We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip to the Grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We just returned from an all to brief three night stay at the Grand. We have taken many "adult only" vacations over the years to maintain our sanity (married 23 years, four children) and have stayed at many excellent resorts including Cap Juluca, Jade Mountain and the Ritz in Cayman. The Grand was a fantastic experience in every way. The location on the beach was fabulous and the rooms were very nice. We stayed in a superior junior oceanfront suite. The room was huge and had a very large bathroom with two vanities. There was also two separate sitting areas as well as an outdoor lanai. It had a hot tub on our lanai which was very nice. We had room service breakfast out on the lanai one morning. The sand is literally a few steps from your door. There were many beach palapas with chairs and some even had beach beds, however these were taken early in the morning. Plan to get out there before eight to reserve one for the day. There are four other Iberostar resorts on the same property however the Grand is the only one that is adult only. As such, the beach chairs and huts were bettter quality at the Grand than the other four resorts. Families from the other resorts were free to walk on the beach in front of the Grand however this was not a distraction, we had no noise issues.

The problem I have had with many of the all-inclusives we have stayed at is that the food is not very good and tends to be bland. The food at this resort was very good and considering that it is an all-inclusive, it was fantastic. We ate at two of the special restaurants while we were there, the Surf and Turf restaurant and the French one. Both were very good although we liked the Surf and Turf better. We weren't able to eat at the Japanese or Italian because of time constraints but were told by other travellers that they were both very good. The other option at night is to eat at the main restaurant which has a nightly buffet. This was still very good. The last night of our trip they had an authentic Mexican buffet which was surprisingly good.

Drinks were top notch. If you desired a special brand they would bring it to your room. The only better brand that I noticed they DID NOT have was Patron. Go figure. Virtually any Mexican beer was available as well as many others. There was a small refrigerator in the room that had beer, wine and liquor. We asked for vodka and they brought us a huge bottle as well as cranberry juice and pineapple juice as mixers.

We had a massage out by the beach which was great. One nice thing about this resort is that the people were very friendly and they were always cleaning. All in all, the employees seemed very happy to be there that translated to happy guests. The small complaints I had were that the room smelled kind of musty when we first arrived. This improved significantly with running the air conditioner. The other thing was that the in room Wi-fi left a lot to be desired, By our last day, they had finally installed a router that helped a lot but by that time we were getting ready to leave.

All in all this is a great place to stay. Service is excellent, food is great, people are friendly, location is fantastic and easy to get to in about 25 minutes from the Cancun airport.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room. It is so worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to start off by expressing how appreciative we are that you have taken your time to dedicate this great review to Iberostar Grand Paraiso on Trip Advisor.

From your review, we get a very good understanding how you perceived your stay in our resort. It is most pleasing to learn that you enjoyed the activities, the room, the cuisine quality and variety, the service from our staff. We are sorry for the little difficulties you had but we are happy to see that over all you enjoy you holyday very much.

We also hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again.

Kindest Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,597 - 2,603 of 6,090 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

First off, we're picky, but I guess you can't be tooooo picky.
I have to remind myself that this is an all inclusive - it's not The Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons.

Arrival: December 17, 2013
Departure: December 27, 2013

There were some areas needing MAJOR improvement...

First off, Apple is absolutely crazy to rate this a 6 golden apple - We're a bit baffled at how this place can hold it's 6 golden apple rating in the shape it is in. I have read a bunch of negative information lately online about Apple and their rating system - I honestly don't think we would book another trip through them. I feel I can't really trust that a "6 golden apple" is really a 5 star resort.
If we were to rate the Iberostar Grand Paraiso today, we would give it a 3.5 - 4.0 rating.

The hotel is apparently 7 years old - we had the impression that it was at least 15-20 years old. They have not maintained this place well at all.

There was mold growing on all the buildings - rooftops, facades, pillars - etc.
All of the railings and balusters in our building were a mess.

The pools were absolutely disgusting - we would not get in the water.
The water quality did not look good, they were dumping tons of chemicals into the main pool and then when they would sweep around the pool area...they would sweep directly INTO the pool! Hair, Sand, Bugs - etc. right on into the pool! Gross.
There were many pool mosaic tiles missing in the "sun lounge area" and the chairs were falling apart. Also, the pool lounge chairs aren't adjustable so reading is not comfortable. The other chairs scattered around are adjustable, but super hard. We all had to pile our towels up for cushioning.

The marble floors in the rooms may look nice, but they were like an ice skating rink. Several people at the resort were injured, some were even in wheel chairs due to falling on the floors.
The main entrance, pool deck and pathways from building to building were slick - Beware. Unfortunately, they chose the wrong flooring/wet area materials when they built this resort.
The materials they used would never be approved for a commercial resort/hotel property in the US.

Our room was full of mold - the smell was outrageous.
For some odd reason, they neglected to fix the sliding door - the track was bent, the sliding screen was missing and the door never closed all the way or locked. We fell asleep to a loud whistling noise every night due to a large gap at the very top of the door. (ROOM #7122)
We believe it has been like that for quite sometime due to the overwhelming smell of mold.
I am still doing laundry because everything we took with us has that awful odor.
I totally realize it is a beach environment in a very humid climate, but this was unacceptable.
In the middle of the night, we would toss and turn, couldn't breathe through our noses due to congestion and were coughing. During the day, we were fine since we weren't in our room, but at night…the musty smell was unreal.
The other three rooms that family members had were much better (mold wise).

The pillows were terrible - they were so lumpy!
We just threw them on the floor and slept on the hard mattress with the semi wet humid sheets.
Our maid service was super inconsistent - they showed up all kinds of crazy hours, some days you would get soap and others you would have to request it.
The other three rooms had fresh flowers everyday - our room never got flowers.
The minibar guy would restock correctly if you caught him in the hallway, but if you didn't catch him, you would have to make a call and have bottled water delivered. It was strange.
The rooms on the ground floor would get different beers/wines verses the second floor - we thought that was a bit odd. There's nothing to stir your in room coffee with so bring a spoon from buffet or ask your butler.
We called one night for room service to be delivered in the morning - the girl took my order, asked the time frame we would like breakfast - etc. They never came!

The bathroom plumbing was interesting - you could not take a shower under the water and expect it to remain a constant temperature. It varied from scalding hot to freezing cold.
The bathtubs were huge, but in all 4 rooms they were stained - you could not have paid me to take a bath in any of those tubs. Very disappointing.
The Towels are YMCA quality - Thin and rough with that lovely musty smell.
I would have packed towels and pillows if I had known...

The wireless service was a complete mess that really impacted everyone.
It was very difficult to communicate - extremely frustrating especially when you own a company and still have to work while on vacation.
Heads up if you watch TV - The channels are all in spanish!

The beach is pretty, but everyone was complaining about how you could not get in the water -
If you wanted to actually take a dip, you had to walk about three miles to get away from the rocks, filthy dirty trash and super rough waves.
This was a huge concern of many travelers - they all said they were disgusted with the beach conditions. We noticed that the other resorts had employees raking the beach every few hours, but at The Grand, we only saw Iberostar employees ONE night that were cleaning up with a tractor and a bunch of trash bags. It was unreal to see all of the trash - no one really knew where it was coming from, some suspected all the cruise ships and others suggested it may have been from hurricanes. I don't know, but we saw a ton of crap that varied from shoes, flip flops, bottle tops, combs, baby bottles, toys, netting, scrub brushes, miscellaneous bottles, toothbrushes, metal scrap, medicine vials, syringes - etc.

The food was good, but extremely salty - we all noticed this when we woke up with our stomachs super bloated and our eyes swollen shut.
The salad dressings are universally terrible.
Get the oil & vinegar or just head for the shelf of balsamic vinegars.

The alcohol they served was all brand names which was a plus!
Unfortunately, they aren't great in the wine department - I read that they change out wines so frequently because they scout out the cheapest deals.
Two staff members said the same thing - it was funny, they had a Malbec that we get out here in California at Trader Joe's - it can't be more than $15.00 but they acted as if this stuff were $1,500.00 a bottle in the buffet! They didn't want to part with it.
The other restaurants poured it freely - not sure what that was all about in the buffet.

Overall, the service was OUTSTANDING.
The service is what makes this resort - the people were amazing.
They were super friendly and extremely helpful.
That is where the gold stars, golden apples, thumbs up, tokens, check plus smiley faces - etc. are to be given.
The STAFF! Our Butlers Rocked - Charley, Jesus, Ivan, Victor
Lorena was our favorite Concierge.
Abraham would drive us around the property - he was fantastic.
Evelyn was super sweet - she always found us great tables for lunch and later at the shows.

Again, what makes this place is the amazing people that work there.
We had a great time with our family and made the best of the situation.
If we didn't have the gracious service, I think we may have cut our vacation short.

They really need to close for a month or two and address the peeling paint, mold,
missing tiles throughout the pool and at the lobby bar, broken sinks & toilets in the common area bathrooms & broken balusters to live up to "The Grand" title they have.

Room Tip: Choose Oceanfront and stay away from ground floor levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank allisonb323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We value all guests’ feedback as an opportunity to continue improving our services and products for our guests.

It is very pleasant to read wonderful comments about the service and attitude of our staff, we recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.

It is our constant goal to keep impressing you on every visit and make it even better than last time; therefore we hasten to express our sincere regret that your visit fell below par with some of our services.

Regarding maintenance of our facilities, we do believe that renovations and improvements can be done and are indeed being carried out throughout the year by areas since the hotel never closes and we need to ensure that there are no inconveniences to our guests during their stay at our resort. As far as humidity, in order to eliminate any kind of smell we use aromatherapy for all the rooms and we have been working with ozone machines to clear up the rooms. We do apologize for the inconveniences you described which are in no way the experiences we want our beloved guests to take home.

Concerning the cleaning of your room and restaurant service, our housekeeping department errors and other issues you described, we really want to offer you a sincere apology. The Department heads already have your review to make accurate modifications over these services and keep working on achieving our main goal, which is your entire satisfaction.

We are sorry to hear that you could not enjoy our hotel beach, while it is true that the entrance to the beach is rocky, it is also one of our main assets, as we are located near the coral reef area. It is a natural protected area as it is part of a conservation and protection program of our Government, which will maintain it sustainable over the years, by keeping its natural beauty. Due to the storms we have been experiencing lately, debris has been swept along the beaches of Riviera Maya, however, our team is doing their best to clear everything up as soon as possible. We apologise about your logical concern.

Speaking about the internet, please let us inform you that during your stay we had an issue with the external internet provider, as some antennas collapsed and for this reason the service failed. This is not meant to be an excuse but just an explanation of what happened. We are terribly sorry about that. We now have the service re-established.

As regards of the highlights you mentioned over the differences at the mini bar, please let us inform you that they might depend with your preferences, as during the process of the check in the butler assists our guests with any special requirements including the customization of their mini-bar, the selection of their pillows from our menu and the arrangement of any preferable time for their room cleaning. Please let us inform you that the flowers you mentioned over one of the rooms of your family were because we knew they were celebrating an special occasion with us.

We hope we were able to explain each point, without wanting to excuse ourselves from these maintenance issues that you suffered. We would like to assure you that we work hard every day to ensure our guests have a smooth, pain free stay and that we will keep working to improve areas of concern, deliver wonderful stays, and keep our position as one of the top hotels of the Riviera Maya.

We look forward to having another chance to welcome you back, under more favourable circumstances.

Best regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in 2012 and had a fabulous time so we wanted to go back for our first anniversary. Every thing was perfect including the weather. Their is nothing to want for when you stay at the Grand!!! Everyone is so helpful and friendly. They can't do enough for you!!!! You're treated like royalty here. We stayed in the oceanfront rooms both times and it's worth every penny just to wake up to the waves of the ocean.
If you're looking for a place to go and relax this is the place to go!!! You won't be disappointed!! We're planning on going back again in 2014!! Can't wait!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
5  Thank Dolly364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

This will certainly motivate our team to continue delivering the best service to all our guests! It is always very rewarding to receive such compliments ensuring that every guest leaves with great satisfaction.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We just had a great week until the second last day. While packing to leave, two of us discovered valuable jewelry had been stolen from our two rooms. We lost a diamond ring, an opal necklace and an emerald necklace. Unfortunately, these pieces had been left out of the safe. The rooms were together. We reported this to the hotel at once, and they are doing an investigation. I am sure the jewelry will never be recovered, I just hope they catch the thief! Be sure to use the safe!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your vacations.

Regarding items missing in your room, we would like to highlight the fact that every report about missing items from our guests are documented accordingly and our Security Team along with our Public Relations Department are in charge of following through any investigation. In order to do this, the full cooperation from the guest affected is essential.

Please let us add that as you mentioned, the hotel offers all of our guests a safety deposit box free of charge in every room, where valuables should be kept. We are indeed in the process of the investigation, and we would like to invite you to please contact us to follow up through this issue.

We are very sorry that we were not able to fulfill your expectations on your stay; if you decided to come back, please contact us two weeks before your arrival date in order to offer you our hospitality and show you our commitment to excellent guest service and satisfaction. Again, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for a week over Christmas in an ocean facing junior suite. Check in was with our butler in the suite, service in the room was very good although we did have to phone several times for additional supplies of coffee, creamer, etc.

We ate in each of the four a la carte restaurants for dinner, as well as the buffet. All were excellent, much to our surprise we enjoyed the Japanese one the most. Our only quibble was that it was difficult to get an early reservation time in any of them.

The external appearance of the hotel was very good, whilst walking along the beach we were stopped by passers by and asked the name of the hotel as it and the beach in front of it looked so inviting. The main pool we found noisy, but we very much enjoyed the quiet pool. We did find that sun beds in the shade were hard to find, and many of the cabana curtains were in a state of disrepair.

Overall it was an excellent experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joe1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Iberostar grand Paraiso and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We take note of your comments on the cabanas and deeply apologize. Your feedback constantly helps us in improving our standards and the service to our guests.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We recently had another amazing Christmas trip to the Grand. This was our 11th trip and we continue to be impressed by the Grand in all areas. Since we typically travel during off-peak times (August, June, November), we were a little hesitant about the level of occupancy around the holidays. However, although at 100% occupancy, we felt the staff were organized and prepared.

Occupancy:
We were both surprised that it really didn’t feel crowded throughout the resort. It was easy to get a drink at the pool bar or a lounge chair on the beach. We usually got to the beach around 11:00 and found loungers. The beach was more crowded throughout the day, but there was never an issue with loungers. We did notice that some loungers were “reserved” with old, torn magazines and were vacant for hours, but the Grand is really trying to eliminate this problem. If you do not feel comfortable removing items yourself (such as magazines) then you just have to notify the pool or beach concierge. It is pretty easy to tell if someone is trying to play “chair games” or if someone decided to go for a nice walk on the beach and just left for a little while. The pool bar was not as jammed as in August, which may have been attributed to a more diverse age range. Guests appeared to be spread out during breakfast, lunch, and dinner so it never felt crowded. We actually felt the service was even better at breakfast. Our water, coffee, and champagne were constantly refilled. Our waiters consistently checked in with us at breakfast and lunch. We never had any issues at dinner in terms of waiting for our food. We ate at Toni’s Surf and Turf. We were actually impressed because there were some large groups of families, but this did not stress the staff. The large groups were not the least bit rowdy, which made for a nice dining atmosphere. Overall, the occupancy was not an issue at all and other guests were friendly and everyone was in a holiday mood!

Dining:
We love Toni’s and eat there as often as we can. We were a little disappointed to find out that our favorite chef, Rafael, who has been there for years, switched positions. Chances are if you have eaten at Toni’s, you had one of his steaks. We are happy that we still get to see him at the lunch grill, since that is his specialty. He has always made our experiences at Toni’s wonderful and he is one of our favorite chefs! Toni’s now has very nice salt and pepper grinders on the tables, which is something new that we noticed. We dined at Toni’s with friends for dinner on Christmas Eve, but we also wanted to check out the International buffet since we heard it was going to be decadent. So, dinner at Toni’s and dessert at the buffet sounded like a plan! We saw the whole team of chefs planning and organizing during breakfast and figured we had to see it. The buffet was beautifully decorated with light sculptures and the staff (hostesses, Olivia, Mariana) were all dressed up and looked beautiful. There was a wide selection of seafood, numerous spoon-size appetizers, various main course entrees, and a bounty of delicious desserts! Special wines were also included at the buffet. They definitely put on a wonderful selection of foods and it was marvelous! In addition to the regular menu, Toni’s had a special menu on Christmas Eve, which included foie gras and other appetizers, dinner entrees, and special wines, which were very good and included at no extra charge.

Christmas Festivities:
After lunch on Christmas Eve, the Star Friends change into elf and Santa costumes. This kicks off the festive activities and makes for great photo ops. We heard that Santa would be making an appearance at the shopping center on Christmas Eve, so we decided to check it out. We were warned that there would be a lot of children, but we were okay with leaving our refuge at the Grand for a little holiday cheer. A few people had told us that Santa jumped from a plane. We were a little skeptical, but you never know.. Unfortunately, it started raining a little after we arrived at the shopping center, so Santa never made his jump. However, he did arrive in an SUV stretch limo with flashing lights and music. All of the Start Friends from the Grand were at the shopping center and a few other brave guests from the Grand. It was very crowded, but a fun event. The Star Friends gave our toys (a Mexican puppet) to all the children. Parents from the other Iberostar resorts were also able to give their own gifts to Santa, so he could hand them out to their children (if you had a gift for someone you could give it to the concierge with your room # and Santa would hand it out). After our shopping center adventure, we headed back to the peaceful Grand where they were setting up a special Christmas Eve reception in the lobby with music and special cocktails and Cava for the guests. Another special touch for the guests and they did a wonderful job! By the horses in the main building they set up a fireplace, a big platform with trees and an oversized red Santa chair – you could take pictures with the Star Friend elves and Santa!
On Christmas Day, the festivities continued with the Star Band salsa party at the pool at 11 am and delicious paella set up by the pool (sort of like a “Stars under the Sun” party). Star Friend Santa walked around most of the day. It really felt like Christmas and all of the staff from chefs to bar staff were smiling and having a great time! Later on in the evening, the Star Friends had a beautiful Living Nativity scene by the stairs near the horses. All guests got a special Christmas card and chocolates in their rooms that night! It truly was a festive Christmas!!

Other Changes/ New Things:
- A new mini golf area is being built in front of the Gourmet restaurant. They cleared out the bushes and now have a flat, sandy area.
- Coke Zero is now available throughout the resort (yeah- try with Havana rum!!)
- Best WiFi ever!!!! No problems in OceanFront at all!!
- Ok, I know this is a little weird.. Scented toilet paper that smells like baby powder (I noticed it when I was changing the roll- pretty fragrant).
- Humberto is now at the pool bar, Marcelino and Eli are at the beach, and Carlos is everywhere!

Butlers:
We saw our butlers (Jesus, Charley) and Victor (Head Butler) several times during our trip. It seemed like there was always at least one butler near the concierge of our Oceanfront building. In addition, if you walked through the main building there was always a butler by the desks. They always had a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we got back to our room before dinner.

Staff:
One of the reasons we continue to return to the Grand is the extraordinary staff. Rafael Carmona is doing an excellent job as the general manager. He has an abundance of new ideas and really values input from his guests. He is constantly walking around making sure that everyone is happy. Gabriel Rodriguez is also exceptional in his position as assistant manager. He is extremely professional and goes above and beyond for the guests! Io’ana in reception is wonderful and it is always nice to see her smiling face! Victor, Raul, and Laura always make us feel so welcome! It is great to see Olivia back as well as Chef Daniela and Chef Omar. Carlos, Marcelino, Humberto, and Daniel are wonderful bartenders! Mariana (hostess) is so friendly and great at her job! Of course, we have to mention Hugo (maître d) and Ulysses (Toni’s waiter) for always making our dining experiences special. Thanks to Ricardo (bellman) for always welcoming us home! Eder did a great job organizing all of the Star Friend activities!!

Overall, we had a wonderful, festive Christmas experience at the Grand. It exceeded our expectations and we can’t wait until our next trip!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NiceNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Since our guests are the most important component to create the big family that Iberostar Grand Paraiso is, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you in our hotel again and specially to be part of this family.

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. This will certainly motivate our team to continue delivering the best service to all our guests! It is always very rewarding to receive such compliments ensuring that every guest leaves with great satisfaction, our main commitment is your entire satisfaction and all the staff is focus on that.

We hope that you will continue to give us the pleasure of hosting you when next you are planning your vacation as we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Ok, here is a review of my experience at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso...1st off, if you're looking for partyville, and a place with a bunch of drunk people & kids running wild, then this is "NOT" the place for you, so keep searching!!! But if you're looking for "Great Service", "Super Clean Grounds", "Good Food", "Peaceful Sleep in an Awesome Room", then stop looking, because THIS is the place you've been searching for!!!
My Wife & I believe you get what you pay for, so we did a ton of research, before choosing this resort, and We're so glad we did because it paid off big!

Check in was a breeze, We stayed in room 7102, which is right on the beach, and in our opinion the best view in the house, with close proximity to the food, and both pools, (great location for people who don't like a lot of walking). The grounds were immaculate! You could literally eat off the floor it was so clean, and our room was just as clean, (our linen was changed every day which is rare), and they had a pillow menu!!! (yes, a pillow menu lol), we really tried hard to find a flaw, but we couldn't.
The staff was friendly, and helpful, and each one said good morning, good afternoon, or good evening, and also the vast majority spoke decent english. We had a butler, which we saw on the first day, and he gave us a rundown of the grounds, services, & useful information, but we never saw him again after that, and I really can't say what his function was, because like I said, we never saw him, (but this was not a deal breaker for us), so lets move on.

The food was excellent! Good variety everyday, ribeye steaks, lobsters, (yes whole lobsters everyday!), various grilled fish, shrimps, pork, chicken, lamb chops, fresh fruits and vegetables (you get the idea, they had a great variety for everyones different taste). And each day was a different variety. They also had themed restaurants, (Surf & Turf, Italian, Japanese and Gourmet), for those who want a more personalized waiter service with your meal, (to us the buffet was just as good). The drinks were as good as any inclusive, (beers juices and sodas, and wines were refilled each day in our room), but for top shelf liquor, you had to go to a bar, or ask for it at dinner, (pretty big selection too). Also room service was 24 hours a day.

There is free WiFi on the entire grounds, (including the beach), for those who like to upload pictures to Facebook and twitter, and check or send emails, (amazingly my Netflix worked down there!), and there are 2 pools, (and a beautiful beach), just to relax. One pool has music and activities, and the other is called "The Quiet Pool", (and the title says it all), no music, no activities, just a relaxing place to read, or enjoy the sun and beautiful 80 degree weather in tranquility. We decided to get a romantic couples massage on the beach, (it cost $130 US, per person, and it was worth every penny to us), my Wife thinks I got a little too excited lol, but the massage was that good!!! On the beach they had jet skis, parasailing, & snorkeling for a fee. There were plenty of cabanas, (yes cabanas), at both pools, at no extra charge, on a first come first served basis. We also noticed that there was nobody hounding us to buy timeshares, and that was a relief!

I have to mention this to show how "GREAT" the concierge staff truly is in my book...On X-Mas day, while enjoining my food way too much, I bit down on my fork, breaking the crown on my tooth, and after going into panic mode, I went to the concierge staff the next morning, and Ricardo (the day time bellman), went above and beyond to help me. He found me a reputable dentist, (yes I googled the dentist because I needed to be sure), Ricardo made him quote me a price over the phone, got me a cab driver to take me to the dentist, wait for me, and take me back to the resort, and I made it back by lunchtime, (this may be a small deal to some, but it was a big deal for me), Thank You Ricardo, I commend you for saving the day for me!

We met people who've come to this resort 5 thru 10 times, (we were one of the few newbies but we are absolutely going to return to this "Paradise"!!! I hope this review helps your decision, Thanks for listening!!!

HUGE TIP...if you're going to book this resort, book it yourself online!!! A travel agent wanted to charge us an obscene amount of money for this trip, but we booked it ourselves online, and saved $6000, (thats right 6 grand!!!). Just remember you need a roundtrip flight, the resort, and roundtrip ground transportation to and from the airport, "THATS IT"!!! I know it seems like a pain in the neck, but consider it, because you'll save big money, (unless you've got cash to burn)!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank djmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso for your vacations, as well as for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers.

We are delighted to know that we have contributed to making your vacations unforgettable. Thank you for highlighting our food and beverages, restaurants, clean grounds, awesome rooms, quiet and main pool, all our special amenities and specially our staff work, we are extremely proud to hear that they have made your stay remarkable and please be sure we will congratulate all of them (especially Ricardo, who is a great asset for us) for helping making your stay very special, it is always motivating for our team to know that they have been part of your experience.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Paraiso, hopefully soon.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,373 reviews
6.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,218 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,390 reviews
6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £287 - £582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Prestigia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing