We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place but not "gourmet food"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place but not "gourmet food"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The place itself is gorgeous so no complaints on that. One of the reasons we chose this resort is because it said gourmet and you know how all inclusives can sometimes be so so with the food choices. We found the service at the restaurants to be mediocre. They don't give out straws unless you ask for it which seems petty but its annoying especially at the pool. The entrees are extremely small which I'm used to having gone to several all inclusives but when you ask for more food they seemed surprised and irritated. For instance the caprese salad at D'italia was minced tomatoes stacked up the size of a half stack of dimes. The best meal we had was at the Asian restaurant, lots of flavor and slightly exotic. We booked the food experience show at Fuentes and that seemed to be the only thing that was more "gourmet." The show itself was quite boring which several guests we spoke to agreed with and a few just walked out. The hosts talked alot about each of the 5 courses and there were large screen tvs so you could see them prepare but the cameras were so bad they pointed to everything but the food. It just semeed to drag on but the food was very good. One course was diced ahi tuna with apples served on a tostada with a sauce and another was seared Mahi Mahi with avocado. We didn't hit all the restaurants but the pizza place by the pool is good but if you want real sized portions the Health Bar is probably the best for lunch it has wraps and salads and protein shakes. Breakfast buffet was the best but every time we went we had to constantly ask for water and refills. The most annoying thing by far was the no tank top for men rule. You cant have a tank top at breakfast or by the pool for lunch and I had to take off my sunhat at breakfast. So many men wear tanks these days it just seems ridiculous especially when its 100 degrees out and your eating by the water.
The main pool was great and the older gentleman that served drinks was on point. He remembered our drinks everyday and always gave me a straw. The activities men were great and very funny. They work their butts off 6 days a week, morning to night so I have to hand it to them for keeping such positive attitudes despite all the drunks around. They played water polo and volleyball with all the guests and had us all laughing at their antics. There's a cool saltwater pool right on the ocean but I only saw one person swimming there. It doesn't really look like a place to swim an relax so I think most didn't know what it was. You cant have food anywhere besides at the restaurants. So no burgers by the pool or beach.
The beach was okay. There was seaweed on the sand every morning (they cleaned this up by hand btw) which isnt their fault but if that bothers you then the pool is the best option. They had canbanas on the beach that looked nice but weren't like the cabanas at the pool more like wood planks with chairs in the sand and half curtains on the sides. There working on something in the water like a reef of some sorts which is nice but not pretty sitting half way out of the ocean. Hardly any staff serving drinks there.
The hotel setup is very large so they offer golf carts to take you around if you want to go the the connecting resort Casitas which has several other restaurants around it. That area has the suites and swimup rooms but their beach area is horrible, rocks and coral everywhere. My room was just fine in terms of cleanliness but the minibar could use some help only tecate, water, coke and sprite no snacks.
We did the Exhel-ha tour which was amazing but the guy in the hotel we booked it through was kind of arrogant. When we left the next day we were confused about which bus we were on and he goes "well I don't know what to tell you" and walks away. He was in great spirits when collecting our cash though.
The shows at night were pretty decent although its almost the same as every resort but there was a great band with a woman that sang. She was very good and could sing a variety of tunes. She opened up for some shows around 9ish. They had the celeb impersonators perform which was funny but the carnival show was amazing some of them should be in Cirque so I highly recommend catching that show.
Overall the place was nice but not great. It was very honeymoon geared and not alot of action going on in the pool or beach which isnt the activities guys fault just a more mellow crowd. Also, we tried to get an upgrade which they say on their website but they told us there was no room unless we wanted to pay $900 US for the presidential suites. The place was not full because we never had to wait for anything and the beaches and pool were pretty empty. I've had better food and service at the Valentin up the street so we'll be returning there instead.

Room Tip: We were in building 9 facing palm trees and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbeau426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,257
    1,656
    604
    370
    225
See reviews for
585
6,122
92
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,428)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have gone to El Dorado Royale 5 times over the last 10 years, and we cannot get enough of this beautiful place. The food is to die for with lots of gourmet options. The property is well kept, and the staff is helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. There are no elevators, so you need to climb stairs for 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodnetworkgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from the El Dorado Royal Spa by Karisma. What an amazing vacation we had! This is our first time there and from the entrance to the resort we new this was going to be an unforgettable experience. We stayed at the Casitas and our room and the view were breathtaking! The staff, especially our Personal Concierge, Vucko were so attentive, so knowledgeable and so friendly! We were so happy with the personal touches he did. Champagne, flowers, recommendations! The restaurants were all delicious... Our best experience was at the Santa Fe (even though all were wonderful). The beaches were beautiful, even with the sand bags in the water, we knew they were there temporarily.
We cannot say enough about the service, the staff, our restaurant servers, the grounds, the view!
Oh! And the spa ... Unbelievable! I've had massages before but this was amazing! Dominique was my masseuse and she was THE best! Thank you to everyone at the El Dorado, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kalliopi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torotno
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

It was an excellent vacation .....food is very good and everybody at the hotel are. super friendly .
Enjoyed every minute of it except a presentation that I went thinking it was a property tour when in fact was selling speech.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Felixcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the El Dorado Royal Spa by Karisma, awesome holiday. This is our second visit too this hotel and we were extremely impressed with the hotel investments. The new restaurants, Santa Fe and the Italian Casitas were extremely good. We also experienced the show kitchen, excellent cooking demonstration followed by awesome food. This hotel is geared towards food lovers, all restaurants covering all tastes. The two week stay was made extremely enjoyable by all members of staff, but I would like too offer a special thanks to the following staff members, all waiters in LA Isla restaurant, Eric in the gym for his assistance, Daisy and Julio in the Casitas and Angela our maid. It is extremely difficult to suggest improvements as this hotel is awesome, but I believe a hotel of this quality should offer free WiFi to all guests. Once again many thanks, see you again soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our honeymoon trip so we booked our travel through a travel agent locally so all we had to do was pay and not worry about anything. We got a standard room and was supposed to have the honeymoon package included (breakfast in bed, decorations, bottle of wine, wifi, private beach dinner, 2x1 massage). We were told that all we needed to bring was the marriage license or a copy of an invitation to validate. when we got to the resort, nothing was mentioned, so I brought it up - he says, "not our fault, your room does not include this. sorry." So I asked what options we had... the only option - upgrading to a room that included it. I had to haggle with the guy and eventually paid an additional $700 for the upgrade. We STILL did not get ANY of the benefits from the honeymoon package. The management said they "would see what they could do". I had to go back and forth for 3 days until we got 30% off the massage we wanted. This was all we got out of that package.

Throughout the week, we were not treated that great by a couple of the bartenders and our concierge would come around the pool each day and talk to the folks around us, but never once came to check on us. I found this quite odd... regardless, we had a relaxing week.

Upon return, the first thing I did was contact my travel agent to get this sorted out. She contacted the resort and was told that we got a "discounted upgrade" and that was the reason that we did not get the honeymoon package. But they stated that we STILL got the breakfast in bed, decorations, and wine. We did not get ANY of that... but our agent was still kind enough to handle this out of her own pocket, rather than wait on the resort to stand up and resolve the situation.

I probably will not go back to this resort, not because the food was not delicious, or the beaches and pools were not beautiful, but for the sole reason of customer service. If we had an issue, they should have done all they could to make it right. But I did not feel that way.

The food here is great, the drinks are FANTASTIC, the beach and pools are beautiful, and most all of the butlers and bartenders were very nice. Maggie was our favorite butler on the beach!

Room Tip: if you have the option, the casitas rooms are perfect with their own bars and right next to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingdale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had an awesome time!! Couldn't be more happy with it!! Victor was the best waiter ever!!! Diego was great at the pool and getting activities organized! My husband and I are looking forward to going back again!! Very relaxing! Food was amazing (make sure to order more than 1 entree) Highly Highly recommend this place!! Linda from Starship Travel was the best getting everything ready for us to go!! If you need a GREAT travel agent call her!! starship travel.- 310 W Northwest hwy – Arlington heights, il 60004

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haidee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.7 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,284 reviews
4.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing