We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“want to go again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“want to go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a great resort lots to do which are included we cycled, snorkelled ,and kayaked. Fantastic food lots of great restaurants. top tip book the cooking show and steakhouse one the first or second day as they get booked quickly. the couple we went with was sick the day they had booked the cooking show and they could not get booked in again on our 10 day trip.

the spa was lovely we went twice, the massage on the beach front is a great way to start your holiday.

entertainment was good and 3 pages of different cocktails to try to. we were very close to the airport so didn't have long transfers we were also close to the dolphin swimming and the whale shark swimming and marlin fishing.

great adults only resort the candle lit dinner was romantic and we had a man playing the saxophone too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank joeglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear friend from United Kingdom

It is indeed a pleasure to receive such a nice review highlighting our background the activities, facilities, services and most of all, our staff professionalism and kindness. It makes my team and managers very proud to be part of this great family El Dorado Royale.
We would all be very pleased to have you back for another memorable vacation

Best regards,
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,296
    1,666
    606
    371
    225
See reviews for
591
6,152
95
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,441)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We started our plan with Beach Bum Vacations and Danielle, best decision ever! She handled all of ours and our guests needs quickly and professionally. She especially helped my now wife a lot!! Of course me as the groom got cut out of the planning process early into it and Danielle took over and helped her the entire way. We had 40 ppl attend and everyone absolutely loved it!!!! Many saying the best trip ever. Loved the rooms, loved the service, food, drinks and the entire resort overall. Most want us to celebrate our 1st Anniversary there next year! The wedding and all of the events went better than we could've ever expected. My wife was happy so I was happy. The service at the resort was great! You didn't get the feeling you were at an all inclusive. We stayed in the 3000 Casitas section and Israel (Izzy) was great and our beach butler Jorge awesome! Anything we needed they took care of!!!! Bloody Mary to my dad's back door every morning at 10am! We would go back tomorrow! GREAT, great, great!!!

Room Tip: Casitas is worth the upgrade! Rooms are much nicer but located in your own little villa with concier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
First of all my sincere Congratulations!!
We really appreciate you having taken the time to write this review with such a detailed description of your beautiful wedding in our property. We feel very proud to acknowledge you feel so enthusiastic about your recent experience at our premises and we hope that we form part of your so cherished wedding and honeymoon memories. As we know this a very big an important day.

As you were witness and lived this with us, we have many exceptional wedding coordinators which combined with the exceptional work of Beach Bum vacations would not be possible.
Thank you for all your kind words and the good promotion we may receive from them.
We hope to receive you again for another memorable holiday and why not Anniversary.

Sincerely,
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were never able to take our honeymoon as we were too busy raising our children. We decided on El Dorado and could not have been more fabulous. The only complaint we had was the scheduling of our meetings and the lack of communication between our concierge and other staff. Otherwise it was great. WE would HIGHLY recommend this beautiful clean resort. The staff is incredible and so polite, they make it a 5 star resort. The food was delicious and the resort was so clean. We will be back in a couple of years!

Room Tip: we were in building 40 with an incredible view, 3rd floor, i doubt there is a bad room in this resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank westshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma for your recent stay,
We truly regret your negative experience with the concierge service and we are very sorry to read that we were not able fulfill your expectations. We truely hope you can give us another opportunity in the future to restore your confidence on our business, is that is the cases please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Warm regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic time at this hotel, the room was brilliant, the staff were really friendly and helpful. The pool activities were a lot of fun, and the food was fantastic. Thoroughly recommend this hotel, we'd love to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexgrant1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Valued reviewer,
I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We are privileged to have been able to host you and your partner's honeymoon stay with us!
We look forward to welcoming you back again, maybe for a first year anniversary? We will have the champagne chilled, awaiting your next arrival.

warm regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We could write a long complex descriptive here but ultimately this was a wonderful resort and staff went above and beyond. We had a Oceanfront Junior Jacuzzi Suite which was stunning and even room service was wonderful. Already planning next year's trip! The one area that we could have done without was the ever present fellow who daily was trying to have us book a spa treatment. Other than that we will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Tony I,
My most respectful greetings to you from sunny Mexico.
Thank you for recognizing us as your top choice for your next year visit to Mexico. We feel honored to also represent Mexico as worldwide destination. We are looking forward to see you next year.

Best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Second visit to a Karisma hotel and still a big fan. This hotel is the largest we have ever stayed in. Despite that the service was outstanding and the hotel clean, efficiently run, and pretty much all the staff went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful experience. This hotel caters for food lovers in a big way . The rooms are exceptionally well kept and so are the grounds. Golf carts fly everywhere all day to take you from place to place and there's plenty of places to go. Plenty to do and if you want party atmosphere the the main pool caters for that all day but get a few yards from there and you have peace and quiet if that's your desire. Would thoroughly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrcrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Let me express my gratitude for taking the time to write about your stay at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we have no doubt that a stay in Mexico with out a great waether tempts to get on the way, but we are glad that with the help of our staff, your stay was not completly merged by this.

Saludos form Sunny Mexico
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I spent six days here starting on June 2, 2014. We had a basic garden view suite (room #811). The room was excellent, with the pillow menu, a fantastic shower, a very comfortable bed, and a great air conditioner. The lanai was also great, and enjoyed the furnished hammock.
The food was good. My favorite was the lobster bisque and lasagna at the Italian restaurant, though my wife liked Santa Fe best (it was very good!). We both loved the Cocotal breakfast too. We found the bars and the bartenders to be great, with fast and friendly service. The free shuttles to Playa Del Carmen and Cancun was a great benefit and well done.

The reasons for the lack of 5-stars were: 1) the frequent, fast moving carts (almost got hit by at least one), 2) the lack of better swimming beach (versus say Bavaro Beach in the Dominican Rebublic), and 3) repeated delays / changes on the ability to get our room (we arrived before the 3:00 pm check-in time). My complaint is not that the room was not available, but that the story kept changing to a later and later time.

While not all of the staff were overly friendly, most were kind and helpful. We would recommend the resort, and plan to return as soon as possible. It is a very large resort, and the carts are necessary to get around effectively.

Room Tip: While our room (#811) was not beachfront, it was very convenient to the pool and several restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.7 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,313 reviews
4.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing