We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place to get away”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A list of things that makes this place #1: (in no particular order)
August 5-10, 2014

1. It is close to the airport, 25 minutes. That's how far I have to drive to get to O'Hare.
2. The hotel property is beautiful. Natural fauna is used to decor, and the property is manicured to perfection. Landscaping is taken with great pride and enthusiasm.
3. Aesthetics of the place make it look like its meant for royalty. Super clean.
4. You get a refreshing drink upon arrival, if you want something that they don't have on the tray, ask for what you would like and you will receive.
5. Reception is super nice and explain everything about the resort and what is available to you as a guest. Daniel helped me out with everything I needed and was very nice.
6. Every single staff member, and I mean every single staff member, smiles and greets you in passing. Always making you feel like you belong there.
7. The restaurants are delicious and well managed. Toni's Surf and Turf and L'Atelier are phenomenal. The waitstaff practices great service and have teamwork that belongs in a high class restaurant. You can eat anything you want at the restaurants. The buffets have plenty of options for any palate. Great fruit, I enjoyed the guayaba, papaya, pitaya (dragon fruit), and mango. Fresh juices such as watermelon, orange, pineapple, apple are readily available
8. The pools are clean and calming and the main pool has great beach access, less than 100 yards. The fact that there is an activity pool and a tranquility pool makes this place amazing. The swim up bar is the best, Galo and Humberto remember you and what you like. Feel free to order anything your heart desires. There are plenty of chairs and towels. The games are fun too. If you participate and you win, you get a medal! The whole point is to have fun and they make sure that you do.
9. Star friends make this place happen. Eder, Jorge, Evelyn and Andrés are spectacular. They remember who you are and are always asking you how everything is. They make the experience very fun. If you do not feel like getting involved in the activities, you don't have to play. Observing the games is hilarious, quite memorable.
10. This place is high tech, and the wifi is free. The rooms have sensors to turn off the lights while you are not present. When you walk into the room after being away, the lights you had on when you left turn back on immediately.
11. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The beds are comfortable. The pillows make sleep fly by. You have a butler that is available 24/7, anything you want. If you want a shirt pressed, just ask. If you want different beverages in your mini bar, request them. The mini bar is refilled daily.
12. The cocktail waitresses are always around for beverages. The lobby bar is a great place for a late night drink and some music. A great pianist plays on some nights. They have a duet that plays excellent music. Very relaxing atmosphere to unwind. Beverages at the bar can be accompanied by popcorn, japanese style peanuts and spicy peanuts. Plus it is open
24 hours a day. Gustavo is the man.
13. The water sports that are available are a lot of fun. Kayak is a great exercise to do and the sea is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the scenery.
14. There is a putting green next to the pool! There is also ping pong and a foosball table by the pool. Noodles and floaters are available as well.
15. The concierge employees are super nice and extremely accommodating.
16. The floors are never wet inside the hotel. Staff keeps things very tidy and safe for the guests.
17. The bathrooms around the property are all super clean and have unique vanities and features.
18. The nightly entertainment is exactly that, entertaining. The performers are hard working and super talented dancers and performers that put on great shows. A great way to sit back in a comfortable chair and be entertained. If you are there for the Stars under the Stars, be sure to check it out. You will be amazed by the music and performances, plus you get to dance.

You must stay here! We are already in the process of booking our trip for next year, and for a longer period of time! This will be our second home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful and detailed feedback on TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we achieved our main goal, your entire satisfaction.

We are delighted to read that you had an amazing vacation at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso. Thank you for pointing out some aspects of your stay as the quality of our gastronomy and the beverages, the wonderful beach, the relaxing atmosphere of our pool, the daily activities, the night entertainment and the service of our staff. Our team works everyday to enrich the attractiveness of the Mexican Caribbean with a personalized service that creates invaluable experiences to our visitors.

We look forward to welcoming you again to your home away home the next year. Thank you for recommending us!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,765
    665
    198
    63
    35
See reviews for
661
4,090
110
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel was beautiful! I was amazed at the Mediterranean style and decor. Staff service was excellent and everyone was always smiling and happy to help! Food was phenomenal whether you ate at one of the restaurants or at the buffet!! Drinks were made with premium liquors to your liking. The beach and pool were incredibly beautiful and relaxing! My husband and I cant wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank 2Spedales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso for your honeymoon. Congratulations again!

Your feedback is appreciated, and we are very glad to know that you liked our installations, the style and the decor as well as our beautiful and large pool.

All our team works hard to maintain high standards and offer an excellent service so we can assure you that your comments about their friendliness and helpfulness will be a great source of motivation for all of them.

Likewise, we highly value your praise about our cuisine and beverages. It is good to read that you had a great culinary experience.

It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just returned from the Iberostar Grand Paraiso. We were there from Aug 3 - Aug 9. The place is absolutely stunning. I cant say enough on how clean and well maintained it is kept. We have stayed in the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall in Jamaica and Grand Bavaro in Punta Cana. We did prefer the beaches and food in Jamaica and Punta Cana but found the Grand Paraiso was the prettiest of the 3. The service was excellent and they went out of their way to make us feel so welcome. As in all the Iberostars we have stayed at the Star Friends work very hard to keep you entertained. We would especially like to acknowledge Evelyn who is one of the sweetest and nicest young ladies we have ever met. We had wonderful service from all the staff such as Estefania and Natalia who work Concierge, Mathilde who kept our room immaculate and all the Butlers we met including Cesar who went our of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay.
We stayed in building 71 which was an ocean front suite and was a close walk to the beach and salt water pool. If you prefer being closer to the lobby then I suggest you stay in the partial ocean view suites which are located by the serenity pool and indoor spa. We enjoyed having to walk a bit further so we could enjoy the beautiful surroundings at this resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dml4460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing us and for your loyalty to IBEROSTAR Grand Collection. We really appreciate your nice comments regarding your experience at our hotel. All our team is happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with our premises and services. Our main goal is to surpass our guests‘ expectations and to read that you consider our resort stunning is very gratifying. We daily do a hard work to maintain all our facilities in perfect shape and it is good that you noticed it.

Furthermore, it is very encouraging for our team to receive positive feedback about their friendliness and helpfulness. Thank you for mentioning some members of our staff, especially Evelyn, Estafania, Natalia, Mathilde and Cesar. We will congratulate them for a good job well done.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again at our beautiful resort in the future.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 50th anniversary here. first class all the way. At check in a very nice cocktail greeting. When we got to our room we were asked what type of pillows we would like along with the type of wine to be stocked in the refrigerator. Everyone could not do enough for you as they give you the impression you were the most important people there. The food, drink, service and personnel were all excellent. This is truly the best hotel A/L in the Playa del Carmen area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to receive you as a guest for such a special celebration in your life as your 50th anniversary. We feel honored to have contributed to making your stay so special.

Thank you for highlighting those little details which were an important part of your experience such as the pillow menu, the fresh cocktail, and the personalized mini bar, among others.

Moreover, we would like to express our gratitude for considering us the best hotel in Playa del Carmen and for your kind recommendation. We can assure you that our commitment to obtain our guests’ satisfaction, is always strong.

We hope to see you soon to celebrate your next anniversary or just to have a leisure moment in your home away home.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I was blown away by this resort, talk about hospitality. The nicest rooms (extremely clean) and not to mention the staff was some of the nicest people I have ever met. The drinks , the food , the pool & beach was just phenomenal. Highly recommend , you will not be disappointed !! :))

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all the staff, we would like to thank you for your visit and for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to know that you had an outstanding stay at our resort.

We highly value your compliments regarding our hospitality, accommodations, cleanliness, pool area, beautiful beach and food & beverages.

Moreover, it is good to read that our staff was part of your amazing experience. Thank you for pointing out their good attitude, comments like yours are the best source of motivation to all our team.

Finally, thank you for recommending us. We really look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights June 7th -17th 2014 and had a really nice relaxing time.

I guess we all know how amazing and awesome this place is because it’s been voted the Number One All Inclusive resort in the world so here’s just a quick Top 10 list of some of the things we really liked...

1. All of the rooms are exactly the same wherever you are in the hotel. Obviously the location varies but they all have exactly the same layout, facilities, decor and furnishings – even down to the pictures on the wall. Neat.

2. There’s no “Preferred” or “Exclusive” Club. Every single guest is staying on the same basis and there’s no upcharge to use any of the facilities. No hard selling or timeshare bribery either. Perfect.

3. No towel games. Not sure of the actual occupancy rate during our stay but we could pick and choose a decent spot on the beach or around the pool at any time of day with absolutely no problem whatsoever. There are lots of Bali beds and Palapas here and most of them looked brand new. The beach beds are supremely comfortable and are of very high quality, so are the towels. There’s no need to get up at 6am to reserve anything (not that we were ever have or ever would ) Nice.

4. The Ocean Front Rooms. We were in building 70 in room 7053. Located centrally on the top floor I can honestly say that this room is one of the best rooms we’ve ever stayed in location wise. How great does this hotel look from the beach? People who never even got married at the Grand were having their photos taken on the beach outside facing our room? I dread to think how many pictures we must have photo bombed just sitting there, happily stoned.... Oops

5. The staff. This has been said a thousand times before, I know,but the people that work in this hotel really are the best. They have very high standards here and everyone is so very good at what they do. A total credit to the Mexican tourist industry, every single one of them. Awe Some

6. The Star Friends Entertainment Team. What a great bunch of people. They work 14 hours a day to make your stay interesting. A more friendly and likeable bunch of people you’d be very hard pushed to meet. We certainly haven’t. True.

7. The Theatre. One of the best we’ve ever seen in a beach hotel. Very comfortable seating and some of the shows were almost Vegas quality. They have some very talented singers, dancers and musicians working full time here. Loved the Rock Show evening. Oh and Check Out those revolving giant platform shoes on the side of the stage at the Boogie Nights evening! Quality entertainment. Not a Michael Jackson, Madonna or Elvis impersonator evening in sight. Bravo Iberostar. We had some fun nights in there. Siriusly

8. Stars under the Skies. One evening that really sticks in the mind is the open air evening around the pool where the band sing and play dressed like Kid Creole and the Coconuts and the dancers mingle, chat and dance with the guests. Such a shame it’s only held once a week. The pool area and the pool itself looked beautiful all lit up at night. They should keep it like that. Always.

9. The food. Some of the evening buffets were superb (if you’ve ever experienced the buffet at the Wynn in Vegas? This is as good as)
The a la cartes we found a little underwhelming and lacking somewhat in ambience (did I really just say that?) Anyway. They just didn’t work for us. The food and service was generally very good to excellent but something was missing, though it's hard to pinpoint exactly what. Maybe our timing was off? Dunno.
The Japanese was an exception. That was a rocking night and people were really having a good time in there.
Room service here was absolutely the best. We never had to wait more than 30 minutes. It’s delivered by a customised golf buggy and the hot food stays hot. The breakfasts were wonderful (on that balcony, overlooking the ocean, chocolate croissants dunked in good coffee) Bliss

10. The Drinks were totally Top Shelf all the way. Like Champagne for breakfast? Want Grey Goose in your Mudslide? You got it. Fancy a large Remy Martin after dinner? Well you may need to use two hands to hold that huge 22oz snifter my friend.
Some of the included house wines at dinner were also excellent. You’d have to pay at least $50 a bottle at other resorts we’ve been to. Some of those Mexican reds we had were absolutely fantastic quality too. We quite like wine. Hic.

So. I could drone on about a couple of minor things that happened during our stay (it involved some Bees and a drunken young woman trying to get into our room at 2am by mistake ) but they were incidental to our stay and really not all that representative of just how good this place was overall.
We’ve certainly never had so many plates of chocolate strawberries and buckets of chilled Champagne left in our room to make up for such minor inconveniences before ( considering we never actually mentioned anything to anyone?) Yo.

Anyway. It’s nice to know someone gets to hear about these things and we really appreciated the gestures.

Thanks for making it memorable Iberostar. You really are the best. Everything is most definitely downhill from here, True.

Thanks for reading. Hope it helps.

PS. I really wanted to add some panoramic photos to this review but for some reason Tripadvisors server cropped them so much they became unusable.So I gave up trying. Booo....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
50 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso. We appreciate the time you have taken to post such a detailed feedback about your vacation.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your evaluation is really important to us as you have had the opportunity to compare our property and services at different time frames and your comments help us to improve by identifying our strengths and weaknesses.

Our main goal is your entire satisfaction, which is the reason why we are happy to see that there are elements of the IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso that you quite enjoyed such as our main building, ocean front rooms, pools, beach, shows, drinks and above all, our lovely staff. We know that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, so we are very happy to see they were successful in delivering wonderful moments.

Concerning your opinion about our restaurants a la carte, we have forwarded your review to our Executive Chef to take it in consideration. He and his team continuously strive to offer the best quality so your comments are very useful to us.

Overall, we are really happy to know that you went back home with wonderful memories about your vacation. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

we just got back from grand,our second visit this year!we were really impressed the first time we went,but this year every thing was better!
the staff is great,always ready to help and please you,from the reception desk to the maid in the room!we were treated like kings!many thanks to chef omar and miguel for their excellent service and food,the rib eye that we became so obsessed with :)!

we would like to thank the managers,rafael and especially gabriel who helped along in the planning of the best surprise party for my birthday!thank you for the gorgeous bouquet and the incredible cake!

claudia&alex crisan

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your delightful review. We really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and would like to thank you for your last visit.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoy your stay every time you visit our resort. Our main goal is to meet our guests’ expectations, and to read that you even had a nicer time tthis time is a good sign that we are doing a good job.

You can be assured that we will keep working hard to be one of the leading hotels in the industry, and we look forward to welcoming you back home where your Mexican family awaits you.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing