We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Dorado 6-23-14 ---- 6-29-14”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our 3rd trip to El Dorado Royale. Property was emaculate as always. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great week! The only negative was being approached by the concierge on our 2nd day telling us we needed to schedule a "update" meeting on the resort. As a member who receives multiple emails weekly I see no reason for this meeting other than Exotic travel trying to upsell me something. The concierge also called several times trying to schedule this meeting. We love the resort but do not want to be bothered with sales people while on vacation. If i want info on something......I will ask.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear valued member,
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words, I enjoyed reading your review. I'm very proud of each and every employee at the El Dorado Royale.There is no better reward than to receive such comments from our Exotic members. I appreciate your feedback your comments have caused great concern to us and the Executive Management of Exotic and a meeting taken place specifically to discuss the issues mentioned. Within this meeting we reviewed the comments you have mentioned. Following the topic about the invitation received from the concierge of Exotic, we would like to inform you that Exotic is a professional company. The guests are invited to an information meeting, it is at the discretion of our guests to accept or decline the invitation
If there’s anything we can do to help plan your next perfect getaway, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Sincerely
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,333 - 4,339 of 10,185 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We decided to get married at El Dorado and I must say that it was a quick and painless event. The staff was amazing, very polite and went out of their way to make sure we were happy with everything. The food for the reception was top notch.

We spent an additional 4 days at El Dorado and we had a very enjoyable time. The staff is very polite and helpful. The food was good with many options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The romantic beach dinner was amazing. We made many friends by hanging out at a small pool behind the La Isla restaurant. The main pool really wasn't our thing. Too many activities going on when we only wanted to relax.

We are already talking about when we want to go back. Probably to celebrate our first anniversary.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our junior suite. We had others upgrade to swim ups in our wedding party and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hola Mr. Robert C,
Congratulation to you and your new Mrs.!
A magnificent wedding it is definitely our specialty, we thank you for your comments and the opportunity the appreciation of our work to make of this special day a dream come true. We recommend visiting Las Fuentes pool on the other side of the property for a much quiet atmosphere on your next visit to our property. We really hope you can join us again.

Warm regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

El Dorado Royale was amazing! The food was great and the atmosphere was luxurious. The only downfalls were expensive spa prices and the artificial reefs. Other than that it is worth while. We will definitely consider coming back for our next vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear LBroz,
Thank you for visiting us at El Dorado Royale Resort & Spa, and we appreciate your contribution with a five star rating. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had the most amazing honeymoon at this resort. Everything was very clean, food was beyond delicious, and the staff couldn't be more helpful without being pushy! We had the greatest bartender of the entire resort, thank you Guillermo for making it so wonderful! He was even able to give us some excellent suggestions on where to eat when we went out to playa del Carmen. Both of us spent most of the time in our bathing suits. It is recommended that you wear a shirt or cover up waking a round the resort, honestly I would have felt silly not. Dress for the evening various but I felt most comfortable in dresses while my husband wore dress shorts and polos or button downs.

There are a ton of activities going on all the time, however we chose to stay towards our room and a little more secluded which was amazing. We did get a massage on the beach which was worth it just to lay and hear the waves, not my best massage but the ocean view made up for it. We also snorkeled on the resort and thought that was pretty cool. The only other activity we participated in was the fire show, interesting but short. Bonanza ranch is on the property but considered an excursion. We loved the horses and swimming in the cenote. Only problem, so many bugs! Even though they give you bug spray bring more!

As far as food goes we highly suggest going to Santa Fe grill for breakfast and dinner. JoJos is good for lunch but a little disappointing for dinner, plus the bartenders there are not as friendly. Kampia was excellent for dinner. We ordered a lot of room service and ate on our porch. Where ever you eat always order more than you think you would normally because portions are very small.

We would go back in a heart beat and swear it is worth every penny!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Travelgirl1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Travelgirl1502
Thank you for recounting your experience in such vivid detail. You clearly have a keen eye – for spotting wildlife, style & aesthetics, customer service – and I am thrilled that you loved everything you laid eyes on.

I am sure that many of our trip advisor fellow readers will definitely appreciate your recommendations and suggestions.

We hope the memories of El Dorado Royale stay fresh in your memory always – though we hope and look forward for your visit once again in the near future.

Warm regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are totally not resort people! However, we would return to this place in a heartbeat. Everything about this place is perfection. We loved every minute of our stay and highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully appointed. It would depend on your budget which type you would choose. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMc1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Mary M,
thank you for your post, We look forward to welcoming you again here at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Best Regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our fourth stay at El Dorado Royale in 6 years. We love that there is always something to do if you want to do something, or just relax if that is what you choose to do at that moment, and night-life every night, unlike any other resorts we have stayed at in the Cancun/Riviera Maya area. The staff are always very accommodating. Will continue to visit and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room at this resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear repeating guests,

It has been really nice reading your detailed review on your recent holiday at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.
We heartily appreciate your kind words.
Hoping to receive you again in sunny at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma,

Kind regards,
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it. The resort was gorgeous and food was amazing I didn't want to leave. I would recommend a swim up room and skipping the timeshare presentation. My only complaint is the nightlife we never got to see one show because it was always full even when we went 30 mins early we still had no chance. Final tip is they have premium liquor but if you don't specifically ask for it you get the cheap stuff. We figured that out the last night which was kind of a piss off. We had the honeymoon package so we got the candle lite dinner which was Amazing and the massages as we'll they are ridiculously priced in my opinion but so worth it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anastasia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Anastasia Z,

We have had a great pleasure reading your review.
Thank you so much for all the kind words addressed to our facilities, services and, most of all, our staff.
Looking forward to receive you, once again, at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma for another memorable vacation,

Sincerely,
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,950 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £246 - £784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing