We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

So, our holiday is far from over but reading some of the reviews below I don't think I'm staying in the same hotel as they are reviewing....and my arm tag and the sign above the door both say Kipriotis Hippocrates hotel!

Firstly the reception staff are friendly and welcoming, and our query regarding the twin room we'd been assigned when we booked a double was sorted within 10 minutes of my return to reception.

The rooms are spacious and regularly cleaned, a courtesy bottle of water was a welcome gift when we opened the fridge.

The bath and shower are both clean and fully functional with hot water at all times.

So far we've enjoyed the food especially tonight's perfectly cooked roast pork!!! I'm an extremely fussy eater yet have managed to fill my plate at every meal time!

The bar staff are extremely attentive to even the most abrupt, ignorant guests...yes I mean the two middle aged ladies who moaned about there being no self serve coffee at coffee and cake time on Sunday and then once the coffee was made self serve on the Monday proceeded to chuckle at each other then order tea from the bar staff...

In the evenings understandably it takes a little longer to be served than during the afternoon but it's still acceptable. Also the combination of both soft and alcoholic drinks is good. And i can reassure people as a Pepsi connoisseur ;) that the post-mix soft drinks are not watered down at all!!

That's all for now, off to enjoy the second half of my holiday :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mralexh365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Hippocrates. Our staff will keep up the hard work in order to keep a friendly and comfortable environment for a future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit!
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    350
    143
    61
    31
See reviews for
289
468
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We booked this break for husbands 50th birthday, prior to arriving I emailed the hotel who said they would arrange a special meal in the a la carte restaurant. we were a little disappointed to discover that these didn't open until the end of April. However the food in the buffet restaurant was fantastic, lots of choice and all very tasty (especially the soups). The staff were more then helpful and hotel provided a birthday cake on the day of his birthday.
Hotel rooms were spacious and clean, maid came everyday and provided clean towels and bedding. Evening entertainment was poor despite the animation team working really hard to keep us entertained. Bar staff very pleasant and always served with a smile!
Only complaint was that the hotel seemed to attract every dog in the Kos area, there was never a day when there was not a group of at least 6 dogs at any one time. We had taken this break without our children but if they had been with us I would not have been as relaxed about their presence. These animals were friendly enough and did not bother anyone but on one occasion a fight did break out between them which resulted in an injured dog bleeding next to the pool
We decided after this to use the pool at the sister hotel
The hotel did contact someone to collect the animals but they were still there when we left
Overall we really enjoyed this break!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6919Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to hear you had a good time staying with us in Kipriotis Hippocrates. We keep good notice of your feedback concerning the evening animation program and dogs. The animal care & control organization of the island constantly takes care of this issue, but it turns to be a hard project to control all unattended dogs. Nevertheless, your comments are precious like gold to us as a tool for our improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit!
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The most basic and oldest of the 3 hotels & suites
Food was cold and meat was under cooked on many occasions.
No heated indoor or outdoor pool as stated.
TV had 3 jumbled channels - complained, but not fixed.
Room cleanliness, 2* level.
Staff friendly and helpful. accept the male bar staff rude and slow
2 computers working - no wi-fi
Transfers, good; via 2 other hotels.
Although all inclusive, all beverages had to be paid for after 11pm and had a very limited amount of drinks to have and no room service
Bar staff slow and not very well versed in cocktail terminology (language barrier).
Ice cream was available only for an hour a day.
Indoor pool wasn’t filled even thou it was cold outside
Reception toilets was absolute disgustingly smelly and unclean.
The place was very under staff
Dogs walk in to hotel reception area freely.

3 of us decided to go to Kos and stayed at the Hippocrates Kipriotis one out of the 3 hotels there and the worst one, we stay in late April apparently low season We was greeted by the receptionist that was very nice and pleasant half Australian half Greek lady Angelik that got us check it swiftly and show our rooms
The rooms were not bad but view was not very good to it was the side of the hotel overlooking the tennis courts the bathroom was very small and had no ventilation the bath was like 1 foot of the ground the shower taps w here falling off the wall and leaking the telephone worked when it wanted to the beds were very hard and very uncomfortable the TV was dated but pointless coz half of the channels were gone coz the storm knocked it out it was down from the 2nd day we stay till the end of our week and the 3-4 channel that was left wasn’t in English.
Now for the best bits one bottle of water was put in the fridge as complimentary LOL have u ever heard that before most hotel fill your fridge with soft drinks and water not here you don’t big old fridge in the the room with nothing in it all week now I think for the kids and adult that don’t like dogs LOL it was like Battersea dog home 6-7 dog enjoying their holiday as well and not forgetting top cat they were running around the place it was not good there even drank from the pool god knows what else they do this should of been mention.

Now for the food OMG awful every day the same food pasta rice chips potatoes and spaghetti and no forgetting PORK and talk about under cooked red and raw I complained twice not that they even a apology two people I spoke to had bad belly bugs and stayed away from food that they didn’t know, soft drinks were power base awful.
This hotel is differently not a 4 star more 3 star and that’s being nice and last but lease if you go you will be bored out of your mind kids will cry there is no day or night entertainment for anyone accept darts and one table tennis table and 2 arcade machines and a pool table Michael (the manager) spend some of that money your taking and improve the place the place has a lot of potential coz I wouldn’t visit your hotel again if I won a week there..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stickyickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for staying in our hotel and for your comments.

We believe that taste is personal to each individual, usually deriving from one’s environment and their experiences. Considering this, it dissatisfies us to see our hotel called “awful”

Allow us to object to the way and exactness that your evaluation is described with, by stating plain facts.

Hippocrates, officially classified as a 4 stars hotel, was refurbished in the end of 2010 and has the highest rate of repeat guests for more than a decade. It is therefore unfair to call it basic and old. There is indeed no indoor, heated indoor or outdoor pool therefore it is not advertised anywhere in our pages.

Our guests do tell us that our hotel is prominent for the cleanliness of its rooms.

We do not have nor do we advertise Wi-Fi yet; but taking our guests’ wants and needs under consideration, we are installing it and it will be available within this month.

The All inclusive package as stated everywhere is indeed valid until 2300 hrs everyday.

We trust it’s infrequent to find room service in All Inclusive hotels.

As a hospitable move, we do put a bottle of water in our guests’ fridge and are glad this is amusing.

Now for our food, pasta and fries are present by popular demand especially by our little guests but so are 12 more braised fried and grilled dishes along with our impressive salad bar and rich dessert buffet. (ice cream is available from 12:30 to 14:30, 18:30 to 21:00 and also from 11:00 to 12:00 and 16:30 to17:30 for kids at the bars).

Entertainment does have a schedule which is posted, with gymnastics, games and sports in the morning, quizzes, games mini disco, shows, Greek evening once a week, and a movie each night.

We would gladly discuss your stay with you in person and can be reached at info@kipriotis.gr
Puvlic Relations Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 18th - 25th April 2012. Staff were really friendly especially Hussein and Erica at the pool bar. When reading other reviews please remember this hotel has a four star rating . It is the panorama hotel which was closed due to it being the very start of the season which has a five star rating . My opinion is that the hippocrattes does deserve a four star classifacation . The rooms were cleaned everyday and were of a decent standard . The food was plentiful and varied although pork appeared plenty . There was something for everyone. The only negative was the entertainment which was a little drab but apparently when the season gets underway this can be remedied by going to the panorama complex. The entertainment staff themselves were charming and always trying to involve everybody . We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would certainly reccomend it for a relaxing holiday but please be aware there isnt an awful lot to do in kos itself even in the peak season. There are boat trips around the island and over to Bodrum in Turkey but the island is for a very relaxing holiday . From the hotel there is a bus stop into Kos town . Price 1.60 euros each way . Cost of a taxi into kos is 9 euros one way . If you are thinking of popping over into Bodrum for its many bargains it would cost you 27 euros return . Animal lovers will love this hotel as there are about eight stay dogs which seem to have been adopted by the hotel and are friendly and no problem whatsoever. All in all we would have no hesitation in returning to this resort . So friendly and charming

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terryoneone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Hippocrates. We keep good notice of your feedback concerning the entertainment program. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit, perhaps during the high season, when you will be able to enjoy many different activities in Kos!
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 14th-21st April 2012 with my boyfriend and can honestly say we had a fantastic holiday. The staff are very friendly, hard working and always willing to help with any queries. The hotel is very clean and there is a good variety/quality of food available throughout the day, we particularly loved breakfast.

There is just such a nice atmosphere in the hotel, which is perfect if you just want to relax.

We hope to visit again soon :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Hippocrates. Our staff will keep up the hard work in order to keep a friendly and comfortable environment for a future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit!
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Upon arrival to this supposed 5* (we were advised 4* by the travel agents, but the other couple on the transfer coach had been advised 5; as had a lot of other people we talked to on the day it rained), we were greeted by the stray, but well trained resident dogs. The receptionist was lovely (Angeliki) - very informative and always had a solution, suggestion and at least a smile on her face. The other receptionist were useless. The lift had a hotel sign to say max 2 people, but manifactured to hold 5. It broke down many times with people & their lugguage, so I avoided it at all costs.

IF YOU DRINK alcohol - do not be fooled by the 'all inclusive' label - you have to pay for drinks after 11pm EVERY NIGHt - if you don't have your order in by 10.45pm - be prepared to pay as the staff are SLOW and the male waiters can just about understand drink lingo.
The food was horrndeous - comstantly cold - as the put it out, to early and never relite the inadequately sized tea lights. The food was confusing. 'Carrot soup' is made from vegetables and should not have bits of that morning's breakfast bacon at the bottom. I'm no vegetarian, but it was a bit of a shock. Even if you're a lover of pork & chips 24/7 I would not recommed you eat here. Most of the grilled meat was continously under cooked (pork & chicken, especially) No microwave to re heat or baby food heating facilities. Cutlery & dishes were clean. but you were not allowed to take food to your room.

The outdoor 'heated' pool was freezing - the water was useful to seperate the screaming dogs that keep getting stuck together after mating in full view of the children.
The indoor pool was off limits
No entertainment for when it rained except ping pong and rubber darts.
Cheesy disco every night.
House keeping - did not understand Do Not Disturb signs at 9.30am, not how to use a mop as the previous residents dried up contact lense was still on the floor when we left.

Numerous power cuts & no alternator (1 was island wide) - the others had the electricity going like Poltergist for 5-15 minute intervals.
Tv was not working properly in any room - we complained day 2 - still not rectified on leaving day 7.
No Wi-fi!!!!!!!!!! As specified - Internet 1 Euro for 15 minutes - which wasn't bad as it was in a comfy lounge. 3 out of 5 machines were working.
Hardly ever any cash for the bureau de change - £50 was not a lot to change.
everyone complained about the beds - I had serious back ache for 3 days.

There were 3 parts to the hotel of which the other two open in May - so try for the larger hotel, as advised by a returner I spoke to.

I'd say it was a 3*

Room Tip: Beach facing as there were animal/owl noises all night and roosters on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ebony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Guest.
Thank you for staying at Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel and sharing your valuable comments.
As stated before, the hotel is officially classified as a 4 star property by the competent state authorities and advertised as such. The approved use for one of its lifts is for two persons and their luggage (the other one beside it being for 4 people).
The all inclusive label, is not meant to fool people and this is why it is clearly stated (on the info boards, the welcome letter in each room and the signs at each bar but also on the web pages of our tourist partners) that drinks are available between 1000 and 2300 hours every day. Our staff does speak and understand English. As for the food, it sounds as you describe another hotel as our buffet has electrical bain-marie food dispensers operating at 85 degrees and we have no use for tea lights. Our food in most other reviews on Tripadvisor speaks for its quality and variety. We are very particular about food safety and apply the HACCP standards. Undercooked meats simply do not exist. The microwave on the other hand does exist and is operated by the staff for safety reasons. Had you asked for your food to be reheated we would have done it in no time.
We make it very clear that all consumptions are to be done inside our departments so you can have ample food from 0600 to midnight with a 3 hour total pause, but it has to be where we serve it. Unless a guest has some kind of special need in which case we make exceptions.
There is no outdoor “heated” pool advertised anywhere we advertise, neither is the indoor pool advertised as operable. We only advertise outlets that are open to our guests such as the indoor pool of our sister hotel Kipriotis Village
Our animation team provides a soft animation program each day which is announced on the info board right outside our restaurant and by word of mouth by our animators. This starts with morning activities (gym,aerobics, games,contests etc) and continues in the afternoon and evening with sports, mini disco, show, game or quiz, disco and dancing and a movie projection. We accept that rainy weather can limit the outdoor activities but have no control over this.
The hotel has not one but 9 power generators that provide the necessary power in case of a power cut. They start 2-3 seconds after the power goes down in which time the lights may go out.
We have no Wi-Fi nor do we advertise having it. However as we heed our guests’ needs and wants, we plan on having it up and running in all our hotels by the second half of this May. Also, there are 4 not 5 internet pc’s in our internet corner and they occasionally reboot when not used for a while, therefore are inoperable for a couple of minutes each time.
As for the mattresses, they were changed recently when the whole hotel was refurbished. Had you mentioned to the desk that you were uncomfortable with your mattress, we would have replaced it immediately. On “everyone complained about the beds” we must reply: Not to us they didn’t.
Kipriotis Hippocrates hotel opened this year as advertised on April 1st, followed by Maris which opened on the 5th and the Panorama hotel which opened recently.
We do accept criticism and as mentioned before, we use the comments that we receive to improve our product. We must however insist on being accurate and setting the facts straight wherever we feel the slightest inexactness in the descriptions that we read. I would personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay with you, at operationmarishippocrates@kipriotis.gr

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is for the Kipriotis Hippocrates!!

Although connected we never really ventured into the other connected hotels (panarama and Maris)

For the price I would very highly recommend this hotel at this time of year. We stayed here from the 15th to 23nd April at £225pp including flights and transfers.

The welcome set the tone for this lovely holiday, we were greeted and told to leave our bags at reception and go get some food from the restaurant, this meant no annoying rushing and queuing in reception to get a our room.

The food was nice with a big selection of fresh salads, meats and pastas. I was hoping for a bit more Greek than we got but for a week the food variation was adequate. I thought the later breakfast could do with a bit more choice (yoghurt's and cereals).

Although we didn't take full advantage there was quite a good range of facilities and equipment available (no WiFi unfortunately). The pool was nice and clean although not that many guests braved the cold whilst we were there. I was disappointed with the beach, it was not the most pleasant with bits of rubbish here and there but I put that down to the time of year (whilst we were there we saw a lot of activity from people preparing for the season which seems to kick off properly in May). The bars need more staff! this was our only real grumble, you could wait quite a while for drinks.

The room was nice and cleaned daily and the towels and linen changed.

The location was a bit secluded along the beach from Kos and because the rest of the resort hadn't opened this meant that we really appreciated being all inclusive. Not much was open outside of Kos itself and even then there wasn't the hustle of activity that you might expect.
The hotel is about 40mins walk from Kos or I highly recommend hiring a bike from the attached car/skooter/cycle hire shop for 3Euros a day, in which case its an easy 10min 'tootle' along the front and well worth it!

We ventured out to try the Kos nightlife one night and although early season plenty of people were out in the bars/clubs on bar street until the very early hours (06:00!) and we had a great time and made to feel very welcome by all (we went with others from the hotel with ages from 15 to 40s).

Although we had a great time we felt that one week was enough. The animation team worked hard with the staff and guests available but this would get old quickly along with food variation etc.. all of which would be much better when the rest of the Kipriotis resort fills up.

Thank you to all the staff, we would definitely come back for this price!

Room Tip: If you can get a sea view room the view is really impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BenCTheMusicMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Hippocrates. We keep good notice of your feedback concerning the Greek food, the Wi Fi (which we plan on having by May) and the Bar. These comments are precious like gold to us as a tool for our improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit!
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.2 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.7 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
855 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#13 of 48 in Kos Town
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Hippocrates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Hippocrates

Property: Kipriotis Hippocrates
Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#11 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kipriotis Hippocrates 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIPRIOTIS HIPPOCRATES is a fantastic hotel combining the charm and elegance of modern comfort together with the flair of a 4* summer resort. Set in quiet surroundings, with excellent sea views and extensive gardens, Kipriotis Hippocrates is the ideal destination for an amazing & relaxing holiday. It is conveniently located in Psalidi area, on the North - East coast of the island of Kos, just 3km away from Kos town, 25km from Kos International Airport and a breath away from the beach. Directly in front of the hotel there is a public bus stop with a regular daily bus schedule and a cycling path leading all the way to the town centre. The hotel is ideal for relaxation and the best choice for sightseeing lovers. The hotel also features 172 standard rooms. All rooms are spacious with modern - easy living furnishing. They all have large verandas with view either to the gardens or the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kipriotis Hippocrates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Kos Town
Iberostar Hotel Kos Town
Kipriotis Hippocrates Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing