We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excell if u go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excell if u go”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

it was a wonderfull time .the host juan ikcenrazc was handsome polite and loved people.he made the experience so hot just like the weather. the food could have been better but i had room service about everday.the pool was warm but not as warm as my time with the staff.we had a especially great time with a maid name mary donjuan. her laugh keep us on the break on total happiness. go c enjoy

Room Tip: corner u can c forever
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you. It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays among us so much.

We will pass you comments about our personnel on to our team, thank you very much, we really appreciated that.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,803
    671
    199
    63
    35
See reviews for
667
4,123
112
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We just returned from 8 nights at PARADISE

There is a reason why this resort is rated "1" on Tripadvisor...actually there are many reasons, too many to write down here. Don't waste your time looking else where for a better place to relax and chill and party a bit!

You are greeted as royalty from start to finish, and every worker makes an effort to remember your name, and greet you with a smile. Everyone we met at the hotel loves it here, and are mostly return guests.

Food, Drinks, Service, Comfort, Cigars, Front Desk, Concierge all rate a 10+! I want to write more but after you read a few other 5 Star reviews you will know that this is the place to be. as an avid member of Tripadvisor, I inquired and watched for some of the negative things that previous contributors wrote about. Remember, the world is never perfect, but you can rest assured that all of the employees at the hotel have the best interest of you, the guest, in mind...just get to know them and you will see what I mean. (But get to those pool lounges and floats early:>))

Special Thanks to Our "Star Friends" Andy, JC, Salita and Eduardo, our lobby Bartenders Daniel "Nabaja" and Gustavo, and Roberto and Humberto at the pool bar. There are others at the restaurant, pool and front desk, whose names I sadly cannot recall at this, but deserve equal recognition for a memorable experience.

You treated as family and we will come back to see you soon

Sincerely Your Friends
Miguelito and Cheryl from NJ

Room Tip: Get an Ocean Front Room! Enjoy the pool and lobby bars and RELAX!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_KOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your comments about your recent stay; it is always very rewarding to read that our guests keep nice memories of their stay!

We also thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our accommodations, our food, drink and service among others.

Last but not least, thank you for your kind mention for our staff that will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.

Once more, thank you for your time and very kind review; it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back during your next vacation.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANADA EH!
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was my first visit to Mexico and my first time ever staying at an Iberostar. We chose the Grand Hotel Paraiso because it was adults only. I was apprehensive about going to Mexico because of the negative media, but am very glad that I went. It is a beautiful place.

We requested to have "adjoining" rooms, prior to leaving Canada....at least 3 times. It was assured by the resort manager that the resort would do their best. Upon arrival to the hotel, they serve you a nice slushy drink or Mamosa and a cool towel. Check in for us was quick and we were whisked off to our rooms. Unfortunately the rooms were not "adjoining", which was extremely important as we were travelling with someone who needed assistance. In short, they didn't understand what adjoining means, we were supposed to ask for "connecting". We were dissatisfied with that.
We were in the 74 block overlooking the tranquility pool. Very quiet and in the far far distance, you can see the ocean. Nothing to complain about! Room stocked daily with your specific selection of beverages. Turn down nightly, fresh towels twice a day, comfy beds, pillow menu for your specific taste in pillows, clean robes and slippers in room. If you called for room service, it was there within 30min. Small tips also show your appreciation to the hard working staff.
This is a small resort, there isn't trolley's or motorbikes whipping down the pathway. It is very tranquil and quiet. Everything is a short walk within the resort. It is an adults only, but they should specify that this is NOT a raging party resort. If you are planning to go party and tequila shots until you pass out in the pool, you might want select one of the Iberostars nearby. This resort had people drinking and enjoying but not over indulging. When the young Chicago couple over-indulged, security was all over them, only because of the aggressive behaviour towards other guests and the safety concerns for the couple. It is extremely unfortunate that a gentleman was punched in the face by this young man that couldn't contain his liquor. Every person at the resort frowned on this young man and his passed out girlfriend. Security escorted the young couple away from the general public and attempted to stop serving them liquor. Even with the young man escaping his room at any whim. The resort staff were amazing on containing the situation without disruption for the mature guests.

All the staff were smiling and eager to please. I need to commend Charly - butler service and Natalia - concierge. When they heard about our dissatisfaction about the "connecting rooms" and how difficult it made it for us for the first few days, they went above and beyond to make sure out remaining few days were the best! We moved from the 74 block to ocean front, at our expense, they made sure everything was perfect! Way to go Natalia and Charly! You guys finished our vacation off with success!!!! Hope to see you when I/we return.

Beach front isn't the best for swimming, you can walk down to the sister resort and swim there. It is quiet on the beach, not many peddlers or guests. Sand is nice white sand.

The grounds were well maintained, very nice to walk around, unless it rained...some walkways with marble were a bit slippery. The restaurants were great! Food and service were superb!

Everything was great! Although, I was there on vacation and avoiding -40 degree temperatures, I didn't feel the need to over-analyze if there was chipped paint or ANY of their workmanship....which I didn't notice anything that was terrible. It was safe, clean and a very friendly resort with personable staff.

Again, great job to Charly and Natalia! You two made it finish off with a bang! Will definately go back one day!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are perfect for the view but were a little bit more worn then the 74 block, still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NrthrnGurlEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you found the hotel is relaxing, clean and the employees friendly. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed the room service and diving spot.

The staff members you took the time to mention will be particularly pleased to have been able to assist you. Your special mention of Charly and Natalia and other members of staff has been greatly appreciated; we recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.

However, it remains in us the concern that some of your expectations were not fulfilled, we are sorry to hear that we could not achieve your wishes. Unfortunately, as we mention to all of our guests, particular room requests are subject to availability at the time of their arrival. Please, rest assured that if availability allows it, we will do our best to accommodate once you arrive.

We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Paraiso in November. We have been lucky enough to travel pretty extensively and we both agreed that the Grand Paraiso was the best all-inclusive resort that we've ever been to.
The Iberostar complex in the Mayan Riviera is approximately 60 acres and contains 5 resorts. The Grand Paraiso is the only resort that is adults only. We could visit/eat/drink at all 5 resorts. However, people from the other resorts could not come to ours. The complex even has its own shopping centre (with restaurants/ice cream parlour that are included in the all-inclusive) that also has the disco that runs each evening (11pm - 3 am) - no admission charge and drinks are included. The hotel even supplies a golf cart to take you there and bring you back to your hotel. Our first impression of the hotel was like walking into a mega-hotel in Las Vegas. A huge solarium in the middle of the lobby and marble with marble inlays everywhere. Check-in was painless and we stayed in an ocean front suite and they took our bags (and us) by golf cart to our suite. The room was large and beautifully decorated with a pillow menu, double sinks, waterfall shower, jacuzzi tub and even a hammock on the very large balcony overlooking the ocean. We had our own butler who catered to us (we didn't ask much). He made sure that there was always diet coke in the fridge and he took care of all our dinner reservations. Within an hour of arriving we had all our meals booked and we were set to go. There are no pool towel cards, just as many towels as you need. There are many cabana's by the huge pool - on a first come, first serve basis. There was never a problem getting a lounge at the pool and the service was impeccable. Always someone walking around for drinks and food. The bar was in the pool and a main focus. Top-shelf liquor - Grey Goose and Belvedere Vodka. They couldn't do enough for you and we never encountered anyone in a bad mood. The beach was unbelievable. Very wide and completely clean and sandy. During our stay we had some days with big waves, so it limited the ocean activities (we only got to sail on one occasion). They had activities in the pool, but not overkill, as this is an adult's only resort.
There are 4 sit-down restaurants in the resort and 2 buffets. You can eat lobster/crab/shrimp for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Steaks were New Yorkers and T-bones. There was even a charcoal bbq at one of the buffets as well as a ceviche station. To say the least the food was very good. The Japanese was our favourite - we went twice. Once for the Hibachi where they cook in front of you (with a really good show) and another time for table service with sushi etc. The steak house was very good with a seafood appetizer as good as anywhere in North America. The Italian had some great dishes. The Gourmet restaurant was a bit too gourmet for us, but still had some interesting food. We never, ever went hungry. Room service was perfect. It never took more than 20 minutes and the food was fresh and hot. The fruit plate contained every fruit known to man.
Every evening at 10pm they had a live show in the hotel's showroom. The showroom was beautiful. Tiered with tables and chairs and bar service. Every show was live including the singers, dancers and band. Even the Mexican folkloric shows were really well done. The Big Band and Disco shows were as good or better than any cruise ship we've been on. Each had an 8-piece live band with 4 singers and at least 12 dancers. The shows were an hour long and entertaining from start to finish. After the shows, the performers would come out to greet the patrons, ask questions, give a little background about themselves. It was a very friendly feeling. After the show, the lobby bar had a duet with dancing. Everyone working at this hotel has been very well trained, speaks very good English and knows how to treat tourists. One day we even went into Playa Del Carmen to shop '5th Avenue' and we had a lot of fun and never felt threatened.
As we have been to this area and Cancun previously, we did not go on any excursions. We've been to Xcaret etc. The only thing we did do was to rent Segways on the property. For approximately $40US per person, we went on a 1 hour tour of the property with a guide. We got to see the golf course, all the other Iberostar properties and even went along the beach. They are incredible easy to use and very intuitive. I highly recommend doing this - it was a ton of fun. We can't really think of any negatives. The property was beautiful and immaculate. Life is short, treat yourself and your better half and go to this resort. It is very every penny and more.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank czand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, let us thank you for your delightful review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at IBEROSTAR GRAND PARAISO. We consider it a great honor to have had the opportunity to serve you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly is very motivating for our Managers and Staff, to keep on going the extra mile.

The fact that we continue receiving positive reviews as yours is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service. We are proud of creating memories that last a lifetime, and so we are pleased to see that we have reached our goal.

We appreciate that you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: scenic property, delicious and varied food; entertainment, friendly and efficient staff and relaxing beach.

We hope that you will continue giving us the pleasure of hosting you when you are next planning your vacation as we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife and I have been to a few all-inclusive resorts in the Mexican Riviera as well as in the Dominican Republic. You can tell by the lobby and hall furnishings that this is not a 'new' resort, but it is well maintained throughout. I liked the design of the resort as well in that it wasn't a lengthy walk to get from the beach to the lobby, so it had a cozy feel. We've been to a few resorts which were definitely more plush and luxurious, but this had all that we needed.

Where this resort outshines all others that we've been to is in service. From the private concierge for our building to the pool attendants, the waiters, the cook staff, lobby personnel, etc... it was all exceptional. They would go out of their way to make sure you were satisfied with your request, and they paid great attention to detail. For example, my wife got bit by some mosquitoes on our first day, and our concierge and service team made sure we had extra bug repellent every day in our room without having to request it but once. This was a common theme. The entertainment staff knew us by name by the time we left and where we were from and they greet you whether you are on the beach, walking to dinner, by the pool.... very friendly!

We were in an ocean front room, so our check-in experience was AWESOME. They took us right to our room, had our keys at the concierge desk, they did a room and resort orientation in the room in the first 30 minutes, and no selling of using any specific service provider for excursions. It was fast, pleasant and thorough.

I can't say enough about the food. All the restaurants were great and the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner was just exceptional. Had all my favorites and then some. I love jamon iberico from Spain, and ate that every day. What a treat!

We try and go to a different resort each time we vacation in Mexico or the Dominican, but this is the first we would definitely return to. Not that the others weren't great as well, the staff and great food is what sold me on my stay. Great job!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms were outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor regarding your recently stay in our hotel.

We are pleased to know that we fulfilled your expectations and that you will come back to our resort. The style of the hotel is a mixture of different architectural styles from the classic American to the medieval European and it took around 5 years to create the environment that you enjoyed.
Our commitment with our guests is to provide the best service with the highest quality that you deserve for that reason, after reading you comments about the staff and food, the whole team knows that the efforts made daily are really worth it.

We would like to thank you for your kind mention about the variety and value of the food; it is our true pleasure to delight you.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Iberostar Grand. The rooms, buffet, beach, service, pools, drinks, spa were all perfect. We decided not to upgrade to the beach front rooms and stayed with a basic room with a ground floor view of the quiet pool. You're paying more to stay here, but you get more than what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you. It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays among us so much.

We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back any season.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The choice was either Mexico or North Korea,so we booked 17 days (Nov 27-Dec 14) at the Grand Hotel Paraiso through the German Packet Tour Operator Schauinsland.Perfect organization with the usual German efficiency.Their representative on site, Mr S.Schmitt was available 24/7.With 2100 positives against 13 negatives the odds were stacked in our favour so our expectations were pretty high.What we found when we got there just blew us away. Everything was perfect!!From the friendly service personal, excellent food ,comfortable beds,cleanlinest ,top quality booze, entertainment crew, superb beach,it goes on and on.Green fees and golf cart were included in the all inclusive. The course was in excellent condition and a testing challenge from the back tees.The best advertisement for the hotel however were the numerous people we met returning year after year.The minor negatives were the practice of reserving sun beds at 6.00am and not using them until 15.00pm and of course the inevitable dreaded american five ball that would not let us play through.They sure kept the drink cart guy busy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 296ARM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a nice review for Iberostar Grand Paraiso, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we are grateful you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: excellent food, beds, beach, golf and especially our friendly and efficient staff; it is always motivating for the staff to receive comments like yours.

We hope that you will continue giving us the pleasure of hosting you for your next vacations, as we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,052 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,356 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing