado Royal after spending 14 nights there.
Some things were great but there were major problems in other areas.

Room was great, junior suite overlooking the sea, clean and comfortable.
Tucans pool and bar were very quiet and relaxing, always easy to get a sunbed.
Cocktail bar and Belines champagne bar were great places to chill out.

The main issue was the restaurants for dinner. If you are staying at the Elderado you cannot book the most popular restaurant's, if you are staying at the Casitas you can. So basically if you were trying to get into a restaurant of your choice you had to eat when the Casitas guests didn't want to ie before 18 : 30 or after 21:00.
The problem was exaibated due to the high occupancy levels. Tables were booked and left empty from when the restaurants opened to the booked time which could be any time between 19:00 or later. Would not happen in a paying restaurant.

Another major issue was the golf buggies at night, they travelled around with no lights and the speed they travelled at was not acceptable. We witnessed several near misses. We reported this to the hotel and tour rep but nothing seemd to change.
Overall a good holiday which should have been excellent. Gourmet Inclusive it was not.

Room Tip: Make a fuss about waiting times in restaurants then your travel rep will then book them for you even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your holiday to the El Dorado Royale . we are happy to hear you enjoyed your experiences however we are disappointed to hear of your issues getting seated in our restaurants . your feedback is invaluable to us and has been taken very seriously .

we will use your comments constructively to make improvements as we strive to provide the perfect gourmet inclusive vacation experience

Best Regards
Paula Negrete
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laceby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

As returning guests we knew what to expect or so we thought - well we thought wrong - and we were not alone - I have waited until now to review because I wanted to give Thompson a chance to rectify the matter - they don't care.
Room - Allegedly one of the ones that had been updated Room 5324 - the room was scarred by the removal of a bath surround - walls were poorly plastered and the orange wall paint was splattered over the ceiling and there were unsightly blemishes on the wall and ceiling around the bath. - not Luxurious accommodation and definitely not what we had experienced on our previous 2 visits.
Service - Room Service was more miss than hit we received it only 1 out of the 3 occasions that we booked it and when we rang to see where it was the staff were just plain rude.
Mini Bar - We had to beg for this to be replenished and were frequently left without water and other soft drinks throughout the fortnight.
Resort Service - The nightly turn down service was a lottery and we only received this service on 5 of our 14 nights definitely not 5 star quality
The dining experience was very disappointing compared to our previous visits - they were understaffed across the resort to deal with the number of people that were there -this led to poor service to cold or inedible food being experienced in a number of the restaurants - definitely not a cutting edge take on dining Gourmet inclusive.
Christmas - we wanted a guaranteed good time which is why we paid a bit extra for this resort - there was little to no acknowledgement of Christmas shown on the resort with regards to entertainment. Unless you wanted your picture taking with 2 tarts and an old man dressed in santa outfits. - Not tasteful and not 5 star
The activities team had been cut to the extent where they were unable to deliver services they had on previous visits but asked us not to say anything in case they lost their jobs
Be warned - Thomson do not want to know once they have had your money - we have complained and received nothing but dismissive letters.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is used to 5 star all inclusive holidays it does not measure up and was not worth the money that we paid for it.
Will be going back to Mexico for Xmas as it is a lovely place and the people are nice and friendly - will be choosing an alternative resort.

VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING
OTHER PEOPLE WERE COMPLAINING WHILST WE WERE THERE - PITY WE DON'T HAVE CONTACT DETAILS - GOOD ADVICE FOR ANOTHER TIME.

S & K B

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel if you want a nice time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LacebyMr_Mrs_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review of your christmas vacation with us at the El Dorado Royale , we appreciate your time taken to share your experience and we are truly very sorry that we fell short of expectations.

we have read through your review and have addressed your comments at all levels . Christmas is a special time and we do our best to intergrate traditions from all over the world in the experience we offer to our guests

your opinons are invaluable and we have taken each and every comment very seriously , your feedback will be used to make improvements to our holiday experience and will be considered when planning next christmas

Best Regards

Paula Negrete
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. The staff are extremely helpful and cannot do enough for you and the food is great. I have two problems, one most important one is that you can only book for two of the restaurants and unless you want to eat at 6 p.m. every night there is very often at least an hours wait for a table. We found this most unacceptable as not every evening do you wish to eat this early. I feel this is something the hotel must address and quickly as there were a lot of complaints with having to wait. The other is you have to pay for use of the internet and this is very expensive when most of the other hotels in the area is free. Apart from these two points I would strongly recommend this hotel.
I personally would not recommend going to Chichen Itza as it is too long a day and would go to the smaller Tulum which is nearer and also gives you an insight into the Mayans.

Room Tip: Try for a room centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank diddyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wash dc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We usually go to 3.5-4 stars hotels and I was very excited that we purchased 5 star hotel for 3 stars price, but you are always getting what you are paying for....
Things that I liked in this hotel:
1. Beautiful and clean room
2. Clean Pools
3. Beautiful garden
4. Italian and Santa Fe restaurants-food was delicious
5. My chocolate wrapping in spa was fabulous ($215, 90 min)

Things I did not like:
1. Terrible beach (trash, sharp stones, not much space to swim)
2. Poor selection in the buffet
3. No fresh juices in the buffet (5 star hotel)
4. A LOOOT of people everywhere, pools have plenty of people all the time
5. Waited for an hour to get a room when checked in
6. Had to reserve a spot on the beach and at the pool. Before 8.00 AM on the beach and earlier at the pool
7. A lot of old people, more than 50%, some of them in a wheel chair
8. Had to wait an hour for a dinner at the italian and santa fe restaurants
9.Sidewalks are like a busy highway, you always have to watch for golf carts
I have a doubt that all good reviews are written by guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuta20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,667 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing