We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the complete package” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the complete package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Given that I am no a fun of all inclusive resorts, the overall experience was near perfect. I played golf, which is on the resort and one of the best resort courses I have played, and as I am also a diver, I was diving in the afternoon! You can access the dive shop from simply walking 5 minutes on the beach. The food was good and the staff amazing. I had a great vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased to know you had a great time during your stay.

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding the Golf Course, the diving center, food and especially our amazing staff.

We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,625
    650
    191
    61
    36
See reviews for
640
3,983
104
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Grand has set the bar at a level in which I feel is hard to top. Having traveled extensively, after our visit to the Grand, I knew there was a benchmark going forward. I am writing this review, after having spent 10 days at a resort I thought would be comparable in the same breath as the Grand. The Grand remains the benchmark.

Our arrival at the Grand was met with a very sincere welcome, and from there check in was meticulous. Our room was amazing and met all the standards we had anticipated. We found the resort easy to navigate, and we were always met with a gracious hello from all staff (ola).
The grounds were immaculate, the salt water pool amazing, and the beach was great. The same old cat and mouse game with towels holding chairs is a major annoyance, however, we were fine with whatever seats we found. Some discretion by management to monitor this would definitely help the resort going forward as this issue is at the forefront of most guests complaints.
The food met all our expectations, and was beyond my previous all inclusive offerings.
Service was amazing and their efforts went over and above the norm.

The spa services were above average and the facilities top notch. I received two massages and would recommend them highly. The price point is where I am accustomed to paying at any spa.

We are beach bums, and the beach offers us exactly what we are looking for. White sand, long walks in each direction. There are some rocks along the entrance to some points in front of the resort, but this is a minor hindrance. Plenty of areas to enjoy.

The Grand has met all our expectations, the quality of food, service, top shelf liquor and an overall feeling of being "home" has us booking another visit in July. We are counting the days...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Paraiso hotel for your visit and also for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay; reviews like yours are truly inspiring for our dedicated team.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we are grateful you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: the quality of food and beverages, buffet, a la carte restaurant, spa, the beach, pool and specially our friendly and efficient staff. It is always motivating for the staff to receive comments like yours, please be sure that we will share them with them.

Regarding the sun chairs, we have been taken note of it, and now we have a Pool Concierge supervisor who is the one that is taking care of the area tracking all of our guests and advising them that it is not possible to reserve chairs. Plus we would like to announce that we have bought around 100 more sun chairs to have much more available for all of our guests.

While it is true that the entrance to the beach is rocky, we would like to mention that it is one our main assets, as we are located near the coral reef area. This is a natural protected area as it is part of a conservation and protection program of our Government, which will maintain it sustainable over the years, by respecting its natural beauty.

We hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you for your next vacations, as we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just returned from my 5th stay at this awesome hotel. Every year I try to introduce family and friends to this wonderful experience. The service at this hotel is beyond compare. Our butler Charly and of course Victor made are stay wonderful. One of our party was celebrating a birthday during our stay. Steve at Beach Bum Vacations secured a reservation at Toni's for us prior to our arrival. Jessica and Charly took it to the next level by decorating the room while we at dinner (thanks guys!) Alphonso who took care of our turndown service never failed to leave a cute towel design on our bed surrounded by roses!

The new pads on the chairs by pool are awesome. The always cheerful Johanna and Samantha made sure we secured chairs on a daily basis. And of course Leticia (Letty) ....who I was so happy to see is still there was her usual bubbly, funny self.

When our flight to leave was cancelled the staff (thanks again Victor) scrambled to make sure we could stay another night.

The only downside to the trip (and thankfully it was at the end) was Amstar transportation. Because our flight was cancelled they no longer would honor our private transport to the airport. The Amstar staff we dealt with onsite were very nice and helpful but whoever was on the othe end of the phone would not honor their commitment. With the help of Eduardo we secured other private transport to the airport (of course at an additional charge.)

I will be returning again next year and I am certain the rest of my group will as well!

Room Tip: You cannot beat the ocean front rooms. A beautiful sunrise every morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Irregardless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear guest,

Since our guests are the most important component to create the big family that Iberostar Grand Paraiso is, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you in our hotel once again.

We would also like to express our most sincere gratitude for the kind review you wrote on Trip Advisor.

Your special mention of Victor, Charly , Jessica, Johanna, Samantha and other members of staff has been greatly appreciated; we recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.

We are glad to know we could have the opportunity to make your stay pain free.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to be your host again the next time you are thinking on visiting the Riviera Maya.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just back from 5 days. Excellent levels of service and great infrastructure but very kitsch and in your face for european taste. Rooms huge and well equipped. Ours stank of sewage (7340) as did another part of the same corridor (7329); the "butler" explained it "was an old hotel" , and tried closing the bath plugs to no avail. The pools are huge but as others report it was a struggle to get a lounger and some were not comfortable. We particularly liked the spectacular heated spa pool which had lots of jets for do-it-yourself-massage. The actual spa massages were out of our price range. The buffet food was of incredibly good quality; best we have seen anywhere in the world.The speciality restaurants in comparison were disappointing; best we went to was "surf and turf". The "animation" staff were charming and very keen, but often had few takers for naff games. A big exception to this was the free tennis coaching from Peter which was very serious and professional; world class. We only went to one show which also seemed pretty naff.The whole place was pretty crowded with boosey parties from the States down for the week-end often for stag or hen parties or weddings on the beach. Finally we were short changed when paying for incidentals at check -out(corrected with good grace at the time).
Having read this far you might think we would not recommend this hotel. Far from it; its spectacular. The standards of buffet food and general service are incredible. We had a lovely and enjoyable time and the staff were generally very kind, patient, gracious , and helpful.We would go back to Iberostar, anywhere. Just expect a rather esoteric first class experience with some faults.

Room Tip: Second floor block 73 was smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 497ianj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your impressions about your stay at Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

We are delighted to read that you felt pampered and that we exceeded your expectations. It is always rewarding to hear that our guests have enjoyed their vacations among us.

Moreover, we are glad to know that you liked our accommodations, gastronomy and our efficient, polite and helpful staff.

Regarding the sun chairs, we have been taking note of it, and now we have a Pool Concierge supervisor who is the one that is taking care of the area and tracking all of our guests, and advising that it is not possible to reserve chairs. We regret the inconvenience this may have caused, you can be certain we are working on making it better.

We would like to assure you that we work hard every day to ensure our guests have a smooth, pain free stay and that we will keep working on improving areas of concern.

Once more, thank you for your visit and for recommending us; we hope to have the honor to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I traveled with 3 childhood friends to celebrate our 50th year. I have stayed in the adjoining Iberostar resorts 5 different times but this was my 1st stay in the All Adult Grand Resort. The food was fabulous. The service was great. My friends absolutely loved it and said they want to go again. I will be going again with my husband and possibly our adult children. My only 2 minor complaints were...you have to secure chairs in the shade very early in the morning due to the popularity of the resort and I could hear some noise above us and next door if it was quiet in our room. But...this was minor compared to "fab" experience!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank Joy368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand to spend your 50th anniversary and for taking the time that you have invested in sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand to spend your 50th anniversary, also thank you for writing this wonderful review, which we are sure it will help other couples looking for a place to spend their anniversary, honeymoon or just a holiday full of relaxation, and romanticism.

Regarding the sun chairs, we have been taking note of it, and now we have a Pool Concierge supervisor who is the one that is taking care of the area and tracking all of our guests, and advising them that it is not possible to reserve them.

We appreciate all of our guest’s comments and suggestions regarding our services and facilities, because that help us to impulse and increase our ambition to achieve top quality service levels. It is our constant goal to keep impressing you on every visit and make it even better than last time.

We are pleased to hear that you recommend us. We hope to have the opportunity to receive your visit again.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was our third stay at the Grand. Like mentioned in a previous review, the grounds are impeccably kept. The resort is immaculate and the staff is friendly and so helpful. The rooms are beautiful with COMFORTABLE beds. Very quiet and peaceful. The food is amazing, in every restaurant, even the buffets. I originally chose Iberostar on Cozumel for a family trip for the reviews of the food and have now stayed at Iberostars five times. The food has always been excellent and the staff at all of these hotels are the best I've seen anywhere. Even the maintainance people smiled and said hello. We love the tranquility pool and the spa pool and just laying by the ocean. Also, at the Grand you have a butler service that will stock your fridge with whatever you like. We are not drinkers, but had an endless supply of diet coke and water. This is a little more pricey than the other resorts on the Iberostar Campus, but it is also adult only and is five star quality in everything you experience. I cannot say enough about the quality and attention to your every need. Instead of any disappointments, you are pleasantly surprised by every detail. We will definitely return again next year.

Room Tip: Every room is great. If you want to be on the ocean, you pay more, but every room is beautiful with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ajrob124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort, Iberostar GRAND Paraiso, again, it means a lot to us as we feel are honored to have the opportunity to serve you again.

We look forward to hosting you again at Iberostar Grand Paraiso: your home away from home.

With warm Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We are currently on day 3 of our 7 day vacation. It is PHENOMENAL! From the moment you arrive, you are greeted "welcome home". The main lobby is beautiful with lush gardens in the middle. Denise at the front desk is very good at her job and goes above and beyond to ensure the client is well taken care of. All staff are very professional, very friendly and provide exceptional customer service. I have never been on a vacation where everything was so perfect.

The rooms are very clean, the ladies do an amazing job in ensuring everything is clean and tidy quickly. The hotel property is also very clean and very well maintained.

The food is SUPERB! Lobster for lunch!!! Lobster for dinner!!! Fresh fruit (not canned) and a great variety of fruit!!! Lots of variety for different tastes.

The entertainment games at the pool are fun, the staff really do a great job in entertaining guests.

The only downfall is the tanning chairs and shaded area. I would recommend more umbrellas for shade. By 7 am all gazebos are taken and the only place you can get a chair is in the sun.

Beautiful resort, excellent service by the amazing staff, excellent food and drink menu!!! Could not ask for more.

Thank you team at Iberostar Grand Paraiso!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at Iberostar Grand Paraiso, we are so happy to know that you could have an excellent time with us.

It is wonderful to see how much you enjoy your vacations and that you could try our best food selection.

Moreover we thank you for mentioning our staff, it is good to read that we met your expectations regarding the resort’s facilities, comfortable rooms, entertainment, and great service.

Regarding the sun chairs, we have been taking note of it, and now we have a Pool Concierge supervisor who is the one that is taking care of the area and tracking all of our guests, and advising them that it is not possible to reserve chairs. We have also bought around 100 more sun chairs to have much more available and comfortable for all of our guests!

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the Grand!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
1.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing