We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday in the Hotel Hippocrates. It wasnt the hotel we booked as we had booked the 5 star Hotel Panorama but thats another story!
On the whole a very good and enjoyable holiday. The hotel was clean and the reception staff were helpful and friendly. The food was good with a good choice of hot and cold eg salads.
The rooms were nicely decorated, bedding and towels changed daily, yes it was a small tv but we didnt go to Kos to sit in watching the tv!
There were some activities in the evening in the sister hotel - Maris Suites and as i won the Bingo i cant complain!
My only 'niggles' are that the air con was turned off making the bedrooms hot boxes even with the patio doors wide open. I understand the temperature was alot hotter than average but surely they could have turned the air con back on.
Also it states men needed to wear trousers and collered shirts for the evening meal ( something i had confirmed with the hotel directly buy email) however when we went down to dinner men were in shorts, flip flops, swimwear, football tops and sleeveless tops.
Both these niggles could be because it was end of season but my husband felt out of place not to mention very hot in his trousers, top, socks and shoes!!
However despite this we would visit again hopwfully in the correct hotel!!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Storme-marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay at Kipriotis Hippocrates. As mentioned on other replies, some travel agencies promote all Kipriotis Hotels as a hotels complex; however, in their description it is clear that the complex consists of a group of hotels and each room is accompanied by a detailed description of the facilities and provided services. In addition to that, all info about our hotels are available on our website and it is easy to understand the venues and services for each Kipriotis hotel. Also, all travel organizations that we work with are supplied with our fact sheets and All Inclusive descriptions, in order to send out an accurate picture of who we are and what to be expected from our hotels.
Regarding the dress code mentioned into your mail, we can confirm that at Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites which is a 5-stars hotel, the dress code is valid, but for Hippocrates, it is not mandatory.
As for the air conditioning, it is operational from middle June to middle September, as in spring and autumn the temperature is no more that 25 degrees at noon and the A/C would have been hardly effective under such weather conditions.
Having all your comments under consideration, we would like to thank you once again and hope to see you soon in one of our hotels.
The Guest relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
There are newer reviews for Kipriotis Hippocrates
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

arrived 11ish on17/09/12.food which was left uneatable left to long and dried up.then to room great sea view but at 5am generator starts sounds like plane and continues until end of dinning. beds very hard hardly any sleep for two weeks asked to be moved no luck waste of time trying. cleaners very good and also waiting staff good.Bar staff need training cant remember what you ordered, drinks watered down.Beach dirty went elsewhere.will not go AI IN EUROPE AGAIN.lOVE GREECE WILL GO BACK BUT SELF CATERING.

Room Tip: dont have any rooms on 1/2/3/floors even numbers with sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaynutEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. However, we find ourselvers into a position to set some things in order. Your claims about food lack of truth, since food is being served on buffet style, into gastronomes keeping food warm.
The hotel does not use a generator for electricity. This is available only during electricity failures which never take that long time when they happen.
Our bar staff is usually being congratulated for the provided service, however, some guests do not take under consideration that serving in such a crowded place, patience and understanding is required.
Regarding the beach, we can only inform you that it is being daily cleaned, however during September the south wind did not help on keeping it clean during the whole day, as the waves bring seaweed and other materials from the open seas.
Having all your comments under consideration, we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Guest Relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have just arrived back after a 12 night stay in the hotel. We arrived about 11 ish at night and there was some food laid out - cheese, bread, rice and some spam like meat - which was not the most enjoyable meal to arrive to but the food did get better.
The first thing we found was that the air con was turnt off. Despite opening the balcony doors, the room was like an oven and we only managed 2 decent nights sleep the whole time we were there, as we were just sweating and could not cool down. We asked if there were any fans but were told by one person, that there werent any, then another person said there were three in the whole complex, but that they had been already lent out. The room was OK, wardrobe with about 10 hangers and a couple of drawers, plus a small tv that had a BBC news channel and another channel that showed a few old programmes/films in englsih. It was pretty clean and towels were changed each day. he beds were pretty hard.
The food was OK - i loved the soups, these were really tasty and despite the heat, i had these most days. There were various meat dishes and fish dishes but on 2 occasions, we had a pork dish that was almost raw, and a fish dish the same. We showed the manager, who just took them away! There was always salads and lots of sticky baclava(?) type deserts plus ice cream and sometimes cheese, and always melon and fruit salad for lunch and dinner. On the whole, the food was OK and whatever your taste (I dont eat much meat) there was always something to eat.

The pool was pretty small but we did not mind this - however, it was freezing and we did not know why as the weather was really good, clear blue skies nearly every day. Once we got into the pool, after the initial shock and started swimming, it was ok - it was just the getting in!!

There was nothing to do in the evening at this part of the hotel unless you just sat at the bar all night. The bar staff werent very good and nearly every time we ordered drinks, one guy especially, got the order wrong every single time and it became a joke to see what we would receive. They had the same music tapes and one song kept getting stuck and was repeated over and over again until my friend complained and they changed the disc. we used the maris more in the evening, as it was a bigger area. Both parts of the complex kept running out of things, ice, butter, coffee machine went "kapput" but perhaps it was because we were near the end of the season. The animation team were very sweet, and came round ever day to try and get people to do games etc. one night we went to karioke but were the only 4 people there and got the giggles - a few more did turn up and we ended up singing, despite having a cold and a terrible voice but never mind!

The beach was horrible, full of stones and seaweed and rubbish - but there were better beac hes that you could get to on the bus.

I basically booked this hotel in panic mode - we had booked a cruise with MSC, which was cancelled 4 weeks before we were due to go, and i did not do my usual research as i was trying to get us a holiday SOMEWHERE quickly and booked this one. I thought we were in the maris complex, but we werent but we did have use of it but to be honest, the food was the same so there was not much of a difference. we did go the the village, which did seem a lot nicer and had much bigger pools and more facilities.
Well, we have been here once and that was enough!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimandTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing woth us your review on your recent stay in Kos. Your comments are being highly appreciated and help us to improve our offered services.
Please allow us some comments on your remarks. Your description as late dinner upon your arrival was only he midnight snack which consists of 2 soups, variety of snacks and salads. What is described as sticky baklava is part of a variety of traditional Greek pastry, covered with syrop, which of course is sticky!
What surprises us is your claim that your room was hot as oven, despite that the pool was freezing. It makes us wander how those two can have such an extreme temperature difference since the distance between the two is only a few meters. However, in all our advertisements, descriptions and brochures, it is clearly stated that the operation of air conditioning is seasonal, starting from June 15th, till middle os September.
Discussing about swimming pools, Kipriotis Hippocrates is a small hatel and the size of the pools is according to its size. However, there is always an option to visit the Maris Suites pool or even Kipriotis Village. As for the beach, there is a daily cleaning service, but during the days of your stay there was a south wind, bringing seaweed and other material from the open seas. This cannot be somehow stopped, going against nature laws.
Having all your comments under consideration, we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Guest Relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Have just returned from a week stay at this hotel, we arrived at 1.30am and were quickly checked in by the night porter and given directions to the lift and our room on the third floor. On entering the room we noticed how hot it was as the air con had been turned off on the sat. previous to our arrival so we opened the balcony door to let in some cooler air and the door stayed open for the rest of our stay. The room was spotless and kept that way by the very friendly cleaners. There was plenty of drawer and hanging space but the beds were a bit hard for our liking. The restaurant is a little canteen like but the food and service was very good the thing we liked was the thermos jug of coffee brought to your table at breakfast. There are plenty of sun beds and no need to be up early to bag one we always managed to get them where we wanted after eating breakfast. There was a good selection of drinks at the bar and yes sometimes you had quite a long wait as people who arrived after you were served first as there was no queueing system. We went to the Maris Suites on an evening and had one meal there ( the Greek night) but were not very impressed think we choose an off night. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient, on our last day as we had a late flight we went to see if we could keep our room on checking it had been allocated for an incoming guest but the receotionist phoned house keeping and arranged for them to have a different room and we kept ours for a cost of 35euros. We enjoyed our stay here considering what we paid we definately got good value, dont expect too much and you wont be dissapointed we had a really good time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience from your recent stay at the Kipriotis Hippocrates. It makes us happy to read that once again you enjoyed your holidays with us. We really hope to see you again in one of our hotels.
The Guest Relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Great to go back again - weather was wonderful Staff as usual very friendly - I have to mention Hussein at the bar,also Roland and beni and Khan, really lovely people. Antonio and Despina - Irini and Giasemi and Thanis in the restaurant. The reception staff, especially Zeta and Miranda (best two receptionists in Kos). We had a really good time yet again.

We do think it is a bit strange that although we can use all facilities in Hippocrates and Maris hotels this does not apply to the sun beds on the beach. However this did not bother us too much as we use the facilities of the Theofilus garden sun beds just next to the hotel sun beds. These are very comfortable with toilet facilities and drinks available to purchase at very cheap prices. 5 euros per day for two sunbeds and umbrellas - not bad I think. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience from your recent stay at the Kipriotis Hippocrates. It makes us happy to read that once again you enjoyed your holidays with us. In reply to your comment about sunbeds of Maris, we would like to inform you that Maris Suites is a 5-star property and guests of this hotel enjoy more services included in the price than Hippocrates which is classified as 4-star hotel.
It is so nice to know that being a repeater, you are planning your holidays in Kos again and we will be happy to see you soon in one of our hotels.
The Guest Relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

We booked through seasonal holidays and booked a all inclusive holiday at the kipriotis panorama hotel suites and spa but wen we got there we was told we was booked in the Hippocrates hotel. We then walked 10 minuets dragging our luggage and checked in to this 4* hotel. Me and my 3 friends struggled to carrie our suitcases up two flight of stairs. The staff was so unhelpful and roud.. The four of us are vegetarians and found there was not much choice for us. The late nite snack was a joke!!! Chick pease and boiled rice with rock hard bread.. The all inclusive isn't really all inclusive compare to other hotels I have stayed in... Have a nice holiday peeps....:-)))x

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salma786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable to us, especially those lacking exaggeration.
Some travel agencies promote all Kipriotis Hotels as a hotels complex; however, in their description it is clear that the complex consists of a group of hotels and each room is accompanied by a detailed description of the facilities and provided services. In addition to that, all info about our hotels are available on our website and it is easy to understand the venues and services for each Kipriotis hotel. Also, all travel organizations that we work with are supplied with our fact sheets and All Inclusive descriptions, in order to send out an accurate picture of who we are and what to be expected from our hotels.
Your claim about walking for 10 minutes and fighting to walk up stairs can’t be nothing more than exaggeration, as our hotels provide internal shuttle bus, porters are available during the whole day and Kipriotis Hippocrates has an elevator.
Regarding your vegetarian preferences on nutrition, our buffet offers numerous options, based on the Greek cuisine, which consists of many vegetables, olive oil and legume. In addition to that, a big variety of fresh and mixed salads is available daily. Therefore it’s hard to believe that among a so varied buffet, no vegetarian plates were found. As for the night snack, our offers consist of 2 soups, salads and variety of snacks, not compared to rock hard bread and rice as originally claimed.
Having all your comments under consideration, we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Arrived late in Kos because of a 2 hour delay,the receptionist was very understanding and said that even though it was past 11 we could get one free drink because we missed out. They have themed nights over in the maris suites restaurant every night, tried the one of the greek nights,it was a set menu and none of us liked anything on the menu so went back over to the buffet in the hotel.The maid kept on hiding the covers that go over the bed and we didn't know where they were until nearly 6 days into our holiday. The bar staff are all friendly. There are two rental places outside the hotel where you can hire beach buggies,bikes,cars,mopeds,motor bikes and more but you have to have a driving license to drive a buggy because you drive along the road. The locals were friendly. A beach i would recommend going to is Paradise Beach but you'd have to hire a car to get there because it is about a 25 minute drive away from the hotel and also the waterpark i would recommend. The food gets a bit repetitive but you'll always find something to eat. I would return to this hotel in the future because it was a really good holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience from your recent stay at the Kipriotis Hippocrates. It makes us happy to read that you enjoyed your holidays despite the fact that you found our buffet menu repetitive. Our hotel uses a 14 days meals program, offering some standard and rotating delicacies, covering all tastes.
We hope to see you again in one of our hotels, for another memorable stay, here in Kos.
The Guest Relations Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.2 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.7 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#4 of 19 in Psalidi
908 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Hippocrates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Hippocrates

Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#11 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: £66 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kipriotis Hippocrates 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIPRIOTIS HIPPOCRATES is a fantastic hotel combining the charm and elegance of modern comfort together with the flair of a 4* summer resort. Set in quiet surroundings, with excellent sea views and extensive gardens, Kipriotis Hippocrates is the ideal destination for an amazing & relaxing holiday. It is conveniently located in Psalidi area, on the North - East coast of the island of Kos, just 3km away from Kos town, 25km from Kos International Airport and a breath away from the beach. Directly in front of the hotel there is a public bus stop with a regular daily bus schedule and a cycling path leading all the way to the town centre. The hotel is ideal for relaxation and the best choice for sightseeing lovers. The hotel also features 172 standard rooms. All rooms are spacious with modern - easy living furnishing. They all have large verandas with view either to the gardens or the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kipriotis Hippocrates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Kos Town
Iberostar Hotel Kos Town
Kipriotis Hippocrates Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing