We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Nearby Hotels
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$849
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$452
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$408
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
US$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,255)
Filter reviews
6,255 results
Traveller rating
5,202
731
219
66
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,202
731
219
66
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstranquility poolsurf and turfocean frontlobsterla brisaindoor poolstar friendsbutler servicelobby barpillow menuother resortsoceanfront roominternational buffetpool conciergewelcome homelunch buffettop shelf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,681 - 2,686 of 6,255 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This resort was the best that I could imagine, from the service, to the wonderful vegetarian food they made for us, to the entertainment and setting. The room was beautiful, like living in a condo! The restaurants excellent, but we mainly went to the buffet, because they always had so much to choose from, and if you don't like what they offer, the chef will make you special meals. They need to figure out vegetarian at the restaurants a little better. The restaurants did not cater to us as well as the buffet chef. I complained, and it did get 1000% better. I would seriously come back to this resort at any time. It was the most relaxing, comfortable, and decadent resort ever!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are WONDERFUL!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SueBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have invested in sharing your experience of your stay in our hotel, we are happy to read that you fully enjoyed your vacation with us and that you were satisfied with the services provided by our colleagues. We are also pleased to note that you enjoyed our service and the facilities. These are the some of our many details that makes the Grand, grand.

We appreciate all of our guests’ comments and suggestions regarding our services and facilities, because that helps us increase our ambition to achieve top quality service levels.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

If you are trying to choose a resort in this area, you have found the place. This was our second stay at an Iberostar Grand and this formula really works for us. The adults only, higher end feel of this resort was very welcome but we also enjoyed wandering over to the busier Maya.
The staff were very friendly and worked hard to please all of the guests. We never felt that we had to tip but we always found the staff very appreciative of tips.
The spa was okay as it was very overpriced (to be expected) and I didn't like the set up. Once changed into your robe you had to walk through public areas and up stairs. After the treatment you are seated at the front desk to pay. Maybe it is just me but when only wearing a robe I don't want to negotiate stairs or sit in public areas. It was a little tricky. I had the massage with reflexology which was nice. You can go to the spa in the shopping area for lower prices but I didn't think that would be worth the effort. I was also disappointed that the Grand spa didn't have any packages.
Our room was in building 72 on the top floor overlooking the quiet pool. We loved this location and would even request it on our next visit. We were close to everything but the building was still very quiet.
We spent quite a bit of time at the quiet pool and loved the sun beds. The drink service was great and the cool water was nice.
We usually like to try different places but this is one place we would definitely return to without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SKKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

Our team will be motivated by your generous compliments without a doubt. We appreciated the time that you have taken as well to make constructive comments, we are committed to listening to our guests and be constantly trying to improve our services.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Paraiso!

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a long over due review. My husband and I have stayed in 3 other all inclusive resorts, The Valentin, Secrets Maroma and Excellence Playa Mujeres and finally at The Grand. The resort itself is stunning, the service is exceptional, and we wanted for nothing. The sweet waitstaff remember what you ordered for drinks, they remember your name and are all too willing to move chairs wherever you want them by the pool or the beach. The food is plentiful and a wonderful variety at the buffets. Lobster daily and, believe it or not, they grill every day to order and the burgers are delicious.The air conditioning, pillows and bed are soooo awesome. If you want the air adjusted, a different pillow or you want to change the drinks in your fridge they are more than willing to oblige. You do need reservations for the restaurants and we did not care for that as we have been used to a no reservation policy at the other resorts. But that and the towel game is all I have to say for negatives here.You want an extra cushion for your chair, no problem. The towels are plentiful at the beach and they have people offering lotion and magazines ....awesome. We stayed in the ocean front building 71 and were on the top floor. The views were beautiful,,,,I highly recommend this kind of room if you love the ocean. We are a couple in our late 50's and feel this resort had a great balance of entertainment and relaxation. The sister resorts were more geared to the younger crowds so we were glad we chose the Grand. We loved it so much we are returning in May 2014 for my 60th...(ugh) and have reserved ocean front again. If you are on the fence...no need to worry. You will love it here. The beach may have a few rocks in places, but for the most part you just need to move a few feet and it is smooth sand and beautiful, clear water. The beach goes on forever if you enjoy walking the beach. It was fun to walk down to Maroma beach daily...there is a quaint abandoned or unfinished mansion just beyond Secrets Maroma resort that is a wonderful photo op.....many brides have their pictures taken there. Okay, so I am rambling on here. You will not be disappointed with this resort...book it!!!! Any questions, feel free to ask me!! Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: Choose oceanfront.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank shoppergirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your memorable experience is a true testament of the dedication of our staff to ensure that you have all the necessary ingredients for an unforgettable vacation.

We offer luxurious accommodation, quality amenities, the very best in food and beverage all provided with genuine personalized service. We are thrilled that you appreciated all of it!

It would be our pleasure to host you again and trust you will not hesitate to visit us soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I always find it interesting to read other reviews, both the over the top, and the worst experiences ever. The IB Grand Paraiso lived up the the excellent reviews it has received. We stayed last Jan at the Grand Rose Hall in Jamaica for comparison. Both resorts excellent. I emailed the IBGP ahead of time for dinner reservations and asking for a room upgrade since we made Expedia VIP status. This time it worked and we were upgraded from a standard to waterfront. It was great being able to hear the ocean from the room. I think the concierge in the waterfront buildings are extremely attentive and were always there (not the case at the IB Rose Hall). We had good weather which of course affects reviews. The Star Friends really tried to motivate the older crowd. We had no trouble getting reservations (albeit at 8:30) at the specialty restaurants since the earlier times were taken. If you cannot find excellent food here, you will not find it elsewhere although there are clear misses at some of the restaurants. Gourmet top restaurants they are not.
A couple of suggestions: The chair game is played here and since the chairs are spread out so far apart there is room for many more, and that availability would negate the need to reserve chairs. No reason they cannot add more chairs without affecting the ambiance. There are no chairs around the tranquility pool (only cabana beds) so that pool is totally unused. Some of the rooms are lacking screen doors and there are mosquitoes. Not bad, but if you want to sleep with the door open to hear the ocean you need the screen. One of our rooms was lacking it and it took many trips and insistence to have it replaced. The front desk said : maintenance had the request, but they had to get the door from the manufacturer, ie it would never come. However the next evening a screen magically appeared. We also had 2 rooms and asked for a late check out from one of them (1 hr) which should have been provided as an Expedia perk but it was not granted. Not a big deal but it would not have been an issue for them to accommodate that request.
There was no pressure to tip, and in fact the pool servers usually moved on so quickly that if you wanted to and had no money ready they would be gone. There was no pressure to tip, but we did travel with a bundle of ones and fives and it was appreciated. Little additional expense for us and it felt appropriate.
We used Canada Transfers for the trip to and from the resort and a day trip to Chichen Itza and they were excellent.
Ocean was warm and the rocks are not a problem since the left side of the beach is great for swimming. Free scuba trial in the pool.
Will go back or try the IB Bravura. Their formula at the grand hotels works!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agl120854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed a beautiful room by the ocean and the great service of our staff. We appreciate that you have allowed us the honor of serving you again, your evaluation is of special importance to us as you have had the opportunity to compare our property and services.

We appreciate all of our guests' comments and suggestions regarding our food and facilities, because that helps us increase our ambition to achieve top quality service levels. We can assure you that we will share your feedback with our Department Managers for their consideration.

Once again, we appreciate the time that you have taken as well, to make constructive comments, which we will take into consideration and share with the respective department managers.

We look forward to seeing you back, and again thank you so much for your continued loyalty.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We researched all inclusive resorts in Mayan and selected Iberostar Grand Paraiso based on criteria that were important for us. 1. Adults only 2.Beautiful Beach 3.Restaurant choices and variety 4. Large resort property or compound for walking 5. Golf/Driving range on site
6.Trip Advisor % guest return rates.
WE WERE ABSOLUTELY SATISFIED WITH OUR CHOICE! This resort did not disappoint. The staff were ALL outstanding, so accommodating and gracious. The rooms and resort property were impeccably clean. and well maintained. We visited the restaurants but went back to Buffet for most evening meals as it was always outstanding.
The pool areas and beach were lovely ....staff came round constantly to meet your every need.
There is so much variety at this resort that you can create the kind of vacation that you want.
Be sure to walk around and visit the other family resorts on Iberostar property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank Joannietime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear guest;

We would like to thank you for your trust in our hotel and for taking the time to write your friendly review.

Thank you for describing in just a few words your experience and opinion regarding your stay. Comments like yours motivate us to keep improving our exclusive and personal service in order to make our guests´ vacations the most enjoyable we can.

It is good to know that we fulfilled your expectations, and that our staff was part of your great getaway.

We are thrilled to read that you mention that everyone can create the kind of vacation they want in Iberostar Grand Paraiso, it make us feel very proud. Thank you once again for your kind review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews