We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““OVERRRATED, OVERPRICED, not going back!””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
““OVERRRATED, OVERPRICED, not going back!””
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed at multiple All Inclusive resorts in the Riviera Maya, we thought this one would top them all but we were very disappointed. Mainly bad experiences with food/service. First day everything was great, we made reservations at every restaurant a week ahead, food was excellent at Tony's Surf and Turf. Second day we noticed an awful paint/thinner smell in our room, called the concierge who wanted to solve the issue by sending us some aromatherapy, they finally agreed the smell wasn't going away and moved us to another room. Upon arrival I had requested a room upgrade to Ocean View for our last day of stay, we were going to use the hotel credit that's offered on this website as part of the package (will get to that later) they offered to move us to another room because of the smell but not the Ocean View one since they were "fully booked" even though according to one of the bartenders they were 70% booked, so we ended up packing and unpacking 3 times in five days, room 1 smelling like paint, room 2 for one night and finally room 3 with ocean view, which is the exact same size, distribution and everything but with the Ocean View. That night we had dinner at the Gourmet restaurant and this is when the hotel went from 5 stars to -1. The restaurant wasn't busy at all, it took them 15 mins to bring the appetizer, after that we didn't see our waiter again after ONE HOUR, empty glasses, empty plates and nor the waiter or manager would come by until we call him, he said he would check to see what was going on, never came back, the waiter showed up with our dishes. My meat was just disgusting, dry, chewy, with nerves, it almost made me sick. We got up and left, the manager finally understood how bad they had treated us, he came to ask if everything was ok and asked us to let him serve us the next night at the Italian restaurant, we politely declined and ended up eating pizza at the buffet. I complained about all this next morning and they offered to move us to the ocean view room FINALLY...so we spent the last two nights in that room where we found the coffee cups were not washed both had coffee rings, and the bath tub was dirty with some black junk running down from the piping... GLAD WE DIDN'T PAY A NICKLE FOR THE UPGRADE NOT WORTH IT Next topic--- coupons-- don't get excited about these, they have a bunch of restrictions to use them and if you forget to mention them upon arrival they are not going to offer them, SPA coupons you can only use one per service, meaning $50 dlls discount for a $200 dlls massage...cannot combine them, cannot use for salon services, etc.. etc.. the BAR at the pool, they serve people and let people do WHATEVER they want including getting in the back of the bar, yell at other guests, order shots for every body around even though people wouldn't drink them and the last day to make it even better two girls started drinking tequila shots at 9 am every hour or so, by noon one had to be pulled out of the pool my husband had to call a managers attention and told him they had to help those two, one was carried and put in a golf cart while the other threw up by the planters, nice show huh? Also, be ready to tip all day long if you want to be treated right, and make sure you tip with dollars nor pesos, those are not appreciated. Food at the buffet- no flavor, the same food everyday, breakfast was better than lunch, if you are craving real mexican food go somewhere else. Breakfast buffet is good. Finally beware----- if you go to Playa del Carmen people will try to stop you by saying hey do you remember me from yesterday??? I was your bartender at Iberostar Grand Paraiso... well they only know that you are staying there because you will be wearing a bracelet the identifies the hotel...they know you spent a lot of $ to stay there so be careful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank BebaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our gastronomy at the Surf and Turf restaurant and at our breakfast buffet.

On the other hand, we are deeply sorry to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service. We already shared your review with the Management to evaluate every situation presented with the different departments involved to make sure they continue working according to our the high standards of service.

Concerning your accommodation experience, please accept our apologies if we did not fulfill your expectations. We already shared it with our team, in order to look into aspects where we need to improve. Of course, your wellbeing and your entire satisfaction is our main goal.

Regarding the situation at our gourmet restaurant, your feedback has already been passed on to our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager to take immediate actions. Our team gathers efforts to offer a wonderful experience to our guests through a personalized service and high quality of food. So we are truly saddened that your experience was not positive.

We are really concerned to see your comments regarding behavior of other guests during your recent stay with us. While we have very strict control and regular checks of the property, the service provided, and our guests by our Managers, we are very grateful when an event is reported so that we can take immediate actions.

As you pointed out, different promotions are applied and they have different restrictions that have been clarified with travel agencies and sales departments in order to avoid any confusion. Please accept our apologies for any misunderstanding.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations made. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you under much better circumstances and build up your trust towards our hotel.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,846
    683
    203
    63
    34
See reviews for
681
4,157
115
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Absolutely terrible! I will never go back there and will make sure in tell everyone I know not to go there! Vomit and blood in the pool, no air conditioning, and last but not least food poisoning! Save your money and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
39 Thank conquistador730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are saddened to learn that your experience with us was not a positive one, since all our team shares the same goal: to achieve your complete satisfaction.

We are surprised by your remarks, as our staff is constantly on top of things to maintain our facilities impeccable, and our swimming pool is checked regularly and data logged to ensure the water is completely clean and safe for our guests. The parameters in the last few months comply with standards. We are also audited by an external company that measures chemical levels, cleanliness and water quality and these were also very satisfactory.

Our hygiene procedures, conservation, and food quality are also monitored constantly by our Health & Safety Department, an external professional company and other organisations and Tour Operators. We also have a medical center onsite that reports to us every case they attend and once again, our record is impeccable.

We are truly sorry to see your disappointment and we would like to assure you that we do not neglect those very important areas in our resort that could compromise our clients' health.

We hope your future experiences are more positive and if you do decide to come back to IBEROSTAR, we would be very happy to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

staff and facilities were the best...do not hesitate to go here...u will not be let down..food excellent..clean everywhere..room spacious and elegant...staff unsurpassed..tell them if you are celebrating an event...they plan nice surprises

Room Tip: we loved the room by the tranquility pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort and for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience. We feel honored to have hosted you.

We really appreciate your comments about our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you also for highlighting the cleanliness of our accommodations and our delicious food; it is lovely to know that our gastronomy satisfied you.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to be able to welcome you to our hotel IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso on other occasions.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I'm from New York and decided to take a quick trip prior to going back to school. The moment we arrived to the main entrance we were greeted with hand towels and a glass of wine. This is the best resort I have stayed this far. Our room was facing the ocean and beach words cannot explain how pleased we were with the room and services. They said gratuities are included however, we tipped everyone ! They were attentive spoke fluent English amount other languages and always willing help. If you appeared lost they assisted if you were not pleased with something it was fixed immediately. There were no " I don't know , not right now or no. I give this resort 10 stars and would stay there again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank ANGY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management, we would like to thank you for writing this nice review regarding your stay at our resort.

We are very happy to read that you liked our hotel and that you felt welcome since the moment you arrived. Thank you for choosing us for your getaway.

Furthermore, we are grateful for your compliments about our staff’s service; it is great to know that they contributed to your wellbeing.

Thank you once again for your remarks. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again to IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon at the beginning of July and I can't say enough good things about the Grand Paraiso. Every staff member was so nice and willing to do whatever you asked of them to make sure your stay was perfect. And our stay was perfect. I can't really say anything else about it -- go and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the staff, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso for such an important event as your honeymoon. Our congratulations and best wishes again!

We are very happy to know that your stay was perfect; it really makes us feel very happy and proud.

Thank you for your encouraging words about our exceptional staff, they will for sure be motivated by your review.

Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and it would be a privilege for us to host you back at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The amenities were more than we could ask for.

Pros:
- Salt-water pool
- two turn down service per day
- Lobster available for lunch and dinner everyday
- extremely friendly staff
- top shelf alcohol

Cons:
- variety of food didn't change much
- disappointing no Mexican food station but there was a Mexican a la carte dinner restaurant
- beach was filled with sea weed and rough
- entertainment by the pool and shows were not very good

Overall I would go back.

Room Tip: Ask to be by the main salt water pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for writing your constructive review. It is very important for our team to know our strengths and weaknesses because it helps us to identify the areas of improvement to completely satisfy our guests’ expectations.

Thank you for highlighting our friendly staff, our pool and our turn down service. We will congratulate our team for having contributed to making your holiday so special. We are also happy to know that you were satisfied with our gastronomy, especially the daily assortment of lobster for lunch and dinner.

However, we are sorry if we did not meet your expectations regarding variety. We always try to offer a large array of food offerings in order to satisfy all our guests’ palates. We will pass your opinion onto our Executive Chef for his consideration. Regarding Mexican food, as you mentioned, we have our new Mexican restaurant, and also every night we have a Mexican corner in our buffet, as well as a Mexican themed buffet every Sunday.

We are sorry about your impression on the beach. Please let us inform you that due to the recent weather, all beaches in Riviera Maya have this aspect right now. Our Maintenance team works tirelessly to maintain the beach immaculate and removes seaweed every morning as far as they can to allow our guests to enjoy the wonderful beach.

We will keep working on our Entertainment as every other area of the hotel to achieve all our guests' satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your preference, it will be a pleasure to host you back at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso and offer you the high quality of service that you deserve.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

With the conclusion of our 4 th visit to the property in 2014, I can honestly say that things only get better. We arrived quite early before our room was ready, but immediately encouraged to use the facilities and dining options. The grounds were immaculate as aways. The food was wonderful and several recent tweats in the dining rooms only made it better.The front desk and bell service was fast and efficient.
We were greated by a senior staff that we had corresponded with prior to arrival. When the butler, Jesus met us (even before checkin into our room), he repeated from the past visit exactly what our reqiests for the in room beverages were and the room was stocked this way without asking.
Roberto at the pool bar is always friendly and quick with a good drink. The dining staff is attentive. A new addional is the walking around the main pool with ice cream and pops between meals to cool off.
I can not say enough about Mr Carmona, the general manager. When an issue occured, he was patient, well informed and was over the top in his desire to make my wife happy.
We truly felt , as we have before, that we were coming back home. We can not wait to be able to sneak away for another trip!

Room Tip: Ocean front is great. Mr Carmona has shown us plans for enlarged private pools in the Villa which lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marc l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management and the staff, we would like to thank you for your visit and for your nice review. We really appreciate your loyalty towards IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso.

We are thrilled with your kind words to our hotel and also excited to know that we were able to offer you an experience even better that the others.

Regarding your comments about our staff, we are honored to have contributed to making your holiday wonderful. We show your appreciations to Jesus, Roberto and Mr. Carmona.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again soon at your home away from home.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,523 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing