We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$508
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$303/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$382
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$424
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$413
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa(Playa Maroma)
US$615
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kin Sol Soleil(Playa Maroma)
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$365/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (11,574)
Filter reviews
11,574 results
Traveller rating
8,105
2,050
745
419
255
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,105
2,050
745
419
255
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmartini barsand bagspersonal conciergehealth barswim up roomsanta fek teamcasita sectionla isla poolfuentes poolour honeymoongreenhouse touroutdoor showerroom serviceswing barwine pairingculinary theatre
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 11,574 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, we'll go for the good. Spot Bar for breakfast & lunch - amazing service from Christian, Carlos, Celestino, Ramon & Fidel - we will never forget you! D'Italia Villas - Veronica & Nestor were equally amazing. JoJos food was equally good as was Santa Fe. The public areas were spotless and the gardens beautiful in spite of the rain. Now the bad bits..
Firstly, there appears to be one dress code for US guests and a different one for UK guests - I'll say no more. Secondly, when I sent my payment to TUI, I believed I was paying for all -inclusive, not additional taxes, extra for steaks, beers, wines etc. There was one wine on offer for an extra $40 that you can buy online for £9 in the UK! Thirdly, sun loungers! I've been in 3* hotels with more comfortable sun loungers - add to that, the loungers at Fuentes pool were mostly covered in bird poo most mornings. Fourthly, I know that there are problems with the beach and the weather obviously plays its' part but that beach is not becoming a 5* hotel - there is more seaweed than sand in places.

Finally, I do get the impression that the concierges are more bothered about getting you to do the timeshare tour than they are interested in your problems. It took three days to sort the AirCon out - and, by the way, there's also black mould in many areas!

I think TUI would do well to revisit how they sell this hotel to their customers. It's no better than others that are significantly less expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank slappy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Hotel management team at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear slappy1963

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, it was an honor to host your recent stay at El Dorado Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA resort by Karisma

While I am very happy to know you did find many aspects of your stay to be enjoyable, however I am disappointed to learn of the challenges you encountered with services extended by members of our teams and for the disappointment about dress code, the additional charges that we offer a part of the Gourmet all-inclusive food and beverage and if the beach was different as expected.

The entire Riviera Maya has experienced an increase in the amount of seaweed being washed ashore. This is a natural and extraordinary occurrence and we are making every effort to clear the beach front.

Typically we are known to provide our guests with an unmatched level of service however I am very sorry if that was not your experience.

We hope to have an opportunity to host you once again in the future, so that we may provide you with the stay you had envisioned.

Warmest regards,

Your hotel management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this holiday as we had heard so many good things about Mexico, we’re not really party people so we where told to go to Riviera Maya and we are so glad we did!

We visited in March 17 and the weather was perfect, if your an early riser like me then get your fresh towels before going to back to your room at night – the fresh towels are not out at the crack of dawn. I usually wake up around 5.30am, go for a stroll with a coffee and take towels to the beach, sit and watch the sun rise. It’s something I’ve always done on holidays and its the most peaceful time to be awake.

The breakfast in the main building is buffet, we always went to this restaurant for breakfast. The staff are lovely and once you’ve been there a couple of days they remember your name and room number. We visited the restaurant near the pool for lunch on a few occasions, their nachos and burgers are delicious. Jojo’s is nice too – we’re not big on fish food but they still had something that even we liked (Steak). The Italian was our favourite though! We probably went there the most!
If you like to eat late, pop to the restaurant you want to go to and get your name down otherwise you might wait a while, we where told around 20 minutes some nights but this was after 8.30pm. If you go for dinner around 7.30pm you should be ok and be seated relatively quickly. We didn't mind waiting but some people might.

There is a snack bar which does smoothies and sandwiches/wraps. We didn't discover this until our second week and we visited daily after that!
You might think you would gain a few pounds from eating all this food but you won’t because the resort is so big that you walk it all off! The path all the way around the resort is marked up in kilometres if you want to measure your walk/run.

There are many things to do, I would highly recommend the trip to Chichen Itza. Our tour guide was Alfonzo and he was brilliant. We booked this through our Thomson rep.
We got back quite late though and didn't really feel like venturing out for dinner. We had showers and ordered room service – the menu is really good and its all included in the all inclusive package.

Our room was always spotless! We upgraded to a junior suite (I think that's the name they gave it) it had a nice big bathroom with a Jacuzzi bath and a separate shower. The bed was huge with a sofa and dining table. The rooms are a really good size.

We where only a short walk to the main building and a short walk from the beach. We didn’t use the big pool, we used the smaller pool at the far end of the complex on a couple of days (the one near the crocodile enclosure) this is a salt water pool. We don’t live near the sea so we tend to stay at the beach on holidays. The bar gets busy near the beach but your never waiting too long and the staff walk up and down the beach taking orders for drinks.

I think I’ve covered everything. Overall we had a wonderful holiday and would return again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Upgrade your room. There was no availability for us to have a swim up but we upgraded to the best that was available.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hola!

Dear Emma B,

Allow me to thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience with us, as our guests’ opinion is very important and it is thanks you to valuable feedback like yours we will continue to improve and perfect the five star service to all of our guests.

I enjoyed reading your review. I'm very proud of each and every employee at the El Dorado Royale and i will share your comments with everyone.

If there’s anything we can do to help plan your next perfect getaway, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Best regards,

Resort Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place! Went with the Mexico women’s rugby team and we enjoyed every second! Thanks El Dorado. Recommended 10/10, if you’re looking to enjoy your stay with great staff and facilities this is the place

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank adrianamendoza1498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hola!

Dear adrianamendoza1498,

Thank you for sharing your experiences.

It will be a pleasure to extend your compliments to our staff, We are sure it will be a really nice way to encourage them to keep on being themselves.

We are looking forward to welcome you back pretty soon.

Sincerely,

Resort Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We returned to the El Dorado Royale for 2 weeks at the end of May, having got married there last year....we were so excited to be going back for our first anniversary.

The hotel was as wonderful as we remembered as we drove down the driveway on arrival and we were hoping the hotel had honoured our request to be in the same room - unfortunately these villa blocks have now been turned into members only rooms for Exotic Club members, but the room we were given was equally as nice, albeit a different layout.

We arrived in the rain, but thankfully by the end of the day the sun was shining, and next morning we headed for the beach - what a difference a year had made! The beach was full of seaweed, but the staff were amazing and worked hard from morning til night clearing this - unfortunately that meant tractors to and fro all day, but we still enjoyed listening to the waves and chilling out. The Kick Bar (by the beach) served food last year, but this has now stopped, which is a shame, as we really enjoyed sitting at the tables under the swaying palms while having our lunch. It meant that we ventured a bit further afield and discovered the Health Bar, which does amazing sandwiches, wraps and smoothies, so maybe a blessing in disguise!

The restaurants are absolutely top class, it would be impossible not to find something you really enjoy - our favourites included the Italian, Mexican and Kampai (Pan Asian), we only had one bad meal which was in JoJos - the service was so slow that our food sat on the counter for ages meaning cold soup and warm salad! We went to Fuentes on our anniversary and did the wine pairing - highly recommended! A fabulous five course meal with a different wine for each dish - I'm no wine buff, but it really made sense when the sommellier explained why it had been chosen.
The only downside was that on over half of our evenings, we arrived at restaurants with plenty of empty tables, to be told there was a 30-45 minute wait. They operated a buzzer system, but most restaurants had no bar or waiting area, so we had to go elsewhere - it didn't seem to matter what time we went, it was the same. The hotel was not crowded, but seemed to be understaffed in the restaurants to cope with the traffic.

The addition of the entertainment in JoJos in the evening was great - it was a welcome alternative to the bigger entertainment in Guacamayas bar. We loved the Monday reggae band...fabulous atmosphere! Also a mention for the Jersey Boys tribute, they were so good, don't miss it if you go!

Whilst we had a great holiday, we did have a few disappointments;
- Concierge for our block were a bit hopeless the first week, several requests which we had to repeat numerous times, not big asks, just things like more teabags/milk/ towels etc
- We felt really pressured to take the Exotic Club tour / listen to the sales patter about joining the club, and felt our refusal was met with hostility
- Alot, and I mean ALOT of large American wedding parties, who had noisy rehearsal dinners, and noisy weddings, and noisy meals in main restaurants, and rowdy takeovers in bars (you get the picture!)...we love to have fun too, but no, we don't want to join in the wedding, and staff seemed reluctant or incapable of challenging the behaviour, even when it became banging on tables in a restaurant - not the romantic getaway we were sold.

We had a great time, met some lovely people (both staff and fellow guests), went on amazing excursions (Tulum & Turtles is a must!) but if the hotel focus is large wedding parties and spring break long weekends, I'm not sure we'll be back.

Room Tip: Aim for a room towards the Casitas end, seemed to be quieter and further away from entertainment
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank carol28b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hola!

Dear Carol28b,


Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Let me express my gratitude for taking the time to write about your stay at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

We are very sorry for not being able to exceed your expectations and have left this image of our services.

We have worked very hard in this area in order to avoid other guests get the same impression.

Our customers’ opinions and suggestions are really crucial in the process of improving our performance, so we thank your valuable comments which undoubtedly help us take a step forward in terms of client´s satisfaction.

All the best!

Resort Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first time to El Dorado and it was a great time! Great food and great service. Unfortunately it rained most of the time we were there, but the staff made sure we still had a great time. Hugo, Ivan, Jos, Maria (Majo), Gucci, and Bri all made us feel so welcome and did such a great job to make sure we were taken care of. Rosa also did a great job of taking care of our room for us. The whole staff was very friendly and always smiling. The only thing that could have made the trip better was more sunny days, but the staff still helped us make the most of our trip! We will be back!

Room Tip: great staff, great food, fun activities, very clean
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justinskinner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hola!

Dear justinskinner11,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and lovely comments on TripAdvisor.

Thanks to the staff, facilities and services is that we have a large number of loyal and valuable guests and members that return year upon a year and every time we do everything possible to ensure that we surpass their expectations.

It was an honor to host you and I hope that El Dorado Royale will be your number one choice for future romance vacations.

Sincerely,

Resort Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews