We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation in the Riviera Maya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
West New York, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vacation in the Riviera Maya”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I wanted to surprise my fiancee to celebrate our engagement and take her to an all-inclusive resort where we could relax and not worry about having to plan or do anything during the six days we would be there. The grand delivers that and more. The service is literally falling all over you from the moment you get there until the bellboy picks up your bags to leave. The room was cleaned multiple times a day, and it seemed like the butler service could anticipate exactly when you would be out of the room for meals etc. and have the room cleaned without you even knowing they were there. Consistently the staff added small, thoughtful touches that made it a really special experience, like the bottle of champagne that was brought up to our room without us even asking when we stayed in one afternoon. Also, if you press the butler button on the phone and ask for anything, they deliver. I surprised my fiancee by requesting a romantic jacuzzi to be prepared at 5:00 p.m. for after the beach and it was done on time without question, rose petals and all.

I had heard that some all-inclusives leave a lot to be desired by giving you second-rate food and drinks, but the grand delivered exceptionally. The food was varied and incredible across the board. Grilled lobster for lunch? You got it. Delicious shrimp tacos later on by the pool? Done. The Surf and Turf and Mexican restaurants were good but if I could do it again I'd skip those in favor of a second night at the Japanese or the Italian restaurant. At dinner, I'd typically get a pretty decent cabernet at dinner and then for dessert a double espresso and a Grand Marnier on the rocks. If you can think of a type of drink you'd like, they make it happen. Also, make sure you try out the martinis, they have an unusual way of serving them to keep them cool in the heat (you'll see what I mean).

As for the shows, they were all pretty good. We considered skipping the Pre-Hispanic show, thinking it might be lame, but I am so glad we didn't. It turned out to be our favorite of the week.

Also, if you are considering going to one of the other Iberostar resorts in the complex, we walked around and it seemed like a totally different experience. Cheaper liquor, kids running around, lower quality food. Probably still a good time, but much more crowded and lower-end, so just be ready for that. The grand is in a class by itself. BTW, the beach and water are PRISTINE.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
8 Thank NJWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for the confidence you gave to us to celebrate such an especial moment like your engagement; congratulations once again!

We are very proud to read that we surpassed your expectations; the professionalism and genuine helpfulness of our staff is certainly one of the main assets of our luxury hotel and we thank you for pointing out this aspect of your experience among us; we are glad you felt well looked after throughout your stay, this being our main goal. It is great to know that each detail made you feel surprised!

Moreover, we greatly appreciate your praising comments about our restaurants. It is great to know that you were satisfied with the food and beverages we offer as our gastronomy is one of the prime pillars of our company.

Last but not least we are grateful that you pointed out how much you enjoyed our shows, especially the Prehispanic night.

Once again thank you for posting your review, we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,797
    670
    199
    63
    35
See reviews for
667
4,118
112
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just returned from a fabulous week at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso! Everything was top notch, and the staff is so friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed each buffet, especially the international buffet, even more than the ala carte restaurants. Since this is an adult only facility it was nice for us as a middle aged couple. The only disappointment was the spa facilities, which are shared with the other Iberostar resorts. It was NOT in the same luxury category as The Grand, and I've had a better experience in many other spas.

I absolutely loved the bed sheets and meant to look for a brand before we left. I need those sheets!! They were so soft and comfortable. Made the sleeping experience even better.

We had an ocean front suite, which was fabulous! We definitely would love to go back again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
4 Thank Kmay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to know you had a great time with us at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso; it is always pleasing to hear that we have achieved our main goal which is to fulfill your satisfaction.

We are proud of creating memories that last a lifetime and we are very glad that you found our hotel to be relaxing with a delicious variety of food.

Regarding the Spa facilities we are extremely concerned as this is one of our strengths; please rest assured that we will let our Spa Manager know about your feedback. We would like to know more about your experience as it gives us the opportunity to work on this.

We hope that your experience about this topic will not dissuade you from staying with us again as we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso and show you in future visits that we improve day after day thanks to our guests’ feedback.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso. There were a lot of couples who, like us, were on their honeymoon. Being a guest of the hotel gives you access to the other Iberostar hotels on the complex, which is quite nice if you fancy trying out some of the other pools / restaurants / beach areas. The hotel complex is vast and it can take a good 15 minutes to walk from one end to the other, but there are free golf buggy taxis to help you get around.

The hotel staff were always very friendly and helpful, and always at hand on the beach to bring you fresh drinks. The hotel itself is stunning, couldn't fault it.

The entertainment was pretty cheesy, although we largely enjoyed it anyway. The beer helped! The cocktails could be better though. They tended to be slushy ice with a couple of shots and a straw. However, there is a huge choice of drinks available, and there's always something new to try including a lot of local beers.

The French restaurant was probably our favourite. The Japanese is also worth trying too, but mostly because of the novelty of having the chef cook up your meal right in front of you while you watch. They have 8 people per chef / table. Each table seats 8 people, two people on each side of the chef who cooks in the centre of the table, so it was a good opportunity for a nice chat with some of the other guests. The buffet restaurant was also very decent with a very large selection available every night.

Playa Del Carmen is great, but be aware that people will see you coming with your hotel bracelets on and use it as a pretext to get chatting to you / try to sell you stuff. One guy tried to convince us he was our barman from a previous evening at the Iberostar to try to lure us in to his shop. It was only when we walked away that I realised he must have seen our bracelets! The town itself has lots of restaurants, shops, bars, and some nice beaches

Other people have mentioned the rocks in the sea in front of the grand, they're right, it was better if you walked down the shore a little.

The gym was pretty decent, and the spa pool was very nice too. I'm not sure if it's always quiet, but it was during our stay which was definitely a bonus. Overall, awesome hotel - highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can, get a beach front room. You won't regret it - the view is incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Delieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your kind review with other travelers. On behalf of our Management and staff we would like to thank you for giving us the honor of hosting your honeymoon.

We appreciate your kind words as it pertained to our rooms, food in our a la carte restaurants, beverages, pool and beach and especially to the excellent service of our staff.

We are proud in creating memories that last a lifetime; it is pleasing to see that we have reached our goal.

We appreciate your recommendations regarding cocktails; we will share them with our Food & Beverage Manager for his consideration.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future, please know we remain at your entire disposal.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I got married at the Grand Paraiso on 4/11/14 and we couldn't have been happier with our selection. We had not been to the Grand before but made the choice based on a variety of factors. Note that this is the adults only resort and guests from the other Iberostar hotels on the property are not allowed to come to the Grand, but Grand guests have free reign of the whole place (we never left the Grand for anything besides the shopping center and golf course)

Resort - it is a really beautiful resort. Mexico meets Vegas meets Venice. Both pools are spacious and the swim up bar at the main pool was a great time every day. There was plenty of space lounge chair space each day, though we did have to go down fairly early to reserve prime spaces.

Beach - There is private beach front for the Grand with lots of cabanas. The water was gorgeous but not great for swimming. Our ceremony and reception was on the beach and the set up was perfect.

Rooms - all the rooms are suites and have the same layout plus balcony, only difference is which view you select. We had ocean front and it was awesome. Some others in our group had views of the tranquility pool, which were also very nice. The beds were comfortable and they have many different pillow options to suit anyone. Bathrooms are huge with dual sinks, rain shower heads and Jacuzzi tubs.

Food & Drink - everything was fantastic. All the bartenders are friendly and aren't looking for tips. Liquor choices are top shelf and they will make any customized drink you want. They even poured tons of Don Julio shots for us, which I wasn't expecting at an all-inclusive. The breakfast and lunch buffets had lots of options that were all tasty. There are four specialty dinner restaurants at this particular resort, with others available on the rest of the Iberostar property. The food at each one was five star and they provide plenty of different options. My wife has a very strict diet, and one woman in our group is a gluten free vegan, they were able to find plenty of viable options to eat.

Service - everyone working at the resort was amazing. They would drop everything to help you if needed. All spoke English very well and we never came across anyone that was fishing for tips. In fact, everyone I did tip was extremely surprised and appreciative.

I want to give a shout out to three specific people that did a lot of work to make sure we had a great time:

Viri - Wedding Coordinator
Raul - Public Relations Manager
Saray - Group Outings Manager

If you are looking to have a wedding or take a trip to Riviera Maya, don't hesitate to choose the Grand Paraiso.

Room Tip: Ocean front views are amazing but you really can't go wrong with any room in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review, comments like yours really motive us to always keep working hard to surpass your expectations and continuously enhance your vacation experience.

We are truly grateful to have had the honor to host such a special event for you and your wife and for all of your guests. We sincerely appreciate your confidence in IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso; it is great to know that you all enjoyed our facilities such as the pools, the beach, and our bars. We are also thankful for your recognition of our hard working staff, especially to our Chefs who are always willing to satisfy any special needs, and to Viri, Raul and Saray for providing such delicate attention.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to be able to offer you our hospitality at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso for your anniversary or maybe sooner.

Kind regards,

Quality manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Me and my hasband stayed in Iberoatar Grand Paraiso for the 7th time, and we had an amazing time, again.Anybody who would like to have a relaxing, romantic,quet, and at the same time adventurous escape, try Iberostar Grand! Its an exeptional experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
5 Thank nazilyaschmookler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write about your 7th stay at the IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso. It means a lot to us to know that you have already visited us so many times.

We are very pleased with your compliments regarding the different wonders encountered in this one destination; it is truly satisfying to know that you enjoyed a relaxing, romantic, quiet and yet adventurous vacation with us.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in this beautiful location that is your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Amazing experience. The staff is great. The rooms are huge, nice and very clean with a "perfect" bathroom. You will enjoy the fully loaded "free" minibar with beers, champagne, water, sodas, etc and a private personal bar with Absolut vodka and other drinks of your choice.The food is from heaven. All you can eat premium seafood, premium brands for alcoholic drinks, etc..... My tip is that it doesn't pay out to make a reservation in the theme restaurants. Food is not better that in the Buffet, service is much slower and there's nothing special with the ambiance so my tip would be to stick with the Buffet restaurants that have amazing food (octopus, sushi, sashimi, fresh salmon, seared tuna, crab, lobster, caviar almost every day).
When in the beach order a bucket of Coronas, champagne or the drink of your choice for free or sail in the catamaran or use the Kayaks. All is included. If I can I will come back!

Room Tip: Rooms to the right in the silent area or tranquility pool are recommended since there is no music or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rodarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of our Management and our entire team we would like to thank you for your praising comments on your experience at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso.

Your review makes us feel very proud of our service and facilities and we are very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay.

Our main goal is to fulfill any requests or wishes with great dedication to hospitality and customer satisfaction and we are glad to know that our personalized service contributed to making your stay a unique and memorable experience.

Thank you for highlighting the cleanness of our installations and our great all-inclusive facilities.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back at the Grand!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just came back. I have been to other Caribbean islands and love it, I was skeptical about my trip to Mexico. But the Iberostar Grand Paraiso really won me over. There is plenty of space that we felt like I can be away from other guests at all time. Hotel is well kept and superbly clean. The staff is wonderful and friendly, love our waiter Carlos and Asaiel. The service is amazing, nothing is impossible.
We are from NY city, and love eating well and heathy. The buffet is definitely well represented, fresh vegetables everyday, plenty of seafoods and meats, lovely cheese assortment. The out door grill at lunch time is the best, great grilled lobster, fish, lamb and steak. I love Mexican food, so Mexican night is wonderful. I found the a la cart restaurants are just ok, but I have high standard when it comes to foods.
The guests are mostly well travelers, there is always a fews that are rude and have no etiquette in a public setting, and some of those we're here. I felt sorry for the staffs who dealt with these obnoxious people. No fault to the hotel by any means. This is not a place for idiots who want to get drunk and party. Do us a favor and go some place else. We love to have fun, but there are bars and clubs in town to do that.
Over all, I love this place and will come back again. Love the ocean front room, would not do it any other way.

Room Tip: If you can, get ocean front room. Can't beat the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sebasjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our beautiful facilities and the service of our dedicated staff. We always strive to make our guests feel welcome and satisfied and this is why it is motivating for us to receive such praising comments, please be sure that we will share them with our staff.

We are also glad to read that you liked our delicious and varied food.

We hope that you will not hesitate to visit us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back any time!

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,037 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,310 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing