We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It lives up to its name - Grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This location was the ultimate trip for our summer vacation. The pools are outstanding. Loved our room and the assistance of the butler, too. The quality of the restaurants was excellent. The food selections were varied and delicious. We wish that we could afford to go every year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear guest,

We are pleased to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and also we are sincerely grateful for the time you have spent to share your satisfaction here on Trip Advisor.

It is wonderful to hear that you loved our accommodations as well as the butler service we offer. We are dedicated to give our guests a high quality service in each aspect of their stay and to read that you went home with good memories makes us feel very proud.

Moreover, being our food one of the prime pillar of our organizations, we are pleased to know you liked the variety and taste of the several options offered at our restaurants. Thank you for highlighting it!

We really appreciate the opportunity you have given us to host you in IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso.

We would be thrilled to welcome you back every year as it would be our honor to make you have more unforgettable experiences.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,917)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,271 - 2,277 of 5,918 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Iberostar Grand Paraiso (IGP) is probably the most elegant and classy Mexican all-inclusive we have stayed at that was also able to be effective. We very rarely have seen all-inclusives with similar levels of class (and I speak of the highest levels), but none of those few have actually delivered as well as IGP on an irritation free, high level of service experience. At some point with these other resorts, the higher level of service comes with some draw-back: the service can get to be stifling, the gym or spa is lacking, the pool may be lacking, or while the services are good, the pretension becomes irritating and detracting. None of this is so at IGP, which manages to do everything an adults only, high end Mexican all inclusive should with effectiveness, and supreme class. There is, however, some room for some small improvements, which I outline below.

Aesthetics

The Iberostar chain is European, and it shows at IGP, with the Italian and Spanish influences, décor and architecture. The rooms are extremely nice, with soft beds, beautiful marbled floors, tasteful paintings, and elegant touches everywhere. The restaurants and common buildings are quite breathtaking. They are not Mexican so much as European in flavour. IGP itself feels like it is on another plane from the other neighboring Iberostar resorts, which are crowded and plain looking by comparison.

Spa / fitness and Iberostar village

The fact the IGP is part of a 5 Iberostar resort “village” is worth pointing out, as it has enabled the building of a number of resort shared facilities. The golf course, tennis courts, el Spa, and a fitness facility are all common. IGP has its own spa building with a smaller fitness center as well, but the larger shared spa and fitness center are an important resource to persons staying at IGP. For IGP guests, all of these facilities are available free, and they are very useful and nice. The shared spa facility has a very warm indoor swimming/spa hydrotherapy pool, and a room of pools of various temperatures, hot and dry saunas, rock foot bath, etc. All these facilities are free for IGP guests. The shared gym is quite large, and has numerous treadmills and weights up to heavy weight, a squat rack and Olympic weight benches. One criticism of the IGP comes in the form of the very poor maintenance on the cardio equipment. At the shared gym, fully half the cardio equipment has some form of mechanical issue. At the IGP-only smaller fitness center, the equipment is in far better condition with the exception of the spinning bikes, which are in a disgraceful state of repair. At least half of those are in need of major maintenance. To be clear, IGP has very good fitness facilities overall, with two gym choices, and a maintenance issue on some of the cardio equipment.

As mentioned above, IGP has a wonderful shared hydrotherapy spa. It is very impressive. What is even more so is the fact that at the IGP, there is another IGP-only spa which has its own warm pool and hydrotherapy circuit which is also free and can be used virtually any time without appointment or cost. For those interested in spa activities of this sort, IGP is very difficult to beat.

Food / restaurants

The food at IGP is heavy on the high end side of the menu. Virtually every restaurant finds a way to include lobster on the menu, even at lunch! That said, some might feel there is not as much selection on the vegetable (particularly hot vegetable) side as they might like; certainly not as much as some of their peers. A further criticism to IGP’s food service is that their food warmers at breakfast, lunch, and dinner do not keep the food very warm, and are also inferior to that of some of their peers. This is not to say that IGP’s food is bad: many would likely feel that it is among the best in its resort category. It is the only all-inclusive I have ever seen with lobster thermidore on the menu at the Gourmet restaurant (did I mention they have a lot of lobster?). We very much enjoyed the Italian, the Gourmet, the Seafood, and to some extent the evening buffets at IGP. The Asian restaurant was typical, but lacked the very tasty hibachi sauce that I was hoping for. If you are a vegetarian (which my wife is), just ask and they will accommodate and/or change some of the dishes at the various restaurants. The Gourmet restaurant does not actually have a vegetarian offering, but talk to “Olivia” (a chef in the main buffet) the day of eating dinner there, and she will ensure a vegetarian delight is made for you that evening!
One last thing on the restaurant side is that all evening restaurants, with the exception of the buffet, require reservations. This can be done through your butler. BUT, restaurants can also be booked up to one week prior to your arrival. We recommend this to avoid hassle, especially if the butlers are busy (which can happen).

Watersports

We found the watersports to be lacking in a few ways. Unlike some of their peers, IGP lacked stand up paddle (SUP) for the quiet water days, and body boards for the more wavy days. The beach is decent, being a nice bio clastic (white) sand. It is wide enough walking from IGP south to the Maroma beach, and a little trickier going north where it narrows a bit past the Iberostar village of resorts.

Lounging about / chairs

There are a fair number of chairs around the beach and pools. IGP does not have a feel of crowding which we saw at the rest of the hotels in the Iberostar complex of resorts. Nevertheless, it appeared that there were not enough of the chairs with shade (tents / umbrellas) to go around. We know this because people were incessantly putting their towels on these sought after locations at least by 8:00 am each morning. This kind of behavior does happen to some degree at almost all resorts, but typically increases when there is not enough of something. It was much worse here than at the Excellence Mujeres resort which we just came from, and which had at least as high an occupancy rate. It should be pointed out that there really are a lot of places to comfortably hang out at IGP (the IGP spa area, inside and out is one that was usually very quiet).

Pools and demographics

IGP attracts an almost bimodal crowd by age. A lot of old people come here, and a lot of younger adults come as well. This plays out at the pools. IGP really has 3 pools, the big, loud, party pool, the quiet serenity pool, and the IGP spa pool. Depending on your age and inclination (some of the older people can sure party), you just have to choose where you want to hang out. We found that we moved around a bit during the day, rather than camping in one place all day (or all week, it seems, for some). There are also lots of chairs on the beach, too, so like I said, there is a place or places for everyone near water. IGP guests are also allowed to frequent any of the other Iberostar resorts in the village, so this means you can go visit the lazy river or wave pool at the neighboring resorts, eat their ice cream and hot dogs, get everyone over there all wound up, and then retreat back to the quieter, less crowded IGP when you are done with them.

Rooms and service

The rooms at IGP are almost all identical in lay out and décor, with the exception of the ocean front superior rooms. These superior rooms are indeed… superior… in size, décor, and with an on-deck Jacuzzi. We have stayed in the standard rooms and (this time) in the ocean front rooms. The ocean front rooms are no different from the standard rooms, except that they actually do give an outstanding view of the ocean. The butler service is also better in the ocean front blocks of rooms, which can be helpful in booking restaurants or for other services you might wish to book. The butler service was so good this time that, for example, they remembered what drinks we wanted in the minibar, but also timed the turn-down service to always occur during the period of our dinner reservations, which the butlers kept track of. All of the rooms have two doorways between you and the hallway, so most rooms in IGP do not suffer from hallway noises (such as trundling carts or party-goers stumbling to their room).

Among the best, could become the best

It may sound like we are picking on some aspects of IGP, but we actually think this is one of the very best adult all-inclusive resorts around. With a few very cheap and easy improvements, it might become the clear leader.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have exactly the same lay-out except the Ocean Front Superior Rooms, which are quit...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay at our hotel. It is very pleasing to know that once again you had a great stay in IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso, we have the commitment to keep being the best all inclusive in Mexico, therefore, we sincerely want to express our gratitude for letting us be part of your experience in this wonderful country.

It is to motivating for our staff to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we are grateful that you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: the architecture, the decoration, the SPA, the beach, the pools and the room .

As you mentioned part of the advantages to stay at the IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso is free access to the sister hotels at the region not only at our complex; all our guests' can also use the facilities of IBEROSTAR Cancun, Cozumel and Tucan & Queztal in Playa del Carmen.

We will share your comments regarding our food temperature with our Executive Chef for his consideration as he continuously strives to offer the best quality, as you verified with your experience at our restaurants a la carte we do our best to exceed the expectations of the travelers that put their confidence on IBEROSTAR.

Your comments and suggestions are very important for us and you can be certain we have shared with the Management in order to make the right adjustments.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations made and do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming back as we are sure you would be able to see our constant improvements.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been guests of the Iberostar resort chain many times. In July 2013, when rooms were in short supply at the Iberostar Maya we were upgraded to the Grand Hotel Paraiso. We stayed at the Grand for 2 weeks and loved it. For study break in February 2014 the choice was obvious – we returned to the Grand. The Grand is truly exceptional from a beautiful property and beach, to delicious and varied food and friendly staff. We discovered that the Grand is a notch up from all the other Iberostar properties we have previously stayed at.

We were greeted and welcomed by Rafael (General Manager) and Gabriel (Assistant Executive Manager) upon our arrival on February 13! Victor Chan (head butler) and Jesus (butler) asked us every day if everything was fine and could they do anything for us! Every staff person that we met on the property greeted us with big smile and an “ola”. Staff recognized us upon our second visit and welcomed us back. It was great to see Rafael and Gabriel around the resort throughout the day checking to ensure that a 5-star experience was being delivered.

The buffet is extraordinary – the choice is incredible with lobster, fish, crab and shrimp available at every lunch and dinner. At breakfast, we chatted with Olivia at the Grill as well as with Fabian at the Juice Bar – they are very personable and lovely people. We mentioned to Laura (an Assistant Manager) that the Jacuzzi and spa pool temperature had to be increased and this was fixed on the same day!

We tried 2 specialty restaurants, Surf and Turf and Italian – both were good and the ambiance was really nice but the buffet is superior. The buffet changes themes everyday and the food selection is wide and is superb. Do not miss the Mexican night at the buffet and definitely stop at the Tequila Bar and have the Milagro Anejo Tequilla shot followed by Sangrita!

For night shows, do not miss the Rock Show, the 70’s Show and Beatlemania. All the shows in the theatre are excellent. Eder who is the head of Entertainment and his team (Andreas and Christina) do a super job of welcoming guests and making them feel part of the resort. We missed Jenny who was away on holidays and Bashir who has returned to France.

The gym is small for the size of the resort – the gym opens at 7:00AM and one has to be there early to get a machine.

We had a fabulous time and cannot wait to return to be welcomed back and pampered!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GM-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear you got home safely. We appreciate that you have allowed us the honor of serving you again; we highly value your loyalty to our brand and especially to IBEROSTAR Grand. We also appreciate that you have taken the time to acknowledge the efforts of our dedicated team, there is no doubt they will be motivated by your kind words.

On behalf of our Management and staff we want to say it was a great honor to have had the chance to serve you and provide you with a wonderful experience. We appreciate your kind words on our food and beverages, our shows, and especially on our service. Olivia, Fabian, Laura, Victor, Jesus and all our team members feel so proud and happy to know that we were part of your great experience.

Once more, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to this your home away from home: IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I am currently staying at this resort, I find it difficult to not give this place 5 stars but our experience so far has been mixed. After the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor I was expecting to be blown away and honestly I had a better experience at the Iberostar in Jamaica (Rose Hall grand), and at the Royal in playa del Carmen and the Royal in Cancun.

The staff here are great, but honestly they are great at all of these resorts. You just don't get this type of service in the US.

Here are my gripes.

Spots at the pools, all occupied. Half by vacant towels of rude guests. This is a problem at all resorts but is worse here.

Food is good but not great. Dinners are very good but limited lunch selection (mainly buffet) is lackluster. Could not get any reservations last night at our place before 9 so we tried a place at the Iberostar Mayan right next door. It was OK. Loud children at this place. The Grand is nice in that it is adults only..

Rooms are nice, marble floors nice balconies. I tried to pay for an upgrade to oceanfront but they were full, instead I was given an ocean view. Not the same. The ocean is a sliver on the horizon and we can not hear the waves. Only other option was the presidential suite for $300 extra per night. Too expensive for me on top of the hefty price we already paid. On the upside room is very quiet and well kept.

In Jamaica they had a very good program called Star Friends. This is basically fun young people that hang out with guests and lead activities. They were great at Rose hall. They are present here but not as active. I have not had a chance to speak with them yet.

Overall I am embarrassed to gripe about such a beautiful place, but so far my experience has not been fantastic. This may be the first place that I have not agreed with the Trip advisor rating.

I will try to update this review if my feelings change as the week goes on.

Room Tip: I would personally try for an oceanfront.. I usually would get a cheap room and try to not be in it...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Silrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about your experience at the IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your beautiful rooms and the great service that our dedicated staff provides.

We can assure you that after reading your kind review, we addressed your suggestions in each area you have mentioned in order to improve our services. Our main goal is to meet our guest´s expectations. In regards to our lunch buffet, our main goal is to offer our guests a unique and special experience where dishes are prepared at the moment so we can provide freshness and quality along with a personalized service. We have shared your feedback with our Executive chef for his consideration as he continuously strives to offer a wide variety with the best quality. Regarding the sun chairs, we would like to mention that we have a Pool Concierge supervisor who is the one that is taking care of the area and tracking all of our guests advising them that it is not possible to reserve chairs.

We hope that the following days of your stay were better after you met our entertainment team at the pool and enjoyed the great service of your concierge and butler.

We also hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso and show you in future visits that we improve day after day thanks to our guest´s feedback.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Iberostar Grand was way more than we expected. The entire resort is breathtaking from the pools, beach, grounds etc. The food was beyond delicious better than any other vacation, and beautifully presented. The room was pure luxury with everything you needed, if not the staff was more than happy to get it for you. Our butler Jonathan went above and beyond the call of duty. The drinks were all top shelf and bartenders and servers alike very friendly. Entertainment group was a lot of fun especially Xiemana always very social with us. This was by far the best experience we have ever had for an all inclusive and are already planning to go back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank snowydays2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso for your vacations. Our desire is to fully satisfy all of our guests needs with our facilities and our quality services, so to read that we surpassed your expectations makes us feel very honored and proud of our job.

We appreciate your encouraging comments on our installations including accommodations, pool, beach and grounds, it is good to know that you enjoyed everything.

Moreover we are glad to hear that you liked the culinary delights and the presentation of the food we offer in our restaurants, as well as the beverage that our bartenders kindly prepare; these are some of the main pillars of our organization and we greatly value your appreciation.

Last but not least thank you very much for highlighting the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff, to received reviews like yours is the best source of motivation for all our team. Jonathan and Ximena are going to be happy to know that they were part of your best experience at all inclusive resort.

Thank you again for your visit and praising review; we are already looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in early March. On arrival we were greeted with a cold flannel and a welcome drink and taken to reception, where we checked in. We were taken to our room by a porter with our cases. Within a few minutes our butler arrived at our room and showed us around informing us of everything we needed to know. He asked us what bottle of spirit we would like in our room and this was delivered within 5 minutes. However we never had anything to do with the butler again, as we had no need to. Our room had a garden view which was nice and quiet. The room was spacious and clean. Ironing and ironing board supplied in wardrobe. Nice large safe big enough for I pad and other bits. Also an umbrella in case of that downpour. Plenty of hangers. The mini bar had plenty of water, soft drinks, beer, white wine, red wine and three miniature bottles of spirits along with your large bottle of spirit of your choice. Also crisps and nuts and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was huge with his and her sinks, hairdryer which very good for long hair, make up mirror, walk in shower, Jacuzzi bath tub and toilet. Nice white towels and the usual toiletries. The bed was huge and very comfortable. You have a pillow menu if your not happy with what is supplied. Go down a few steps to a another area with a desk and two chairs and a chaise longue. This leads to sliding doors to the decked balcony area which has a swing chair another seating area with a mosquito net and a table. Also a ceiling fan outside and light. There is good air con and also a ceiling fan in the room. The maids cleaned the room daily and we had a nightly turn down service where they changed the towels and turned your bed down and left a couple of chocolates on your pillow . This was always done after 8pm when we had left the room which was lovely as many hotels knock far to early and we end up sending them away. The sea view rooms are exactly the same inside but just have a sea view. They wanted 80 dollars a night for the upgrade from our room which we felt was not worth it. The seaview rooms lose the sun around 2pm as the sun sets at the front of the hotel.
The entrance to the hotel from outside isn't as Grand as the Punta Cana Grand. Nice big water feature outside. The lobby bar is lovely and in the evenings they have either someone playing music or singing. The entertainment staff work really hard and we became good friends with them. The shows they produce are fantastic. There must be at least another 30-40 people that sing and dance along with a live band. We saw the Boogie night show, The Broadway show and the Rock show. All were terrific. They were that good we saw two of them twice. There was a magic show and a folklore show which were very good if you like that type of thing. It would be good if they could do different shows over a two week period for those that are staying for 2 weeks. They are trying to do more shows but it takes a long time to prepare all the music, costumes and lighting and then find time to rehearse. Entertainment around the main pool was very good and very funny. Especially the balloon fight in the pool. Those poor lads don't get paid enough !! We would like to thank Jayzee, Andy, Ender, Edwardo and the two girls, sorry I forgot your names for making us laugh so much. There was also a pool table inside and table tennis outside.
The main pool was nice a clean. The jacuzzi's could have been a bit warmer. The pool was quite cold but we soon got used to it. One side of the pool loses the sun lunch time. Beds are normally reserved by 9am. There are spare beds later in the day if your not fussy about sitting in the sun as there is plenty of shade. Beach towels are available and you can take as many as you like. Also at the towel hut they have books you can borrow and sun tan cream you can use. Make sure you leave your books and unused sun cream with them when you leave for other guests to share. Very good idea. The pool bar did get very noisy on a few occasions when large groups of people got together who had obviously had far to much to drink and a couple of times the music around the pool we felt was far to loud and not relaxing. There is also a quiet pool at the side of the hotel but we never went there. There is a spa but again we never visited it.
The beach is nice and sandy. There are quite a lot of rocks and coral on entry to the sea but there are spaces to get in easily. The sea however was quite cold and rough at times. We used to go for a beach walk every day to Maroma beach. It is beautiful, there are no rocks and the sea was calmer. It took about 30 minutes to walk then we used to have a swim then walk back.
Sunbeds on the beach were a bit of a problem. You had to reserve a bed by at least 8pm. Again usual story of people reserving beds and not appearing till after lunch. We stayed around the pool because of this which is a shame as we are beach people. However we found the sunbeds on the beach to be uncomfortable as the cushions really do need replacing. They having started renewing them around the pool and they are much better. There is free wifi everywhere in the hotel even on the beach.
The buffet restaurant was amazing. So much choice. You would have to be really fussy if you couldn't find something to eat. Three stations in the mornings for cooking eggs and omelettes so no queuing. There is also a menu you can order from at breakfast with things like Lobster Billinis on. I did ask if they could do me poached eggs and sure enough I got them cooked just perfect. Plenty of choices of different breads and I have never been to a hotel with so much choice of fresh fruit. Lovely fresh milk shakes and juices also available. The main buffet restaurant was open lunch times for our first few days, this was due to the hotel being so full. After that just the beach restaurant was open of a lunch time. Again they had plenty to choose from and also a menu to order from if you wanted. Most days there was a BBQ as well outside. My only criticism would be there were not enough seats to sit outside the main restaurant and also the hot food could have been a bit hotter. There is plenty of freshly cooked meat and fish all the time, so we just stuck to that with salads. One day a week they have three types of Paella for lunch This was amazing. Lobster was available every day. One lunch time I asked why there was no mango in the fruit chiller. The waiter went away and a chef went to the other kitchen and brought me out a huge plate of prepared mango just for me. Now that is service !! The choices of cheese is also very large, and the fresh guacamole and nachos were amazing. There is a very large range of white, red and rose wines. They were all very good. Bottles are not left on your table but they do refill your glass very quickly.
We booked all the A la Carte restaurants twice. We never had a problem getting the time of our choice. There is supposed to be a dress code for men of long trousers and no open sandals, however this was not adhered to in the Italian restaurant which is a shame. I think it is nice seeing people dress up of an evening. The food in the Italian was nice but we preferred the other restaurants. The Surf and Turf was our favourite. The steak was so tender. Service could be a little slow in there but we were not in any rush. The Gourmet Restaurant was just off the main buffet restaurant. The food again was very good especially the Lobster Thermidor and the Rock Fish Soup. Our first visit to the Japanese restaurant unfortunately wasn't very good. We had booked a show table, and we were very rushed. I had not even finished my starter when they tried to clear my plate and serve my mains. We were in and out within 45 minutes. The food was also extremely salty. We complained to guest relations about this and we said we would try it one more time but not on a show table. On our second visit the staff were very attentive , they had obviously been informed about our last visit. However this time our experience was most enjoyable. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We did go back to guest relations and asked them to inform the staff how much we enjoyed the meal this time.
There is a small shopping centre in the middle of the Iberostar complex. All the food and drink there is free on the all inclusive. Most of the shops sell the normal tacky holiday souvenirs . You do not need any money the shops can book things to your room at your hotel.
You can use all the other Iberostar hotels bars and A la carte restaurants if you wish.
We would definitely go back again, mainly due to the excellent staff and the quality of the food and drink.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SUNBEDSUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso for your getaway and also for sharing your review here on Trip Advisor.

It is good to read that you felt welcome at our hotel and also that during your check in, our butler showed you and explained you everything you needed.

We appreciate your highlights on our facilities and the amenities of our luxury suites; it is great to hear that you liked it and that our housekeeping staff did an outstanding work.

Regarding your mention about our Star friends, we feel very proud and happy to know that they were part of your great experience and that you loved everything they do. Be sure we will take your suggestions in consideration.

Our hotel is recognized for being an excellent place for relaxing, for that reason we are concerned to hear that you could not accomplish it at all the times due to the music played, please accept our sincerely apology for it.

On the other hand we are thrilled to read that with our gastronomy we surpassed your expectations and that you liked the quality and variety of the food we offer. We know that we have some points to improve but we always do our best to give our guests a wonderful time at our restaurants. It is good to read that during your visit we have the opportunity to improve and change your experience at our Japanese restaurant is, we once again, apologize for any inconvenience experienced in your first time there.

On behalf of all our team, we really look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Let me start off with the good:

Service: Very Nice. Everyone was very nice to us, to the point of remembering my and my husband's names after one introduction. The staff was beyond polite, warm and engaging. We stayed in an oceanfront room and so we spent most of our time at the beach (which is beyond gorgeous by the way). Our drink orders were always prompt and we felt that most things were taken care of quite quickly. By far, the staff was one of the best things about this place.

Beach: One of the prettiest beaches I have seen and I've seen a lot of beaches. It's kept clean by the staff and the water is beyond words to describe blue. It's also pretty safe for swimming. Some have complained of rocks on the beach. This is true if you stay in building 71. In front of building 70, rocks were not an issue.

Pools: The pools are gorgeous and kept up very nicely. You do have to be out at like 7am to get a choice spot under a cabana if you want to lay by the pool. People reserve the spots uber early. That was sort of annoying as I go on vacation to sleep in and then lounge after breakfast. Having to get up to get a seat makes for vacation feeling sort of rushed. It's not terrible and they now have a policy that says you can't reserve a seat until 8am, but that is sort of ignored and I don't see it enforced. That said, I spent most of my time at the beach because it was just too pretty not too.

Cleaniness: The resort is beautiful and it is connected to other Iberostar resorts (which you are allowed to go to and actually might be a better deal for what you get). It does look aged (hard to believe it opened in 2007) but my room was clean and the shower and bathroom looked pristine. The balcony furniture was a bit dated and grungy but it was an oceanfront room. Anything that faces the ocean is bound to get grungy and I suspect it's expensive to update upholstery every few months.

Entertainment: There is one singer there, Carlos, who is amazing. He could have a show in Vegas and I would have paid extra just to see him. The shows were entertaining and the theater was nice. I really enjoyed both nights we went. Some might find the entertainment dated, but I'm an old soul at heart so I thought it was really fun.

Ok, now the just ok:

Reservations for dinner-- It seems like all that is ever available is 9pm, which wasn't an issue for us but could have been for others. Even asking ahead of time to make reservations did not help. Also a new restaurant opened and the concierge told us we didn't need reservations. Turns out we did and thus could not eat at the restaurant. That was fine but we would have been upset if our hearts were set on that.

The upkeep of the resort -- I mentioned this earlier. They keep the place really clean (I constantly see people cleaning the beach, the floors, everything) but the resort itself looks old in certain ways. For a five star resort, it felt like it needed a facelift. The marble was cracked in many places, there were missing light fixtures, holes in the wall, etc. The paint was dingy in lots of places. Not bad enough to make me upset, it just doesn't really lend itself to the five star reputation.

And finally the bad:

The food-- this was really surprising to me. It wasn't that it tasted awful or anything, it just wasn't executed very well. To compare I've been on a Celebrity Cruise and the food there was truly five star. Every night was a gourmet dinner. The food at Iberostar, while very nicely presented, just didn't quite taste right. It was good, but not five star good. Except for the churros at breakfast, I can't think of a single meal that blew my socks off and for the price we paid, I expected the food to be the best part of the resort. (For example, a "Kobe Beef Burger" at lunch was thin and never cooked quite right. And the french fries tasted like they came out of the freezer and were rewarmed in a microwave oven. Or even though there is lobster every day, most times it just didn't taste very fresh and I was worried about eating it.) Furthermore, a lot of the food seemed redundant and I think that this is the result of it being all inclusive. I get it: the resort has to make money some way and a good way to keep price down is to buy large quantities of the same time of food. So I get it but I don't think they did as good of a job as they could have.

Overall would I recommend it: Yes, but with reservations. If you want to drink a lot without having to worry about a bar tab on a gorgeous beach but don't care much about five star food or modern surroundings, yes, this is the vacation for you. But if you want pristine hotel rooms, top-notch food and a more luxurious feel, you might be better going to a place where you have to pay for your food out of pocket. It may seem like all-inclusive is a good deal, but for ease of vacationing, you are making a trade off in quality for some of the things. I stayed for three nights and that was long enough for us. I personally probably would not come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor of building 70 if you get an oceanfront view. That has t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank schwegstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed our pools, the beach; and that you were able to try one of the biggest privileges as a Grand guest which is to have the opportunity to get into the other 4 hotels in the complex without charge. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the shows.

Regarding maintenance of our facilities, please know that a preventive maintenance program is constantly carried out throughout the year, this is done by areas due to the fact that the hotel never closes and we need to ensure that we do not disturb our guests during their stay at our resort. However, we will inform our Maintenance Manager about the point you have brought to our attention and you can be sure we will work hard to have every pot up to standard.

Concerning the sun lounges, we are working on solving this matter, we have now assigned a Pool Concierge supervisor who takes care of the area and assists our guests to find a nice spot and to ensure the fulfillment of the new policies to do not reserve them, we are constantly working on raising awareness among this situation, we apologize for the inconvenient this caused.

In regards to the dinner reservations, we are truly sorry to hear you had a bad time trying to get spaces before 9:00 p.m. we have been working so hard to keep the balance on our sittings and to try to have availability to everyone, as you well mentioned some of our guests prefer earlier times to have dinner so they will not miss the show or enjoy our different bars. It also happens sometimes that our guests do not show up at the restaurants and then we have tables available, however, we cannot re-use those tables until 15 – 20 minutes after the reservation time when it becomes a cancelation. This is not an excuse for your comments in regards to our dinner service but an explanation on how our system works. We are working on different ways to make this easier and more effective for all our customers. One suggestion would be to contact your concierge or butler at arrival and schedule dinner reservations in advance for your entire stay.

We are truly sorry that you were not happy with the food quality and variety; our main goal is to offer our guests a unique and special experience where dishes are prepared at the moment so we can provide freshness and quality along with a personalized service. We have already shared your feedback with our Executive Chef for his consideration as he continuously strives to offer the best quality.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations made and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and show you are improvements.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,887 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £292 - £655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing