We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairway to heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Windham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stairway to heaven!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was without a doubt a vacation experience of a lifetime. If it is at all possible, this resort is not to be missed! The name given this particular Iberostar property (The Grand) upholds it's name. It has an ambience that portrays elegance and royalty and yet it is not devoid of a personal and readily available staff . Our needs and requests were readily attended to as if there was no one else to service. The property lacks nothing from a materialistic standpoint . I was in awe and filled with gratitude for the gift of being submerge in and surrounded by such incredible beauty. Tranquilly,
romance, and breathtaking views were in abundance. We certainly hope for a return trip and highly recommend this property to be your next stop !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieWOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are grateful for your comments about your experience in our hotel.

Your perfect description about the services we offer, the hard working staff, the luxurious facilities and peaceful atmosphere, makes us feel that we are going on the right track. Thank you for your recognition and recommendation. Our entire team will be happy to have received such wonderful appraisal from you.

Last but not least, thank you for choosing us. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon and overcome your expectations.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,846
    683
    203
    63
    34
See reviews for
681
4,157
115
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Iberostar Gran Paraiso near Playa del Carmen is a very special hotel. It is still only day 3 of a 9 day stay and yet for the first time ever I am inspired to write a review whilst we are still here.

It is built on a grand scale with high ceilings in all rooms and corridors and pathways covered with high pillared roofs that keep you cool on the way to the excellent buffets and the nicely themed a la carte restaurants.

Everything conveys peace and calm and luxury and space. None of the pools are ever full nor are the beach cabanas. This feels like the exclusive and top quality resort that t is.


And everywhere you go there are smartly dressed smiling and genuinely friendly and helpful staff who are obviously proud of where they work and work hard to give you everything that you want - whether that is cooling cloths, drinks etc. nothing is too much trouble.

And the dedicated butler service that is provided is backed up by a team that responds instantly for providing food, snacks, our favourite drinks ( there was no Malibu in our fridge on arrivals - there is now!) advice and travel all provided with a smile and a friendly yet professional style.

The sea view rooms give an awesome view of the beach, cabanas, thatched canopies and the blue and turquoise sea.

The pool is enourmous and there is no need to reserve any loungers whether in cabanas by the sea, by the pool or even semi submerged in the shallow arts of the pool designed for those who want to sit half in and half out of the water.

Having explored two of the other Iberostar hotels on the same site - this one is far less crowded, far better staffed, better food, no kids and FAR more spacious and luxurious.

The wine is very good and plentiful, the beers and spirits all top quality and all delivered with excellent service

No wonder this all inclusive hotel has been voted the best in the world.

We will definitely be coming back and specifying the same rooms - beach front buildings, third floor ocean view (stunning and so worth paying the extra).and specify full view without Palm trees blocking any views. Some rooms have slightly limited views due to tall palm trees.) after all if you are paying for ocean views why not ensure you get full ocean views!

And the large balconies have two seater swing seats and a luxurious soft sofa perfect for chilling out and taking in the sea and the sounds of the surf .

The best service of all so far goes to Luis who is "captain" of the excellent surf and turf restaurant "Tonis" and who also helps at the beach front Mexican buffet at lunchtime. Not just Mexican, it serves lobster, giant prawns, steak, filet mignons, Kobe beef burgers, ravioli, salads, hot peppery dishes and so much more.

Although everyone does a great job at making you feel pampered .

Hats off to the hotel management for doing a superb job.

Peter & Louise

Room Tip: Beach front building , ocean view, third floor, near lifts, specify no palm trees reducing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for such a nice review about your visit at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso, we would like to thank you for choosing our property.

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we are grateful that you took a few moments to highlight your stay with us.

We are delighted to know that we met your expectations, and we would like to thank you for your compliments about our excellent food and drinks, wonderful room and view, relaxing pool and beach area, and above all our friendly and efficient staff. It is always motivating for our team to receive comments like yours. Thank you for that.

We hope that you will continue giving us the pleasure of hosting you for your next vacations, as we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great facility. The staff was excellent especially the entertainment staff. Shout out to Evelyn who made us feel very welcome and showed us many fun things to do. Great place for a family with adult children. Had an oceanfront room which was beautiful. The dining staff was also excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
6 Thank KarenPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your generous review. We are very happy to hear that you had an excellent vacation.

It was also delightful to read that enjoyed our entertainment team, and that you were pleased with our service. Your special mention of the staff was also greatly appreciated. Be sure that reviews like yours serve to motivate us greatly! We will certainly pass on your great feedback to the team.

Last but not least, we thank you sincerely for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso. We trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Grand Hotel Pariaso lives up to its name with respect to the location, rooms, public areas and service. While our spacious ocean front room, the beautiful beach and excellent staff were five star, the food and berevage quality just didn't rise to the same level. The food was good, just not great. This was our first stay at an "all-inclusive" resort, so we were not sure what to expect. While I enjoyed the convenience and variety of multiple theme restaurants, I would have been pleased with fewer choices and more consistent food quality. That said, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
4 Thank BUgrad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your visit and for sharing your opinion here on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a great stay with us.

Moreover, we appreciate that you highlighted our location, accommodations, beach and the high quality of service that our staff provides.

In reference to our food and beverage quality, please accept our sincere apology if we did not meet your expectations. Your opinion is very important to us because those services are some of our main pillars. However we are glad to know that you enjoyed the convenience and variety of our a la carte restaurants. We will pass your comments onto our Executive Chef in order to take in consideration, because our main goal is to obtain our guests' full satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for writing your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This place is Wonderful! The facility is like a palace. The food is outstanding. The employees are committed to your experience being totally stress free.

This is my first choice of anywhere on the planet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sct41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all our team, we would like to thank you for visiting us. It is good to know that we went beyond your expectations.

Furthermore, we are glad to read that we are your first choice; this is the best reward for our daily work.

Getting feedback from our guests is very important to us. Thank you for pointing out our gastronomy, installations and our service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I just came back from our second stay at this hotel. I cannot stress enough the wonderful service. They absolutely cannot do enough for you here and nothing is too much trouble. The pool staff was fabulous. They had all kinds of activities if you wanted to participate in them and if you didn't, it was ok as well. Javier and Evelyn were the best. So cute and full of
energy. The food is even more wonderful than the last trip 3 years ago. The presentation and quality and vast array of choices are phenomenal. Olivia was there the last time we went and for breakfast, she makes the most fantastic omelets. The hotel and the ground themselves are spotless and the golf course that is attached to the property can't be beat. It is such a good deal especially if you want to golf and not have to leave where you are staying. They pick you up in a golf cart and you're there in 5 minutes. Even though it is expensive, it is well worth it. I'm hooked.

Room Tip: all the rooms are exactly, junior suites with a king or two double beds. the only difference is wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VickiB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,

The IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso family would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your second visit to our hotel.

The hardest part when our guests decide to come back is the challenge to meet or even surpass your expectations once more, so it is a pleasure to know that we accomplished it.

We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our entertainment program, the food, pools, golf and staff. We will share your opinion with the team, especially with Olivia.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our 6th visit to the Iberostar Paraiso complex and our 5th visit to the Grand. Let me prefrace this review by stating that last year, we had a less than stellar experience due to the major storms that has passed through the area just prior to our stay. Rather than write a negative review last year, we chose to contact the hotel directly with our concerns and give them a chance to respond. Not only did they respond to our concerns, the GM contacted me personally, explained the curcumstances they were faced with, gave a detailed description of what was being done to correct problems, and even took photos of areas of concern that were being addressed. That alone is impressive customer service with great communication. With such honest and forthright communication, we felt we owed it to them to return and see for ourselves.

This return trip was the best decision we've ever made. Apparantly, Raul, the GM has raised the bar for service because every single employee, and I mean EVERY employee, was on top of their game. Repair and maintenance of this property are mind-blowing. Not only are they repairing and replacing all over the resort, they are doing it unobtrusively so that it never interferes with guest enjoyment.

When we arrived, we discovered that the GM would be away on a trip to Spain. Curious as to how that would affect the resort we watched closely. We must say, Assistant GM, Gabriel, is absolutely amazing...and a gentleman as well. This guy was everywhere at all times, morning-noon-and night and seemed to genuinely care about the property and every single guest.

The rest of the staff at this resort are simply the best we've ever encountered anywhere we've traveled. From Olivia who represents the Executive Chef and the culinary team with warmth and professionalism to Daniel who is the most charming bartender, to Myrna, who takes care of her guests at the tranquility pool as if they were guests in her own home, the entire staff of this hotel are the jewel in it's crown. I wish we could mention each one by name.

The property remains stunning both inside and out. Lots of updates such as wi-fi, new cabanas, new chair cushions, new putting green, new menus in some restaurants, new Mexican restaurant, even new costumes and choreography in some of the shows and a new beatles show. This resort is on it's game and will never become stagnant.

As for food, yes, lots of new menus and new preparations. All was very good to excellent. Will it suit every taste? No. Food is so subjective to every individual palate. If you don't care for something you've ordered, order something else. They will gladly accommodate.

Room service: outstanding. Delivered promptly, without delay, and prepared correctly every time.

Housekeeping and butlers: These people are amazing. Your room is spotless at any time of day and the butlers will do anything they can to make you happy if you just communicate with them. They're all a pleasure to deal with. Kudos to Victor, the head butler, for heading up a fantastic team.

Star Friends: The most kind-hearted group of young people you'll ever encounter. They will keep you entertained, make you feel like you're home, and share their lives with you if you care to listen. An engaging group of people led by their boss Eder, the master of people pleasing.

In fact, every single person who works at this resort makes you feel like you're home and well taken care of.

Being able to live in a Palace for a vacation while being taken care of the way your grandmother would...priceless.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have spectacular view but will have more humidity due to location and ocean breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your delightful review; we really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. Your comments make us feel really proud.

We would like to thank you also for your last visit, it is our pleasure to read that you gave us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and that we managed to do it. Our main goal is to keep maintaining and exceeding your expectations every time you stay with us. 

We appreciate that you took the time to acknowledge the efforts of our Management giving you the service and solving problems efficiently. We are glad to know that you enjoyed yourself this time that much and you were also witness of all the improvements we have been making since your last visit. As you have had the opportunity to try our services before, your opinion is of special importance to us.

Furthermore, thank you for your special mention about our staff, we know that the most important added value we have at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso, is the people who work here. Please note that we have personally passed on your review and we can assure you that Myrna, Olivia Daniel, Victor and Eder will be glad to know that they were part of your fantastic experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,127 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,518 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing